Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Hipstel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
The Hipstel Located at Carrer de Valencia 266, , Barcelona.
The Hipstel
Spain
Barcelona 08007 Carrer de Valencia 266
85% 1821
41.3924089 2.1629333
The Hipstel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
6.6

Decent location Wifi worked for only 15 minutes of the three days I was there. Showers flooded You can't let yourself into the building, have to wait until someone buzzed you in. Sometimes took 5-10 minutes. The bottom bunks have curtains which was good. Even though it wasn't that bad, probably wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
6.0

Good location and could've been a great stay, but a few things went wrong.. In the 3 days we stayed there, the water in the men's bathroom flooded to the lower floor twice. At one point the water was shut off completely and when turned back on, you could only take a boiling hot shower or freezing cold shower. The wifi didn't work for 2 days up until midnight the night before we left. Staff was ok for the most part but they seemed disorganized and some argued in front of residents.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
10.0

Great place, good location, lovely decor and helpful staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
10.0

very helpful staff - smiling, made you feel at home, liked rooms, showers and the atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jul 2016
4.0

Horrible hostel. I was meant to stay for 4 nights and left after one. Really uncomfortable beds, no air con (despite saying there was), unclean and really unhelpful staff.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Jul 2016
7.1

Stayed here for ages, staff were a mix, bearded guy, tattooed guy and manager were all really fantastic but other staff were not so great. Overall great facilities, except for the lack of evident aircon in the 12 person dorm. Location was great, pre decent hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
10.0

The location is perfect near to the topical buildings of Gaudí. The staff is very helpful and the atmosphere is great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
10.0

Great atmosphere & location. One night after The Hipstel's pub crawl we came back and rang the buzzer to get in for literally 15 minutes. And the only way we got into the building was when someone left and opened the door for us. Very small lockers. Not dorm style bathrooms and not a lot of them so sometimes you have to wait if you wake up late/ come back early.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel! The staff were so helpful and very welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
3.4

The room was like a prison! It was full with bunker beds and there was no space to even stand next to the bed. The bunker bed is so small that you can't even be sitting on it unless you bend yourself all the time. Again, I felt like being in a prison or very poorly treated army. Location is not bad but all the facilities don't worth the money I paid at all. I would definitely recommend you to go to other hostels if possible.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.