Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Groove

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
The Groove Located at The Szent István krt 16., , Budapest.
The Groove
Hungary
Budapest 1137 The Szent István krt 16.
89% 1340
47.5120009 19.0519277
The Groove
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Tim2100
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
9.4

Well recommended. This hostel is my 1st hostel stay. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The kitchen and common area are cosy and comfortable. Bunk beds are comfortable although the top bunk is quite high. The decor is fun and quirky. Location is great as it is close to Parliament Square and West end. With nearby trams to whisk you around. I changed my plans and stayed here longer as it was so friendly and felt like home. I can't wait to come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
8.0

Cute and small hostel, great if you want to socialise with everyone. Good location, staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
9.4

Love this place. It's in a wonderful location if you don't want to stay permanently in the Jewish 'party' district. Right next to the bridge over to an island in the river. The staff is very warm and kind, but they could work on their organization. I had money asked of me, and then returned to me, on multiple occasions. It didn't bother me at all, but it might bother a more concerned traveller.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear traveler, Thank you so much for your nice words and I'd like to apologize for the inconveniences that we caused with this payment issue. we've talked it through with the staff, especially with the new receptionists who weren't that skillful in the beginning of September. Now they are handling the payments with much more caution. Again I'm sorry and I hope it won't stop you from returning to us once you are in Budapest again. have a safe travel, Lili manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.7

Cool hostel, view from balcony is insame! Staff were pretty helpful. But when we stayed it wasn't very social, the common area is a bit tiny.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2016
8.9

Very good for the price and location. Great if you just want to chill in the hostel too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Aug 2016
9.7

The groove was such a fun place to stay, great staff and amazing people to meet there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lishuaieric8773
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
7.4

Really nice and cosy place. However, the staff should specify cash only in the confirmation email rather than told me most places only accept cash in Budapest which was a lie and left me no options but to go out in the rain to get cash or had my passport detained by them.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback, however I refuse your accusations. First of all it is marked on our Hostelworld page that it's a cash only place, just like most of the hostels in Budapest. Second, as a local person who lives in Budapest, I can assure you that in many places you cannot pay with card (especially in smaller pubs, clubs), it's not an exceptional thing. Also we never send anybody out in the rain, storm to withdraw money (btw the atm is about 30 m from the hostel), if you had asked us to pay a bit later, we would have said yes...you just should have asked. Also I believe that it's pretty normal that we keep your Passport paper until you pay your balance (this rule was issued as earlier there were some occasions when people left without paying). Kind regards, Lili manager

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Aug 2016
6.6

We booked a private room at The Groove. The room was on a different floor then the other rooms of the hostel, and for that reason it was less then we expected. The hostel itself seemed really nice, with a good cozy atmosphere and helpful staff. However the private rooms were a bit old and we didn't get the feeling it was part of the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
9.1

Great place to stay. Staff is very laid back and chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
9.4

This place was cool. It's in a really old building right near the river and parliament so there is lots of sight seeing you can do right from there. We only stayed one night on our way to sziget music fest. Staff did our laundry for us at a good price takes a few hours for it to get done though. Rooms are pretty cool too with spacious cubbies and bunks with curtains. Bathrooms and showers are limited though so you may end up waiting a few minutes before you can get in. Staff was super friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.