X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Hump Hostel Reviews

Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1590 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

We had a fantastic time here, can't fault the Hump! Would have gladly stayed longer. Really sociable and friendly hostel, mainly Western guests. Staff we're really helpful, especially with booking train tickets and when a friend lost a bag dealing with the police etc even though we'd checked out. Recommend the mosque down the road for food, cheap and fantastic!


83%

clean hostel, nice location, helpful staff.


94%

Great historic hostel in excellent location in the centre of town. Rooms well priced, bar and food pricey, but the roof garden is a superb place to relax. Friendly staff

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

it is the worst place I have never stayed,can you inmagine no light no window(can not open)with disgust smell in the room and the stuff never smile

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
您好,关于您的不愉快的住宿感到非常抱歉,由于我们服务不够到位,我们非常抱歉。如果您发现房间的灯坏了,您可以到服务台跟我们反应,我们会立即更换的。您住的房间是有窗户的,但由于您入住的房间靠近阳台,所以纱窗和部分窗子是固定的。客栈房间的设施设备有任何问题我们都会检查并处理。感谢您的意见。我们会努力改进我们的不足。

94%

Overall a good place to stay for a couple of nights. Especially the location, the rooftop terrace and the English speaking staff were very nice. At first we had a room with only one window facing the hallway, but it was no problem to change to a different far more comfortable and bright room.


80%

It's a generally decent hostel. I appreciated that they had hot water available for use. Common area a bit dim and smoking everywhere, but I would stay here again if I needed to. Nice terrece area for use if it's not raining. Also the beds are nice and they have good storage areas with locks in the room, although your bed (which you choose) does not necessarily correspond to where your locker is (which they assign).


83%

Great at atmosphere! nice roof top bar and restaurant. The hostel had a fun, relaxed feel to it, and the majority of staff were really nice and helpful, and speak good English.


80%

What can I say about The Hump that hasn't already been said? The beds are cheap, but the food/beer/coffee is overpriced. WiFi is usually poor and the hot water goes out sometimes. Yet this hostel is very central and is usually full. It is noisy, both inside and out, so choose a smaller hostel for some peace and quiet.


89%

This is a nice hostel, and the staff are particularly helpful. The maps, directions and guides to nearby attractions that are posted on the walls are very useful.


94%

It's really a great place to stay, apart from the fact that a family of Indians joined our dormitory. I don't think that children should be allowed to sleep in dorms. The whole rest was fine, though their prices of food and drinks are rather high.


91%

all facilities are good ,i would like to stay there again if i will go to kunming i will stay in that hostel, it was helpful.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


34%

How did this hostel get such a high rating? I'd have to assume they're fixing their ratings. The hostel is HOT. Each room has no A/C, which wouldn't be a problem if there were any sort of ventilation, even a window, or, you know, it wasn't 38 degrees in the hostel. They advertise free wifi but it worked for exactly 3 minutes of my 2 night stay. When I asked about it, they basically admitted that it never works. It doesn't. Worst Wifi in China. The location is really good, but that's it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry for your unhappy staying here.We do like to clarify something. First of all, we never cheat on the rating of our hostel. All the reviews and comments are from the guests who stayed our hostel. Cheating is never good for a hostel. For the air-conditioner, yes, we had before, but the estate management required us to remove all the air conditioners that we had. So we prepared fans in the room.We also sorry for the slow wifi, and we are trying to solve the problem.

43%

There was no hot water, and little to no running water for showers. Also the price was high for such poor quality in service. Some of the staff were kind and some were flatly rude. Rooms were good and comfortable as was the food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Brian Austin, We are really sorry for your unsatisfactory staying here.Because the heating system for the shower was broken,that was why no hot water.But we had already prepared private room for the guests to have shower,and put a piece of paper to show on the public bathroom.And Because we are in the city center,everything is expensive,and 100RMB for a private room is not too much,but we will try our best to do everyting better. Thank you.

97%

Excellent place


57%

This hostel is on the 3rd floor (over a restaurant) and is the largest one I stayed in. Lights in the lounge area and the rooms were so low I needed my headlight to read by. The single/double had windows onto the corridor that HAD to be kept closed. Room was supposed to be aircon but only had a floor fan. Billiard table in front of bar really squashed things. Internet did not work in English. Got a dose of the runs from the dinner. Left luggage cost 3RMB a day. Incorrect information given.


71%

Practical hostel in the center of Kunming. The main thing to take into account is that the common room and terrace (with a very nice view) double as a bar, so there's not always a quiet place to relax, especially at night. I had some troubles with the wifi, even more so than in other places in China.


100%

Best staff in Kunming!

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Extremely helpful and kind staff. Excellent atmosphere and a fantastic terrace for having a drink and meeting other travellers. Restaurant prices very reasonable considering what is normally charged for western dishes in China. Extremely clean room and fairly clean bathroom and showers. The only downside: I was in KunMing in late spring and the female dorm was pretty much an oven. Other travellers were a bit loud and not mindful of others' sleep, but I suppose it's not the hostel's fault!


66%

I stayed for 6 nights at the hostel. Everyday the staff just emptied the rubbish bin but did not do any cleaning up of the room. The room was found to be dusty which is a little disgusting and irritating. Overall is okay about the hostel. Thank you.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir, We are sorry for your unsatisfactory staying here. We request our staff to clean the dormitory daily to clean the floor and clear the rubbish bin, but we generally empty the rubbish bin do not clean the private rooms and change the bedding daily to respect the guests’ privacy unless the guests request us to do so, And it’s better to ask for that at the reception. Next time we will do it well.Thank you.

83%

A good hostel with clean rooms, helpful staff, and a very good location. The food and drinks at the hostel are a bit pricy, but it is surrounded by other restaurants, so it's not a big problem.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Kunming Hostels

Please give us your feedback