Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The King's Arms Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.5
The King's Arms Hostel Located at The Kings Arms, 56 George Street, Brighton.
The King's Arms Hostel
England
Brighton Brighton BN2 1RJ The Kings Arms, 56 George Street
67% 280
50.8213312 -0.1346255
The King's Arms Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Jul 2016
8.3

The location was excellent, the staff were friendly, and the other hostel-goers were cool! My I Y complaint is that while there are technically two coded doors between the outside world and your room, they were often left unlocked during my stay. So security is a little too lax, but other than that it's a hostel I recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
6.0

I would not recommend this hostel. The showers were filthy and the night I stayed there was only one working toilet. The rooms were cramped, with three tier bunks and the top bunk was so close to the ceiling it was extremely difficult to get in and out. Although the location was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
3.1

Our night in the king's arms was not nice. Over crammed triple decker bunk beds, dust in the corners, filthy showers and hallways - the place looked like it hadn't been washed in years. Not to mention it is situated over a sketchy bar filled with old drunk men and stinks like cigarettes. There were people who had been living in our dorm for 3 months straight. Any hostel that lets someone stay in a dorm room for 3 months is NOT a hostel, it's low-income housing. I would not stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
4.6

Me and a friend stayed in this hostel for one night just for a weekend in Bristol. We checked in around 7pm in a mixed 8 bed dorm and went out for dinner afterwards. We went out and came back at around 2am noticing that one of the two beds we were supposed to sleep in was taken. We didn't want to wake everyone up in the room so we ended up both sleeping in one bed! The room was either overbooked or the security of the hostel is so poor there was a random person who entered. We did't get a refund

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
5.7

Pros: Cheap, great location, was pretty clean and during the day there was staff around, lockers in the rooms but only 3 in an 8 bed room. Cons: - I got given the wrong door code. - The back door which you have to use at night didn't close properly so everyone could have gone in there. - The floor only had two small unisex toilets. - The site says it has an age restriction of 35 but one guy in my room was clearly 40+ - Loud at night - Weird people - Everything made me feel pretty unsafe

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
4.0

Everything was fine, up until 4am when the four lads I was sharing with came back pilled-up from their night out, and *really* not ready to go to sleep. I rode it out at the time - there were no staff around to go to, after all -, but looking back, it was a nightmare, and kind of intimidating. Pros - It's cheap; there's a bed. It's an environment where you can get away with total disregard for the people around you, so ideal for stag dos, hen nights etc. Cons - Everything else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
4.3

The staff was very nice, but unfortunately the hostel itself was pretty unpleasant. There was mold on the ceiling in our room, none of the outlets worked, and none of the bathrooms had soap or more than half a roll of toilet paper. Our neighbors came home at 4am and were singing at full volume for at least an hour and not one staff member said anything.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
5.4

The woman running the hostel was very nice, but the bathroom facilities were awful. The showers fill up the entire bathroom area with water, and there wasn't soap or toilet paper available at the toilets. The place overall is just kind of dirty. We left a night early.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2016
4.6

This place was awful. Awful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2016
9.1

Everyone there was so nice! Super helpful with directions/things to do, they were willing to work with us when it came to late check-in, they even let us leave our bags there all day after we checked out. It's a hostel, so of course it's nothing glamorous, but we got a clean blanket every day and they were pretty diligent about making sure everyone seemed happy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.