Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Jack Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
9.1

Great location, walking distance to everything. The Jack bar is great with loads of activities, free dinner and discounts on drinks. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, but shower temp is inconsistent. Didn't like that the wifi had a limit and had to pay $3 for more, and you have to rent crockery as well which is a pain. Pretty noisy at night so wouldn't recommend for people wanting to sleep early, great if you want to go out at night though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2017
9.1

Loved my stay in this one for the great location close to all the bars :) It was my last stop, so I just chilled out. Ran out of my 2GB of data too fast...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Jul 2017
8.0

good stay. would come back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.1

Locations great, lots of communal areas, kitchen and bathrooms clean and tidy. Really good bar downstairs that does live music Thursday -Sunday (which can be very very loud). Free dinner can be a bit basic but it's free food and food for those on a budget (not always a decent vegetarian option though). Only downside was that one member of staff at the bar seemed as though she really hated her job/life and never seemed to be in a good mood! Would definitely stay here again, my favourite in cairns

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
6.9

Second time I've stayed here, has free evening meals each night, however the portions were a bit tight. Good bar downstairs with 6 dollar pints with ya room key, and you can drink your own in the hostel. The staff this time round weren't as good as before, one bird with tattoos didn't smile for the whole week we stayed there and was rude when she was working staff were straight on telling people to turn the tv down before 10am but bottled telling people making noise after 10pm to keep it down

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2017
8.3

Booked a four bed room for three of us but when I got there I was told we would have to be split into two separate rooms which was annoying. However the staff were helpful about the situation and did try and make sure everything was ok and that we got the best out of it. The rooms were ok and atmosphere was friendly. They also do a free meal each night which is nice but quite small portions. Located in a good area which is close to everything you need

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jun 2017
8.0

Pretty good hostel. The location is amazing, close to the Shopping center und the clubs. It"s clean and the staff is helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
8.0

nice clean and cheap, but the meal you get with the room is too small, otherwise a fine but noise place to stay, perfect if you have a good sleeping heart ^^

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
9.4

Really friendly staff. A bit noisy but that's to be expected.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
8.9

Great place to stay. Low prices and you get a lot for it. Free dinner every night, free wifi (1G/d) and you can bring your own alcohol. The rooms are clean, cool and big. Not that many toilets and showers but it's alright. In the city centre close to everything. Best hostel in Cairns!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.