Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Hive Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Jul 2017
5.1

You've got some funny characters here and there was just a really strange vibe, very different from any other hostel I've stayed at before

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jun 2017
5.7

I had to move rooms on my first night due to the mattress being so thin I could feel the metal bars of the bed. The second room/bed was better but the whole place could do with a revamp. The bathrooms and toilets were dirty, I don't normally complain (it is a busy hostel!) but it was old ground in dirt and mould - not cool and could be looked after better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2017
7.7

Great for the price, free pool/wifi is a bonus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2017
8.3

great hostel in the middle of perth. staff was helpful at all times. the kitchen was really big and well equipped. good wifi in the whole place, except in the evenings when it gets a bit slow. only negative point are the dirty bathrooms and the overall cleanliness. but you get what you pay for so you shouldnt be bothered. would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
4.0

We chose this hostel was because it advertised an airport shuttle. When we arrived we were told that service was stopped months ago. Bathrooms were filthy, wifi wouldn't load anything it was so slow, and there were dirty dishes left in the kitchen. Security was pretty good but we weren't given the code to get back in after hours!!! Loud nightclub next door playing music until 3am. Don't stay here if you have an early start the next day. Would only recommend for the location, but I won't be back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
9.7

Enjoyable hostel which is making a lot of improvements. the staff were informative and the location was very near the city and train station

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
9.7

Walking distance to the city centre. This dated hostel has free use of computers and wifi throughout. Staff were both friendly and helpful. Would recommend to traveling especially if your traveling alone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
10.0

Cheapest hostel in perth and the quality wasnt too bad. Everything was well explained at check-in. Free wifi through and a nice pool table to play on. The hostel was given a bar voucher for the evening so 10 people from the hostel went out for a great night. I recommend it for meeting new people or people who you may travel north with later on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
3.4

The hostel is pretty dirty, showers, kitchen, common area and rooms.. There are almost only long-term stayers here and that makes hem create "nests" in their rooms. We had to make our own beds on arrival. Staff put my backpack in a wet luggage room so 1/3 of my backpack and everything in it was soaked when I came to pick it up again.. Would never even consider staying here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd May 2017
7.4

I've been to the billabong hostel and the facilities were really nice but unfortunately it was too big to meet new people because they were already in groups and not really open for new backpacker. In The Hive Hostel it was pretty much the opposite. Really great people, a small hostel and pretty cheap but not really nice facilities. If you want to have a great time- go there! (Ah! And there are not so many Germans or French bye the way- even when I'm german. 😅)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.