X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Hive Hostel Reviews

55 Stirling Street, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
133 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 47%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

It's was great, plates are few and far between, but overall great

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

They lost the booking so ended up staying at their sister hostel the Wombat Had major issues with a broken bed - tried to get it fixed however I was personally put on my last warning for so called making a fuss. Eventually I did get someone who came in and fixed the screw however it fell out again on my last night so overall had to spend two nights out of five sleeping on a mattress on the floor The bathroom was not clean - had mould growing out of the sink and the so called staff


49%

Got it really cheap online but wouldn't wanna stay there again. It's really complicated to go for a shower, room was small and dark, my bed was the squeakiest ever and somebody stole stuff out of my room.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

WHAT A CRACK DEN - this was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in by far. The room hadn't been cleaned, the old sheets were still on the bed, I was handed my own sheets to put on & they actually asked me if I wanted the old ones taken off. Are you kidding me??? the staff were slow, and lazy, I stood at reception for about half an hour before I was helped, despite looking around and asking cleaning staff. Bathrooms were absolutely disgusting, roof falling in, mouldy. YUK. Avoid at all costs.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Bed bugs!!! Staff were very friendly and helpful but i had to leave after first as attacked badly by bed bugs! Clearly happened before to other people, its a bug problem they need to fix ASAP!!!!


46%

if you want live with bedbugs, just go there.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Bathrooms were filthy. Place didnt look at all like photos, very run down and staff gave very wrong and bad info on how to get to the airport. Beds squeaked with every movement and woke the whole room up. One of the worst hostels ive stayed in.


74%

Stayed in a 8 out dorm type room,, there was no major problem except when i went for a shower in the am around 9:30 the water was near on cold, under lukewarm. The rooms could of been lock coded, cleaner needs to be fired and no parking available , service was good and for the price and location it was worth the stay and yes i would stay there again if the opertunity was needed.. Thanks hive , 6 and a half out of 10

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Really good place.


40%

There were giant holes in the ceiling, which was caving in in places, incredibly noisy, the toilets/ shower rooms had no sinks or mirrors, and the showers were so cramped when the guy in he cubicle next door urinated on the floor I had to jump out of the way, the whole place was like a half finished building site, I presume "the Hive" is cockney rhyming slang for dive because this is the worst hostel I stayed in in 13 months of traveling.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great atmosphere, one big family!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

German staff sucks in Oz, not tolerant at all! If u come here u wanna have easy going! Price is sometimes in the internet cheaper than in the hostel! Weekly deal sucks! There are security cams but one guy came in easily and took the bag of a friend of mine: wallet, passport, laptop gone... On the weekend it's noisy until 2am in some rooms; next door is a night club. Bed bugs included in some beds! Shower sometimes not warm! Shower, Kitchen and living room are fine for hostel

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback