X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Hostel B&B Utrecht City Center Reviews

Lucasbolwerk 4, Utrecht, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

62%

Rating
541 Total Reviews
  • 54%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 42%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Place had 1 bathroom & toilet for 16 people. People screaming outside all night. You will not get sleep here. The staff bang out loud nauseating music all day too. Horrible place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
SORRY WE HAVE 10 SHOWERS TOILETS

40%

Security was so tight that there wasn't even a doorbell to ring to get into the hostel. You get what you pay for at this place, the room I was staying in had an ensuite bathroom but the toilet didn't have a toilet seat and the shower took a long time to have hot water. The mattresses were all broken and cracked and the rubbish bin never got emptied for the days that I stayed there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
SORRY THAT YOU DIDN T SEE THE DOORBELL WE ALWAYS EMPTY THE BINS SO YOU GOT HOT WATER THE TOILET SEAT WAS BROKEN SORRY FOR THAT FACILITIES BREAKFAST LUNCH DINNER COOKING PLACE B.B.Q MUSIC CORNER COMPUTERS GAMES BOARDGAMES

46%

Worst hostel I've ever stayed at. The room was way too small for 9 bunk beds to fit with some touching so that if the room was full random people are sleeping right beside eachother. Also had a rule that you needed to sleep with sheets which they provided for 2,50 non refundable. The bathroom and rooms were extremely dirty and seemed like they were never washed and the "living room" of the hostel was littered with random things. The staff were nice though. Don't stay here if you don't have to.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
why did you stay on the website said rent sheets 2.50 YOU ARE ANGRY BECAUSE YOU FORGOT TO BRING YOUR OWN SHEETS THE HOSTEL WAS CLEAN AND WASN T FULL THE ROOM YOU GET A NICE BREAKFAST LUNCH AND DINNER YOU HAVE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE PRICE TO SHAME YOURSELF SECURITY CAMERA S SORRY THAT YOU WHERE BLIND NOT TO SEE THE CAMERA S SO DON T LYE TO US AND THE NIGHTGUARD KEYCARDS SO THAT NOBODY CAN GIVE THE FRONTDOORCODE

34%

This hostel was super dirty, showers were broken, the whole place was smelly, beds were dirty and uncomfortable. Second worst hostel I have stayed in. Only good thing about it was the location.


69%

The staff is friendly. Family - like atmosphere, helfpull and kind, welcoming. The showers are of rather poor quality. Cold, and also it is very limited how it is being showered. The beds are many in one bigger room. But if you take this apart, you do have very nice breakfast available, dinner and lunch too, but you need to cook them /except breakfast/. The peope I met there were much worth it. I was happy there.


40%

Avoid this hostel at all costs. I have stayed in many in my time and this is by far the dirtiest and most run down one to date. The bathrooms were absolutely disgusting the woman who showed us around was unsure if they were clean or not she said she hadn't checked. No locks for lockers don't even think they worked the beds were disgusting and this "free food" everyone talks about is not worth it. Stay somewhere else and do not go through what we did


29%

The hostel was disgusting! When you enter you see a mountain of dirty sheets and it was smelling awfull! The employee said that we could sit to eat but all the tables were filthy and covered with jam. The toilets were disgusting as well and when we returned at night we saw water on the floor from the bathroom all the way to the stairs. In the dormitory the blanket was dirty and I found hair on my sheets. Too expensive for nothing, a lot of noise at night and cold in the room. Avoid it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry that you dewidn t like it the sheets in the corridor were ready to bring it to the laundry room. the breakfast table was not clean at this moment because a group of 27 people had just taken breakfast. if you had waited 10 minutes our cleaning crew was ready to clean the table you are always welcome



View all Utrecht Hostels

Please give us your feedback