X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Hostel Paulista Reviews

Rua Pamplona, 793, Jardins, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
146 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The staff are really friendly, and for São Paulo they have a GREAT location. I didn't like the bathrooms, they don't have any place to hang your bath stuff while your taking shower that it's outside of the showerbox, and it's very small, too. But that's a detail, I will coem back for sure, only a street distant they have the Trianon-Masp subway station, and the place it's very confortable, too.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Daphne. Thanks for your feedback. We already installed some hangs in the bathrooms. Thank you.

89%

Staff were very friendly and helpful Hostel had a very relaxed atmosphere and was easy to meet other Travellers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Allan. We are glad to know that you've had great time here with us. Thank you.

94%

Decent hostel, great staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks, Iona!

94%

Really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were great (especially the pair who danced for me in reception!! [guy = lindo!]). Huuuuuuge hostel. Big communal areas, bar and terrace. Room was sufficient with big lockers. Really clean and nice chilled atmosphere. Few snags... Front door security into the hostel is lax, anybody can walk at anytime of day. Also showers were cold BUT that aside an ~>awesome

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Phillip. We are very glad to know that you really enjoyed and had fun with us! The front door is already fixed :) Thanks!!

69%

I was happy with my stay at the Paulista. It is a worn-down, low-end hostel but it was clean and quiet. There are lockers in the hallways for locking up your stuff (may or may not be safer than keeping it in your room). The staff were extremely nice and helpful, all of them. One or two did not speak English but used google translate to make sure they could help me. Breakfast is basic. Location is good. Social atmosphere is so-so for english-speakers, most guests are latino.

  • 11th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

They could fix the showers. Out of this, everything's pretty fine. Good location, cheap, staff is nice, breakfast is good too, lockers are too large and spacious, there's a lot of places around to eat and to have fun, specially Augusta and Frei Caneca Street and MASP Museum. It worth a visit.


57%

It is better if you learn some Portuguese to communicate with staff as nobody speaks English.If the weather is hot the the rooms are muggy.We didn't like our stay very much but on the otherhand hostel is very close to the Av.Paulista and breakfast is better than expected.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Berhan, I'm astonished with your review!! Our staff is fully prepared to speak English, Spanish and Portuguese. This summer was the hottest in 70 years, maybe that's why you found too warm. I'm really sorry that you didn't have the same experience as many others.

94%

Very nice and helpful people. Good location.


69%

I didn't spend a whole lot of time IN the hostel - but the staff were good & very friendly, the facilities will be good when the work is finished & breakfast was as expected. Security though - the main front door has a buzzer, but is actually just open all the time and didn't seem to close properly at all. Now, the reception is 24hrs and most of the staff did seem to know who should be there, but with no locks on dorm doors either, there is a security risk there. Get the front door fixed!


97%

No complains. Would stay there again.


86%

Location is great : next to the metro station and the staff is very helpfull ! The room are clean and well disposed ! I enjoyed my stay there !


91%

Very good hostel! I'll recommend for anyone! :) Gonna be back there next time


94%

The rooms where very clean and decorated in a way that you feel comfortable. Moreover the staff is really nice and helpful.

  • 13th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

we had no idea about where to go in sao paulo and only stayed for one night. the location is very central close to paulista avenue and the metro that takes you savely around the city and to the bus terminal. staff was very friendly and spoke decent english. otherwise there were mostly brasilian people staying at the hostel who were very friendly and chatted with us a lot ;-) The rooms are ok, dorms are a little crowded when full with luaggage and stuff. overall it was a good choice!


94%

I'm totally satisfied with the service from the staff and the facilities, the rooms and toilets everyday were cleaned and my bed was comfortable :) May be it would be nice to add fruit in the breakfast.


91%

Rooms are a bit cramped but nice hostel. Would recommend heading out on a ride with the Urban Bike SP crew. Good blokes.


71%

The hostel is good. The staff is very friendly. Unfortunately are the rooms very small and the restrooms aren't good.


97%

Awesome hostel with a chilled atmosphere . The owners and staff are dedicated to making sure every one is well accommodated. Location is ideal - close to metro


69%

A little over rated and really expensive! Great location and nicely clean, but beds were packed into tiny rooms and kitchen not great. Staff were relatively helpful, but didn´t seem that knowledgable about their area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lindsay, even you staying at the best and most expensive area of São Paulo, our rates are intermediated between all of the hostels around the city. All our staff are properly prepared to give all infos about the city, supplying maps and flyers. We are very sorry that you didn't have the same experience as most of our guests.

94%

We only stayed at the hostel for one night but I really had a great time. The people are very friendly and everything looked fine. I really can recommend this hostel to everyone!

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(58 results)


View all Sao Paulo Hostels

Please give us your feedback