Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Lazy Falken Backpacker Reviews

Spielmatte 8, Interlaken, Switzerland

Reviews & Ratings Explained


546 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 59%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 55%Staff
  • 52%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 50%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The worst hostel I have stayed at. The staff is unpleasant and unhelpful. Beds are creaky and uncomfortable. Bathroom is tiny and suffocating. No kitchen except a kettle and an oven which is not allowed to use after 9. Breakfast is not included which isis wouldn't be that bad except that it's Switzerland and the cheapest breakfast ould cost you 10-15 euros. Better stay at Balmers or Alplodge nearby - both were way better value for money.


The internet in the hostel, an essential feature was highly erratic. The hostel had no microwave or fridge, and the kitchen wwas tiny,had no utensils and closed so early no one could use iit. The infrastructure was in bad condition: plug points were either not present next to each bed or were broken. The bed linen didn't include a bed cover.

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


About the security, I saw a boy who was not a hotel guest. He used the bathroom in the first floor without permission. The gate was open all the time. The staff, especially the mother with a little girl, was quite impolite.


Worst staff ever. So rude, couldn't believe it. Literally asked us to get out at10 am. It's one of the cheaper and better located ones, so had no choice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
check out is 10am


It is cheap compared to other hostels. But It is also true that there is a lack of cleanliness and facilities, urine on the floor of the bathrooms, unfriendly and not polite staff that will laugh at your face and send you to hell when you have a problem. They don't even have proper lockers. At least we met nice people and spent the last day with them.




Hostelworld.com clearly that the price of CHF22.23 is the final price including all taxes. But they still charged an additional fee of 3 CHF per person. When we tried to reason with them, they were not polite and they told us that the price on our reservation is wrong and we were forced to pay them the extra price. I would like to have this amount refunded to me.

  • 24th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Stayed for 2 nights in an 8 mixed dorm. Beds definitely need an extra mattress layer as they're extremely uncomfortable. Not much of an atmosphere and the "common area" was had no room for anyone to hang out and meet each other. Rooms and bathrooms were nice and clean. Only had about 3 power outlets for everyone to try and use which was ridiculous. Overall was a decent place. Easy, short walk from Interlaken West train station which was great. Would stay here again.


Really great spot. Only down side was no kitchen, only two kettles to boil water and small fridge


Great location, friendly staff. Tiny and poorly equipped kitchen open only 8:00-10:00 and 15:00-20:00 which includes microwave and 2 kettles. Rooms have big lockers, bring your own lock.

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The beds are uncomfortable, the bathroom smells like mold and the 'kitchen' is a closet with 2 kettles and no microwave like it advertises but affordable considering it's in Switzerland. Didn't love it but didn't hate it.


staff member was super helpful but I got itchy bites all over me!

View all Interlaken Hostels

Please give us your feedback