Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 639 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 639 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
The House Hostel Located at #452-5 Dongmyeong-Dong, Sokcho, Kangwon Do, Sokcho.
The House Hostel
South Korea
Sokcho +82-17-713-0550 #452-5 Dongmyeong-Dong, Sokcho, Kangwon Do
95% 639
38.2091520 128.5920953
The House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
18th Sep 2016
9.4

Amazing hostel. Staff are super friendly, gave us all the information we needed for our stay in Sokcho. Bathrooms were clean and plentiful. Very nice kitchen and terrace as well. Great to meet other people at the hostel. If you're going to sokcho, you have to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Sep 2016
8.0

Prettiest hostel I've ever been to with soothing music playing. I felt very comfortable. As I wanted to go hiking in the national park, a hostel a bit closer to the park might have been better (takes ~30mins by bus). Also: a lot of the guests seemed to want to stay to themselves, so if you're looking for somewhere to meet a lot of people, this might not be the best choice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Sep 2016
9.7

Great place. Very easy to get to Seoraksan National Park.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Sep 2016
10.0

Fantastic guesthouse. Staff are extremely welcoming and helpful. Great facilities, everything is clean and efficient and the whole place has a very homely feel. I've been travelling for a year now and it's the nicest place I've stayed over the whole trip. I would highly recommend this guesthouse.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.1

The House Hostel is a really nice and comfy place. Its lovely, eclectic furnishing provides the exact hostel atmosphere you seek when you are on a backpacking trip. The hotel manager, Yoo, is also very friendly and ready to answer all your questions about what to do and how to get around in Sokcho. Only negative point is the smell that a used bathroom develops here, because it will take a long time to dry up due to lack of fresh air (and the ever-humid weather of Sokcho).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • camillahilton
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Aug 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed in. The owner Yoo is so lovely and sits you down with a map of the area when you arrive and tells you everything you need to know about Sokcho- he even has a whole folder full of restaurant suggestions with maps and photos. Feels like staying in a very cool home rather than a hostel, having private bathrooms for each dorm was great and the location is ideal- right next to the bus terminal and the bus stop to take you to the National Park, highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
9.7

Great hostel! Lovely decorations, spacious rooms (I stayed in a 4 bed dormitory). The owner and staff are very nice and helpful. You can easily walk to many nice places in the city, and take a bus to the mountains in front of the house. Only slight downsides were that the public space closes at 11pm, and there were rather few people hanging out when I was there (end of season). Would absolutely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
8.9

The staff were nice, the place was clean. overall it was just nice place to stay close to everything it was perfect

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kimc14
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.9

The hostel was great all round. Woo was so nice and helpful. Breakfast was a great plus. The hostel has so much character with the style and design which made it very cozy and comfortable. The dorm room was fantastic, it included a clean/private bathroom, amenities, outlets, air con and it was spacious enough for a 4 person dorm room. I'd recommend it for sure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jul 2016
10.0

My favourite hostel so far, Mr Yoo was friendly and kind and it has been an absolutely wonderful stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.