Hostelworld.com

The Grapevine

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.4
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.4
The Grapevine Located at 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, Brighton.
The Grapevine
England
Brighton BN1 1AL 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton
68% 164
50.8206316 -0.1432943
The Grapevine
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
7.7

Great location, no complaints. you pay for a bed and a bathroom, nothing fancy. The place is clean and is very well located. I stayed in a six shared bedrrom with my friends, we didnt had problems with other people and it was very quit in the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Mar 2016
5.1

Great value for money and staff very polite and funny. Smelled aweful and had no atmosphere, much like all hostels in England

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Mar 2016
8.0

My boyfriend and I wanted to stay somewhere cheap for our weekend trip to Brighton.. This hostel was perfect. Room wasn't amazing but was what we expected for the price. Location was perfect, right on the beach front and close to everything else. The people behind reception were really friendly and helpful. Perfect for what we wanted.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
4.6

The location is very close to the beach, however the street it is on seemed a bit dodgy. The staff was very unprofessional and made open promised to put a group of us together in the same room. Yet they were put in a different room at check in. The carpets in tge rooms are absolutely gross and I would not walk around without shoes on. The beds are comfortable and fairly clean. The kitchen lacks dishes, pots, pans and cutlery. To be honest I wasn't even willing to cook here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2016
7.7

Absolutely great location, no-fuss place to stay, our shower wasn't working but we could still use the toilet and the bathroom in the room which was very convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Feb 2016
6.9

Our group was awake most of the night listening to animals run around in the walls and ceilings. There are no lockers In the rooms. I only came across one shower in our side of the building. The location is great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2015
10.0

Had a lovely time, would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Nov 2015
2.0

We booked the stay via hostel world.com. Upon arrival the porter denied us entry saying they were fully booked even though I showed him our reservation booking. After being refused accommodation we had to rebook with a different hostel. Once we made the booking and had paid for we received a call from Grapevine saying our booking is now available. Their treatment to is was so unprofessional considering we had booked and paid deposit only to be denied entry then rang 30mins later. Beware.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2015
6.6

Shower didn't work properly, water was always changing from too hot to too cold which made it difficult to have a proper shower, convenient location but can be noisy (saturday night)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.