Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Great Wall Box House

  • No. Jia 18, XiDui Main Street, Gubeikou Village, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.7
Superb 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.7
Superb 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Thenatanzi5195
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jun 2017
9.4

Amazing staff!! Great service with amazing dinner, breakfast was just ok. The location makes this place. 5 min walk to the wall :) the rooms are super clean with plenty of outlets. The bathrooms are luxury!!! Come here for the best wall experience and beat the crowds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2017
10.0

Loved it! Went for one night to tour the Great Wall in a remote area and to avoid tourists. A part of the wall is 15 min away walking. You can then walk and hike the courling tiger portion of the wall from the hostel in about 4-5 hours. Went to china and this was the highlight of my trip. A must go. If you are not strapped for cash you can arrange a taxi there and back. I was able to coordinate a drop off with a pick up and save some cash

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
10.0

Brilliant, friendly, clean hostel. Best I've stayed in. Close to wall in lovely village. Charming hosts. Great food. Faultless.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
10.0

So a Great Place that we decide to Stay 3 days instad of only One Night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
9.4

We really enjoyed our stay here. The location is stunning. The unspoilt Wall is a short walk away. Joe and his staff were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. The room was large and comfortable, nicely furnished, and the toilet was a revelation. If I'd realised it would be this good I would have stayed longer to soak up the atmosphere. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Springa85
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th May 2017
9.7

We had an amazing time at the Great Wall Box- by far the nicest Hostel we have stayed at in China. Staff did everything they could to help us, food was amazing, rooms and bathrooms were amazing (heated toilet seats!).... it was just fantastic. The hiking wasn't crowded or touristy and the views were breath taking... I really felt like we got to experience the Great Wall for what it really was (and get a good work out in!). Would highly reccomend this Hostel and experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2017
10.0

This lovely courtyard is a perfect getaway! Location is great, close to the wall and other restaurants & shops in the village. Several hiking routes nearby, staff are really helpful. And the room is spacious, clean and nicely equipped, definitely comparable to hotel rooms. The yard is perfect for chilling in the sun. We really enjoyed the weekend staying here, will definitely come back and recommend to our friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
10.0

This hostel was fantastic, have no complaints at all. Definitely on my top 10 hostels. Friendly and helpful staff. Located in a little town right by the wild wall. What more can you ask for...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
8.6

The bath rooms (2 units) we stay are flooded .We are really very disappointed it's not value for money.Mind as well we book other rooms with public wash room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tayler_amanda061184
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
10.0

Amazing little hostel! The only negative I would add is that they had cats (which I didn't read about in the description). So people who have allergies don't forget to pack your allergy medication. I would stay here again! Comfy beds, clean rooms and bathrooms, friendly staff and yummy food!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.