X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Hive Singapore Hostel Reviews

624 Serangoon Road, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
731 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

The air-con in the room didn't have a remote, froze to death the first night and told them the next morning and it was fixed. No BUTTER for breakfast! What are we meant to eat the toast with?!?! The staff were very helpful and friendly. The showers and rooms were pretty shabby compared to the rest of Asia. Prices were high, but expected for Singapore

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Great staff. A/C curfew is a drag (outside the TV room). Unsweetened coffee and some whole grain bread and/or cereal for breakfast would also be nice.


71%

The staffs are nice, good place. The location was not so good, but you can take a metro. The breakfast was good. The rooms aren't in the same building.


80%

I enjoyed my stay there. I have two suggestions. I suggest that each bunk has a curtain so that some degree of privacy is possible. Secondly I that you ask guests to be aware that self closing doors are loud and they should take more care when entering or leaving the dorm to make sure the door doesn't slam

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Need the private rooms back

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

wifi is very hard to be reach, they have like 5 wifi, but its slow and difficult to be connected. else is good.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had an awesome stay! 10/10 Would stay again next time! Will recommend to others and friends!

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

My room that separate from main building wasnt good thing. Need to cross an outside little path to go to reception and kitchen. The fan that only one at room makes not fair because only one person use that at all time. Maybe better if you just put ceiling fan. There's little cafetaria across hostel, really cheap (average 3$) and yummy. Next time want to stay at the hive again but in the main building, not the separate one and maybe the private so that have my own fan

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Its an ok Hostel for a few days. The bathrooms are not the cleanest but ok. Free breakfast which was good. Staff is always friendly. The Location is good.


69%

Good enough for the hostel

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

i do like all the things there, but the share bathroom and toilets are not clean enough.. could be the other people who stay there makes the bathroom and toilets are not clean.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel itself is fairly nice and very spacious considering its in Singapore. However, there seems to be a lack of atmosphere and socialising in the hostel despite large open spaces and a tv room. Despite this, the hostel has good facilities and a complimentary breakfast each morning. There is not much in the local area, so taking the MRT to surrounding areas is essential. Overall, an average hostel with a good price.


69%

this was my second time staying here and it's really not a bad spot. Wi-Fi sucks but you can practically see the subway station from the hostel. worth mentioning that if you are comparing Singapore hostels most of them are on this area, so if it's location you're worried about and you see a bunch the same distance away from you, that's because they are all here in little India.


69%

Great location near little india & not too far from MRT. Nice to have breakfast included. Friendly & helpful staff and a comfortable sleep. What they need to pick up on is attention to the bathroom / shower area. A checklist before closing at night to include emptying of bins and cleaning of toilets is a must! Its the most expensive hostel I've paid for in SE Asia but the owners need to have more pride in the place. Wifi very slow and frequent disconnects. Staff especially Sasha very helpful.


80%

Overall good value for money. 10-bed room I stayed in was decent and had good air con (turned on around 6pm). The lounge was a great place to work and meet people. Free breakfast. Room locker doesn't have it's own luck but you can borrow a small one from front desk for a $2 refundable deposit. You can borrow an adapter as well for same price. Only issue was keycard wouldn't work sometimes when I used it to enter the dorm room. Also, it's about 10-12min walk to closest station (Ferrer Park).


71%

It is a good hostel, and good value for money. Next time, I would rather pay a little more and stay somewhere closer to Little India. I didn't feel the atmosphere was particularly good...but then that is up to us to chat to each other, rather than everyone just be on their smart phones/laptops etc. That is not the hostel's fault.


60%

I didn't stay in this hostel due to visa problems.

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The toilet smells like a pee, but everything else is fine. Hope you can improve on that part. Hehee

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I often stay here almost everytime i pass through, visit or vacation in singapore. The staff are great, helpful. You get more than what you play for, really. other hostels at the same rate range require more charges on facilities that are provided free at the hive. rooms and common areas are more spacious too. guest profiles are diverse. would defintiely stay here again.


83%

It's good there are 2 computers with free Internet access, especially because the wifi didnt work that well. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast quite good (fruits and different cereals would make it even better). The hostel is a bit far away from the City center but good value for money.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(92 results)


View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback