X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The House Hostel Reviews

#452-5 Dongmyeong-Dong, Sokcho, Kangwon Do, Sokcho, South Korea

Reviews & Ratings Explained

96%

Rating
539 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The best place to stay in Sokcho!

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Most friendly staff! Very good vibe in this place.


100%

Great place to be, so friendly and helpful

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel has a very cosy and homely design. The hosts are amazingly super friendly. They'll explain you the map of Sokcho immediately once you check in. I got upgraded for both nights to a private room. Or maybe just happen that there is an odd number guests. The location of this hostel is superb. Cleanliness of the bed is almost perfect. The toilet is a little old, but still it is generally clean! If I come again to Sokcho, I would definitely stay in this hostel again!


100%

Great hostel in sokcho. The owner yoo is the nicest person you will ever meet, nothing is too much trouble.


100%

The House is a great hostel and quite the gem here in Korea. The staff was friendly, helpful and made you feel at home. The ambiance is the selling point with relaxed vibes and casual hangout areas. I am eager to return for another stay!

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

the owner Yoo is extremely nice and very informative helping you to see Sokcho and surrounding areas


97%

The owner mr yoo was very friendly and could speak good english. Overall a very cosy and comfortable place that feels like home


100%

We will definitely come back Mr Yoo , his warm hospatility will make u feel at home ... Highly recommendation

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

There was no lockers in the rooms which is a shame. The hostel has a very cozy atmosphere and the staff is very nice and friendly!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! thank you for your mail ground floor, we have lockers. thank you for your mention Best regards, Yoo

100%

Very friendly welcome and convenient location near the intercity bus terminal, waterfront and awesome Sokcho market. I stayed in a single room. The accommodations are comfortable, if simple - just what I was looking for and a great value. They've clearly put effort into decorating and making the hostel a comfortable space. I didn't use the kitchen but it looked well-equipped, and the free bike rentals were a great plus. I would definitely come back! 감사합니다!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The front desk was so welcoming and helpful. Started off with the introduction to sokcho and popular places to go. They seem to know everything! I had been upgraded to a double room with private bath for unknown reasons but the room was very nice, sheets were already on and TV was available to use. The common area was adorably decorated and it felt like a warm cosy dining /living room. Area is easy to get around but might need a taxi to get to the hostel from one of the express bus terminals.


100%

The best hostel if you are planning to visit sokcho and do abit of hiking to mt. Seorak.... The athmosphere of this hostel is so homey and you can rent the bike for free, therefore going around town by bike is so much easier and fun! I'd say the house hostel is worth every won that i paid....

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This was a great hostel in Sokcho. We arrived early so we dropped off our things (they lent us a lock so we could lock up our valuables) and went to Seoroksan immediately. The bus stop is very convenient to this hostel, and Mr. Yoo and the staff were very helpful. This was a great value and good for young people or people on a budget.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Friendly, nice staff, and good place to stay.

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

this place was just nice in and out. good location, nice interior and great staff.


100%

Stayed for 3 nights. Really nice and cosy hostel. Staff speaks good english and is super helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean and spacious. Would stay again.


97%

Best guesthouse in Korea! Feel so cozy! All you need in the dorm, except lockers. Kitchen area is realllyyy nice!! Would definety go there again.


100%

I loved it here. From the moment we walked through the door till the sad moment we had to depart - it was all brilliant! Mr Yoo was so helpful, going through in detail with a map what sights to see, how to get there, and how much it would cost. Cozy, beautifully decorated and service with a smile. A wonderful place to visit and a wonderful place to stay. HIGHLY recommend!!


100%

A magical place. Love the decorations in the house. The house and the rooms are very clean and the entire house smells good everyday. House owner Mr Yoo and wife, Mrs Yoo are very nice people. Indeed very helpful and gives directions of places to visit in Sokcho with clear guidance. Though breakfast was simple, it was adequate. A definite first choice if i come back to Sokcho.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Sokcho Hostels

Please give us your feedback