Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Jack Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 504 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 504 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
The Jack Backpackers Located at Corner Sherdian and Spence Streets, , Cairns.
The Jack Backpackers
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 Corner Sherdian and Spence Streets
82% 504
-16.9250188 145.7751846
The Jack Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2016
7.4

Decent enough but harder for solo travellers as so many long term residents and big groups.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
7.1

Everything was fine, we were even upgraded to a deluxe private room, but they aren't joking when they say it's loud. We could here every lyric from the band until 1am. The band was terrible- kept forgetting lyrics and stopping mid song. (Guests continued to party outside our door til 430am banging into our door and walls) We ended up canceling the rest of our stay. If all you want to do is party all night, great, but we had tours booked and had to be up early. No management of quiet hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • claireeyy88
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Aug 2016
8.6

Stayed here for 2 nights and it's a good hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful. You get an evening meal included which is awesome. The bar next door is good too, show your room key to get a discount.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
4.9

There were a significant number of long term backpackers within the room that I was placed in. Not usually an issue but they created a mess within the room and constantly left the doors open.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
9.7

I loved my stay here even though I was only staying one Friday night. The staff were really helpful with getting me from the airport to the jam and arranging a late check in. The free dinner was amazing as it meant I didn't have to go to the shops and cook. The bar was crazy cheap and had a brilliant vibe. Will be staying again soon

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
8.6

Overall very good hostel. Ac and fridge is awesome. Good drink deals and events nightly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
10.0

Great staff, great facility's and perfect location, what else do you need, 👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Emmamul91
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
6.9

Very loud music, which I wouldn't mind but it was awful music!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th May 2016
8.6

was a great hostel, right next to the Jack pub also in a really good location. I was on the motel side of the accommodation. As a backpacker this was not ideal as your not part of the kitchen, laundry, common room etc. The room was nice and clean but this didn't seem to stop the cockroaches though. All said its a good hostel and I would recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
8.6

Great hostel! Don't stay here if you want peace and quiet though. The music venue that's a part of this hostel is quite loud at night and it goes like all night. Great location if oyu want to go out around town during the day and night. Staff was awesome as well. I was shocked that my 4 bed ensuite had a fridge, lockers, and really good A/C. This is a great hostel for the partiers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.