Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1355 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1355 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
8.3

Very easy to find, staff really helpful and hospitable. Cleaning ok, bathrooms could be a little bit cleaner. Simple breakfast. You'll receive for what you're paying for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
6.3

It's not bad. Decent place to stay for a weekend if you don't plan on being in the hostel much. The workers are very nice and accommodating. It's close to the train station and there are some good pubs and restaurants nearby. Be sure to eat at "Burger". Only complaints: The bed is kinda gross and squeaky, but it's a hostel so that's expected. The showers can't maintain temperature for long. There's no lockers in the rooms. The power outlets aren't near the beds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry we didn't meet your full expectations this time. We will certainly tighten all the beds in the room you were staying in to ensure they are not squeaking and will look into the shower temperatures as a matter of urgency. The majority of our dormitory rooms do have lockers in them, we are sorry you did not stay in one which does. If you return in the future, please ask and we will try and get you in one :) we are looking at bringing in more lockers in the future. You are welcome back any time. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
7.7

Stayed in a private room with my boyfriend. The location and staff were awesome, and the hostel was always quite busy with different people. Our room wasn't the cleanest (lots of dust) but not too dirty either. Bathrooms were clean, however note that the bathrooms are shared and mixed genders, which I wasn't too keen on but this may not be an issue for someone else. Overall the staff were really friendly and helpful and the location is really handy to do anything that you might want to do!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for bringing to our attention the dust in your room. We will be looking into this as a matter of urgency and put measures in place to ensure this does not happen again. Thanks for your feedback. You are welcome back to stay with us anytime. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.3

This hostel was REALLY clean. Personal was so, so nice. I loved that. I didn't like the fact that there were so many beds in a really small dorm. And there were no lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our hostel to be clean- we work hard to keep it that way :) We have storage facilities for any luggage and will be bringing in more valuables lockers. At present we do have some rooms which do have lockers, so if you come back, please ask and we will put you in a room with a locker. Please come back and see us soon. Thanks The Hostel

3rd Feb 2017
8.9

Right beside Haymarket train staion and bus stop to airport. About 15 min walk to one of Edinburgh's main streets, Princes St. Good few cafes and restaurants just few minutes away, as well as supermaket. Dorms on the first floor are big but well equiped with plugs and reading lights on each bed. Confy beds. Lovely & really helpful staff. Thank you to all the crew for a pleasant stay and helping me out every time I needed it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you had such a pleasant time. It was great meeting you. You are certainly welcome back any time. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

Absolutely amazing loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are really pleased you had such a great time. You were a great group and we really enjoyed meeting you. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
10.0

Great place to stay while in Edinburgh. Located across the street from the Haymarket train station! Will definitely be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for staying with us at the Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are really pleased you had such a fantastic time staying with us. Please come back and see us anytime. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jan 2017
9.7

Very helpful and lovely staff, good location, very clean :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel. We are so glad you had a fantastic stay with us. Please come back and see us any time :) Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jan 2017
9.1

There are only small lockers available in rooms that you have to pay for. Unisex bathrooms but very new and clean and felt comfortable! Staff were lovely. Power points at all beds, would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are really pleased you had such a great stay with us. When we chose the lockers, we wanted to make sure they were big enough for people to store valuables and essentials such as phones, wallets and laptops, but not so big that they got in the way. You do have to put 1 pound in to use them, but you get this back when you unlock the locker. We are glad you found our hostel clean and comfortable. Our staff work hard to make sure all our guests have a great stay with us :) Please come back and see us soon The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.9

It's around 15min walk to the city center, but it's so nice to walk around Edinburgh it feels faster. Lots of restaurants and bars close. We were there for NYE, and I don't know if it's always like this, but the atmosphere was awesome! Put some beers on the fridge and meet some really nice people in the lobby playing some games or chating. Stayed in a mixed room for 21 people and still nice and clean. They have the best amazing staff! Would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.