Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4
The Hostel Located at 3 Clifton Terrace, , Edinburgh.
The Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH12 5DR 3 Clifton Terrace
80% 1236
55.9460278 -3.2179641
The Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2016
6.3

Ok for a night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.6

The Hostel is in a fantastic location! Only about 15 minutes walking to Prince's St and the airport bus goes right past the door. The staff were so helpful and the hostel felt very safe. The showers and bathrooms could have been cleaner, but once you wear flip flops or something it's not too bad. We had only 2 sockets in a room for 5 people which was a bit annoying, but other than that I would definitely recommend and visit again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
9.4

We found great difficulty in finding somewhere to stay just for one night in Edinburgh. We then came across Hostelworld who could accommodate us. We found it to be of great value. One small point, the bed linen could do with some updating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us and we are glad you had a great stay. Thank You for your feedback. We are constantly trying to improve and will take it on board. We hope to see you the next time you are in Edinburgh. Regards The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.3

First off, staff was GREAT!! Overall, this hostel is good, it's just cramped. Not enough "common area" even the room was too stuffed. People bumping everywhere. Breakfast is NOT included. But there is a kitchen to use. Main downside was the lack of lockers, however we were told they're getting new beds with lockers after fringe is over, so that's a plus. It was the best, but I would most definitely stay here again. Price was a little high, but that was probably because of Fringe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
9.1

I will definitely stay at this hostel again!! The staff (Adam, Helen, Rose and Ally) are what make this hostel as great as it is and the staff take such good care of you at the Hostel that it really does feel like a home even you are far away from home. There are improvements that could be made, the bathrooms/showers upstairs are quite small and they could be a little bit more clean, but if you are staying in Edinburgh this is the place to be because of that lovley atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Hostel. Thanks for your feedback. We are constantly trying to improve and will certainly take it all on board. We are glad you felt at home here and enjoyed our staff. We enjoyed having you! We will hopefully see you the next time you are in Edinburgh. Thanks The Hostel

  • RicardoEstrada
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
7.4

They have 14 beds on a room that should have 10, you have space to barely walk to get to your bed!! Don't get greedy guys! at least remove one bunk so people have some air to breathe!! Otherwise it's a nice hostel but that needs to be fixed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
9.1

The staff are what make this hostel as great as it is. There are improvements that could be made(the bathrooms/showers are quite small, and security lockers inside the rooms would be a bonus) but the staff take such good care of you at the Hostel that it really does feel like a home away from home. Adam has a great crew and Helen, Rose, and Ally in particular were really great. If you are staying in Edinburgh this is the place to be, and the price is quite reasonable. Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We really enjoyed having you. Thank You for your feedback. We are always looking to improve and will take it all on board. We will hopefully see you the next time you are in Edinburgh. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
9.1

I had a nice time over there , recommended for everyone, one of the best places i have being until today as hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
9.7

The staff is absolutely awesome, super warm, welcoming, friendly, and informative. The room I stayed in was small but very comfortable and quiet (from street noise & hostel noise). The kitchen and fridge weren't super clean but also not the worst either. Bathrooms surprisingly were never crowded and kept mostly clean. The location is absolutely perfect for getting around Edinburgh on foot and using the buses and trains. I would definitely stay again! Thanks for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.4

I stayed here for practical reasons, everything was fine. Central location, easy to get around town or to the airport/train station. Bed was comfortable. checking and checkout easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.