Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Groove

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8
The Groove Located at The Szent István krt 16., , Budapest.
The Groove
Hungary
Budapest 1137 The Szent István krt 16.
90% 1324
47.5120009 19.0519277
The Groove
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lishuaieric8773
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
7.4

Really nice and cosy place. However, the staff should specify cash only in the confirmation email rather than told me most places only accept cash in Budapest which was a lie and left me no options but to go out in the rain to get cash or had my passport detained by them.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Aug 2016
6.6

We booked a private room at The Groove. The room was on a different floor then the other rooms of the hostel, and for that reason it was less then we expected. The hostel itself seemed really nice, with a good cozy atmosphere and helpful staff. However the private rooms were a bit old and we didn't get the feeling it was part of the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
9.1

Great place to stay. Staff is very laid back and chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
6.3

It is a very basic hostel. The location is decent, you are close to the river and Parliament and everything worth seeing is in walking distance. My biggest complaint was the staff. They were friendly but not very helpful. They had many brochures about things to do, but when I asked about the activities in their brochures, they couldn't help me. The facilities were not as clean as they could have been and I didn't see anyone clean during my time there. Overall it was an okay stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
9.7

Great hostel! I will definitely come back there. Awesome atmosphere! It's quite small so you *have to* meet and integrate with other people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
8.6

Really nice little hostel let down by some of its staff being completely clueless! We had to change rooms during our stay twice due to a booking mix up but seemed to know more about this than the staff at reception even though I had been forewarned by email.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.1

Perfect location, only hard to find at first. Great hosts and easy atmosphere. Totally worth of money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • hollyvictoria1
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jul 2016
6.9

Very hard to find as directions clearly aren't up to date. However the hostel is very cute and it's got the basics. One of the toilets was out of use so there was only two for 4/5 rooms but it was manageable. Beds are comfy and security is pretty good. Would recommend to anyone to go on the free walking tours in Budapest!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, I'm sorry that you had trouble finding us, you must know that we are not allowed to put out bigger signs (we have a small one, so if you've found the building it should be alright), but we are working on finding out something for this issue, we know it can be a problem. However I've just checked the directions and they are totally up to date, so I don't really understand this part. About the toilet, yes it was an issue but it was fixed last week. Have a nice travel furthermore

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2016
9.7

I absolutely loved my stay at the Groove. The staff were all super nice and helpful, and the hostel had a really cool laid back but friendly vibe. I felt instantly at home and ended up extending my stay by two nights. They have tons of boardgames, a book exchange, and a blackboard for events, so if you're travelling alone it's a great place to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.4

Really nice, quirky hostel, but there were only two toilets and two showers between all the guests which could mean very long waits in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear traveller, Thanks for the nice words and sorry about the toilets. Normally we have 3 showers and toilets, and actually the showers are all operating so I think you might not recognized the third one. With the toilet we had an issue which was a nightmare we had called 4 different experts to fix it but somehow one of them did a great job which is ridiculous, and it also means we hadn't found the right one unfortunately,..but finally we did and now all three toilets are in operation (for 24 people if it's full house). Again, I'm apologizing for the inconveniences that it caused for you. Have a nice trip furthermore, Lili manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.