Hostelworld.com

The Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1342 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1342 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
7.7

Stayed in a private room with my boyfriend. The location and staff were awesome, and the hostel was always quite busy with different people. Our room wasn't the cleanest (lots of dust) but not too dirty either. Bathrooms were clean, however note that the bathrooms are shared and mixed genders, which I wasn't too keen on but this may not be an issue for someone else. Overall the staff were really friendly and helpful and the location is really handy to do anything that you might want to do!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for bringing to our attention the dust in your room. We will be looking into this as a matter of urgency and put measures in place to ensure this does not happen again. Thanks for your feedback. You are welcome back to stay with us anytime. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.3

This hostel was REALLY clean. Personal was so, so nice. I loved that. I didn't like the fact that there were so many beds in a really small dorm. And there were no lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

Right beside Haymarket train staion and bus stop to airport. About 15 min walk to one of Edinburgh's main streets, Princes St. Good few cafes and restaurants just few minutes away, as well as supermaket. Dorms on the first floor are big but well equiped with plugs and reading lights on each bed. Confy beds. Lovely & really helpful staff. Thank you to all the crew for a pleasant stay and helping me out every time I needed it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you had such a pleasant time. It was great meeting you. You are certainly welcome back any time. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

Absolutely amazing loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are really pleased you had such a great time. You were a great group and we really enjoyed meeting you. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
10.0

Great place to stay while in Edinburgh. Located across the street from the Haymarket train station! Will definitely be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for staying with us at the Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are really pleased you had such a fantastic time staying with us. Please come back and see us anytime. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jan 2017
9.7

Very helpful and lovely staff, good location, very clean :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel. We are so glad you had a fantastic stay with us. Please come back and see us any time :) Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jan 2017
9.1

There are only small lockers available in rooms that you have to pay for. Unisex bathrooms but very new and clean and felt comfortable! Staff were lovely. Power points at all beds, would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are really pleased you had such a great stay with us. When we chose the lockers, we wanted to make sure they were big enough for people to store valuables and essentials such as phones, wallets and laptops, but not so big that they got in the way. You do have to put 1 pound in to use them, but you get this back when you unlock the locker. We are glad you found our hostel clean and comfortable. Our staff work hard to make sure all our guests have a great stay with us :) Please come back and see us soon The Hostel

30th Dec 2016
5.7

I stayed here for three nights over NYE w a friend. We were in a room with 21 beds and due to demand it cost us 60£ a night. We were unimpressed with the cleanliness (it's difficult to manage a 21 bed room but it's possible to open a window, vacuum, etc) and had two separate mix-ups with beds -- people claiming beds but staff removing the sheets so that everyone had to reshuffle. A system with lettered beds would solve this easily. Also emphasising the quiet hours would be appreciated.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We welcome all feedback as it helps us improve, so thank you for your comments. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations this time. We will certainly look into the mix ups with beds to try and ensure it doesn't happen with other guests in the future. We would like to point out that whilst our price was higher during NYE, we were actually one of the cheaper options in the city. Also, with it being New Year, people were out late enjoying the street party, which may have been why it was noisy at times, however, again, this is something we will look into. We have addressed the window and vacuum situation and have put measures in place to ensure this doesn't happen again. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope that you will come back again in the future. Kind Regards The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
10.0

Great hostel, excellent location, good atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We work really hard to make sure all our guests have a great stay with us and we're really happy to hear you had such an amazing time. You are welcome back to stay with us any time :) Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
8.3

The staff are nice and friendly. We initially booked a 14 bed room, but don't know why the system said the price we paid was for a 18 bed room. Plus there was no more availabilities for the 14 bed room . Therefore we have to stay in a 18 bed room which is not spacious enough as they are some 3 tier bunk bed. however, the staff offered us free breakfast as apology. The environment here is quite good, clean and modern. It worths the value of money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry you stayed in a room size different to what you expected. So far we have had very positive feedback about our 18 bed room with people saying its comfortable and each bed having a light and its own socket (with USB). However, we are really happy you enjoyed the rest of the Hostel. We really hope you come back and see us soon. Thanks The Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.