Hostelworld.com

The Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1,177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1,177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4
The Hostel Located at 3 Clifton Terrace, , Edinburgh.
The Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH12 5DR 3 Clifton Terrace
79% 1177
55.9460278 -3.2179641
The Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
2.0

I would like to your kind notice that my booking at hostel was confirmed & at the last minute I was told there was no room left even after paying the deposit money, I ended up paying GBP 103 At the last minute to find a substitute accommodation which is totally unfair on me. plus all the invonvience of going around & finding hotels & airbnb places which only ruined my trip to edinburg. I would like to take this up with the management & suggest that something is done on this issue.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
10.0

Really good no frills hostel. Basic and comfortable, just what I was looking for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
8.3

Nice place with friendly staff and a relaxed vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
6.6

Had to stay here for a night. Every time the door closed it made a loud squeezing noise.... good luck remembering the wifi password

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
4.3

Fairly unclean facilities, the staff were mostly unfriendly and unhelpful and the atmosphere wasn't particularly nice. Rooms were over-crowded and uncomfortable and in need of cleaning.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
9.4

A nice hostel right by the Haymarket station. It's not on the Royal Mile vicinity but West End is arguably a cooler part of town to be in. Good rooms, chill-out areas and kitchen. Would recommend and would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
9.7

Stayed with a large group a few weeks ago. The Hostel was under refurbishment at the time, so one of the bathrooms was out of order which obviously put a strain on the other bathrooms. But the staff were very nice about it and constantly apologized to everyone for any inconveniences caused, and at the end of the day it wasn't a massive issue...The atmosphere was really good, there's a pool table in the lounge, no curfew and nice and helpful staff. I would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
4.3

The bathroom was pretty filthy. It kind of took away from our trip because it was so sketch anytime we wanted to use the bathroom. Especially when renovations were underway upstairs in the bathroom so most hostel guests were forced to share one common bathroom. The bedrooms were decent but the whole bathroom issue was hard to get over.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Anguilla, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2016
10.0

Great stay! Many thanks for the amazing staff for making this such a fantastic experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2016
8.6

Nice place, good location, rooms were too small for the number of beds, you had to physically squeeze between 2 bunks to get in and out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.