X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Hostel B&B Utrecht City Center Reviews

Lucasbolwerk 4, Utrecht, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
528 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 48%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

Avoid this hostel at all costs. I have stayed in many in my time and this is by far the dirtiest and most run down one to date. The bathrooms were absolutely disgusting the woman who showed us around was unsure if they were clean or not she said she hadn't checked. No locks for lockers don't even think they worked the beds were disgusting and this "free food" everyone talks about is not worth it. Stay somewhere else and do not go through what we did


29%

The hostel was disgusting! When you enter you see a mountain of dirty sheets and it was smelling awfull! The employee said that we could sit to eat but all the tables were filthy and covered with jam. The toilets were disgusting as well and when we returned at night we saw water on the floor from the bathroom all the way to the stairs. In the dormitory the blanket was dirty and I found hair on my sheets. Too expensive for nothing, a lot of noise at night and cold in the room. Avoid it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry that you dewidn t like it the sheets in the corridor were ready to bring it to the laundry room. the breakfast table was not clean at this moment because a group of 27 people had just taken breakfast. if you had waited 10 minutes our cleaning crew was ready to clean the table you are always welcome

57%

The shower didn't work and the room had no window. The toilett on the floor was horrible. Okay if you are here for a party trip

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry we have only rooms with windows so we assume you stayed in a other hostel

86%

Lovely staff and lively atmosphere. Very nice stay

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I really enjoyed staying here. It was unusual in that there aware cupboards and fridges full of food and ingredients and you just cook what you want. The rooms are very basic. Staff are really friendly!


60%

The staff has recently changed. From very unfriendly to extremely kind. But the hygiene is a problem. The bed linen are smelly. They seem to be washed on too low temperatures.


80%

THe Hosts at B&B are accomidating. Everyone understands english very well. Food, coffee, and tea included in price. Good location to everything...except near central transit station for trains. I recommend the free tour of Utrecht, there are pamplets at the reception desk, starts at noon til three pm. Good tour guides. I'll stay there again

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Good location. Staff is very friendly and helpful!

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I stayed there only for resting the night heading to amsterdam airport early morning


60%

The hostel gives a very dirty impression. Sheets and beds all smelled very bad!

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry we don t use chemical stuff tyo let the sheets smell you can see we have two big washing machines and a big dryer we don t want to destroy the enveriment we are ecco

89%

All you can eat? Awesome! Top bunks are difficult to get in and out of. Overall a great hostel.


89%

It is one of the Hostels which I love very much. You can get in touch very easily with other people. Also you have a kitchen, where you can cook, a lot of computers to go online, and lockers to put your things on. So I loved it. But if you expect a modern hostel, than you should not go there. A lot of things are broken. Hope it helps.


89%

food is included (3 meals per day!) and there are a lot to eat


34%

Easily the worst hostel I've stayed in. Very dirty, the free food is left out for hours and is old quite old because it's bought in bulk.




View all Utrecht Hostels

Please give us your feedback