Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Jack Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 556 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 556 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5
The Jack Backpackers Located at Corner Sherdian and Spence Streets, , Cairns.
The Jack Backpackers
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 Corner Sherdian and Spence Streets
81% 556
-16.9250188 145.7751846
The Jack Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jan 2017
8.6

Good price double room with good aircon and a fridge in the room. Great to have an oven in a hostel. Free meals in the evening were a great touch and the option to double up for $4 is a great idea. Negatives Very very loud band playing midweek which vibrated the whole hostel. This also resulted in us not being able to use the pub facilities down stairs as it was a ticketed event which was annoying. They could have very easily allowed access to the very first bar and moved the ticket stand

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.1

This hostel is in a great location and you don't need to worry about getting too hot as all the rooms have good air con. It could have been cleaner and we can't comment on the cleanliness of the kitchen as we didn't use it, by it did have unnecessarily loud music starting early in the morning which woke us up. However overall it was good value for money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.7

Myself and my sister stayed for one night. We arrived late in the evening due to our flight. The young guy on night security was very helpful and friendly :) we was heading to port Douglas the next day. If we stay in cairns again we would defiantly return!! Defiantly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
8.6

Great location with good discounts at the bar. Free dinner was pretty decent as well. Overall good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
9.7

Brilliant! Clean and friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Dec 2016
7.1

At first you think, is that ugly here, let's leave straight away. But the people, who are staying there are awesome. So it was actually a really good stay, if you don't care about the cleanliness of the facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Dec 2016
9.1

Great stay. Be prepared to stay awake and jam for free on your balcony while a band plays next door :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
8.6

got upgraded in a private room so I don't know about the shared rooms, but the private room was good, fridge in room, air con that works well. Supper offered every night, good and okay portions. Discounts on tours. Nice big kitchen. Very good location, in downtown, 5 mins walk to the esplanade. Very good hostel !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

Stayed in an 8-bed mixed dorm for 10 days, super friendly staff, very clean and neat common areas, great location. Loved it. The free meal every night came in average/good portions, with the option to double the size for $4. A gig of wifi per day, with the option of buying more. Loved the weekend fruit market right next door. Only bad thing was that the cleaning shift comes in and takes no prisoners: 10:30 am, they open the door, turn on the lights, start vacuuming no matter what.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.9

We stayed at the Jack Backpackers for 4 nights, and we really enjoyed our stay. Clean rooms and linens, fridge in the rooms, free dinner was really good. The atmosphere at this hostel was amazing, it was really easy to get to know new people and most people was going out together at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.