Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Hat Madrid

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 2366 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 2366 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sac86
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
8.0

Definitely I recommend the Hat, the staff is very friendly, and the place is cozy. Suggestion, explain the person that has just arrived how it works the way to have a breakfast, suggest to the person that bicycles are available for foreigners (not free but they are able to sign up and pay for it)...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
9.4

Great hostal! Comfortable, clean and good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
9.1

This was the very first hostel that I have ever stayed in, and I'd have to say my one night stay was very pleasant. They have a beautiful rooftop bar where you are able to sit till midnight. Individual chargers per bed, and lockers were provided. I was able to leave my backpack there for the day with a €2 fee while I walked around the city. The only negative remark was that this place was a little difficult to find. Other than that, the staff was pretty friendly and the walking tour was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
9.7

Loved this place, extremely clean great staff , first hostel I actually would recommend to anyone going to Madrid

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
9.7

Within walking distance of the Metro station and the main plaza. As well as the Palace. Friendly and helpful staff, I stayed in a 4 bed dorm with an en suite, it was clean and comfortable. The water did keep cutting out to cold now and again in the showers, but think this depends on the time of day. The wifi was also excellent, with no issues.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
9.7

First time away on my own, felt at home as soon as I arrived. Drinks a bit pricey I found out and exploring other little bars etc. I would stop here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
10.0

Best hostel I have stayed in. The staff and the service were great. Highlights: affordable breakfast, clean showers, great rooftop bar, central location. Only minor constructive criticism I have is that it would of been great if they provided locks for the lockers (they did not have any locks left).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
10.0

Amazing stay. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Place was spotless. Brilliant location and so close to trains. Roof garden is awesome and the cocktails there are soo good! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Madrid!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ajitthoms6908
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
6.9

The toilets are really far away from one set of the rooms and that isnt helping especially when you may get locked out or in a particular area coz of the lock system based on floor wise access cards. My friends on the fourth floor could only come into our rooms on the second floor if we went around to open the entrance each time for them. The hot water system in the shower works poorly. You could turn it all the way up to the cold side and still get burning hot water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostel with top location, clean, friendly staff, good mattress and pillows. Very nice rooftop bar and they organise daily walking tours and pub crawls. The only (small) minus is that because they open the bar and common areas to everyone at night (it's that good), it's harder to meet people if you're traveling by yourself: it's mostly groups of locals, etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.