Hostelworld.com

The Greenhouse

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 111 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 111 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1
The Greenhouse Located at PO Box 14888, , Arusha.
The Greenhouse
Tanzania
Arusha PO Box 14888
93% 111
-3.3866432 36.6674923
The Greenhouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Apr 2016
9.1

This hostel has an wonderful home-like atmosphere. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, and the resident volunteers are great company. Breakfast and dinner are included, there are staff to help with laundry and other tasks,. There is a fridge full of beer, and an honor-system which allows one to mark down one's purchases and pay at checkout. The moment one arrives one feels at home. My stay was brief but excellent, and my only real complaint was the worthless wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Mar 2016
8.6

A great value place to stay as all of your meals are included and the food was really well prepared and tasty. Be aware the hostel is not in the city centre but it's not hard to get to the city on local transport. The staff were very helpful and helped us to arrange a driver for a safari. A good place for animal lovers- they have a lovely kitten and a dog!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
9.7

Phenomenal place - really loved the staff, they were always willing to help! Highly recommend staying there. It is not the center of town but you can easily take a pili-pili (motorcycle taxi) to the center of town in 10-15 min.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2016
9.4

Absolutely loved this place. It a little bit outside of Arusha city Centre but it is quite easy to get local transportation to wherever you need. Staff was great. Staff was always looking out for it's vistors and they would assist with any plans or excursions you may want to take, both close and far from Arusha. It was nice to be fed 3 times a day as well, even though all the dishes were vegetarian. If I ever needed meat fix you can just head a cross the street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2015
9.4

I absolutely loved the Greenhouse! Very friendly and helpful staff. They made me feel at home as soon as I arrived. I definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Arusha.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Dec 2015
9.7

I absolutely loved my time at The Greenhouse! It really feels like a home away from home. The staff is warm and helpful and mingle with the guests. They provide volunteer opportunities and day trips and do everything they can to make guests comfortable and happy. If I find myself in Arusha again there is no doubt about where I'll be staying! Thanks to Benson, Steph, Lucy, Ayubu and all the staff that made my stay so enjoyable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Dec 2015
7.7

The people are what make this hostel. They are so amazing and friendly and helpful and wonderful. They are the best. The things that I wish I knew before going: 1.) Over half the guests are long term volunteers... Making coming in as a solo traveler slightly odd 2.) The food is all vegetarian, and 3.) Often there isn't enough of it for everyone to eat, and 4.) it's very simple fare: Rice w some cucumbers or Plain pasta with some tomato sauce. However the people are still amazing!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2015
9.7

This is an awesome place! If you are - traveling by yourself and like to meet people - are vegan or vegetarian, because there is 3 vegan very tasty meals a day included. It is a bit far from the city and the sights, so it depends what you are looking for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.