X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Hipstel Reviews

Carrer de Valencia 266, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1189 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The location is almost perfect. The space is very cosy and comfortable. The staff is nice and helpful.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

this hostel was good. but i was shocked that I need to pay 3 euro for a simple breakfast (which I thought I'll be getting it for free!). even other backpackers were shocked too. anyway, the receptionist was polite enough to say sorry for the misunderstanding. but the 3 euro breakfast is not satisfying. basically all i ate was cereals, boiled egg, bread and jams and milk. all others are unnecessary and waste of money.


74%

I don't like the fee charged for the lock, it should be free.


100%

Staff were excellent, very friendly and with great recommendations. Room, kitchen, shared washrooms were all very clean. Hostel is within walking distance to much of the city, however there is a transit stop very close by. Nearby grocery stores also. Very safe and secure hostel and area in general.

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I loved the location of this hostel. Staff were very helpful. The rooms were comfortable. And it is great value for money, I only paid 6.90 per night which is a bargain. Highly recommended. A couple of things this hostel has to look into are: 1. Bathrooms could use a little bit of work, althought they were acceptable, some repairs are in order. 2. Guests cannot cook in the kitchen. Travelers on a budget who stay for a number of days may want to cook their meals some times to avoid high costs.


100%

It was really good. I'm going to visit here again if i visit Barcelona again. I strongly recommend this hostel :)

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good value for money, clean hostel, helpful and nice staff. Enough happening around, enough stuff organized.


63%

The bathrooms are disgusting! Nobody cleans this place. The female communal bathroom has hair everywhere! But the receptionists are very nice and very helpful. The free walking tour they offer is really great too.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a nice stay at the Hipstel, I would come back next time I have to go to BCN :-)

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Everything good. However, you could have lockers installed in the lockers rather than selling them. You could charge your customers if they loose the key or something. Also, I don't know about women's restrooms, but men's restroom is sometimes very awkward to use because when you are out of the showers, anybody can see you naked once you are outside of the showers. Additionally, your shower drains need to be flushing. They are usually very clugged. Other than that, you are good.


89%

Everything was good but the internet connection,mate! Still a place to stay,tho.


60%

there were no curtains, I can aacept there are no shutters, but curtains...and it was too noisy, the room was beside the lounge and the terrace, so people stayed awake till late and we couldn't sleep. there should be more floors and the rooms shouldn't be too close to the common areas.


77%

This place has a cheap price per night and is located at very central spot but don't expect luxury. Breakfast not included, and the biggest problem... very, very bad wifi, I essentially could not use the internet for 2 days. If you only need a place to sleep, and meet a few people this works. For a stay longer than 2 nights Casa Gracia is a better option and essentially the same price, as breakfast, towels are free and internet works.


83%

Some issues with roommates who try after-party in the room and just outside the room at 4am (neighbours also came out to ask them to be quiet) but on my last morning I understood why that was as the common area was closed at 7am. I assume it is then closed for a part of the night but if you can't have that area for people to hang out in it would be good for the people who want to sleep if you didn't have the seating areas in front of the rooms as that is where people then continue the fiesta.


100%

It is my second stay here and they improved very much: the common room was warm. The internet was still slow but everything else was perfect


100%

Really nice place, easy to find, breakfast included, pretty clean! A lot of information around, maps. Pretty place and nice staff!

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Location is near the centre of the town and metro line is only 5 minutes walk. Friendly staff, basic hostel for a good

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It's an awesome place but the amenities and cleanliness could be better. Besides that, the location is amazing and you're so near of Plaça Catalunya which is the main square at Barcelona.


100%

The location of the hostel is great. Easy to reach from the airport and close to the center and a metro station. As well I liked the atmosphere and the decoration of the hostel.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel to stay near to the city centre! Great atmosphere, lovely & fun staff, they've loads of information on alternative touristic options.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(82 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback