Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Jack Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 625 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 625 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
8.9

good location and cheap price, just can hear people talk and loud music before 11pm at balcony which is annoying if sleep early

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th May 2017
8.9

It's difficult coming from Asia with how cheap it was for everything. As well as what you get for your money. However The Jack does exactly what a hostel should do. Gives you a bed, clean sheets, air con and hot water. Kitchen was great. Enough for for a handful of people to make food. I understand why a depost is needed for a full cuttlery set. However I think mugs for tea/coffee/water should be provided. Great bar next door. Discount on food and drink. Free dinner. Didn't try it though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 62 reviews
16th May 2017
8.0

Its good hostel. Expecially suffer is good taste every evenning is different.. but is too noisy... recommand if you dont mind bar is together.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2017
6.9

Loud!!! Live music downstairs and midweek, backpackers partying in rooms. Rooms are very clean, modern, value for money. Kitchen basic but fully stocked with kitchenware. Bathrooms very clean. Shared showers and toilets. Busy at night time so shower early or late. Good location. Good pub downstairs. Very lonely here, huge place, lots of faces and not much contact with hostel reps or staff. Sort of left to own devices. Not a place for single travellers I don't think...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rebeccaemansfield2832
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd May 2017
10.0

This was a really cool hostel. It had a great atmosphere and lots of free events on in the bar to help you meet people staying. It's located right in the middle of cairns and near the front for diving etc. Showers and kitchen were great and rooms were clean and cool. Would stay again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st May 2017
9.7

Great hostel! Ideally located, 5 minutes away from bars, shops and restaurants and a short walk to the lagoon or shopping centre. The room was clean and had good air con, there was also a fridge in the room however the beds were VERY squeaky. The free evening meals are strange at times but great for your budget, guests also get cheaper drinks at the bar. A great atmosphere and very helpful and friendly staff. Will be staying again on my next trip to Cairns!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2017
7.7

Great place to stay. Free dinners are top. Toilets are awkward as there unisex apart from that is a good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • beccicropley5356
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
9.1

The staff really make this hostel amazing, so helpful and so friendly. I had an incident with a creepy roommate and they moved me to a different room and kicked him out. The free dinner and discount on drinks you get are helpful. The hostel's in a perfect location, right around the corner from the main street. The bar next play live music twice a week so if you're a light sleeper, don't stay here. The only downside is that it needs renovating and brightening up a bit. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.9

The staff were super friendly and helpful. I liked the wifi availability although one day it ceased to work which was a little annoying. The bar next door had sweet bands playing every night. BUT, our room was right next door so if you can't handle a bit of noise, this probably isn't the hostel for you. ALSO, they provide a free dinner every night which is such a nice option. The bar is a super friendly, fun spot as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
7.4

I chose jack backpackers mainly to save money on my evening meal as the price included this. I usually choose hostels with free breakfast to try and save money but instead opted for this package. I was very disappointed as the meals were very small and I ended up spending more money on going out for takeaway food a few hours later. You are also given a bed number which is really pointless. You should b able to choose a bed of your choice I.e. I would prefer to choose a bed away from the aircon.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.