Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The LightHouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 798 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 798 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.5
The LightHouse Located at Barao da Torre, 175. Casa 20, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro.
The LightHouse
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro RJ 20411-001 Barao da Torre, 175. Casa 20, Ipanema
92% 798
-22.9833848 -43.2011604
The LightHouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • angelamarch5783
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
9.1

The friendliest hostel I have ever stayed in. The staff went well out of their way to assist you with anything you needed and by the end of our stay we felt as if we were saying goodbye to friends. Great little hostel, close to Ipanema beach that I would certainly recommend. We extended our stay 4 X longer than we were intending to - a testament to how happy we were at Lighthouse. Thanks team!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
9.4

I loved everything about the hostel. The place is very simple, lovely, clean and well located. The staff is very realiable, sympathetic and they speak english as well. They provide breakfast, lockers, wifi, linen sheet and towels and also a cleaner to keep everything up. It is next to the beach (couple blocks away), to a bunch of bars, restaurants, groceries store, to the subway station and good options of bus transportation. It is great price for being at Ipanema beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.9

Great little hostel with a yummy free breakfast. Price was a little high because of the Olympics, which is understandable. Great location; short walk to Ipanema beach and metro station. Loads of restaurants close by. The common area in the hostel lacked atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
8.9

Roberta and her team were excellent hosts (recently acquired ownership). Was there over the 100m Olympics weekend and facilities were good, staff were friendly and would recommend friends to stay here too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
10.0

I am not a hostel person but now I have been converted! Light house is cleaner than a hotel and great value, even during the Olympics it was very cheap. Roberta is the most accommodating person I have ever met. she even kept my luggage stored in the hostel 4 days after I had checked out! The best service I have ever received! location great also.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
8.3

My stay here was really good, Roberta is the best, so friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

This is an amazing hostel! I came for the Olympics and from the moment I checked in, I was greeted with a warm welcome. Never did I feel out of place bring here and the atmosphere was just awesome! I had to have my tickets delivered to the hostel and of course, there was no issue here. This is by far my favorite hostel in Rio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2016
9.1

Great hostel - clean, small so you get to know everyone, helpful staff. Only two downsides - wifi doesn't work well in rooms (works fantastically in main room) and the kitchen is tricky (no stove - instead 1 electric stovetop that doesn't always work; no pasta strainer; etc). Need to work on the kitchen a bit, but besides that great hostel. Cheap food and metro nearby. Recommend for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
10.0

This lovely hostel is currently being refurbished, so will be even nicer in a few weeks! It's more like staying at a friend's house than a hostel, calm and relaxed with all the homely facilities and securities you need. The location is really close to Ipanema beach and the breakfast was fantastic. The owner is very helpful and knowledgeable, five stars!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.