Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Hive Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
4.9

Fix the sink and toilet seat and mirror and add hooks and shelves in bathroom near room 11. Put bulb in reading light and add shelves and wall hooks in room 11. Tell people to be quiet after 11 pm. Tell people stop slamming doors. Tell people to be considerate of others sleeping. Clean the trash up everywhere and in back car park. Organize and communicate. I'll never stay there again. It's too bad cause I really like the name of the place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
4.6

Showers dirty No toilet seats. All in bathrooms not up to scratch

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
8.0

Nice spacey airconditioned rooms! The exterior of the building makes it look a bit of a dive but inside isnt bad and cant fault it for the price per night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

Good hostel with great people there. Cheapest hostel in perth

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
4.3

I checked in and the first things I noticed were the the sign that said "Bed Bug Season!", a frat house smell, and dirty dishes piled in the sink. I threw all my things on top of my bed to avoid contamination and basically sprinted out of this place. It was simply a place to sleep, nothing else. They claim they are a "work for accommodation" hostel but I can't see any evidence of the work the non-permanent staff does. Never saw anyone vacuuming, cleaning the kitchen, etc and this place needs it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
3.4

The hostel is in a total state of disrepair. The photos shown are from many years ago.. not accurate at all. The bathroom closest to our room had no soap, or lock. A chopstick was installed as a makeshift lock by one friendly worker who said he doesn't usually work here. Not sure what the owners, operators, or normal workers think of their hostel, but it is absolutely filthy. Staying at Hive can be likened to squatting in an abandoned mansion. 3% surcharge on debit card is illegal. Shut it down

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
8.0

Good hostel, value for money, helpful staff, rooms, beds and mattresses v good. Spacious with 2kitchens, good atmosphere with party times and quiet time's. Exc value for money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
4.0

The cleanliness is abit of a joke to be honest. I only stayed 2 nights and that was more than enough, there were pigeons flying around in the kitchen, need I say more ....

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jan 2017
4.9

Dirty! Dirty! Dirty! The long term residents have made this look like a dive. No one cleans up. The bathrooms were to disgusting to use. The staff were friendly but that really wasn't enough to make me want to stay. Pay more and sleep somewhere else!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
4.6

Turned up at 7am to drop off my bags before checking in later, both doors were locked and nobody came out when I knocked. Can't seem to find reception times on hostelworld. Looked pretty dingy from the outside, but that isn't the sort of thing thay bothers me. Got charged full price for the pleasure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.