Hostelworld.com

The Indy Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 390 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 390 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
The Indy Hostel Located at 4903 Winthrop Ave., , Indianapolis.
The Indy Hostel
USA
Indianapolis IN IN 46205 4903 Winthrop Ave.
82% 390
39.8430603 -86.1413311
The Indy Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2016
10.0

Great place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
8.9

It was very clean and affordable. Especially the bathrooms were clean. If you are going to Indianapolis for an event downtown, just brace yourself because it is quite a distance and the last buses of the night leave downtown around 9 p.m. Butler University is walking distance, however.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2016
9.7

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Indy Hostel! (all) Staff was helpful and pleasant I am older (70), and enjoyed the privacy of a private bedroom at a somewhat reduced rate. Definitely a nice play to stay, though with summer coming, beds look mighty few and far between!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Dec 2015
6.6

It's the only hostel in Indianapolis. Guess what, it's not that bad. Atmosphere is fantastic, staff is very welcoming and helpful, while infrastructure-wise, not so much. It's located somewhat out of town, so you need to take a 30-minute bus to downtown, plus the wait, it means AGES. Shower is good, but not clean, by not clean, I mean not cleaned at all, you can see the layer to black dust on the bottom of the bathtub, and you are supposed to step in it to take the shower, so next time, Airbnb!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2015
2.0

charged me twice on one stay. place is mis-managed. music is way too loud. upstairs area smells like butt.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Dec 2015
10.0

jim and januck made me feel very welcome.I wish I could jump on a palne and go back tomorrow.Thankyou

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Nov 2015
6.0

Decent value. However dorm had no door separating it from common areas (simply down some stairs) nor any lockers for valuables; also bathrooms were a walk back upstairs and through common areas. About 5 miles from the city centre (bus takes about half an hour). The staff I met were very laid-back and seemed concerned with socialising with the guests more than working (they were good fun but it left me wondering how the hostel actually runs... it was fine to live in though!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • michelangelocursio9141
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Nov 2015
10.0

Very good !!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2015
6.6

Good vibe place. Young staff=only official management & Nate understood their professional, operational & relational role w/ paying customers. Other quasi-staff are ill suited to the trust based role. Not one talked about selling me a better room to sleep in than the dorm. Nate showing a private room was excellent customer service response. Private rooms =slightly over-priced compared to nearby Indianapolis marketplace in terms of security, sound proofing, privacy, amenities & value.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.