Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.0

Lovely lass on reception. Lucky to have found somewhere during the Fringe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
6.0

Staff were friendly but facilities are very basic. 14 room dorm is very cramped and beds are poor quality. Breakfast very basic too. Perhaps most frustrated that reception only opens at 8am. (Normal hostels open MUCH earlier than this!). Not good if you want to check out early!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
28th Jul 2017
9.1

Good location and very helpful staff. Nice location. However, before arrival we felt misled by harsh announcements regarding the conditions of group booking (high security deposits, threat of financial penalties, request to pay in cash). Reality was much more nice and this was fine. One real shortcoming was late opening of kitchen and dining room (at 8:00 am).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jul 2017
9.4

Location is about 15 mins walk from the city centre, but close to the conference building and to a transit hub. Staff was super helpful in finding places to eat and giving suggestions. However, the bed sheets were threadbare and didn't feel like they were washed. The blanket cover didn't look clean either but the staff did help me get a new cover for the comforter. Otherwise, the bathrooms were decently clean for a hostel and the room was alright.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Jul 2017
9.4

good relaxed atmosphere with a decent kitchen and a nice common area. Great absolutely helpful staff and good beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2017
8.6

Quilt/Fiona covers would be nice for each of the beds as they were only provided for some and it made the room look less inviting. Otherwise clean enough and very nice staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
9.1

I was happy for what I paid for

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2017
6.0

They dont have hot water to take shower...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2017
9.1

Amazing hostel, top location! Had an great weekend everything we needed. Only downside was the showers were either boiling or freezing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
8.3

I usually stay with friends in Edinburgh, but that was not possible for the entirety of this trip. So I booked at The Hostel for part of my stay. The Hostel is relatively clean as far as hostels go. The kitchen was closed between 10.00 pm and 8.00 am, which is awkward for early risers. You are not supposed to have food in your room, but I did anyway so I could eat breakfast when I needed to. The staff were extremely helpful and cheerful which is hard when dealing with so many people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.