Hostelworld.com

The Hump Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,904 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,904 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
The Hump Hostel Located at Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming.
The Hump Hostel
China
Kunming Yunnan 650021 Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road
85% 1904
25.0331580 102.7109831
The Hump Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
5.7

Really disappointing! We paid more to get a private room and we genuinely had a better nights sleep on the sleeper train the night before the bed was sooo hard! The room was also so badly lit it hurt our eyes, most of the common area is as dully lit too which is a little annoying. On the plus side the location is great as its in the middle of everything and the common area is spacious and comfy (we debated napping out there rather than the beds)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
7.7

This hostel is clean, good atmosphere, facilities and location is good as well, what a I have to complain is about staff, boys wasn't helpful when I ask for tips or directions, attending more their chats than customers, and finally I ask them for a train ticket service what I paid immediately but I got it until next day 3 hours before my departure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
8.0

It's great for backpackers, its location is great very convenient for walk around the city where the actions are !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
9.4

We stayed a couple of nights in a private room with bathroom and then went back a few days later and stayed again in a room with shared bathroom. Both rooms were good, fairly clean. One morning there didn't seem to be hot water. Hostel is nice and big, with a big common room, and a great balcony looking out towards the city, also has a decent priced bar and food. Really good atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff who speak English. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Mar 2016
9.7

Hump initially lost our booking for the first night. Rosa immediately arranged for us to stay at the hotel next door for one night at the same price. The hotel was 3x price of the hump and nowhere near at nice! The hump is in a great central location, good facilities, bit noisy in evenings, very helpful staff. I would definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
8.3

I've been coming to the Hump Hostel for several years now. I love the rooftop atmosphere of this place and the double beds I've slept in are also not Asian-style hard. As a non flat-bottomed individual this is an important consideration for me. The music of the bar has taken a turn for the worse though, with us being subjected to easy-listening seemingly straight out of a commercial or shopping mall elevator.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
8.9

Everthing was great. Location near Kunming old town walking street, good view from rooftop, Staff can speak English, good restaurant and bar. But only one thing is noisy at bed time but hostel provide ear plug.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2016
7.1

I wasn't thrilled. Facilities are fine. The staff are not very helpful with English level adequate just to get what you specifically know. That said, they have tips notes which are helpful to the most popular places The place has a weird mix of people, and I really lucked out with a room that smells like drugs. It seems like some people are just living there, some are students. Just not a traveling vibe there. The location is excellent, and beautiful terrace as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Feb 2016
9.4

The hostel location could be easily found. Despite some reviews on the noise level I felt it was not as bad, perhaps it could be due to the location of my room. The staff were very patient and willing to provide detailed explanations for my queries. Very good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review ,hope you have a nice trip in China .

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Feb 2016
8.9

Great location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.