Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The LightHouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Feb 2017
6.6

Based on a stay during carnival - keep that in mind! Hostel was fine but not great. 2 cold showers + 3 toilets for 20+ people, almost no common area, very minimal kitchen. They clean constantly which is great. Great, safe, lively location. Free breakfast was good / basic. Bread roll, ham, cheese, fruit. Staff were just getting through their shift. No recommendations, questionable answers and generally didn't want to engage. Triple bunks in small room means you wake up often. There must be better

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Feb 2017
9.4

Value for money is the best

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Exceptionally clean, great location. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Rooms were kept cool over night. Showers were always warm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
6.6

Room was clean, facilities were good. Staff were helpful sometimes. Didn't feel like the friendliest environment.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Dec 2016
10.0

Really happy with our first ever hostel experience! Very kind and helpful staff! Fab little kitchen area and breakfast was lovely! Nice cuppa - I'm English and usually that's a tough void to fill whennon holiday. We had a private room which was tidied every day! The area is nice and really easy walk to the beach and the Main Street to the metro! Very pleased and would recommend this hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
6.3

Okay stay at The LightHouse. My trip was delayed due to a work emergency and the staff wasn't accommodating (I get playing by the rules). It was clean and with air conditioning in the rooms, however the lockers beneath the bed didn't line up so it wasn't possible to lock my backpack. There also was only 2 showers and 3 bathrooms - pretty tough in the morning and at night with a houseful of guests! No security with the day bag check (my bag was left out in the open all day when I checked out).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
8.0

Overall The Lighthouse was fine. It was clean. Breakfast was minimal. Staff was just okay for the most part. Location is fantastic. Internet was okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • angelamarch5783
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
9.1

The friendliest hostel I have ever stayed in. The staff went well out of their way to assist you with anything you needed and by the end of our stay we felt as if we were saying goodbye to friends. Great little hostel, close to Ipanema beach that I would certainly recommend. We extended our stay 4 X longer than we were intending to - a testament to how happy we were at Lighthouse. Thanks team!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.