Hostelworld.com

The Hump Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,917 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,917 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
The Hump Hostel Located at Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming.
The Hump Hostel
China
Kunming Yunnan 650021 Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road
84% 1917
25.0331580 102.7109831
The Hump Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2016
10.0

Loved this place! Great vibes, all ages there, excellent beds and awesome lockers with fobs to keep your stuff safe. Really good location too and easy directions to get from and to the airport. Highly recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review ,have a nice trip in China .

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
10.0

The location is just fantastic. We booked a room for four, and found out we had lots of privacy: bathroom private, a small area over the two bottom beds for our children to sleep, and have their own quarters. More than anything, we loved the common areas! REALLY nice, relaxing... we ended up not using much of it, just because we wanted to explore the city. The worst was taking the luggage to the third floor! Tiring! But worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review ,wish to see you again .

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.0

There aren't many choices, and I think most people stay at the Hump in Kunming. The room was great. It didn't seem like a place where people mingled with others that they did not know. The food and even coffee takes very very long to make.. Its a cheap place and the food is okay. Its not a bad place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
5.7

Really disappointing! We paid more to get a private room and we genuinely had a better nights sleep on the sleeper train the night before the bed was sooo hard! The room was also so badly lit it hurt our eyes, most of the common area is as dully lit too which is a little annoying. On the plus side the location is great as its in the middle of everything and the common area is spacious and comfy (we debated napping out there rather than the beds)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
7.7

This hostel is clean, good atmosphere, facilities and location is good as well, what a I have to complain is about staff, boys wasn't helpful when I ask for tips or directions, attending more their chats than customers, and finally I ask them for a train ticket service what I paid immediately but I got it until next day 3 hours before my departure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
8.0

It's great for backpackers, its location is great very convenient for walk around the city where the actions are !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Apr 2016
6.9

Overall a decent hostel with an nice roof terrace. The rooms seem to be a bit hit and miss. I had a really good dorm a few years ago, but this time ended in one that was fairly uninviting but k if you only want to sleep there. Food is ok and drinks decent. The staff is a bit like the rooms, some very nice and helpful, others can't seem to be bothered too much with helping out making travel arrangements. Much unfulfilled potential here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
9.4

We stayed a couple of nights in a private room with bathroom and then went back a few days later and stayed again in a room with shared bathroom. Both rooms were good, fairly clean. One morning there didn't seem to be hot water. Hostel is nice and big, with a big common room, and a great balcony looking out towards the city, also has a decent priced bar and food. Really good atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff who speak English. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
31st Mar 2016
9.7

Hump initially lost our booking for the first night. Rosa immediately arranged for us to stay at the hotel next door for one night at the same price. The hotel was 3x price of the hump and nowhere near at nice! The hump is in a great central location, good facilities, bit noisy in evenings, very helpful staff. I would definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
8.3

I've been coming to the Hump Hostel for several years now. I love the rooftop atmosphere of this place and the double beds I've slept in are also not Asian-style hard. As a non flat-bottomed individual this is an important consideration for me. The music of the bar has taken a turn for the worse though, with us being subjected to easy-listening seemingly straight out of a commercial or shopping mall elevator.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.