Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
The Hostel Located at 3 Clifton Terrace, , Edinburgh.
The Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH12 5DR 3 Clifton Terrace
80% 1220
55.9460278 -3.2179641
The Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.4

I stayed here for practical reasons, everything was fine. Central location, easy to get around town or to the airport/train station. Bed was comfortable. checking and checkout easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.7

Great atmosphere and staff! I met an amazing group of fellow travelers here, which made my stay even better! I would definitely recommend this place! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thank you for your review! We are so happy you had such a good time with us here at The Hostel. See you next time :) The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
10.0

Been here twice this year and both times have Been great will defiently come back here the next time im in edinburgh staff work very hard to give a good service thanks again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoy our hostel so much. We will see you the next time you are in Edinburgh! Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
9.4

Awesome hostel! Management and staff were super accommodating. Pros- the staff as a whole, good social space, reliable wifi, great location Cons- it's hostel, don't expect a hotel and you're golden.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. We are glad you had a great time at The Hostel. Our staff work hard to make sure everyone is comfortable and having an enjoyable time so thank you for your comments! We hope to see you next time The Hostel

  • indy_winky2436
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
9th Jul 2016
7.7

Not a bad hostel. Kitchen is pretty small but still alright. Not heaps of atmosphere and a bit of a walk to alot of the main stuff in Edinburgh but still alright. Guy on reception was really nice and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
9.4

The hostel was very clean and had an excellent location. The kitchen is really nice (a bit small) but I find a lot of people didn't seem to cook so it was never super busy. The staff there are lovely and super helpful with planning your stay in Edinburgh. I would definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank You for your lovely comments about our staff. As you say, we are very lucky to have such a good location! Please do come back any time. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2016
6.0

Hostel was a decent walk from the city centre. Showers were terrible, the two outside showers are either scalding or freezing, the middle shower worked fine. The beds were in need of an update, hit and miss. The staff were great, so friendly and helpful, best thing about the place. Overall, experience was good but just a few things needed an update.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
10.0

Fantastic!! Value for buck, helpful and knowledgeable staff, welcoming, sincere interest in being certain your stay gets you the fullest experience in hostel as well as Edinburg. Ideal location for walkers, bikers, and local transit riders. Bikes for hire, Train, bus and tram just outside the door. Lots of places to eat, and convenient to grocery stores. Laundry capabilities, great breakfast. Close to atms, Clean and secure. Will return, encourage all to get to - The Hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2016
9.7

Nothing bad to say about this hostel! clean, safe, and the staff were absolutely great. They told us the great spots.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
9.7

Great place to have fun and meet new people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.