X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Hive Hostel Reviews

55 Stirling Street, Perth, Western Australia, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
93 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

There are lots of longtermers, so there's hardly any space in the kitchen cabinets for others. Staff was always somewhere but hardl at the desk when we needed them. We had a private room to the back, which could get quite loud with the outside area and a bar behind it. Beds were comfy. Bathrooms were ok. Nice lounge to hang out but internet does not work well.


86%

A very good hostel to stay in... very close or in fact it is in CBD.. cleanliness is something that depends on guests living in the hostel... hostel management has taken the best steps they could, but still rooms are very messed up and sometimes smelly as well.. some people complained about bed bugs but I did not experience it personally... very friendly staff... probably cupboards with doors would be a good idea and rest can be left to the guests...

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Badly maintained and should have been closed to fix everything. Not worth the money to stay here.

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

This hostel was very bad. It was so dirty, when you walked through the common area your feet were BLACK with dirt. I got bed bug bites, and didn't sleep because of the night club next door. The kitchen was appalling, providing only 5 pans for the entire hostel and 1 wooden spoon. I really can't describe how bad it is. We stayed for a week and I hated the entire time. The only thing it has going for it is the location, which is handy. The staff have the best intentions, but they are mismanaged.

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

My friend got so many bed bug bites and the showers had no pressure and it was pretty dirty

  • 12th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved it here, very close to the centre and pubs/restaurants nearby. While I was there they put new bunk beds, shelves and lockers to every room, a real improvement! The atmosphere was really good, I'd definitely stay here again!

  • 10th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely hostel in very good location, clean room, friendly staff, nice atmosphere! Would not hesitate to stay here again the next time I'm in Perth

  • 10th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

great hostel, 5 mins walking to the CBD, they have free Wifi here and the atmosphere is really good, met some cool people here!

  • 10th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Free WiFi, lockers in rooms, friendly atmosphere

  • 10th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

My stay was just one night but the location is really good 5 minute walk into the heart of Northbridge (nightlife and coffee shops), there is a nightclub next door which can be noisy at times but you can get in for free if you say you stay at the hostel next door. This place has free wifi and lockers in rooms.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

The hostel's bathrooms were very dirty and a lot of the facilities were broken, or hadn't been fixed up in years. All the rooms upstairs, the windows weren't able to be opened, there was only an air conditioner so the whole place smelt. The hostel was also quiet noisy because of the surrounding club right next door. Also the staff did not give us the code to get back into the hostel after they locked the doors, so we were waiting outside for a longtime until someone eventually let us in.

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Affordable, safe, great location, awesome friendly staff. I would recommend staying here.

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

checked in on a tuesday night and stayed Up all night listening to the Sound of crashing bottles loud music and argueing till 5am! Clearly a night Manager Is required to actually enforce the rules that the hostel has laid down. the hostel is also completely rundown and there was alot of garbage outside the back area . i will never stay here again!

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

friendly staff. no real probs with the place

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

The in room lockers did not work, there were not enough in the lobby for all, housekeeping in the rooms was a one minute vacuum, there was a consistent smell of weed coming from several people despite the no drugs bit on the hostel rules. the kitchen was dirty the microwave looks like it hasn't been cleaned in a month. on the other hand it is actually in a great location and could be a very good hostel, and the reception staff were friendly and knowledgeable about perth.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there, thanks for your kind comment. the kitchen is cleaned twice a day and same goes to the microwave too. we have ordered few lockers as now, its year ending, things are getting postponed for few weeks Thanks

49%

-not clean at all - even for a hostel

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there, we have taken few steps to keep the hostel 24/7 clean. thanks



View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback