Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Independente Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
4.9

Very disorganized, they made us pay when we arrived to leave the bags and later on told us the price was more than what we had payed. The reservation money is for the web. That the reservation We where 4 girls and had made the deposit for the lock and at the end they argued that two hadnt made the deposit. There is no safe place to leave the bags, its locked but then it becomes an office. No elevator, no help. The place looks better in pictures. Breakfast was not good, no real coffee.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
9.1

Loved the staff. So friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Hostelworld. It is extremely important for us to get our guests's opinions so that we can improve our product and service! We're very happy to see you enjoyed your experience at The Independente Hostel & Suites and hope that you will continue to visit us! Kind regards, IS

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2017
10.0

An amazing stay in this beautiful building! Such a fantastic atmosphere. The staff are AMAZING and so helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for contributing to our HostelWorld reviews, as they are extremely important for us and allow us to have more tools to improve our product and service. We're really happy to see you had a great experience at The Independente Hostel & Suites! Our staff will be waiting to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, IS

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2017
8.3

The building is beautiful and an experience in itself. But the bunkbeds and rooms are quite unstable and rocky. Whenever people enter the room, the whole bed shakes and I woke up constantly during the night. The overall experience is great thought

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jun 2017
7.4

My room did not have AC and got extremely hot in summer nights. The bathrooms were OK, they get a little dirty but it is expected when it's shared with an entire floor. Not the best hostel if you want to socialize or for solo travelers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
5.7

Beautiful place but the location over a loud restaurant killed it. I was on 1st floor, it was impossible to sleep because of super loud beat music until midnight every night, even with window closed, which was horrible anyway because too hot. In the morning, it starts again with additional drilling noise from construction sites. To pay double price than other hostels for a dorm where you cant sleep is a rip off no matter how fancy the place is! I would not stay there again for this price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Hostelworld. It is very important for us to get our guests’ opinions, so that we can improve our service consistently and continuously. We work hard every day to ensure that our service standards remain high, and that our guests can enjoy an excellent experience. I am very sorry to learn your experience has fallen below expectations. We have shared your concerned with the administration, and are currently working on solutions to soundproof the rooms and improve the building’s climatization. We hope to welcome you again soon, so that you can enjoy the upgrades and get your better accommodation experience. Kind regards, RM

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th May 2017
10.0

Very nice hostel, excellent staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th May 2017
10.0

Really great hostel in very beautiful building. perfect location. AMAZING VIEW. good big beds. very clean. I loved the place. I highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Petar_mkd
  • Macedonia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th May 2017
9.1

The only problem was that the location was very loud, but other than that its a great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
10.0

Independente was an incredible hostel, well-located and budget-friendly. My friend and I stayed in Lisbon for 3 days and trip was greatly enhanced by the quality of our hostel. I would reccomend Independente to anyone visiting Lisbon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.