Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Happily Ever After Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jun 2017
8.3

Pros: Its located in thamel which has very good connectivity. The staff are very friendly and it is one of the quiet hostels which i liked. Cons: No ceiling fans or A/C. Bathrooms can be cleaner

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
8.0

Pretty standard in terms of room/facilities. Rooftop is nice, but the breakfast is tiny. Held our bags for free in a secure room while we trekked which was nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2017
8.3

I stayed for 2 nights and it was nice, friendly staff, but the atmosphere could be boosted a little! If you are looking for a more chill and not so social hostel, this is a good place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
10.0

Loved it!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.7

Amazing place! My home in Kathmandu.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Dr_Bibhakar
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Apr 2017
8.6

Well hostel is in middle of the thamel, staff are very supportive and chilled. It's very basic hostel but still you will have a comfortable stay. Cheapest in the entire thamel :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.1

My boyfriend and I travelled around Nepal for seven weeks and used Happily Ever After as our base in Thamel. The owners, Krishna and Gahn made it feel like we were coming home everytime we returned from a trek, Pokhara or Chitwan. The free breaky is small and the hot water comes and goes but the wifi is strong, the rooms are clean and the people are super friendly. The location is also awesome and bag storage is free and secure. It is a quieter hostel but you can meet cool people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Mar 2017
8.0

Standard accommodation for Kathmandu. Rooms and shared bathroom were clean. Unfortunately there was a nightclub/large car park outside our window so it was very noisy all night. We had to leave the next morning because of this. Staff were friendly and helpful and understanding.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
4.3

Not a good place to stay, dorm was very cramped with just 4 people. Beds were very uncomfortable with dips in and poor quality that gave us back ache! No fan/ac. Is located right next to a very loud karaoke bar which will keep you awake. Lack of security as there's one key per dorm and no lockers even for passports! When given laundry they didn't take it for a day after and we only got it back 10 mins before checkout 2 days later! Very poor compared to other hostel in Thamel used after our trek.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, So sorry to heard about your stay in Happily Ever After Hostel, But i gave you the room you have booked , The things i don't understand why you complaining the the we don't offer. you never saw our lockers are ? even we told to you if you want to use it pls do let us but never... you stay all your booking Night but still complaint ?

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
9th Mar 2017
6.9

You get what you pay for! Dorms were fine but noisy next to a loud bar, not the cleanest and also there was no social area apart from the lobby downstairs so it was hard to meet people! Ok for a couple of nights and good value when it includes breakfast too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.