X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Independente Hostel & Suites Reviews

Rua Sao Pedro de Alcantara, 81, Lisbon, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
502 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I really enjoyed staying at the Independente. Beds were comfortable and clean, was in a great location with most places easily accessible by foot and close to the public transport hubs. Wifi worked well, I never really had an issue while connected. There was a great atmosphere, especially with the bustling streets around the hostel, in the hostel and the viewpoint across the street. Met some great people and enjoyed the hostel, will definitely visit again if I return to Lisbon.


94%

The front desk officers were extremely helpful in giving us useful tips for getting around the place. Excellent location. THe view from room overlooking the city is breathtaking when the sun rise.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

It was such a lovely hostel, enjoyed every part of it! Even the lift!

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Everything good except for the fact that they need more outlets for charging stuff and also maybe a fan or AC cuz it does get hot in the summer and opening the windows doesn't help with all the noise outside


100%

Wonderful staff, very helpful about everything! Also could see the castle from my room! Good showers and a nice kitchen.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Everything about this hostel was top notch! If you are looking for a clean stylish and simple place to stay in the best possible location, this is it! Nuno, who checked me in was always super friendly and helpful. The room had space and the bunk beds were comfortable - don't be scared about them being triple bunk as they are super sturdy and come with safe underbid drawers with room to keep your luggage open if you travel with the standard small ones which is great and keeps everything tidy.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The room door needed to be pushed closed and ended up not being closed several times and one night a man came in and stole a mans tablet. The staff responded well and called the cops.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great restaurant, excellent location, friendly staff, highly rcommended!!

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Goooooooood~~~thank you~~see U soon~

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Overall my stay here was good. Lovely location with a view that looks over the rooftops of Lisbon and on towards the castle. The building is beautiful! The staff were friendly, helpful and easy to approach. Breakfast was quite 'samey' though (bread, cheese, ham, cereal) and it would have been nice to have the choice of some fresh fruit, however the choice is quite typical I think. Also the wear and tear of the hostel together with crumby beds often had me wondering how it achieved its award.


54%

The Hostel is just ok, although I wrote a news saying it was one of the coolest hostel in the world. Definitely the bathroom must be refurbished, as well the living room which is very uncomfortable. The rooms with three bunk bed and without power close by the beds for charging our gadgets it's not cool at all... Staff could be friendlier. The building is beautiful and there's a nice breakfast. Nice location, not close by underground though...


100%

bathroom was a bit small, and cleaning at "rush hour" it's not really comfortable. the room is great but maybe it would be better to add a table or closet


94%

It is a really nice hostel. We were a 5 people group, and we stayed there for 5 days paying 9 euro per night (they were in a promotion stay 5 days and pay for 3) which was extremely cheap. The room was good and had a really amazing view. A little bit annoying that the rooms only have a small light on the beds and not a main one, but you can live with it. The breakfast was awesome, coffee chocolate bread ham cheese. 100% recommended. I would come back any time.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very good hostel. Great atmosphere. Great stuff & nice breakfast. Cons: Poor wifi, not enough privacy in bathrooms


97%

Pro: very good hostel, clean, great atmosphere, great breakfast, good location Cons: Wifi is a bit weak, not so much privacy in toilets


91%

The Wifi was AWFUL. Absolutely terrible. I always had full bars and there was never a problem of recognizing the network, but the Wifi disconnected every few minutes and using the internet in spans longer than 3-5 min periods was annoying, frustrating, and sometimes just plain impossible. In today's day and age, Wifi (Internet) is necessary to book trips, to make reservations, to communicate, etc. so do *not* advertise that you have Wifi unless it actually works.


91%

Daily weather forecase on the wall would be fantastic - important if its raining how to get to the main attaktion would be fantastic - eg. Cascais, by train, train goes every 20 minutes, price 4,80, it takes 30 minutes all in all independent is a fantastic hostel

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Lisbon Hostels

Please give us your feedback