Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
The Hostel Located at 3 Clifton Terrace, , Edinburgh.
The Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH12 5DR 3 Clifton Terrace
80% 1263
55.9460278 -3.2179641
The Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Sep 2016
8.9

Not many power outlets in the room but otherwise a nice place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
7.4

My biggest praise for this hostel is the staff. The lovely women who checked me in was brilliant, so helpful and sweet. The hostel itself is alright. The dorms are very crowded with no storage space, which gets a bit annoying. It's also a bit of a walk from the city center, but at least it's an easy walk to follow on a map. I met some nice people here, and despite it seeming to not be set up for much socializing, it did have a reasonable social atmosphere in the kitchen and lounge.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
16th Sep 2016
8.3

Clean, neat, safe and secure. Helpful staff. Great value for money. Not overly central, but a very manageable stroll into the new town. Directly opposite Newmarket station and close to M&S and food stores.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. Thanks for staying at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you had a nice stay. We are just over 5 minutes walk from the main street in Edinburgh, Princes Street, and as you say, we are right next to the train station, food stores and bars. Please come back and see us soon :) Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Sep 2016
10.0

Best hostel ! Amazing wifi in the rooms, kitchen has everything you need, comfortable commune area, bathroom was always clean and it is so central. Joseph and the manager Adam were so helpful and even wanted to hang out after their shift had finished! Would not hesitate to stay here again. Definitely recommend this affordable hostel to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks so much for staying with us at the Hostel and for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Adam and Joseph enjoyed meeting you and say you are welcome back any time. Come and see us again soon :) The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
5.7

Staff was very friendly, room had sufficient space. Interior looks rather old. Toilets not well mantained, and very few cubicles available. Two of the shower cubicles upstairs either had freezing cold water or boiling hot water. Shower area was very small, barely enough room to stand inside. Power points in rooms can only be used for charging phones and laptops. Power supply will be cut off if anything else was used - hair dryers can only be used outside (though they provide their own).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Sep 2016
8.6

The hostel is situated close to Haymarket, so was perfect for me as I had to get to the airport early in the morning. I didn't really see much of the room because checked in at about 11pm and everyone else in my room was already asleep. but it looked nice enough although a bit crowded with 8 people in there. The bathrooms were clean. I left at 6am (only used the hostel for sleeping), so can't really say anuthing about the lounge and other facilities. I would stay again though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we will take all feedback on board. Please come and see us again soon. You are welcome anytime :) Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
5th Sep 2016
7.7

Average hostel, had everything I needed but wasn't particularly exciting, I think the 'nights out' happen in their sister hostel which they advertise in this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for your feedback. We are really happy that we offered everything you needed. We are currently organizing more evening activities with our sister hotel and bar which is a 2 minute walk away, however, our reception staff are always happy to point you in the right direction and know the best bars to head to :) Please come back and see us soon. The Hostel

5th Sep 2016
8.0

Staff are great people!! Cheap accom and has everything you need. Not too much of a social vibe here, and big groups of students often stay here. Also reception is only open from 8am to 11pm. Room gets a bit stuffy and not every bed has a charger. It's what you'd expect for the price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel. We are glad you had a nice stay. Our staff enjoy meeting other travelers and helping them enjoy everything Edinburgh has to offer. Thanks for your feedback- we are currently organizing some extra social activities in the evening which will make it easier to meet other travelers. Come back and see us soon :) The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Aug 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved my stay at The Hostel! The facilities were clean, comfy beds and great kitchen. I only wish their were more charging points in the rooms. I extended my stay there because the location was so convenient. What made my experience memorable at The Hostel was the wonderful hospitality shown by the reception staff, Adam and Joseph. You'll instantly connect with these guys because they are so kind, helpful and both have a great sense of humour. Thanks for everything guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
10.0

Very friendly staff, cool modern environment, and great deal for the location. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. Thanks for staying at the Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy you had such a great stay. Please come back and see us soon :) The Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.