Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Hump Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,939 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,939 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
The Hump Hostel Located at Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming.
The Hump Hostel
China
Kunming Yunnan 650021 Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road
84% 1939
25.0331580 102.7109831
The Hump Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Jul 2016
7.7

The open space in the hostel is very nice and has a great atmosphere. Only downside is that some rooms are very dark and have no windows.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
6th Jul 2016
7.4

Great location - easy to find and close to a lot of restaurants. The staff isn't the most welcoming and seem a bit spacey at times (arranging airport transfer was oddly confusing and complicated for them). Also our dorm's bathroom door had a large hole in it...because why not.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
7.1

The Hump is a good hostel on a nice location. It feels more like a hotel though, because the staff are a bit impersonal. The service is okay, but sometimes you had to wait a long time for your dinner order to arrive (1 and a half hour!). Also, we booked a twin bed room twice and they gave us the wrong type of room twice! It's quite an okay hostel if you just keep these things in mind before you book.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very sorry to make you inconvenient,

29th Jun 2016
8.3

great place for a quick stopover! The atmosphere is definitely for partying down, but easy to avoid it. Drink and food prices are a little higher than the average hostel, but not like restaurant prices around the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.0

The hostel is very easy to find out and the many bus route to reach the place. Love the hostel and will be back there when I'm back to Kunming. A little advice : maybe you can change ceiling fan instead standing fan

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
9.4

Great location within walking distance to the shopping street. Nice rooftop bar that provided an ideal place to hang out. Staff weren't bad, but could have been a tad friendlier. Otherwise, overall was an extremely good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Jun 2016
7.4

Good location. Staff wad not very helpful (seemed more like they didn't understand than unfriendliness). Food was not great. Nice rooftop terrace though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.4

Good atmosphere and great location I would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your compliment. We hope we can meet again soon.

14th Jun 2016
8.0

It's a pretty small hostel compared to the others I've visited in China. You get a great view of the city from the patio, the set up of the common are is nice, and the hostel itself is very clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The vibe was a little awkward and stilted while I was there, but maybe I just stayed for few bad nights.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sorry to make the bad memory in your mind. At the end of this year. we will redecorate the room, welcome your coming next time.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jun 2016
8.6

Enjoyed being close to shopping areas and at the hostel the friendly hostel community.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.