Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • nesalvama
  • Paraguay, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2017
8.9

Very good location and friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
4.6

Ice cold showers, dirty bathrooms, cramped beds, filthy kitchen, bad vibe. Staff was very nice and helpful- not their fault. Somehow more expensive than all the nice hostels near the city centre.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
8.9

Great hostel situated right near Haymarket train station. Easy walk into other parts of Edinburgh. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy. Staff were very helpful, especially Adam on reception. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff really enjoyed meeting you. You are welcome to come back any time. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.1

Awesome place. Nice and tidy, great staff and location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We really enjoyed meeting you and hope you will come back soon :) Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.1

very friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. You are welcome back any time. Safe travels!

10th Apr 2017
8.0

Overall a good experience, the staff were fantastic and the accommodations were good, looks to be that they are in the middle of remodeling parts of the hostel which is nice. USB outlets for each bunk with a built in light is a nice touch, the bunks are pretty tight stacked three high, I'm 6'4" and it made it tough getting in and out. Really the downside was the cleansliness... the bathrooms weren't great and there were a lot of people using the same ones, how often do they get really cleaned?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience overall. We work hard to make sure all of our guests have a great time with us. We are sorry to hear you had trouble with the bunks- we do mention on our description that they are triple bunks, but we are really glad you liked our USBs :) Our bathrooms get cleaned twice a day, and then are checked on by staff throughout the day. You did stay over an extremely busy time with lots of people using the bathrooms, which are normally very clean indeed, however, we will look into a way to keep our bathrooms even cleaner in the future. We really hope you will come back again. Thanks The Hostel

10th Apr 2017
9.4

This was one of the nicer hostels that I have stayed at. The only problem I had was with the showers. They do not have a regulated temperature. They will cycle through different temperatures, from scolding hot to freezing cold, at random. Other than that it was a very pleasant experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look into the shower situation to stop this happening in future. You are welcome back any time. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Apr 2017
7.1

Rooms are cramped and there's no space to put your bag. Beds are uncomfortable. Would be okay considering it was only 11p a night, except that when we got to our room at midnight, the free beds hadn't even been stripped and changed. The receptionist had to come up and do it, everyone was trying to sleep and we were there changing the dirty sheets on the bed for new ones. Worst part is the new ones didn't even smell/feel like they'd been washed. Also the wifi was so bad you couldn't load anything

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve as a hostel. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations this time. We had a new cleaner on, who had not stripped two of the beds. However, we do wash all of our linen for every new guest, so I can assure you the new sheets you received had been washed. We are currently looking into ways to improve the speed of our wifi, which is free to use for all guests. Regards The Hostel

9th Apr 2017
6.6

Staff were friendly but wasn't a fan of the hostel as a whole. Room was crammed with six people on two triple decker bunk beds and there were no lockers for your belongings. Everyone's bags took up so much room that there was barely anywhere to stand! It was also very far away from the city centre.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed meeting our staff who always work hard to make sure our guests enjoy their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations this time. The room that you stayed in has recently been refurbished and has both security lockers and plug and USB sockets for each bed. We advertise that room as having triple bunks so that guests know this before they arrive and have received glowing feedback about it so far. We are actually in the west end of the city centre, and only a 5-10 minute walk from the main street of Edinburgh, Princes Street. We are right next to one of Edinburghs main train stations, on the airport bus route and have a tram stop outside us. We are sorry this was not communicated to you, and we will do out best to ensure we communicate this better with future guests. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! The Hostel

7th Apr 2017
8.9

Great location to train and bus station...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back in the future. Thanks The Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.