Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Hat Madrid

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 2812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 2812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
9.4

Excellent modern hostel located right by Plaza Mayor and many of the main tourist attractions. Friendly and helpful staff and great events organised for tourists. The rooftop bar was a great place to relax in the evenings before heading into town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tedfernau9988
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
9.7

The hat is a great hostel. It is very put together, clean, cool. We did not have good sleep here since we went to sleep early (11:30PM). Around 4 everyone else came home with lights and noise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Clean, amazing location and an awesome rooftop bar/restaurant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.6

The hat. Was very pretty and nice hostel. Cheap. And staff were helpful. But I found to not much be hapowning around the area, have to go for a walk further down city for bars or festival etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2017
9.1

Could have been more showers for the rooms and they need sinks in the toilets

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andrewgloster
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
9.4

Really great hostel to start our trip. Staff made everything really easy. Room was clean and location excellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
6.0

This is a gorgeous hostel and one of the nicest it's a shame they've done it so badly. As a solo traveller all I care about is the social aspect, there is a bar open to the public on the roof, i went and sat up there with a drink and was asked to move from a reserved seat, in a hostel bar. The hostel makes token efforts to have a traveller social but they care more about selling pub crawl tickets than introducing new people. I felt very isolated and alone here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Aug 2017
9.1

The hat is an modern, cool hostel. I was lured into booking the hostel for the rooftop as well, however they open it up to the public which made it impossible for us to get dinner and drinks at the hostel and enjoy the facilities it has to offer! There isn't a whole lot of other space to hang out so your forced to leave the hostel and drink/hang out elsewhere! Otherwise the hostel and staff were so great and we enjoyed our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2017
9.1

Beautiful hostel with great facilities. They promote the restaurant upstairs but it's a public one so it's not just hostel guests there. Not much of a place to meet other guests. There were also groups of young high school students who were quite loud staying there as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
9.4

Great hostel - very clean and in central location. Good atmosphere on the roof bar or downstairs, great way to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.