Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Greenhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
9.7

Benson and his staff were so wonderful. I'm thankful that Benson helped me to organize an incredible hiking trip to Mount Meru, with little notice. I would highly recommend The Greenhouse to anyone who is in need of a hostel with delicious food, plenty of exciting opportunities, and a lovely atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2017
9.1

Great staff! Very helpful at organizing kili hikes and safaris!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
8.3

Benson and the staff were super helpful with organizing everything and answering questions. Hot showers in the afternoon/evening were nice. There are a lot of cats though, and the place was a bit outside of the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
9.1

This was a great hostel for someone who is completely new to Tanzania. It is located a bit outside of the city center but the host is very helpful in acconodating travelers, volunteers, and all other guests. The place got a little busy with the cats, but otherwise it was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.7

Great owner, great place to book Safari with. Hot shower available. 3 meals included though it is basic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
8.9

Followed the directions with my taxi but STILL got lost (arrived from Kenya too late/too much luggage for dala dala). In the dark the sign & bar are easily missed - better to look for the huge 3storey red building just before the bar (all the other buildings are single storey). Also, the Sombetini Rd is also known as Ngusero Rd (& called Ngusero on maps.ME - it doesn't even appear on googlemaps). Anyway, it would also have been helpful to know the last km is unsurfaced. Great hostel though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.1

The Greenhouse is the perfect stay in Arusha. I liked that it is not directly in the center of the city so that it is not very noisy. The staff is friendly and helpful. We could arrange everything from her for a good price. The beds are good and you get good value for your money as it is very cheap and all meals are included. A nice homely feeling here, we felt very comfortable staying here. Nothing to complain about.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
8.6

I would strongly recommend this place to backpackers (which are few) because it provides a very real experience of Arusha. It's a bit away from town - so be sure to save if for offline maps before arriving, but Joseph and Benson really try to show you a good time. I will always associate my tanzania experience with them. They totally make the place. Food is basic (toast, sometimes eggs, plain spaghetti, potatoes, tea) but I liked it and the dala dala to and from town was super easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.