Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Groove

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Aug 2017
8.3

We enjoyed our stay at The Groove. Not the cleanest or most social hostel ever, but it was quiet and the beds were comfortable enough (not super clean) although our room was pretty warm and a little uncomfortable. We attended 3 days of Sziget Festival plus two days of touring. I'm sure it depends on who your fellow hostelmates are, but we didn't meet a whole lot of people to hang out with as the common area is small and people seemed to keep to themselves. Overall would consider coming back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • carlyrose
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Jul 2017
8.0

Great hostel! Awesome chill area with hammock to meet fellow travellers. Staff were cool although some a bit lazy.. location isn't the best. Kitchen very good and bed was comfy and there's a great little balcony ;) thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2017
3.7

The hostel was very dirty . The staff was ok only a few were helpful . the kitchen area was very small and some of our food was taken while we were out one day . I would not recommend the groove to anyone I know .

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • natt414
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jul 2017
8.6

Brilliant location as it is right near the river with easy access to public transport. The hostel is located in a residential building, and I did walk past it once but once you know its there it is easy to find. The hostel itself is cosy and has a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Clean bathrooms, free tea and coffee.The dorm rooms don't have locks on the doors, but there are lockers. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. Its not like any hostel I've stayed in but I enjoyed my stay greatly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
9.7

Cool room, nice people, good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2017
6.0

Bit of a frosty atmosphere from the staff, if you're looking for a cool place to stay it's here, aesthetically nice. On occasion felt unwelcome and that we were bothering the staff and making their job difficult. Not very clean in showers/toilets/kitchen. However was a comfortable stay. Plenty of tea and coffee.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
7.4

The hostel is inside a very cool building. Just a couple of blocks from the parliament and old town. Beds and dorms are spacious and cool! Nevertheless there are some things these guys can improve: 1) The people at the front desk are nice, but sometimes they feel a little bit grumpy. 2) The guy of the front desk sleeps in the living room, which for me was uncomfortable because overtime I go out I though I was going to wake him up 3) It could look a little more clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • crystalwu1225
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Jul 2017
8.9

This hostel is a cool place to stay with really helpful staff and a bit more of a local feel than the city center. However, everything is still walkable which was good. The facilities were nice, with enough space to lock up bags, etc. They also had towels for anyone who needed them. The common area wasn't the most lively when I visited, but that might just be during the time I was there. All in all, a solid place to stay in Budapest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jul 2017
9.1

The hostel is located in an amazing building. I could really feel the atmosphere of the city and I actually could spend more time there. The atmosphere in the hostel was friendly and very relaxed. The rooms are very spacious and decorated in very original ways. One curious thing that I noticed was that the doors of the common rooms were always open so it is not a place where you can hope for a lot of privacy but if you decide to read a book no one is going to bother you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2017
10.0

Couldn't have asked for a better hostel. Great location, super cool building and interior, very friendly and helpful staff who knew what was up and going down in budapest. Very chilled vibe but also if you were after a night out there was always some people who were keen. It attracted a very good type of traveller and many friendships were made. Wish I could have stayed longer! Couldn't recommend it any more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.