NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Hostel Box Port Reviews

Calle Albareda 6-8, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained


82 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The location of this hostel was very good, within walking distance of the gothic quarter, la rambla, beaches and montjuic. However, certain other aspects of this hostel were lacking. The staff were generally less than friendly. There is only one female and one male toilet and shower on the second floor for over 20 guests, and these toilets never seemed to have been cleaned recently... And the 18 bed dorm needs better ventilation and cooling, walking in almost suffocates you.


The hostel was lovely and clean - the beds were clean and comfortable. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The hostel itself is okay, the rooms upstairs looked nice but the room with 16 people in wasn't. The toilets are right next to the bed and have buzzing lights. People are sleeping all different times during the day making it impossible to enter the room without annoying another guest and the overall hygiene was terrible. I found hairs in my bed, the lockers are draws that were really dirty and they messed up our booking, thought we were supposed to be leaving so moved all of our stuff.


I like modern "bed-in-the-wall" concept this hostel promotes. Most of their beds are not of this type, though. I felt like I did not get what I paid for.


This was a very nice hostel located in a very convenient location in Barcelona. Met a lot of interesting people here and had a lot of fun. I wanna give a shout out to Matthieu and Chris for being so awesome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing you experience with us and for your kind words about our staff. We will transmit your comment to Chris and Mateo :) It was a real pleasure to host you and your friends. We would love to see you again! Kindest regards, Ariana A., The Hostel Box


Had a really good stay. Hostel could use an extra toilet/shower in each bathroom but not much of a problem. Only issue we had was that on one night in our stay they gave one of our beds away - assuming that they had left the hostel however in the morning they were super nice and refunded the night and gave us another

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry for the situation you have been through during your stay here. Thank you very much for being so comprehensive; those things almost never happen. It was a real pleasure to host you. Have a nice day! Kind regards, Ariana A., member of The Hostel Box team.


Would reccomend to make face control for drunk guests... Or put a note that if they make noise at night they will be charged penalty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are a great help for us to keep improving. Regarding your comment about the drunk guests, I will pass the suggestions to the manager. Sometimes, we can't avoid some noise at night, as it is a hostel and the guests share the room. Thank you very much for your comments. It is a pleasure for us to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Regards, Ariana A., The Hostel Box


An okay location, but in comparison to a lot of other hostels I found this one to be rather basic and not very friendly. The PC was very temperemental and so thankfully I wasn't charged for this. The dormitory was like a prison block with a row of bunks along the middle of the room (with separate bathrooms adjoining the dorm, so not a lot of privacy). The beds were not very comfy and the whole feel of the hostel just did not provide a good vibe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, We are sad to hear that our facilities didn't match your expectations. Regarding your comment about the vibe, we are sorry that you didn't find the hostel to be friendly. We have loads of guests every week and most of them say they would recommend it, so we guess it is something subjective. Referring to the bunk beds, they are inspired by the Japanese capsule beds, to offer more privacy and comfort. We regret you didn't like them. Regards, The Hostel Box


Very good location 4 minutes walk from La Rambla and the port. Great value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review and for having chosen our hostel for your break. We are glad to know that you had a nice stay with us. It is a pleasure for us to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at The Hostel Box. Kind regards, Ariana A., The Hostel Box team.


Clean, modern look, decent location & safe area. We appreciated the luggage storage facility.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience in The Hostel Box. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities mached your expectations. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments. Kindest regards, Ariana A., from The Hostel Box team

View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback