Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Jack Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 495 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 495 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
The Jack Backpackers Located at Corner Sherdian and Spence Streets, , Cairns.
The Jack Backpackers
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 Corner Sherdian and Spence Streets
81% 495
-16.9250188 145.7751846
The Jack Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jul 2016
4.9

There were a significant number of long term backpackers within the room that I was placed in. Not usually an issue but they created a mess within the room and constantly left the doors open.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
9.7

I loved my stay here even though I was only staying one Friday night. The staff were really helpful with getting me from the airport to the jam and arranging a late check in. The free dinner was amazing as it meant I didn't have to go to the shops and cook. The bar was crazy cheap and had a brilliant vibe. Will be staying again soon

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
8.6

Overall very good hostel. Ac and fridge is awesome. Good drink deals and events nightly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
10.0

Great staff, great facility's and perfect location, what else do you need, 👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Emmamul91
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
6.9

Very loud music, which I wouldn't mind but it was awful music!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th May 2016
8.6

was a great hostel, right next to the Jack pub also in a really good location. I was on the motel side of the accommodation. As a backpacker this was not ideal as your not part of the kitchen, laundry, common room etc. The room was nice and clean but this didn't seem to stop the cockroaches though. All said its a good hostel and I would recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
8.6

Great hostel! Don't stay here if you want peace and quiet though. The music venue that's a part of this hostel is quite loud at night and it goes like all night. Great location if oyu want to go out around town during the day and night. Staff was awesome as well. I was shocked that my 4 bed ensuite had a fridge, lockers, and really good A/C. This is a great hostel for the partiers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
6.9

Motel like accommodation that is located right next to the bar. I stayed there on a Saturday so the music was full on until 2AM, meaning that I couldn't get to sleep until then, which was annoying since I had a plane to catch at 9AM. Apart from that, I wouldn't recommend this place for solo travelers who want to meet other people due to the lack of atmosphere and (decent) common room. Unique to this hostel is the free meal in the bar but you'll want to pay the extra $4 to get a decent sized meal

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We just wanted to let you know that we do have common areas. In fact, we have a big social balcony with tables & couches and a nice TV rooms with a massive lounge. We have now put signs in the motel rooms to make sure all guests are aware of these features. Concerning the music from the bar, we notice all our guests about it on the Hostelworld website, in the confirmation email and again at check in on the registration card we make you sign. We are fully aware of the noise coming from the pub, hence why we make sure that all our guests know about it before hand. Still, we are truly sorry you had a bad night of sleep. Enjoy the rest of your travels :) The Jack Team

30th Apr 2016
8.3

Last stop on our journey, stayed in a 4 bed dorm with an en suite. The rooms were good, other than being a little bit dirty. Offer free meals which was a bonus. Wifi was rubbish, and often wouldn't work even though you have to pay for it. Staff were friendly. However it is next to the bar, so it is particularly noisy at night, but wasn't a problem for us as we were going out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
7.1

Hostel was ok. Not the best atmosphere however Good location. Rooms had the standard musty hostel stench. Pictures of refurbished/renovated rooms were quite misleading!! Served its purpose

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.