Hostelworld.com

The Hump Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,928 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,928 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7
The Hump Hostel Located at Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming.
The Hump Hostel
China
Kunming Yunnan 650021 Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road
83% 1928
25.0331580 102.7109831
The Hump Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.4

Good atmosphere and great location I would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
8.0

It's a pretty small hostel compared to the others I've visited in China. You get a great view of the city from the patio, the set up of the common are is nice, and the hostel itself is very clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The vibe was a little awkward and stilted while I was there, but maybe I just stayed for few bad nights.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jun 2016
8.6

Enjoyed being close to shopping areas and at the hostel the friendly hostel community.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
9.1

Great hostel! Rooms are spacious, beds are very comfortable, the rooftop garden area is amazing! Only complaint is that the toilet stalls are so small you have to sit sideways.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your compliment, we will try our best to meet your needs.We hope we can meet next time.

27th May 2016
9.1

The Hump has been my one-and-only for all visits and stopovers in Kunming. Can't beat the location and the atmosphere is outstanding and able to cater to all kinds of travelers. Staff have always been helpful despite a somewhat dismissive/disinterested attitude, but that seems to be the case in a lot of hostels in China, so, mei ban fa. Didn't appreciate my stinky room and 20 mosquito bites on this particular visit, but that's not really at the fault of the hostel... sigh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
9.7

The Hump seems to be the place to stay in Kunming. The indoor and outside rooftop bar/restaurant/cafe/lounge area is superb. Nice beds in the dorms. Central location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2016
10.0

Loved this place! Great vibes, all ages there, excellent beds and awesome lockers with fobs to keep your stuff safe. Really good location too and easy directions to get from and to the airport. Highly recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review ,have a nice trip in China .

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
10.0

The location is just fantastic. We booked a room for four, and found out we had lots of privacy: bathroom private, a small area over the two bottom beds for our children to sleep, and have their own quarters. More than anything, we loved the common areas! REALLY nice, relaxing... we ended up not using much of it, just because we wanted to explore the city. The worst was taking the luggage to the third floor! Tiring! But worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review ,wish to see you again .

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.0

There aren't many choices, and I think most people stay at the Hump in Kunming. The room was great. It didn't seem like a place where people mingled with others that they did not know. The food and even coffee takes very very long to make.. Its a cheap place and the food is okay. Its not a bad place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
5.7

Really disappointing! We paid more to get a private room and we genuinely had a better nights sleep on the sleeper train the night before the bed was sooo hard! The room was also so badly lit it hurt our eyes, most of the common area is as dully lit too which is a little annoying. On the plus side the location is great as its in the middle of everything and the common area is spacious and comfy (we debated napping out there rather than the beds)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.