Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Jack Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Feb 2017
4.0

Dirty hostel with very freely beds. I was late to check in and they charged me a $30 dollar late check in fee. I let them know I was checking out early and they said they would give me the deposit back. They never did such a thing.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We do try to keep our hostel as clean as possible by cleaning all the rooms every day & the common areas 3 times a day. We are sorry to hear it wasn't up to your standard. We did not charge you a late check in fee, we charged you a $20 key deposit which we refunded on your credit card on the day of your check out. Refund processing time is 2 to 10 days. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need a copy of your receipt. We'll be happy to help you :) Enjoy the rest of your travels, Myriam Kirby - Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Feb 2017
7.7

Overall it's a really nice place to stay. Better for solo travellers like myself as hostels nearby were very groupy. Although still didn't have a huge atmosphere but it could of been the weather that put everyone down ( it rained all week). Only thing is the free dinner just don't get your hopes up, eat it as it's free but buy something else for later

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jan 2017
8.3

Great location and good price, but the common room was not so good and expect noise until 2am most days. The best part about this hostel was the free dinners, I'm vegetarian and the dinners were awesome (better than the regular dinner by the looks of it). Lockers and fridge in the room was also great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jan 2017
8.6

Good price double room with good aircon and a fridge in the room. Great to have an oven in a hostel. Free meals in the evening were a great touch and the option to double up for $4 is a great idea. Negatives Very very loud band playing midweek which vibrated the whole hostel. This also resulted in us not being able to use the pub facilities down stairs as it was a ticketed event which was annoying. They could have very easily allowed access to the very first bar and moved the ticket stand

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.1

This hostel is in a great location and you don't need to worry about getting too hot as all the rooms have good air con. It could have been cleaner and we can't comment on the cleanliness of the kitchen as we didn't use it, by it did have unnecessarily loud music starting early in the morning which woke us up. However overall it was good value for money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.7

Myself and my sister stayed for one night. We arrived late in the evening due to our flight. The young guy on night security was very helpful and friendly :) we was heading to port Douglas the next day. If we stay in cairns again we would defiantly return!! Defiantly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
8.6

Great location with good discounts at the bar. Free dinner was pretty decent as well. Overall good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
9.7

Brilliant! Clean and friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Dec 2016
7.1

At first you think, is that ugly here, let's leave straight away. But the people, who are staying there are awesome. So it was actually a really good stay, if you don't care about the cleanliness of the facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Dec 2016
9.1

Great stay. Be prepared to stay awake and jam for free on your balcony while a band plays next door :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.