Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Independente Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 565 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 565 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jan 2017
9.4

This hostel is in a perfect location, close to a lot of great areas of Lisbon. The staff was very helpful from check in to check out. The only issue was the bunks didn't have individual outlets to charge phones or other electronics. The women's bathroom on the first floor was directly across from the lounge area so if anyone left the door open everyone could see you shower in there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Kathleen, Thank you very much for reviewing us on Hostelworld. It's a pleasure to read your nice words. Regarding the less positive aspects, I can tell you that we're already taking the matter in hands and should have the problems fixed very soon:) We hope to have you back at The Independente very soon! Best Regards, Rafael N.M. Guest Relations Manager

  • nataliep2016
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
10.0

This hostel was great! Clean, super secure (2 door locks you have to wave a pass in front of to get in, and you get a locker lock for your luggage), the front desk woman was extremely friendly and super helpful helping me find things I wanted to see an gave me a map, I would definitely stay here again. I stayed in a pretty full room and some of the girls were up talking pretty late but I was so exhausted from traveling I slept really well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Natalie, Thanks so much for your amazing review here on Hostelworld.com. It's with pride that we receive such a great comment from you. As we say in portuguese: obrigado! :) We hope to welcome you back at The Independente Hostel very soon for another great stay! Best Regards, Rafael N.M. Guest Relations Manager

22nd Dec 2016
7.1

amazing location. disappointing shower and toilet facilities, quite unpleasant built. Common room opens only at 11am ...why? the 3 bunk bed tower is problematic.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Avi, Thank you very much for reviewing us on Hostelword.com. It's very important for us to get our guests' feedback and suggestions. As far as the negative points you mention, we are currently working on a few improvements that sould fix the pointed problems. Regarding the common room, we appreciate your suggestion to open it at earlier hours. We hadn't considered it yet to protect other guests quality of sleep. We will reconsider it though :) We hope to see you back very soon for an even better stay! Kind Regards, Rafael N.M. Guest Relations Manager

12th Nov 2016
7.1

Overall a good hostel. Comfortable beds and nice rooms. Bathrooms were shabby and small. Good breakfast. Great location! The bathroom let this place down. Other than that good hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Nov 2016
8.3

Nice hostel, friendly staff, I likes the atmosphere. Breakfast could be better - if we could only get normal plates and not tiny black "boards" to put bread on :D not enough plugs to charge the batteries.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.