Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The LightHouse

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 773 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 773 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
The LightHouse Located at Barao da Torre, 175. Casa 20, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro.
The LightHouse
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro RJ 20411-001 Barao da Torre, 175. Casa 20, Ipanema
90% 773
-22.9833848 -43.2011604
The LightHouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jun 2016
10.0

This lovely hostel is currently being refurbished, so will be even nicer in a few weeks! It's more like staying at a friend's house than a hostel, calm and relaxed with all the homely facilities and securities you need. The location is really close to Ipanema beach and the breakfast was fantastic. The owner is very helpful and knowledgeable, five stars!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
9.4

Very cozy little hostel. The staff is very friendly and everything is perfect. Only (small) negative aspect: During the morning time it can get quite busy with only two bathrooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Mar 2016
7.7

Great staff and great location. Roberta is a sweetheart and will answer all your questions. But you won't really meet many people because the social vibe is not great. It's a quiet hostel. Great for chilling. Oh the fan is super loud. I wish they took it off completely.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
9.7

Stayed in the private room with three beds (1 that can fit 2 people and 2 singles). A/C is nice and cold and drowns out the Ipanema street noise--a must even in late March when we stayed! Fan circulates the air too. Beds are comfortable and the facilities are clean and tended to daily/more often. Breakfast is delicious. The staff MAKE this place--they go way above and beyond. We felt very comfortable and looked after. Roberta (the owner) provides the best hostel service I've ever encountered.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2016
7.4

Great location! Close to everything but door handles could do with an upgrade!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
7th Mar 2016
8.0

Super helpful staff and great location. Close to everything you need. Some of the bed lockers were missing doors, the bunk steps weren't secure and it was a bit overpriced compared to the other 10 hostels down the same alley but overall we really enjoyed our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2016
9.4

The staff were brilliant and the location is great! Enjoyed my stay here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Mar 2016
10.0

We really enjoyed our stay at lighthouse hostel! The staff was always really friendly and helpful. We felt so welcome! The rooms and bathrooms got cleaned everyday. The neighborhood was nice, many bars and cafes around and we felt pretty safe. When we come back to rio we would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2016
9.7

Great little place close to Ipanema beach. As mentioned in the other reviews, Roberta was an amazing host. They have triple bunks in the dorm, but it's not too difficult to climb up to the top. There's no sign in front of the house, so be sure to look up the address instead of wandering around the area - the house itself is located in the far back in an alley of other hostels. One last thing - the panel of the lockers under the bed can be detached, but they still work fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2016
10.0

A great hostel in the best location in ipanema. The nicest owner you will ever meet !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.