X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Hive Hostel Reviews

55 Stirling Street, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
156 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 59%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Great hostel for location, atmosphere and WiFi. if u like cleanliness and working toilets its not the place for u. Shabby chic! And im staying an extra week cus of the people. Party every night


37%

need big improvement!!


29%

I stayed at the hive hostel for 3 nights and it was absolutely disgusting! It's dirty and smelly, the kitchen facilities were really bad. There aren't enough showers for the people, the water was in the whole bathroom and the lights didn't work sometimes. Absolutely NOT RECOMMENDED!


94%

Location is the best thing about this hostel. It is close to the city and northbridge 5-10 minutes walking distance from everywhere. 100m to the main train station.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

located within 5 minutes walking distance from northbridge which is where the bars and many restaurants are. the CAT bus which is a free bus loop service is within 50 meters of the hostel. they provide free wifi at all times. the hostel may not be the cleanest but you get good value for money considering. there is a jobs board to help anyone looking for a job and foxtel on the tv. would recommend getting a 4 share dorm room as they all have ac

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

cheap hostel with friendly people. the best thing about this hostel was the location

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The Hive has free wifi, friendly staff. Nearby to the WACA for the cricket world cup

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Guests were all really nice and atmosphere was very good compared to most hostels .

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Wifi, good atmosphere, facilities okay, staff are friendly, all you need for a good time in Perth.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Stayed with a few other guys. We enjoyed our stay, good atmosphere in the backyard, close walking to everything, bars, clubs, restaurants, public library which have free computers when the wifi is slow.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really love the atmosphere here. Great weekly rates available and free wifi. It is a backpackers the cleanliness is okay and has everything you need kitchen, linen, ect.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

It's a party hostel, so if you wanna a good rest, it's better to choice another one. Toilets and showers are just ok, sometimes is a bit dirty, cuz drunk peoples. Location is near city and stuffs are friendly.


86%

Found a home in the hive for the second time now. I chose it because it was the most affordable hostel with great location and even though I'd planned leaving Perth after two nights I ended up staying four weeks. I had an amazing time, met some great people who I'll be friends with even after i leave the hive. Would come back every time I visit Perth. Great atmosphere, parties in the backyard and shops, public transport and nightlife are just around the corner.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Das Hostel ist dreckig, unhygienischn und laut. Da es ein Partyhostel ist, ist Kotze ein alltäglicher begleiter! Die Mitarbeiter kümmern sich weder um die Anlage, noch um die Gäste. Kein Platz um Menschen kennen zulernen da die meisten Bewohner dort arbeiten. Auch wenn es billig ist sollte man sein Geld dort lieber nicht investieren!! Sehr enttäuschender Aufenthalt

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Where to start? Lazy staff, constantly close reception, small and very smelli


31%

We arrived( 3 people) Saturday afternoon 9/11/14, to check in 2eate dorms, even though we had booked 3 people in a 4bed mixed dorm. 'When you book on-line its no guaranteed you get what book' we were told by the receptionist/ manager/in charge, and whatever many titles this person held. If that's the case it should be stated on your website. NO LOCK IN MY DORM,BLOOD STAINED MATRESS PROTECTOR-UNACCEPTABLE,UNSAFE,UN-HYGIENIC




View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback