Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The King's Arms Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
7.4

Apart from the noise you get from people coming back from the clubs there isn't anything to complain. It is a basic hostel. You get what you pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lukasone
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
5th May 2017
6.9

Very basic hostel. Room, toilet, shower. Don't expect anything else. However good enough to stay for night or two. Can't recommend for long term stay due to missing kitchen and laundry.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd May 2017
5.1

Overall, you get what you pay for. If you just need a bed for a night, it does the job but wouldn't recommend much more. Especially as a solo female traveller, who has stayed in a lot of hostels - the good, the bad and the horrific - it's a rough place and doesn't feel very safe. Rooms and facilities were very unclean - I usually wouldn't mind - but there was a lot of mould and a bad smell. No security, door lock was broken. Plus side, sheets were clean and staff were very friendly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
2.3

This place is a bar, first and foremost. The staff are unhelpful. They try to charge 3% extra for card transactions. I tried to cancel my last night 72hrs in advance, they said no. No common room, no kitchen, most of the time no wifi. 2 tiny showers, 3 toilets. Triple bunkbeds, unstable 1 plug outlet for whole room, rubbish behind beds. Regular local drinkers occupy the place every day. 1 stole a friend's charger. Not even a kettle for hot drinks. No Hostel vibe. Pay more and go to Baggies!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
7.7

In the heart of Brighton, cheap and attached to a pub so was great for what we needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2017
6.3

Triple bunk beds are never much fun, not very sturdy and the slightest move sent creeking sounds throughout the whole room. No room to put backpacks, but there were small lockers in the room. Showers were so small you could hardly get changed in them. As were the 'bathroom' facilities, very tight and no room to swing a cat... because that's what we do! It was just a bed to sleep in, which was handy. In good location with a great breakfast joint just up the road.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2017
8.3

Great location and cheap, fairly noisy on a Saturday night, to be expected in Brighton though, stored our bikes in the cellar over night, friendly and helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
5.7

to be fair, I should have done more research. I didn't know it was a pub, which was fine with me so far when I found out but I just didn't feel comfortable there. As a female, 22 and on your own I wouldn't recommend this place but it was super cheap, a good location and well there is a bar. I cancelled the accommodation when I arrived as I didn't like the atmosphere there and with mainly older males. The staff was helpful, they payed me back right away and apologised.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
6.9

Definitely a one nighter, check in to sleep and check out. Just in general feels dirty and dingy. Very comfortable beds though, I will give a that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Mar 2017
10.0

I had a fantastic time here. Staff were wonderful and the atmosphere was fun and welcoming. The hostel doubles as bar, this was primary reason for booking the great value hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.