Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Grapevine

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.7
Rating 206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 3.8
  • Facilities 4.2
BOOK NOW
5.7
Rating 206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 3.8
  • Facilities 4.2
The Grapevine Located at 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, Brighton.
The Grapevine
England
Brighton BN1 1AL 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton
57% 206
50.8206316 -0.1432943
The Grapevine
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
4.6

It was the most horrible hostel I have ever stayed in, in my life. It was dirty, even filthy in some places, unclean windows, old dirty carpets, even the walls were dirty. No decorations, old building, furniture the cheapest of the cheap, the double beds were shaking and made of cheap railing, similar to curtain railing. I am 70 kg, I though the bed is going to collapse on the person underneath me. The reception area was nice, so was the lounge, the kitchen though was like a restaurant kitchen.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Aug 2016
5.7

Our room was very very dirty, didn't seem like it had been cleaned in weeks. We had to sleep on top of our own towels as we didn't trust the bedding. The shower water stunk like sewage and was either boiling hot or freezing. There was also mould on the ceiling in our room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
6.3

Not very clean and only one toilet/shower for over 20 people+ Ideal location very close to seafront and the bars

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • rosscollr7377
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
4.6

dirty, staff dont put any effort into cleaning the rooms. Small simple changes could make this place actually worth staying in.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
8.3

Staff are excellent as is the atmosphere and location. Facilities are ok except the sink in the room was broken and there was no other sink on our floor so washing hands after bathroom and brushing teeth was a hassle. I'm not sure when the floor was last hoovered it's pretty dirty but for a price as dirt cheap as it was it was overall more than satisfactory.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jun 2016
7.1

good value for money very close to beach and to all the lanes. Nice and quit. but couldnt get wifi on the top floor and walk down a few flights of srtairs just to use the bathroom.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • craig_barton6383
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2016
6.6

If you're after sleep then don't bother with this place. The bar/restaurant downstairs was open 24 hours and the noise never stopped. The bed springs were uncomfortable but the rooms were clean enough and the shower in the room worked, just.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
6.3

Cleanliness could be improved. The room was not prepared, half of the beds left as it is. Shower needs cleaning as well. Only location is good for the price, if you are happy with mess.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
5.4

Unclean and noisy. Have stayed in many hostels, this is probably one of the worst. Understand that Brighton is a popular city and prices will reflect this, I'm sure prices were also put up due to it being a festival weekend, but not worth the £30 per night per bed we paid. Paid up front for 2 beds for 2 nights, gave our keys back after the first night. Staff were friendly enough. Silver lining: only affordable hostel left when we booked last minute, and running water ??

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2016
4.6

We stayed only for one night thankfully!!. The place was a mess, the room has never been swept, and the common bathrooms were absolutely disgusting! The door into our room was very stiff and loud, whenever someone entered they would wake the entire room. Other than the brill location this hostel has nothing going for it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.