X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Hipstel Reviews

Carrer de Valencia 266, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1068 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Excellent location and good unexpansive breakfast (3 euros). But Chairs and sofas have to be changed in common area because very unconfortable. At the 1st floor juste 2 showers so we have to wait along time... and no light for the beds in the dorm of 6.


100%

I liked this hostel very much! Gentle staff, good atmosphere. It is also well located close to the Metro and you can also walk to the station to get the train to the airport.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely loved this hostel, despite the awful name The Hipstel has an amazing place.


77%

My room smelt a bit funny and the heating didn't work. The hostel was fully booked so they didn't have any spare extra blankets, ended up using a towel. Otherwise it was a good stay.


83%

Very easy to check in and check out with a brilliant location! The only trouble was trying to use the bathroom in the morning as there always seemed to be a queue.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was excellent value for money, very clean and an excellent location, I felt very safe walking around at night. the reception staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Highly recommended

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed another week at the Hipstel, still best place ever ! Staff and guests are absolutely amazing, I feel like I am living in the movie L'auberge Espagnole :)


97%

I really appreciated the warm welcome, the assistance I received, and the relaxed atmosphere. Thanks!

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greenland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel was located in an impressive building near metro paseo de gracia and only minutes walk from Plaza Catalunya and Diagonal. It was clean. Rooms were spacious, but it would have been good to have private bedside lights. Showers were rather small without private space to undress. I stayed for 2 nights, one of them was very noisy with people shouting well after midnight. I would advise the staff to maintain silence in the hostel at night as people come there to rest.


86%

It would be more respectful when Cleaning lady comes in mens bathroom to knock on door before entering..Clients should be allowed to use kitchen during 8pm and 9pm. Staff is very nice..


100%

Great staff, nice people there, for the money it was a really nice place to stay, an excellent location

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Wifi doesnt work so good but you can deal with it, really good location, good bedrooms cleaned everyday lighty good mastress, only 2 showers and bathrooms for the hole hostel but if you go before the rushhours it goes, really good staff sympatic, good and big kitchen, i would recomand this hostel to anyone!


83%

Eveything was nearly perfect! Only the batbroom... It's a little bit dirty and small. The rest, great!


77%

Decent stay here, only slight disappointment was the price of the breakfast, given what it was, but seeing as the overall price was fantastic, not too much of a problem.


94%

Definitely the best hostel I've ever been to. Central, beautiful, cheap, the staff is amazing (especially Merk haha) and the guests are all incredible too :) Be careful though, many people were known to miss their flights home just to enjoy this place a little more !


63%

More information about the hostel and the area needs to be given on check in. We were not told (and nor are there any posters) about bringing sheets down at the end of our stay. We were in a rush, and although it's not difficult to do this, being told about it would have saved us the hassle. Very helpful information given about nightlife. The sheets on our beds seemed a little dirty, but the balcony in the room was very nice!


100%

My brother and I have a great time. The staff were really helpful and ready to help us out with directions. The location was perfect. Right by the metro station from the airport, didn't have to change trains. And we walked most places. Awesome building and kitchen areas. Space to do your own thing if you want or they provide breakfast and dinner for €3/€5. Would highly recommend.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Great for the price.


74%

In some ways a really good hostel. It struck me that the endless numbers of unpaid staff are somewhat exploited, however. But they're all lovely and very helpful. Facilities-wise, it was a pretty standard hostel. The 3 euro breakfast is prettty good for the money, and it's nice that they have a coffee machine to use free of charge.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is close to the ramblas, It is easy to reach almost everywhere by walking, Stuff is very kind and friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(130 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback