Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1405 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1405 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Jun 2017
6.3

Wifi was abyssmal quality even though there were apparently 3 users to log into. They give you a threadbare bottom sheet on check in, and the rest of the blankets don't look to have been washed ever. One lady at the desk refused to let me do my washing and was generally rude. but the other staff were friendly enough. The breakfast, considering you pay extra for it, was pathetic. The self-catering kitchen closes early at 10pm! Would not stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for staying with us recently at The Hostel, I'm sorry to read that you had some negative comments to make after checking out. Our free wifi has 3 networks to choose from, the speed offered on each will depend on which part of the building you're in, and how many users are on the same network. All of our linen is washed daily each morning, during this time guest laundry facilities are not accessible. It's unfortunate that you felt one of our team was "generally rude" whilst explaining this - guest satisfaction is paramount here at The Hostel, we seek every opportunity to surpass it, thankfully comments of this nature are untypical of our guest feedback. We charge 2.00 GBP for our self-served breakfast, which is available for guest to view before committing, we think it's competitively priced within Edinburgh. Our guest kitchen remains until 23:00 each evening, as does our reception - where our team were happy to address and answer any queries that arose during your stay. Thank you again

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
7.7

Staff were super helpful and friendly, showers weren't great. Paid as much as two nights in a nicer hostel in Edinburgh for one night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
8.0

Good deal. Clean rooms. Wish I would have been warned about the charge for late check in. Laundry only available during inconvienient hours. Nice staff. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
8.9

A little bit farther out from the Old Edinburgh than I would have preferred. You get what you pay for as I was here for only a night to sleep. No lockers in room to store bags and no electric sockets for charging by your bed. Most modern or new hostels have adapted to travelers needn't that charge. Cheap and simple but you get what you pay for. Italian women who checked me in was super friendly and welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • MrInvisible
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 47 reviews
8th Jun 2017
8.6

Atmosphere was ok but not the best. Nice and quiet hostel. The cleaner with red hair is on a mission to break everything in the hostel. She bangs chairs about so much you have to block your ears and physically drops the vacuum cleaner where she pleases.... Not a happy person! The blonde guy at reception is awesome and has a great attitude though 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • AleIrlanda
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
9.7

Really nice hostel, close to the center and with a lovely staff!! They were really nice and helpful with us (:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
8.3

This hostel was a good example of meeting the example for "acceptable" but not much more. It's in a great location right across from Haymarket and a quick tram ride to Waverly. The staff was very very friendly, but the beds were pretty horrendously uncomfortable and the showers were problematic, but clean enough to where I can't complain. There are no storage lockers in the room unfortunately, but it was a friendly enough crowd that it wasn't an issue.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Jun 2017
7.4

Annoying having to pay for a security locker. The bathrooms were located across a main area so had to pass a large area just to go to the bathroom. Facilities weren't great but Staff are super friendly and nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2017
8.0

We stayed in a surprisingly comfy 21 bed room. The staff was wonderful and helpful and I enjoyed our time there! It's a bit far from Edinburgh attractions like the Castle, but a quick and easy walk gets you to center hubs. The shared spaces are a bit small and you might not always find a chair for breakfast, but overall I liked it and would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th May 2017
8.9

Great, clean friendly hostel. Beds were comfortable. Only drawback was length to Royal mile roughly 20 mins walk

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.