X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Hump Hostel Reviews

Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1619 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The staff was ok and helpful. The problem was those who stay there for a long time. Some of them were real weirdos. Don't say hello to anyone and make the place like homeless refugee something. The bathroom needs some ventilation. Smelled nasty when I had to take a show. But for 35 yuan, you cannot complaint.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

well. at least, the location of this hostel is the best among the hosteled i have stayed before.but pretty disappointed about their policies and staff's service. even though the hostel lies in china, the bar in hump hostel just sells imported beers which are too expensive to backpackers. furthermore, we went to the bar in business hours, they said we can just have the 'imported beers' even they had an ingredients for the cocktails.


100%

Great Hostel! I stay here every time I go to Kunming. There are no other hostels like this one!

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

1. The hostel is located in main street, hence it is difficult to sleep as outside is very noisy with traffic, when people talking loud.. 2. Washroom is not clean as they only clean once in the early morning. Bad smelling when entering to the toilet. 3. Inside the room, the ceiling and wall look very dirty and can see alot of boxes in the room, i thought it was a store room but they treated it as room to rent out. 4. Staff forgotten to pick up although i had remind them twice before arrival.


100%

Excellent, as always.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean rooms, clean sheets, clean shower rooms and restrooms, staffs were okay. No wifi whatsoever in the rooms, barely any proper signal in the lounge as well. Only one public computer at the lounge. That made us almost impossible to book and arrange any accommodation and tickets for our further journey.


89%

I am only writing this because I'm spammed every 3 days by hostel world requesting I write a review.


83%

A bit noisy, but nice room.


100%

Everything a hostel should be .Clean ,comfortable and easy enough to come and go when you please .Staff were excellent.Helped us book railway tickets online as the website was in mandarin

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good Hostel.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Had a nice stay. The dorms were very comfertable, and the bathroom was kept clean well. The hostel is really large, and has a cafe and a roofterras. Downsides are the nightclub music in the evenings (no calm place to sit in the evening) there is no place to sit and eat/dring your own food besides your room because they don't accept it in the cafe. Strangely enough this highly recommended hostel was the one place where I did not meet new friends.


89%

No wifi! But the most wonderful terrace and delicious breakfast, friendly staff, big rooms and the best location in Kunming! We loved it:)

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Very very dirty bathroom,toilets and showers

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff was very kind and helpful, don't know their English abilities though. The dorm rooms are nice. Laundry is cheap! Free drinking water!


89%

The internet works only in the morning when less people are using it. The location is very central so it can be pretty noisy at times, but you can get ear plugs for free at reception. Other than that, great hostel. Staff was friendly and helpful.


83%

Helpful and nice staff.


77%

They were very accommodating of my arriving late, but I think the staff might have been a bit overwhelmed with the volume of people in the hostel. Our room was quite comfortable. The wifi didn't work very well.


100%

Great Place, great atmosphere!!! :-)

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location, right in the centre. The common room was really irritating as they tried to make it into a sort of club and the music was way too loud, and there is no wifi in rooms so if you want to use the internet you have to be in there. You can go in the corridor but the spaces are limited. The wifi had a lot of problems. The staff were average but gave me incorrect information about something they definitely should have known about.


97%

This place is great! Excellent double rooms. Great vibe. Loads of people to talk to and a really good roof terrace

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Kunming Hostels

Please give us your feedback