Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Great Wall Box House

  • No. Jia 18, XiDui Main Street, Gubeikou Village, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.8
Superb 357 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.8
BOOK NOW
9.8
Superb 357 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Aug 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff are super friendly and will go over and beyond to help you, the facilities and cleanliness are 10/10. They do family hostel dinners which are amazing. The locate is something special, would highly recommend it for anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Aug 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I have stayed in! Very peaceful, relaxing place, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Located within walking distance (5-20 mins) of several great wall hikes, varying in difficulty. We did one easier 2 hour hike, and one lengthier 6 hour sunrise hike. Family dinners with other hostel goers was a nice way to end the day (free!). The hostel is home to several cats and gardens. The trip there was long but definitely worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Jul 2017
10.0

Off the beaten Great Wall track, great little hostel offering everything we needed! staff were weary helpful and location to the wall is second to none

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tscarpa168497
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel and an awesome part of the Wall to visit - hugely recommended. Traditionally designed but very modern, easily the best hostel I've stayed in in China. The hosts are very nice and speak great English. Superb breakfast and traditional Chinese dinner for additional fee, well worth it. Wifi was good enough to stream the Wimbledon final so no complaints there! Air con in all the rooms and nice shared bathrooms. Two awesome treks on wild parts of the Great Wall with v few tourists.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
9.4

Such a wonderful time here, a great atmosphere which I think is helped a lot by the family style dinner offered, which it seems most people take. This was a really fun way to meet people and made the rest of my time there a lot better as everyone was comfortable with each other. It's also just such a nice peaceful setting it's sort of hard to feel uncomfortable. Also, the dinner was delicious, if a bit expensive. Worth it. Hike was great- maybe make maps for guests to take with them? Thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

This hostel is worth the additional effort to travel out to this remote part of the wall. Facilities are excellent but if you are on a budget it is worth knowing that your options for dinner are very limited. We opted for noodles on our second night but the family meal is certainly worth one sitting. Location is great and there are two decent hikes to fill two days. You could arrive by lunch, hike & hike early the next day before travelling onwards but we enjoyed2 nights. Thanks for having us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2017
9.7

Amazing location if you're looking to get away. The hikes are great from here, cleanest hostel I've ever been in (they even had heated toilet seats), friendliest staff. It's a trek to get out here but a wonderful escape from the busy city. Only downside is there's a lack of food options in the village -- so while the food in the hostel is DELICIOUS (+vegetarian) its a bit pricey.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Thenatanzi5195
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jun 2017
9.4

Amazing staff!! Great service with amazing dinner, breakfast was just ok. The location makes this place. 5 min walk to the wall :) the rooms are super clean with plenty of outlets. The bathrooms are luxury!!! Come here for the best wall experience and beat the crowds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2017
10.0

Loved it! Went for one night to tour the Great Wall in a remote area and to avoid tourists. A part of the wall is 15 min away walking. You can then walk and hike the courling tiger portion of the wall from the hostel in about 4-5 hours. Went to china and this was the highlight of my trip. A must go. If you are not strapped for cash you can arrange a taxi there and back. I was able to coordinate a drop off with a pick up and save some cash

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
10.0

Brilliant, friendly, clean hostel. Best I've stayed in. Close to wall in lovely village. Charming hosts. Great food. Faultless.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.