Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Happily Ever After Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 184 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 184 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
The Happily Ever After Hostel Located at Thamel Road, Thamel, Kathmandu.
The Happily Ever After Hostel
Nepal
Kathmandu 7265 Thamel Road, Thamel
82% 184
27.7166899 85.3124535
The Happily Ever After Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
8.6

Good value for money. They are quite helpful. Could leave my back when I went for a trekk, use the kitchen for doing coffee, etc. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
8.0

Incredibly friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast, decent wifi, overall a nice hostel for the price. Only complaint I have is the rooms get very hot and there isn't any method of cooling off. I understand that air conditioning is a huge luxury in countries like this but I feel like at least a fan should come standard these days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
9.1

The place is good and the staff are very helpful. Somehow Krishna was available 24 hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • claejames
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
10.0

The best -and cheapest- place to spend your time in Kathmandu, super central to everything you need and filled with good vibes! The guys who run the place are beyond awesome and willing to help you out with anything you might need. Keeping in mind just how cheap this place is, it's some of the best value for money to be found in the KTM valley -with a basic breakfast and coffee included. Highly recommended!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
7.1

Overall, I think it is worth staying here. The staff are fantastic, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. My room wasn't that clean and I asked them to change the sheets and they did. In truth, it could have done with a better clean. My bathroom light did not work and nor did the fan. Location is great for thamel but dogs barking all night meant little sleep. They also pick up from the airport which is really handy. Free bread and eggs for breakfast and communal roof top area too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
10.0

Amazing staff, Helpful and friendly. Comfortable beds. Good value for money. Central location in the middle on thamel. Booked on a whim as cheap. Have been staying in nepal for a month and by far my favorite hostel. Recomend to everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
9.4

Perfect place to stay in Thamel, Ghan and Krisna are very nice guys, they'll help you with all you need. Great value for money with breakfast included during your stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Jul 2016
7.4

The hostel is located in Thamel, a very busy, noisy, touristic neighbourhood. It is in a closed lane and not very easy to find. I spent just one night as I was on my way to other city, and what I saw was correct (rooms and bathrooms were tidy). Staff members are friendly. Common areas are not nice. I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2016
9.4

Great location with a lot of places to eat and shop near by. Staff is very helpful. They can pretty much help you with anything you might want to do in Kathmandu and Nepal in general. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.4

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff is extremely friendly. I met some amazing people here and the rooftop terrace is a great place to hangout and make friends. Breakfast was small but nice: toast, egg, and coffee/tea. I stayed in 6 person girls dorm and it was a good amount of space. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay you get an awesome deal for your money here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.