X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Hump Hostel Reviews

Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1859 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Overall experience was good, I would recommend this place to a friend too. The upsides was the atmosphere and the staff was kind enough to me. Showers were great, location good, food inside the hostel satisfying. The downside was definitely the toilet. They have 2+2 sitting/squatting toilets shared amongst... I don't know how many people. The wifi sucked too but rather than it being a hostel problem maybe it's a Kunming problem... I don't know.


77%

The hostel is near the station but kinda far away from attractions in the city. The bar food is good, as is the atmosphere in the communal area, but it can be quite cold and dark. The boardgames are a nice touch. Staff are generally friendly and helpful. Double bedrooms don't have AC but do have electric blankets. Showers and bathroom area well-maintained. Overall quite good :)


97%

A great location. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hostel is very proactive. The hostel is located near a big pedestrian shopping area, where there are many restaurants. Also, just a short 1-minute walk from the hostel is a great across-the-bridge-noodle store. Since Yunnan has no central heating, it is a little chilly at night, but the hostel does provide electrical blankets, and you can also ask for extra blanks as well.


83%

Very well located, room was clean but a bit cold. Staff was helpful. We were supposed to be in the dorm but they over booked it so they gave us a private room for the same price.


69%

I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm. There were a few issues with the room. One of the windows had no glass in it - just a fly screen, which made the room extremely noisy at night. While the central location is very convenient, the inability to close the window at night meant the noise from the bars and alley below was loud. The bathroom door also had a panel missing - unfortunate as the toilet was positioned directly opposite.


94%

The Hump hostel was very conveniently located. There was shopping malls close by and a Carrefour. The staff was also very helpful.


86%

The food is really good!!!!! The room was clean and they have electric blankets, the heating didn't work in our room. The showers are ok. The staff would need to learn some English, there was only one girl who was helpful, the others were not so much. The terrace is really nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello ,thanks for your review ,your review is really important for us ,hope you have a nice trip in china

89%

It was so relaxing just to enjoy the sun at the roof-top terrace and listening to chill-out music.. Loved it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi ,thanks for you staying with us and like our hostel ,we also love you

86%

God value for money, very fine location,nice people. Disturbace is the totalt meaningless music going ön in the lobby. Hård to havet a konversation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,thanks for your comments ,it's will be useful for our hostel ,have a nice trip in China

100%

So kind staff and goood room


37%

The room didnt have a window, the floor and the walls in the room was dirty, there was a lot of mould in the bathroom - we didnt feel comfortable at all. Also during the night there. Is a lot of noise. The staff are helpful though, and the lobby seems fairly nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear : i am so sorry to hear that you have bad time in our hostel ,about the problem we already training our staff for the clean ,and for the noise we offer the earplug for free in the room i am sorry we didn't tell you about this ,we hope to see you again in our hostel and wish you have a nice trip in China

77%

The hostel is very spacy and nicely located. It has a great roof terrace and has laundry facilities. The room however is not very clean and the walls are very thin. We could hear every sound our neighbours were making. Especially at night when we were trying to sleep this was apparent. When our neighbours were still talking, we could hear everything and this was quite annoying.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Location was easy to find, there's a bar right outside the hostel, room was really dim, showering facilities was alright!


94%

Great hostel, right in the centre and easy to get to from the train station. Rooms clean and cheap, shared bathroom a little basic but more than adequate. Wifi is terrible. The best thing about this place was the staff, the girls on the desk helped me out so much!


100%

Central location, perfect rooftop patio, and great place to unwind - morning, noon, and night! Props to the tunes and the wonderful staff!


91%

Nice atmosphere with Western and domestic backpackers. Beds were very warm. Wifi was intermittent, and the level of English spoken by staff really depended on the person.


100%

I had a great stay at the Hump. The location is very easy to find, even if like me you have just landed in China - just follow the instructions the hostel sends and you can't go wrong! On arrival they give you tokens for free beer and meal discounts which is a really nice touch, and dorms are comfortable and spacious. Lonely Planet comments on 'noise', though in my experience there is no real issue with this, and in any case the free earplugs work well. I'd recommend the Hump!


83%

Nice place to stay for a few days, the dorms are good !


80%

No map of the city, it´s a shame because the orthers guesthouses give it. Wifi is not very good.


91%

The Hump is ideally located in Kunming, close to transport system and central city. Helpful staff, good facilities and great views from the terrace area.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Kunming Hostels

Please give us your feedback