X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

The Grapevine Reviews

75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
44 Total Reviews
  • 58%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

23%

It was the most awful weekend I ever had in my life, I have been to Berlin and I've stayed at hostel but to compare German quality to this will take ages, first there is no lockers, no safety other than you hope that ur room martes is not tkaibgbur stuff, the window is broken and the beds woolly, the sheets are dirty, I'm short guy but boy that what they call toilet was smaller than a dog house, and no sink, the shower is one! For inter place and tgeyknow they don't work!


71%

Only 2 plugs in an 8 person room. Apart from that it was fine.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Hostel smells, the bathrooms smell of urine and the bathroom on our part of the hostel didn't even have a basin to wash your hands.let alone brush your teeth. .There is a sink in the room but is squashed in behind the beds and impossible to access. The wifi was slower than dial up. The location is good ... however the down side is you get kept up all night with the shouting and domestics outside on the street.


80%

It was a good stay. Perfect location, walking distance of everything. They only thing is the value of money. £30 per night for an averge hostel without a bathroom with in the room and wifi was a bit shakey.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I've really enjoyed my staying in Brighton and people at the hostel were very nice!


91%

Had to pay quite a high price for 2 days and also had to pay for the whole weekend ( minimum2 nights ) ,comparing with other people who paid £80 for a whole week. Glad though that@ the end I was received £20 back( my warranty paid in advance) , eventually I decided to stay one more night as felt tired to travel back to London , had to pay another £10 which was cheap, indeed. Lovely staff, Laura was very nice by calling me in time with details about my arrival , was brilliant, lovely staff. X

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


26%

The staff were very rude and unwelcoming from the outset. The room is very basic and completely overpriced for what it is. The window didn't close properly so the room was freezing at night. They refused to give us our deposit back because apparently we caused some leaking to the floor below using the shower, CRUMMY PLUMBING IS NOT OUR FAULT AND WE WERE ROBBED OF £40!! I strongly recommend you pay a couple of pounds more and choose one of the many other hostels in Brighton.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

only one working shower only 3 toilets rooms were dirty windows wouldn't shut properly heating didn't work properly overpriced


77%

The staff was great, and the location is excellent, even though the water in the shower was either boiling hot or freezing cold. I still advise you to go if you can't spend a lot of money in a place to sleep :)

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

Absolutely lived staying here Nd would definitely recommend others for a short stay (particularly students wanting to experience a cheap brighton night out)!

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Clean and well located, People at at the reception not really kind. I was in the 8 bed dorm in the roof and there was no wifi as in the lounge room, really poor, but good value for money.


80%

everithing was ok


83%

cheap and cheerful but in a perfect location

  • 18th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Very bad place. The guy working there is rude. The place is dirty. It's overpriced for what it is. The windows are filthy. Bathrooms dilapidated. Avoid if at all possible.


51%

Try not to cramp too many bed bunks into one room. It was hard moving a medium sized trolley in, and what more a larger one, leaving me no choice but to leave it at the reception area for the night.

  • 18th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great Hostel. Great central location and cool and friendly staff. Nice sea-facing room. Great price. No complaints.......


77%

Great location, friendly staff and fairly clean facilities. No sign of the swimming pool mentioned on hostel world though...

  • 15th Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


70%

This is a very nice hostel located close to the Brighton Pier and right in the city centre. Narrow hallways and a friendly staff. The only thing I have to put them out on is that the rooms were a bit moist, making it a bit cold at night. Also my window was facing a nightclub so the possibility of having a window open at night involves some noise. But overall a good and reasonable stay! Thanks!


67%

Lots of noise from the bar opposite on the Friday night which made it difficult to sleep.

  • 23rd Sep 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


70%

Narrow stairs, carpets may need replacement, friendly staff at front desk and cleaning. Excellent location near the waterfront, although some noise comes in from neighbouring bars. There are no lockers. Large bags can be left in reception area, smaller bags can be stored in the office, but may only be retrieved while the front desk is open. Or else leave them in your room.


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback