Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Happily Ever After Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 238 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 238 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Dr_Bibhakar
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Apr 2017
8.6

Well hostel is in middle of the thamel, staff are very supportive and chilled. It's very basic hostel but still you will have a comfortable stay. Cheapest in the entire thamel :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.1

My boyfriend and I travelled around Nepal for seven weeks and used Happily Ever After as our base in Thamel. The owners, Krishna and Gahn made it feel like we were coming home everytime we returned from a trek, Pokhara or Chitwan. The free breaky is small and the hot water comes and goes but the wifi is strong, the rooms are clean and the people are super friendly. The location is also awesome and bag storage is free and secure. It is a quieter hostel but you can meet cool people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
9th Mar 2017
6.9

You get what you pay for! Dorms were fine but noisy next to a loud bar, not the cleanest and also there was no social area apart from the lobby downstairs so it was hard to meet people! Ok for a couple of nights and good value when it includes breakfast too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Feb 2017
7.1

Great budget option in Thamel. The breakfast is small but a real plus, and the staff are all lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place to stay overall, you are basically in the centre of the town, perfect for getting around! Very clean rooms, the staff are amazing, they really do help you with everything, brilliant atmosphere, Stayed here twice, just proves how good it is!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Jasonha19871411
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 59 reviews
14th Feb 2017
6.6

Great staff and great location, but improvement is needed for the facilities here. Broken lights, exposed wires, broken toilets and a poor laundry cleaning provider.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
7.4

A great place for the value. Don't expect much though. Highly recommend for anyone on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jan 2017
6.9

Good price but dull atmosphere. The room was untidy too...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.4

Down a side alleyway off the Main Street in Thamel, there was plenty around to see and do. Although, go a few streets over if you're looking for cheaper food, they hike it up on the Main Street. Staff were lovely and helpful, and free breakfast was a big plus! Being one of the cheapest accomodation in Kathmandu, the beds and facilities were basic but good value for money. They had wifi, a rooftop balcony, and a shower. Other travellers staying there were lovely, and we had a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Dec 2016
8.6

It is a great hostel. The location was perfect in my opinion, still in Thamel, but in a quieter area, near good places to eat good in a low budget. The guys there where really nice, specially Krishna who was really friendly and helpful with everyone around. The beds are comfy, the rooms safe, they have a nice rooftop to have a simple breakfast every morning. They stored some of my stuff while I was trekking for almost a month and when I went back everything was in perfect conditions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.