Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Grapevine

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 5.2
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 4.6
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 5.2
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 4.6
The Grapevine Located at 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, Brighton.
The Grapevine
England
Brighton BN1 1AL 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton
62% 190
50.8206316 -0.1432943
The Grapevine
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • rosscollr7377
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
4.6

dirty, staff dont put any effort into cleaning the rooms. Small simple changes could make this place actually worth staying in.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
8.3

Staff are excellent as is the atmosphere and location. Facilities are ok except the sink in the room was broken and there was no other sink on our floor so washing hands after bathroom and brushing teeth was a hassle. I'm not sure when the floor was last hoovered it's pretty dirty but for a price as dirt cheap as it was it was overall more than satisfactory.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jun 2016
7.1

good value for money very close to beach and to all the lanes. Nice and quit. but couldnt get wifi on the top floor and walk down a few flights of srtairs just to use the bathroom.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • craig_barton6383
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2016
6.6

If you're after sleep then don't bother with this place. The bar/restaurant downstairs was open 24 hours and the noise never stopped. The bed springs were uncomfortable but the rooms were clean enough and the shower in the room worked, just.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
6.3

Cleanliness could be improved. The room was not prepared, half of the beds left as it is. Shower needs cleaning as well. Only location is good for the price, if you are happy with mess.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
5.4

Unclean and noisy. Have stayed in many hostels, this is probably one of the worst. Understand that Brighton is a popular city and prices will reflect this, I'm sure prices were also put up due to it being a festival weekend, but not worth the £30 per night per bed we paid. Paid up front for 2 beds for 2 nights, gave our keys back after the first night. Staff were friendly enough. Silver lining: only affordable hostel left when we booked last minute, and running water ??

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2016
4.6

We stayed only for one night thankfully!!. The place was a mess, the room has never been swept, and the common bathrooms were absolutely disgusting! The door into our room was very stiff and loud, whenever someone entered they would wake the entire room. Other than the brill location this hostel has nothing going for it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
5.4

I got the feeling that the place was an ex prison that was transformed to hostel. The room and the bathroom were following low standards. My friends and I found the hostel was very expensive for the offered quality. In general was clean, but had a dirty look ( e.g. windows were dirty from outside). I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. The location is ideal, but cannot cover the rest.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th May 2016
3.1

There is only one socket working in the room. The beds are to close each other even when the room is quite big enough. The wifi is not working at all even when they say that you have wifi and the 3G signal on your phone is so low that you can use it. Wifi only works in the reception but not all the time, however, they keep saying to you that you have wifi in your room. The kitchen is dirty and close early in the morning and late in the evening. You can find something better for the same money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
2.9

Someone pissed onto the end of his bed at 6am. I watched him do it. I left shortly afterwards, of course, as did the guest in the bunk below me. Conditions generally were grimy and 'spartan', to put it kindly. The shower was broken. I will NOT be back. Thankfully on my walk away, I found the YHA place near Pool Valley. K Allen.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.