Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Jack Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 535 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 535 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
The Jack Backpackers Located at Corner Sherdian and Spence Streets, , Cairns.
The Jack Backpackers
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 Corner Sherdian and Spence Streets
81% 535
-16.9250188 145.7751846
The Jack Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

Stayed in an 8-bed mixed dorm for 10 days, super friendly staff, very clean and neat common areas, great location. Loved it. The free meal every night came in average/good portions, with the option to double the size for $4. A gig of wifi per day, with the option of buying more. Loved the weekend fruit market right next door. Only bad thing was that the cleaning shift comes in and takes no prisoners: 10:30 am, they open the door, turn on the lights, start vacuuming no matter what.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.9

We stayed at the Jack Backpackers for 4 nights, and we really enjoyed our stay. Clean rooms and linens, fridge in the rooms, free dinner was really good. The atmosphere at this hostel was amazing, it was really easy to get to know new people and most people was going out together at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
7.4

My experience is probably not representative of the rest of the week because I was there on a Friday and Saturday which is when they have a big band. But the band was so loud that the base was making a horrible noise and making the windows shake until late. And the curtains were rags across the window so basically I might as well have been trying to sleep in the bar! But the staff are lovely. The free meal is great. The bar is a nice place to hang out. The kitchen has no fridge. Clean beds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2016
8.0

Pros: -Great location, right on the CBD -Free dinner -Limited free WiFi in your room -$20 charge key deposit, will get it back in cash upon check out or credited back to your card if you leave early Cons: -No elevator, no one to help you up the stairs neither -Co-ed bathrooms and showers, not very many at that -Bunk beds are very shaky -Small lockers -Outdated, needs remodelling

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Nov 2016
5.4

I was very disappointed by this hostel. The main reason being the room I stayed in was an abouslote mess. Clothes, wires and empty wine boxes on the floor, a girl told me she was staying at the hostel free of charge in return she was doing the house keeping but nothing looked clean. The receptionist was very polite and helpful but I never saw another member of staff after that and it concerns me that they don't keep on top of their staff staying for free and cleaning. Everything else was ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Nov 2016
8.3

Security lockers Are big. The doors took a little while to figure out how to lock them, which worried my friend for a while when we had to leave it open. You had to lock from inside before closing door. Room clean, a few ants but nothing major. Free meal was a little strange. Discount on drinks when showing your room key! When asking reception if our friend could move rooms into our room we were told no problem and this was sorted on system in seconds! Very helpful and friendly! Recommended!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Nov 2016
9.7

Great sociable hostel in the centre of cairns. Very informative information desk at reception. Free meals are an amazing bonus as they are high quality and good portion sizes. Free wifi is fast and you don't get stuck with tiny limits. Air con is great in the rooms and keeps it nice and cool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2016
8.9

Very cool being beside the live music. Great music! Stayed on a Dunday nights and we were able to fall asleep to the calm music. Loved having a patio on the righ bed room. Super cool stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2016
8.6

Nice hostel, but very loud at night caused by the linked bar

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
8.6

Hands down best thing about this hostel is the free dinner!!! Me and my friend had it every night and it was amazing each time and you get a good portion! Location is great! Right next to all the shops, supermakets, car hire places etc! Really good atmosphere and met some amaIngn friends here that we have travelled down the coast with!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.