Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Grapevine

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Reuben91
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th May 2017
5.4

The location is amazing. Don't get me wrong. But the shower didn't work, the beds were terribly uncomfortable, unless you like springs stabbing you in the back and it was too expensive for what it was.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
5.4

Place was alright for one night and staff were friendly but the bathroom was disgusting and so were the window in the room. Couldn't see out of my windows because they were so green with dirt and grime. There was mould in the bathroom and clumps of shaved hair from previous guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
7.7

The location was the best thing about this hostel, on the seafront, near everything. The room was what we payed for nothing special. The room was quite cold because the windows didn't close proply and incrediably noisy because of the on the doorstep nightlife. I had to put down a £100 deposit for 3 keys one of which didn't actually work, the staff were friendly enough and it was what we need for one night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Mikimeiko
  • Italy, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th May 2017
7.7

This is a very basic hostel. The kitchen/lounge is not bad, but it's underground and not very clean. You have to leave a 20 pound per person deposit for the room, and another 10 pound deposit if you want to rent a set of crockery to eat in the kitchen. Our room was on the 4th floor and the bathroom was on the 1st (bathrooms were clean and well equipped). The beds are not the best, but there was room for our luggage. The hostel it's in a perfect location, on the seafront and close to the center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.9

great place to spend the night. i had a good experience, i would definitely consider to stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
3.4

As we walked into the hostel reception the room smelt of weed, both receptionists were high, this was disgusting and made myself feel lightheaded and sick. Once we got to our room, we opened the door and one of the four beds had just been slept in, this was obvious as three of the beds and new folded sheets and the end of the bed. The bed that hadnt been cleaned had hairs and even a room key in it! I made sure I handed that key back to the receptionist, who didn't even notice they was a key down

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
4.9

The room was ok although really cold. Toilet and the sink were in different floors, which was difficult. The kitchen was horribly untidy and disgusting. It smelled like weed everywhere. The location was the only good thing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
5.4

The kitchen and living area were very dirty and no one cleaned them during my stay. Similarly bathrooms. Besides, the number of bathrooms for such a large hostel was not enough.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • LilithAnnH
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Apr 2017
4.9

Worst night sleep ever! The room was situated above a restaurant called 'buddies'. It was open the whole night with people starting fights and cars beeping throughout. It was still going on at 0700! The room wasn't anything special and was boiling hot. Beds were uncomfortable. No where to put bags or clothes. And had to leave the entrance for the kitchen. If you don't plan on sleeping or staying in the rooms for much of the night then this would be ideal otherwise look elsewhere!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
5.7

The value for money was clear but even so the kitchen was horrible the floor was so sticky that and nothing felt clean. You had to hire cutlery and plates and pots which was not clear when we booked and was a further £10 deposit which seemed silly because the kitchen was so dirty anyway. It was a great location but you get what you pay for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.