X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Happily Ever After Hostel Reviews

Thamel Road, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
125 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Incredible hostel, with incredible owner and staff, would definitly stay here again

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great staff, great atmosphere. If what you look for in a hostel is atmosphere, look no further. The breakfast is just an egg and a piece of toast but it's free! The staff works hard for you and will help you with anything. Good people around. Terrible wifi but it's bad everywhere in Kathmandu. Would definitely stay again! Bathrooms were as clean as possible. Hot water doesn't really work but again, it's kind of hit or miss everywhere here. Top hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for you such a great review about our hostel it appreciated! about hot shower and wifi is we have change our volume from 2 days ago is better happily down connection change double power volume . hot water during the day time by slower plane and plug in while there is electricity and have gas ziger too . sure i work very hard to make alive it . i hope to see you soon . Ghan AMGAI

91%

Perfect stop over in Kathmandu. Really nice vibe about the place and the free breakfast is always appreciated. Hari works so hard, as do all the staff. All very helpful. Showers are hot but you have to wait until the power is back on. That's no ones fault! Don't leave a bad review because of that! I'll be back! Thank you guys!


89%

Fantastic staff. Good atmosphere. Great location .


97%

Nice hostel ! Staff really helpful !

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good place to Stay! Close to the main market and many facilities around! They can Help u to find activities as u prefer like trekking around Himalayas and others! They provided me a very cute and kind guide for trekking in himalaia! Dipak Bhatta helped me a lot in the trekking, being patient and careful about me! Anything could be better.. Thanks for all


77%

Cheap and cheerful. Great value for money! Clean and tidy.


89%

Very nice hostel! Great location, great atmosphere, staff is friendly, Krishna was awesome! The owner Ghan is nice guy and very helpful with booking your trekking! But After you book your hostel he will offer you transport from the airport for $12 (1200 rupees). Which is a rip off. If you walk outside the airport down to the street you can get a taxi for 500-600 rupees.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thanks for your kind review to our property and your opinion about stay. why pick up charge is bit higher then airport you should you at this time there is fuel shortage and not enough fuel we have to buy on black market it's cost times 3 then normal and you have to go from all the way from Thamel to Airport but airport taxi are already there and our is not taxi is car you sent pick up . fell free to order our nice car or airport taxi hassling until when you arrive at the hostel . good luck guys

100%

Ghan, the hotel manager, is very helpful and knows all about the trekking options in Nepal. The hotel is clean, quiet, and in a great location in Thamel.


100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in.


94%

The stay was very pleasant, location is great, boy at the reception was very nice and helpful!

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

I stayed at Happily Ever After Hostel for all of my visits to Kathmandu. Great location on Thamel and very affordable. Very friendly and helpful staff! They helped organize my trek and my trip to Chitwan National Park.


83%

This place really is great. Being in nepal for couple of hours and you realize everyone wants a peice of you and more 99% of them trying to swindle you so be careful. So whe. I say that the guy at this hostel is honest gives you more then fair price i do mean it as well dont be like me get your information and bus or trekking tickets from him he can help with many things. Really friendly but not over friendly i want to rip you off kind 😁😆😆😎

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Good location, Clean toilet , hot shower, Free - WiFi+breakfast for everyone, cozy bed. what do you need more? I stayed here 3 times when i journey there. You can easily find trekking stuff and souvenirs. the location is far from noise pollution ,Just only karaoke at night from the next building but not a big deal. There is a good and cheap Muslim food near by there "Almandina halal" only 5 mins walk. Staff is very friendly and helpful. the owner is so kind and annoying in the same time.




View all Kathmandu Hostels

Please give us your feedback