Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Happily Ever After Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 200 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 200 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.7
The Happily Ever After Hostel Located at Thamel Road, Thamel, Kathmandu.
The Happily Ever After Hostel
Nepal
Kathmandu 7265 Thamel Road, Thamel
80% 200
27.7166899 85.3124535
The Happily Ever After Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Nov 2016
4.9

The facilities were poor due to no working light or hot water in the bathroom of the dorm. The breakfast was basic and the room layout left most beds with little to no space. Also the power went out on occasion.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Nov 2016
6.9

If you're looking for a very budget option then this place is fine. The location is great for wandering around Thamel. Breakfast is a bit unappetising.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Oct 2016
8.9

Stayed here for 8 nights... female dorm was great. Bathroom was an en suite from the dorm room with hot water and it was cleaned daily. Hostel also has a good scheme for refilling your water bottle for 10 rupees (cheap and cuts down on plastic bottle use). Laundry service was as cheap as other laundry businesses advertise in Thamel... 100 rupees per kg. The last night I was moved to the 8 person mixed dorm as a big group was arriving, this room had fewer windows and a smaller bathroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Oct 2016
8.3

Super friendly and helpful staff. Room fairly comfortable and adequate for price. Excellent location in Thamel and probably a little quieter than places on the main roads. Would definitely recommend staying here when visiting Kathmandu.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Oct 2016
9.1

Awesome place for the price you pay, location is great and the free breakfast is killer. Staff are amazing, Krishna was a massive help organising day trips, booking buses and helping out around the hostel, best place for backpackers in Kathmandu

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Oct 2016
8.9

Thank you for everything! I will live Happily Ever After until I see you again soon. :-) A great hostel in the heart of Thamel. Basic but relaxed and friendly. Fantastic restaurants just down the road. What more do you need?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Oct 2016
9.4

Great staff, location down quiet alley in Thamel, water refills available, free simple breakfast. Only problem was the outlets and light in our room didn't have electricity off and on (not due to power outage!), and the fan got overheated, but staff assisted as much as they could. Overall great place to stay.....the staff make it that way.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
8.9

Great location right near all tourist facilities, and excellent staff that are very helpful. They have a good rapport with all guests and the atmosphere in the hostel is very friendly as a result. I used the luggage storage and laundry facilities, plus received much advice about directions and transport etc.. Only problem was a blocked (stinky!) toilet in the dorm I stayed in. No doubt the best value stay in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
8.6

Good value for money. They are quite helpful. Could leave my back when I went for a trekk, use the kitchen for doing coffee, etc. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2016
9.1

I loved staying at the Happily Ever After. For the price the value cannot be beat. There are more expensive hostels in the area, but what makes the Happily Ever After worth the stay is the great staff. The owner, Ghan, is actively dedicated to ensure each guest is satisfied with his or her stay. Ghan helped me book a last minute trek to Everest Base Camp, find a deal on domestic and foreign airplane tickets that saved me hundreds of dollars, and helped me receive a new debit card through the som

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.