X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Jack Backpackers Reviews

Corner Sherdian and Spence Streets, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
198 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Brilliant location as its right in the cbd and only 20 mins from the airport. Staff were very helpful when needing information. Evening meals were decent and old atmosphere about the place. Was recommended myself and glad I booked it so def recommend to others.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It's a nice hostel close to everything you need. They have some really fun activities at the bar. I really liked the big balcony where you can meet people and drink and just have a good time.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff were brilliant and very positive and helpful, you also got alot of bang for your buck. However if you are planning on doing anything other than partying. Do NOT stay here! The kitchen is near non functional with only a few working hobs, a broken microwave and no equipment . There is pretty much no chance of getting any sleep before 1am when everything settles down. The general atmosphere wasnt great. If you want to spend time on the reef and get a good nights sleep. Do not stay here.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I thought that the location was ideal, being very central location in Cairns city and only 4 blocks away from the Lagoon and bus terminals. The female and male staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Staying at The Jack was a good experience, I think the value was great with the free wifi, computer access in the front reception and free evening meal. I thought that the staff who organized the social activities at night were very inviting and made it alot of fun and engaging.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Overall the hostel is great, but it is a party hostel so it gets really noisy at night. However, there is a curfew at 12 midnight so it usually means very minimal noise after that, unless you stay on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays then live music from the bar below goes right up to your room till 2am. Just don't expect to sleep very well here. Overall place is clean and has good facilities, even free dinner! Although they do charge extra for vegetarian meal options, citing a "lifestyle choice".


83%

They do warn you it's loud and there not joking. But its a good place nice atmosphere and great people


69%

People were very unsocial and wouldn't even greet when in kitchen or common areas. Nothing in the kitchen really worked, so after one try couldn't bother to try and cook dinner for myself. The free dinner is a joke :) Staff friendly but girl at the front desk booked us a car for visiting the caves "close by" when we were collecting the car they told us its 3 hours drive away and that we needed a 4wd car to go there. Skipped that trip so..


71%

Just a normal hostel. No nice communal lounge. Staff was good and helpful.


89%

Great staff!


100%

I absolutely love this hostel! Within one week I have made a huge family of friends and as a result choose to extend my stay! Everyone is so friendly from staff to fellow back packers! There's never a dull moment at the jack!!

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, helped us book lots of our day tours and gave good advice on things to do in the area. There was a really good atmosphere in the hostel and the free dinners were a bonus too.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Mostly long termers, didn't feel safe there. People don't lock the rooms and do drugs inside the rooms. Also the rooms are pretty small so hard to unpack and stuff. They have a system where they allocate you your bed, so you could find yourself on a bunk when there are bottom bunks free and you are on the top where you hate (or vice versa). Much better hostels in cairns. Staff at reception very average, and outright rude to people as they check in. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.


94%

Great hostel, loved it, but when they say loud music they aren't downplaying it, especially Friday/Saturday, hard to sleep until 2 but such a Lively hostel you don't really want to go to bed before that!


100%

This is an amazing hostel to stay. The kitchen is very basic with only a few pans etc but aprt from that cant fault it at all. The bar is awesome and beer pong was a new experience, loosing to 2 Americans in the final as they plan this game in schhol made it slightly easier defeat. Reception staff especially Megan were really helpful and even suggested another hostel when we wanted to extend and they were fully booked. I would 100% stay here and reccommend anyone else to also!!

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Definetely a party hostel. It gets really loud in the nights. Everyone is drinking on the balcony until midnight. SO you can hear everything. But you still get a lot for your money, free wifi, okay location and free dinner every night!


66%

Free dinner - excellent we stayed in a private room, very small and stuffy


91%

I stayed in a deluxe 4 bed dorm and it was a big room with a fridge and ensuite. Free computers to use a reception. Loud music from the bar until 11pm but that was fine. Free dinner was nice but small. Gilligans is just around the corner. Overall a nice stay


89%

Favourite hostel in Cairns ! :)


71%

Service when checking in after reception closes is really bad, they just focus on being a bar instead of a hostel.


91%

Very nice staff and a very convenient location. The office staff is also very helpful with planning day trips. Just be sure to have something planned the night before as most trips leave early in the morning. Overall very good

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback