X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Hipstel Reviews

Carrer de Valencia 266, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1300 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The staff was absolutely amazing at this hostel, especially one guy named calum who worked at reception was so friendly and helpful. Clean hostel. Great stay!

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Staff was rude and unprofessional. They just want your money

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Location and price make this the perfect place to stay in Barcelona. The staff is very Friendly and helpful. I will recommend this hostel!

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Location of the hostel is very good and staff is friendly. Good place to spend for couple nights, but the common area is not enough to meet other people or spend some time


89%

I stay in 12 mixed-bedroom and I think it's worth the money you pay (pretty cheap compared to others). Everything is good except if you are living on the Internet, this place is definitely not for you because the wifi is very very slow. Technically, I had to live my live in the cloud away and just simply enjoy going around Barcelona. Location is perfect, right center of Barcelona. The receptionists are somehow unstable (some is very good, some is pretty slow with procedure)

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good location, close to the main square, Staff was nice and welcoming. Thanks guys!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, people were super nice. Staff was a little disorganized but other than that everything was great and would stay again.


80%

I enjoyed my stay at the Hipstel. I felt comfortable leaving my bag in my room, and they had a storage room. The staff was very flexible and helpful with/for me. The environment is definitely a party one at night, so if you want a quiet night make sure and be on the 2nd floor. The negative for me was that they had a nice kitchen in the common area but you could only use the microwave and fridge. Location was great. Overall a good experience.


51%

Really not sure how this place had such good reviews. The room I was in was tiny, there was no space to put your luggage other than under or on your bed. There were no lockers for luggage, only small ones like you have in high school. On our entire level (of at least 10 Dorm rooms with 6+ people I'm sure) there were 3 showers for ladies and 1 shower for guys. The staff were not particularly helpful or friendly, even when they screwed up my bed number so I had to move twice.


100%

Great staff, great activities, great rooms/facilities. Very highly recommended

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This is a great place to stay if you are a backpacker. It is very clean and a great deal for your money. About a 5-10 minute walk to all the cool spots down La Rambla. You are going to want to take public transportation to the beach otherwise it's really far. Nice beds. Clean bathrooms. No breakfast included but free coffee/espresso and the staff gave us free food. Atmosphere was pretty average. The wifi is really slow and makes you check in on Facebook like 7 times a day. I would stay here agai


60%

Just rich people!! The Crew hostel so boring!! Hahah Not talk too much! Boring time😳😳

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The line between guests and staff is very thin which means that they will often hang out or bring you with them if they know a cool party at night. This does not compromise excellent service and generally clean vibe. Great place to stay.


100%

This is an awesome hostel really like it here, I just wish I stayed longer, great staff and excellent location!

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Hipstal was a good stay! Would come back for sure!


71%

No kitchen :( but breakfast is a good spread, love the fruit, and coffee machine is available most hours and the hot chocolate from it was stellar. Showers good, but would be nice if they removed the light timers. Showering and the lights would go out, little creepy. Staff were pretty good, served by one girl who was a little airy, wouldn't go out of her way to do anything for you. Rooms ok, showers hot :) you will be comfortable here :)


97%

Very good location, great place with a very nice and welcoming staff that make you feel at homeM

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Only stayed one night, but it was perfect for us and excellent value. Had a lovely, clean, comfy bedroom. Great facilities and Friendly staff.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Hostal charming, Great place, very close to all means of public transportation and walking distance from Placa Catalunya. The staff was very helpful and friendly, The hostel looks amazing, it's clean and safe, will definitely stay here again when I revisit Barcelona.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

J'ai vraiment apprécié le décor, l'accueil est chaleureux ainsi que le personnel. L'idée d'installer des canapés est pratique pour discuter avec d'autres voyageurs et ainsi faire la connaissance de nouvelles personne très sympathiques !

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Swaziland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(111 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback