X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Grapevine Reviews

75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
63 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

If you looking for a very cheap room with bed and shower at an excellent location, thats a perfect hostel! The staff are extremly helpfull!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We didn't use the communal areas of the hostel, so it would be difficult to pass comment on those. However, we was a group of 6 adult sharing one room with an en-suit and we had a Ball. The location is excellent, right on the beach front and a short distance form the lanes, the window in our room looked out on to the sea. The pub on the same road as reception is wonderful, reasonably priced for food and drink with a great range of ales and sprits. We had a great time in Brighton.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

There was no sink in the toilet, you had to touch 3 door handles to get back to your room to wash your hands . Wasnt the nicest or cleanest of places but fine for a drunk crash out.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great room with sea view, room was tidy and staff friendly..very good value for money and excellent location

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

This should be called the raisin not the grapevine. The rooms were filthy including but not limited to the bathroom, sheets, walls, carpets, etc. We literally didn't shower because we didn't know what diseases we might catch. We wore plastic bags on our feet because it was that's disgusting. We were also greeted by the creepiest man in the window. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Just don't bother. Pay an extra couple of quid for somewhere else and avoid the dingy atmosphere, outdated toilet facilities, staff who don't really care, loud banging and squeaking doors all night, severe lack of plugs, absolutely no mirrors, no toilet roll. Location is spot on though so might be fine for a stag do who just want a bed. Basically an attempt to fit as many bunk beds in a room as possible.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

My friend and I managed to stay in our own room, which also had a bathroom. Room very basic (another pillow would of been nice as they're very flat), and was clean. Staff were helpful at reception. The only issue we had was the noise. Got woken up a lot throughout the night by others coming in and out of the hostel, lots of shouting/drunken behaviour.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The staff was really nice and helpful! Unfortunately it was incredibly noisy at night and very hard to sleep... Loud music and yelling people until the early morning (even during the week). And it didn't make a difference with a closed window because it didn't close properly. It's hard to find enough cutlery in the kitchen and it closes very early (8pm). There's only internet in the main building and it's way too slow. So if you really need it(e.g. for work), you have to go to an internet cafe


57%

The room is very small, with a low ceiling, quite dark (not much sunlight comes in), and noisy (we could hear people talking in the hallways). Check-in was not with the greatest customer service: arriving at 1pm we were told that check-in is only allowed from 2pm (they didn't check whether the room was being cleaned or actually already available), and only upon arrival we were told an additional £40 security deposit had to be paid on top of the hostel room price.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Absolutely love it there. Would be better if the kitchen had 24hr access though as some people work late hours.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Small little hostel right by the beach. Not much of an atmosphere/area where everyone stays, but right by the beach and bars which is all you really need in a hen/stag party place!


23%

It was the most awful weekend I ever had in my life, I have been to Berlin and I've stayed at hostel but to compare German quality to this will take ages, first there is no lockers, no safety other than you hope that ur room martes is not tkaibgbur stuff, the window is broken and the beds woolly, the sheets are dirty, I'm short guy but boy that what they call toilet was smaller than a dog house, and no sink, the shower is one! For inter place and tgeyknow they don't work!




View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback