Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,327 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,327 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
The Hostel Located at 3 Clifton Terrace, , Edinburgh.
The Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH12 5DR 3 Clifton Terrace
83% 1327
55.9460278 -3.2179641
The Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Dec 2016
5.7

I stayed here for three nights over NYE w a friend. We were in a room with 21 beds and due to demand it cost us 60£ a night. We were unimpressed with the cleanliness (it's difficult to manage a 21 bed room but it's possible to open a window, vacuum, etc) and had two separate mix-ups with beds -- people claiming beds but staff removing the sheets so that everyone had to reshuffle. A system with lettered beds would solve this easily. Also emphasising the quiet hours would be appreciated.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We welcome all feedback as it helps us improve, so thank you for your comments. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations this time. We will certainly look into the mix ups with beds to try and ensure it doesn't happen with other guests in the future. We would like to point out that whilst our price was higher during NYE, we were actually one of the cheaper options in the city. Also, with it being New Year, people were out late enjoying the street party, which may have been why it was noisy at times, however, again, this is something we will look into. We have addressed the window and vacuum situation and have put measures in place to ensure this doesn't happen again. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope that you will come back again in the future. Kind Regards The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
10.0

Great hostel, excellent location, good atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We work really hard to make sure all our guests have a great stay with us and we're really happy to hear you had such an amazing time. You are welcome back to stay with us any time :) Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
8.3

The staff are nice and friendly. We initially booked a 14 bed room, but don't know why the system said the price we paid was for a 18 bed room. Plus there was no more availabilities for the 14 bed room . Therefore we have to stay in a 18 bed room which is not spacious enough as they are some 3 tier bunk bed. however, the staff offered us free breakfast as apology. The environment here is quite good, clean and modern. It worths the value of money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry you stayed in a room size different to what you expected. So far we have had very positive feedback about our 18 bed room with people saying its comfortable and each bed having a light and its own socket (with USB). However, we are really happy you enjoyed the rest of the Hostel. We really hope you come back and see us soon. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
10.0

Stayed over Christmas and would 100% recommend. Staff are fabulous ("The Hive" goes off) and it's a really easy walk from the centre of Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review! We are so happy you guys enjoyed yourselves here. The staff all work very hard to make sure our guests enjoy themselves and genuinely enjoy meeting lovely people such as yourselves :) Come back and see us any time Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
9.4

The staff was so kind and helpful!!! And for a 21 bedroom set up, we had just enough personnel space.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thank you for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and liked out new 21 bed room :) You are welcome back anytime to see us. Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Dec 2016
6.0

Not too bad. It's location is a bit of a trek from the bus station, but it's not too bad. Breakfast is charged at £2 which isn't really worth it. I was a bit stressed by being awoken by the sounds of circular saws against walls on the last day, they must have been doing some work on the room next to ours, would have been nice if they had waited until everyone was up and out before doing that kind of work in the morning. Bit disrespectful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We take all feedback on board and will work hard to improve our service. We are sorry you found the bus station was a bit of a walk, but there is a tram that takes you straight from there to our hostel. Breakfast is optional and we do not include this in our price, however, we will look into what is offered. We are so sorry you were effected by the work we were doing. We certainly did not mean to be disrespectful. However, all the work is now finished and we hope you will come back and see the results in the future. We enjoyed chatting to you and you are welcome back anytime. Kind Regards The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
10.0

Great location and staff could not of been more helpful. Would recommend tone anyone looking for accommodation in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you had such a great time staying with us. You are welcome back anytime :) Thanks The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
9.7

I was most impressed with the kindness and knowledge of the staff. They knew everything about Edinburgh'a history and where to go to fully immerse yourself in the culture of the city. Not a single minute of my time there was wasted thanks to the staff at the hostel, especially Adam!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review. We are so you had a great time staying with us. We really enjoyed meeting you and chatting to you about the history of Edinburgh and Scotland. Adam says hi and that you are welcome back any time you like. Come and see us soon :) The Hostel

11th Nov 2016
8.0

Location was about a 20-30 minute walk away from the city center, but there is public transportation just outside of the hostel that was very convenient. The facilities are kept relatively clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would just like to mention that the main street of Edinburgh, Princes street, is a 5-10 minute walk from us. We are sorry that this was not communicated properly to you and we will try and make sure we do so better in the future. Please come back and see us again The Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.0

Staff were great, bathrooms were relatively clean. The rooms are tiny and packed with beds. There are no lockers and no space for many bags.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment which, once finished, will mean more space in our smaller rooms. There will also be lockers in these rooms and space for bags. We hope you come back and visit us soon. Thanks The Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.