X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Jack Backpackers Reviews

Corner Sherdian and Spence Streets, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
313 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The hostel is located in one of the best places in Cairns. Easy access to the main road and the marina. The hostel provides a quality free dinner every night but it is not big enough. The curfew does not function as informed, especially if you're in the front room the TV room. Hostel very clean and safe.


97%

Bathroom flooded in the night. No big deal, but had left my clothes on the floor. B-(

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

If i go to Cairns again, I would stay again. free meal was awesome. And the night guard was very kind.


91%

* Make sure the warm water works all the time. * On weekends, especially Friday and Saturday, have the balcony open longer than 10pm. * Have unlimited wifi.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It is a really nice place to stay for a couple of days. Slept here for 2 days and it was enjoyable. Just didn't really fancy the live music playing next door but they play till 11pm only I think so that'll be alright. Room is clean and there's free dinner! Slept in a 4 bed private room so that was good for the four of us.


66%

It's a good hostel and the location is great. It has a cool pib downstairs, i thought it would be more noisy that actually is. You can get a free evening meal, which is good. The room is quite big and confortable. But the toilets are poor and the kitchen is not fully equiped. You have to pay a deposit to have your dish, glass and cutlerly. No point! Wifi free (limited)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for leaving a review. We would just like to clarify and make sure that you understand the $10 deposit you pay for the dishes is only a deposit only and you receive this back in full on return of the items. Sadly, it has become a necessity in order to prevent the disappearance of these utensils from the kitchen. We hope this clears up the plate set deposit and wish you all the best for the rest of your travels.

97%

Best Australian Hostel


71%

Jacks is in a good location, close to the shops, bars and lagoon. The rooms are a little cramped and ours smelt very damp. The bathrooms were fine and we didn't use the kitchen. The free dinner was a perk but don't expect a gourmet meal. Remember it's free!!


86%

The free dinners were pretty good although the portion sizes could have been bigger. They like to organize events at least once a week to get everyone involved which can be fun. You also get 500mb of free wifi everyday.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Free dinner every night and 5 dollar pints. Pretty good. Nice balcony upstairs and loads of space to hang around and meet people.


86%

the best hostel in OZ


43%

Hostel in front of a night club with loud music from 5pm to 2am, definitely not a good place where to sleep. Room and bathroom were quite dirty.


63%

Good for young travelers who are looking to party. The kitchen facilities were subpar, difficult to cook all your own meals. But the dinners at night were great!


74%

"over a pub" is a huge understatement, especially if you're in the rooms above reception, facing the club area, which has no walls, and there's a concert on (almost every weekend). I was warned but my whole room shook till 1am. red food was good though and reception staff were nice


94%

The free meal is nice, you can choose one of two dishes. I couldn't really make use of it cause there was just one day they had a vegetarian option... With that said, carnivores go for it! Wifi is limited to 500mb per day.


97%

Excellent hostel, wi-fi very good, kitchen well maintained, fridge in rooms definitely a plus. The stove was really bad, though, making it hard to cook something.


77%

Nice hostel for us very good location. Including diner most of the times it was ok. Had a nice stay!

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location and staff are really friendly. There is free daily wifi, and the rooms are light with air con! You also get a free meal in the evening! The meal isn't anything amazing but it is ok and it's free!!

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great AC in the rooms.


80%

The kitchen is really not good but the free dinner every night made up for that! Expecta lot of noise thurs-sun because of the club next door, but otherwise a really nice hostel!


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback