X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Hive Hostel Reviews

55 Stirling Street, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
173 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 57%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I made some new travel buddies who I'm going to go to Darwin with so I'm really happy about that. There were many new people coming into the hostel. the prices were very cheap as its meant to be low season now but the hostel appeared to be full. staff were helpful

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Big old hostel that is walking distance to everything in the area including public transport, the train is just around the corner. the staff were fine and the people there were pretty cool.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Was the cheapest hostel in the city. Good atmostphere

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Poor hostel, although in good location. I came earlier but they didn't allow me to check in although there was a free bed in my dorm (as I later learned), which was a big nuisance for me. lockers were all broken, the bed was rather uncomfortable, overall i didn't feel well there. there is a big club adjacent to the hostel, so at night it might be noisy. Internet might have been better, but compared to other issues i can't complain.


97%

very cheap hostel, you get what you pay for. wifi worked well. was a little cold but the weather is getting better

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Good wifi throughout the hostel, 24 share dorm room is the cheapest room and a great way to meet new people. Big lounge room

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good to see the hostel is improving some facilities such as the showers and kitchen etc. still a lot of work to go but it has a lot of potential. great people and a great night out.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Bit of a dive really. Shower water went into the hallway and made about 10 meters of carpet wet and smelly. Dorm room door lock wasn't working. Not a hostel I'd recomend


54%

Positives: The hostel is in a great location, really close to the cbd and the train station. The free wifi is really fast. Negatives: It's very unclean. The rooms have a strange smell, and the bathrooms are quite disgusting. The staff weren't very helpful.


57%

Hostel overall was fine, you get what you pay for and the location was great. The showers were all broken however and weren't very clean so not somewhere to go if you're even a slight clean freak. The atmosphere wasn't too great, was pretty quiet and not much going on, the worst thing about the hostel has to be the staff, out of the 2 the female was fine and helpful however the male was very ubhelpful and very miserable and almost rude, I felt this was extremely poor. Overall was OK.


43%

Cleanliness, lights out. Policy, bathroom cleaning

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Great hostel for location, atmosphere and WiFi. if u like cleanliness and working toilets its not the place for u. Shabby chic! And im staying an extra week cus of the people. Party every night


37%

need big improvement!!


29%

I stayed at the hive hostel for 3 nights and it was absolutely disgusting! It's dirty and smelly, the kitchen facilities were really bad. There aren't enough showers for the people, the water was in the whole bathroom and the lights didn't work sometimes. Absolutely NOT RECOMMENDED!


94%

Location is the best thing about this hostel. It is close to the city and northbridge 5-10 minutes walking distance from everywhere. 100m to the main train station.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback