X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Grapevine Reviews

75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
71 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

The staff were nice but the room was really bad. Skinny iron beds with thin, uncomfortable mattresses, no wardrobe and dirty walls. Other residents were passed out on the hall when we can back, another guy was trying to kick in the front door for half an hour.

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30


77%

The location was absolutely fantastic, literally a 5 minute walk to the Laines, 1 minute walk to the Brighton Pier. Absolutely brilliant. Staff were incredibly welcoming, informative and friendly. The walk up to our room was quite unclean, smelt bad and just felt generally unclean. The room was very spacious with great washing facilities, however it would have been very helpful to have a full length mirror. The door to our room was also a bit dodgy, incredibly difficult to lock.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

For what it is, £20 a night is fair. No thrills, just accomodation

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

This hostel was good but the restaurant in the ground floor was so noisy at the night. The woman who stayed same room had trouble because she couldn't sleep at that night as well.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

If you looking for a very cheap room with bed and shower at an excellent location, thats a perfect hostel! The staff are extremly helpfull!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We didn't use the communal areas of the hostel, so it would be difficult to pass comment on those. However, we was a group of 6 adult sharing one room with an en-suit and we had a Ball. The location is excellent, right on the beach front and a short distance form the lanes, the window in our room looked out on to the sea. The pub on the same road as reception is wonderful, reasonably priced for food and drink with a great range of ales and sprits. We had a great time in Brighton.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

There was no sink in the toilet, you had to touch 3 door handles to get back to your room to wash your hands . Wasnt the nicest or cleanest of places but fine for a drunk crash out.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great room with sea view, room was tidy and staff friendly..very good value for money and excellent location

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

This should be called the raisin not the grapevine. The rooms were filthy including but not limited to the bathroom, sheets, walls, carpets, etc. We literally didn't shower because we didn't know what diseases we might catch. We wore plastic bags on our feet because it was that's disgusting. We were also greeted by the creepiest man in the window. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Just don't bother. Pay an extra couple of quid for somewhere else and avoid the dingy atmosphere, outdated toilet facilities, staff who don't really care, loud banging and squeaking doors all night, severe lack of plugs, absolutely no mirrors, no toilet roll. Location is spot on though so might be fine for a stag do who just want a bed. Basically an attempt to fit as many bunk beds in a room as possible.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback