Hostelworld.com

The King's Arms Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 272 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 272 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.9
The King's Arms Hostel Located at The Kings Arms, 56 George Street, Brighton.
The King's Arms Hostel
England
Brighton Brighton BN2 1RJ The Kings Arms, 56 George Street
70% 272
50.8213312 -0.1346255
The King's Arms Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
5.7

Pros: Cheap, great location, was pretty clean and during the day there was staff around, lockers in the rooms but only 3 in an 8 bed room. Cons: - I got given the wrong door code. - The back door which you have to use at night didn't close properly so everyone could have gone in there. - The floor only had two small unisex toilets. - The site says it has an age restriction of 35 but one guy in my room was clearly 40+ - Loud at night - Weird people - Everything made me feel pretty unsafe

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
4.0

Everything was fine, up until 4am when the four lads I was sharing with came back pilled-up from their night out, and *really* not ready to go to sleep. I rode it out at the time - there were no staff around to go to, after all -, but looking back, it was a nightmare, and kind of intimidating. Pros - It's cheap; there's a bed. It's an environment where you can get away with total disregard for the people around you, so ideal for stag dos, hen nights etc. Cons - Everything else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
4.3

The staff was very nice, but unfortunately the hostel itself was pretty unpleasant. There was mold on the ceiling in our room, none of the outlets worked, and none of the bathrooms had soap or more than half a roll of toilet paper. Our neighbors came home at 4am and were singing at full volume for at least an hour and not one staff member said anything.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
5.4

The woman running the hostel was very nice, but the bathroom facilities were awful. The showers fill up the entire bathroom area with water, and there wasn't soap or toilet paper available at the toilets. The place overall is just kind of dirty. We left a night early.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2016
4.6

This place was awful. Awful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2016
9.1

Everyone there was so nice! Super helpful with directions/things to do, they were willing to work with us when it came to late check-in, they even let us leave our bags there all day after we checked out. It's a hostel, so of course it's nothing glamorous, but we got a clean blanket every day and they were pretty diligent about making sure everyone seemed happy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
5.4

The room was smelly and stuff, the bin was full of rubbish when we arrived, and the room didn't feel clean (the bed was fine). There was noise all night (Monday night) so hard to get sleep. The location is pretty good. Staff helpful enough and we didn't have an issue with security.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
7.1

We stayed at the kings Arms before and stayed in one of their private rooms and was very pleased with it. Our recent visit wasn't very satisfying with how clean the 12 bed dorm was. The floors were dirty, and the bed sheets weren't very clean. We would definatly stay again but in the private rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
3.4

The worst hostel I was ever.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Mar 2016
6.6

Staff were always helpful, location is excellent, wifi acceptable (drops in and out occasionally), showers average (As in Hostel average), security slightly dodgy but I never felt like I'd lose anything. You can hear alittle bit of noise from other rooms and/or downstairs at night if you go to bed early. Mostly, it's good for the price point

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.