Hostelworld.com

The Judy House

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 167 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 167 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
The Judy House Located at Westland Mountain Road, Westmoreland, Negril.
The Judy House
Jamaica
Negril Negril, Jamaica Westland Mountain Road, Westmoreland
86% 167
18.2732866 -78.3561658
The Judy House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd May 2016
9.4

An amazing place, with nice and helpful staff people and a great atmosphere!!!!! Please keep it in this way!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Apr 2016
9.4

Was a great option for my girlfriend and I. Negril is very expensive and this is the best value for money. It's about a 15 min walk to the good beach but there are plenty of food options and supermarkets close by. The hostel is next to a farm type thing so you will hear a bit of noise from 6am onward. Loved our stay here and would return. Thank you to sue and marquel. Chris and Nicole

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2016
7.1

Judy house is a nice garden environment, lots of biodiversity. The place itself is a long walk up the road, so to access anything is at least a half mile walk. It's a wonderful place, you sleep in hammocks, which are comfortable enough, and also the chillest security guard in the world, Martel. If you want good location, stay at some resort on the 7 mile beach, although I doubt you'll find one for $8 a night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your interested review, pity you did not score the location so high. Only 10 mins walk up the road, maybe 15 and 10 mins down? Pretty and Country is just what we are, enabling guests to enjoy the real Jamaica, whilst being just off the road from the main and within walking distance of many things. Lots of interesting locals to meet when walking too. Glad you enjoyed our 'chilled security guard and I agree he the best ever! I love my garden too, it was here first, and think my place, the Judy House Cottages and Backpacker Hostel is wonderful. Hope to see you back here one day. One Love!

16th Feb 2016
9.7

Judy House is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. It is perfectly located in safe neighborhood not too far from the beach, restaurants and bars. People working there are super nice and helpful. It is ideal place for meeting new people and socializing. I will definitely come back to this property.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Love your review, thanks so much for taking the time. Customer service is what we work at all the time to help all out guests have the best time at the Judy House, Negril and Jamaica! One Love xx

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Feb 2016
8.0

We booked two beds in a 5bed dorm that ended up being hammocks to sleep outdoors. Thank god they had an individual room and we could at least share it. In hostelworld it said beds, not hammacks and we werent the only ones with the same confusion. Also, there is a little farm right next to the hostel - which is great- but be ready to wake up with the rooster and chickens around 5am. Place is cute and a nice walk to the beach. Friendly stuff !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Sorry if you were confused, if you scroll down to the info in hostelworld it says it is hammocks. HW has no drop down box that says Hammocks so they always put 'bed' instead of 'Hammock'. This is why we explain it in the info. We also send out a confirmation to all guests repeating what they booked, just in case they did not read all the site information. We have complained to Hostelworld many times about the confusion (and sometimes conflict) that their site short description causes. Please feel free to complain to them too, I would love that! Glad you enjoyed your stay anyway and loved the farm next door. One Love .. Sue

13th Feb 2016
9.4

Best part of this hostel is the people you meet in spacious outdoor common areas

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes over 900 people came to Judy House Cottages and Backpacker Hostel last year from 49 countries. A brilliant way to meet and socialize with people from all over the world. So glad you enjoyed the experience and many thanks for taking the time to write your review. One Love

13th Feb 2016
5.1

Power to plug things in. Could hear other people using the washroom in my room like if there were in my room

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and taking the time to write it. There is lots of power to plug things in at the communal charging area or the office. Hostels are not the place for everyone. Our cottages are much more peaceful, perhaps you would like to try them next time. One Love !

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2016
6.6

Bra med sopsortering men behållarna blev fulla och behöver därför tömmas oftare. Den enda rökfria platsen accepterades tyvärr dåligt av rökarna. Vi avbokar två extranätter i god tid (36 timmar) Personal bedyrar att det är ok men ägarinnan kräver betalning för den ena med hänvisning till att hennes personal inte har befogenheten att ta emot avbokningen. Tråkig avslutning på en annars mycket trevlig vistelse

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

du skulle betala senare och din inte. Rummet kunde ha bokats men vi höll det för dig . Jag förklarade att normalt extra nätter betalas i förskott. Vi kunde ha bokat nätterna du begärde också några andra , men i stället vi höll dem för dig . Jag trodde att vi hade nått en överenskommelse om att en av de två bör betalas och förvånad över att se dig klaga i din recension .

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2016
9.1

I stayed 5 nights in a shared dormitory room (3 beds in Jackfruit room). Here were all the amenities I needed. My roommates shifted over time. Nice young people from different countries. Judy House is within walking distance of Seven Mile Beach and Rick's cafe but it is also possible to take a cheep route taxi. You can reach the nearest beach with a 8-10 minute walk down the hill. My stay in Negril and at Sue Judy House ended with the annual don Sue and her staff were very helpful and reliable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your review and taking the time to write it. Very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and meeting our guests from all over the world. Love that you gave information to help others booking with us in the future! One Love

4th Feb 2016
7.4

Stayed here 1 night in Feb 2016 but moved because it was far from a beach. We stayed in a private cottage and I would definitely recommend that. Everything about it was good except the location. Pros: -Private cottage was fully equipped (kitchen fully stocked, bathroom had towels) -Free safe to use -Great staff -Honor system commissary Cons -Loud (animals start going at daybreak and don't stop) -Hammock "dorms" seemed hot, cramped, and close to loud homes/animals -Location, Location, Location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I find your comments about no beach a bit strange as there is a beach at the end of my road with a lovely beach bar too. I think you meant the 7 mile beach which is 30 mins walk or 5/10 mins in a route taxi. We advertise as being 'country and pretty', not a beach property. My hostel, where you did not stay is very popular and many people book stay longer once they arrive. A bit naughty of you to make those negative comments when you did not have the hostel experience? We are located in a local community where, like any other Jamaican country community there are roosters and goats. They are very audible in the morning but they certainly do stop and my Judy House is a very quiet place all day and night. Many guests choose to stay on property all day sometimes to enjoy the peaceful vibes. I hope you enjoyed your beach stay ... One Love!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.