Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
The Hostel Located at 3 Clifton Terrace, , Edinburgh.
The Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH12 5DR 3 Clifton Terrace
84% 1307
55.9460278 -3.2179641
The Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
10.0

Great location and staff could not of been more helpful. Would recommend tone anyone looking for accommodation in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
9.7

I was most impressed with the kindness and knowledge of the staff. They knew everything about Edinburgh'a history and where to go to fully immerse yourself in the culture of the city. Not a single minute of my time there was wasted thanks to the staff at the hostel, especially Adam!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review. We are so you had a great time staying with us. We really enjoyed meeting you and chatting to you about the history of Edinburgh and Scotland. Adam says hi and that you are welcome back any time you like. Come and see us soon :) The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.0

Staff were great, bathrooms were relatively clean. The rooms are tiny and packed with beds. There are no lockers and no space for many bags.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment which, once finished, will mean more space in our smaller rooms. There will also be lockers in these rooms and space for bags. We hope you come back and visit us soon. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
7.7

The two males on staff were very friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for leaving a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff :) Please come back and see us soon The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Oct 2016
5.7

Packed and beds were not even worth the price we paid.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations this time. We take all feedback on board and are currently looking at refurbishing our rooms. Kind Regards The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Oct 2016
7.1

Staff are awesome 😊😊reception offer behind counter lock up for your main valuables. common lounge area is pretty good too. We chose the 16 bed mixed dorm and it was pretty rough, window opens about ten centimeters, room should max hold 5bunks but there are 9you, can actually pat the persons head beside you. Shower toilets and kitchen need a cleaning overhaul bit gross.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thanks for staying at The Hostel and for leaving us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your feedback. We are about to refurbish our 16 bed dorm which will see more space in there, as well as extra lockers which will make our security even better :) Our toilets are inspected throughout the day, however, we will certainly pass this feedback onto housekeeping and improve in the future. We really enjoyed chatting to you during your stay and you are welcome back anytime :) Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
9.4

Great people, great time. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you had such a great stay with us and you are welcome back any time :) Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Oct 2016
5.7

No lockers, so you just sorta hope no one's gonna steal your stuff... only two sockets in the room for 16 people. Room was horribly cold, as well as the bathroom (where someone kept o´pening the window). I was very unfortunate to share the room with some really horrible people, so that didn't help either. Probably the only big plus of this place is the staff - they all are incredibly nice and very helpfull. Kitchen is not bad, but it's very small. About half hour walk to the city centre.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thanks for staying with us and for leaving your review. We always appreciate any feedback we get and it helps us to constantly improve The Hostel. We are aware that there is a shortage of sockets in the room you are staying in and we are about to undergo a refurbishment which will rectify this issue, giving each bed its own socket. This refurbishment will also see lockers in every room. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your fellow dorm mates, however, had we known about this, we certainly would have made an effort to sort out the problem for you. We are also only a 5-10 minute walk from Princes Street, which is the central street in Edinburgh. Despite the experience stated here, you did extend with us for further nights. We really enjoyed having you and you are welcome back any time :) Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
13th Oct 2016
9.7

Great location. Very helpful and friendly staff. I have nothing to fault on This hostel, they provide a great kitchen facilities and everything was Always clean. My only advice would be to clean out the fridage more often and have an age limit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks so much for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave such a great review. We are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We always take all feedback on board and will certainly pass it on to housekeeping. Thanks Again The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
8.0

Very Nice stay , near by everything , good hotel staff , specially Adam&Helen the bests . So quallity-price really deserved .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for leaving a review. Both Adam and Helen really enjoyed speaking with you. Thanks The Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.