Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Hive Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.1
Good 296 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 5.1
BOOK NOW
6.1
Good 296 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 5.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Feb 2017
4.3

I checked in and the first things I noticed were the the sign that said "Bed Bug Season!", a frat house smell, and dirty dishes piled in the sink. I threw all my things on top of my bed to avoid contamination and basically sprinted out of this place. It was simply a place to sleep, nothing else. They claim they are a "work for accommodation" hostel but I can't see any evidence of the work the non-permanent staff does. Never saw anyone vacuuming, cleaning the kitchen, etc and this place needs it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
3.4

The hostel is in a total state of disrepair. The photos shown are from many years ago.. not accurate at all. The bathroom closest to our room had no soap, or lock. A chopstick was installed as a makeshift lock by one friendly worker who said he doesn't usually work here. Not sure what the owners, operators, or normal workers think of their hostel, but it is absolutely filthy. Staying at Hive can be likened to squatting in an abandoned mansion. 3% surcharge on debit card is illegal. Shut it down

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
8.0

Good hostel, value for money, helpful staff, rooms, beds and mattresses v good. Spacious with 2kitchens, good atmosphere with party times and quiet time's. Exc value for money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
4.0

The cleanliness is abit of a joke to be honest. I only stayed 2 nights and that was more than enough, there were pigeons flying around in the kitchen, need I say more ....

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jan 2017
4.9

Dirty! Dirty! Dirty! The long term residents have made this look like a dive. No one cleans up. The bathrooms were to disgusting to use. The staff were friendly but that really wasn't enough to make me want to stay. Pay more and sleep somewhere else!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
4.6

Turned up at 7am to drop off my bags before checking in later, both doors were locked and nobody came out when I knocked. Can't seem to find reception times on hostelworld. Looked pretty dingy from the outside, but that isn't the sort of thing thay bothers me. Got charged full price for the pleasure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Nov 2016
4.0

Absolutely disgusting - everything about it was awful. Avoid . I'm not fussy with hostels but this one is seriously grim.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Nov 2016
2.0

Didn't even let me stay as I didn't have a passport! Turned me away at 10pm. I'm Australian, why would i carry my passport in my own country...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
9.7

Very cool party hostel with a great location. Located in the culture precinct there is the museum nearby, many bars nearby, brass monkey and mustang were good becuase we received drinking vouchers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Oct 2016
6.9

Great location. Smelly rooms, no ventilation and only one of four showers worked. Dirty lobby. No one seems to care about cleanliness, staff lets everyone make a mess

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.