Hostelworld.com

The Jack Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
The Jack Backpackers Located at Corner Sherdian and Spence Streets, , Cairns.
The Jack Backpackers
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 Corner Sherdian and Spence Streets
82% 445
-16.9250188 145.7751846
The Jack Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Apr 2016
7.4

I only stayed one night at The Jack, it was ok for the most part but I thought the people in the dorm room I shared were sort of jerks. It would be nice if the hostel had individual lights on each bed that can be shut off as needed, because there is only one main light and people get fussy about when it should be turned off. Also, this is a really loud venue on weekend nights as they pointed out, just didn't realize they don't actually stop at 1am, it's a bit later than that. The food is great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
8.9

Depends what you're looking for really. There is a bar/outdoor area right next to the hostel. If you want to get some sleep, you're better off trying somewhere else.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
7.4

I'd recomend it if you are 18-25 and don't care about noise. They've a strict 10 am check out. I had a pick up at 11 am so I askef if I could chek out a bit late, and Myriam from front desk said NO. I had to wander around and beg for a toilett. After everything she realized that I didn't mean to stay in bed but only to stay in a couch (though I was wearing a clean shirt and jeans when I asked) and she said sorry. This is the problem of running a hostel like a big business instead of what a

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
8.9

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Surely the most clean. Cool live music Thursdays to Sundays. Bad aspects: no computers and limited amount of free WiFi. Go there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Apr 2016
9.4

Overall a really great hostel! Great free wifi, air-conditioning and free dinners which is unusual for a hostel and it's really good food! Great value for money and the staff are happy to help. If you want an early night from Fri to Sun there is live music which is loud in the rooms but this wouldn't put me off staying here again! And the hostel also give you the heads up before you arrive. I would recommend to others!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
7.1

Didn't mind my stay at the Jack. For some reason, my last night there, my room smelt like pee.. Showers weren't bad and although its connected to a bar, the noise wasn't as bad as you'd think. The cleaners were nice but some people at the reception weren't. I felt bad going down to get a new wifi code for I felt I was being a bother. The wifi is really not good. Only a minimal amount a day yet advertised as "free wifi" . I was in Cairns for 8 nights and only stayed 4 nights and

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
8.9

Reception staff great, very helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
6th Apr 2016
7.4

Good location, free dinner portion sizes were small and there was no veggie option. We went down to the bar for pool night which was good- free champagne! Kitchen and other facilities fine, had to pay deposit for crockery.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • cinderzzz
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2016
10.0

Loved it! Dinner included at night was awesome choices: lamb chops with veg, mashed potatoes and gravy or slow cooked pulled pork with veg and rice. Rooms were good with a fridge in the room and very spacious lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
7.4

This hostel was very noisy and had really uncomfy beds. But it had an air conditioner in the room and was dirt cheap for a private double room so cant complain to much. If you are a couple on a budget It's not the worst.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.