Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Local NYC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2073 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2073 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Sep 2017
8.6

Solid backpacker style hostel with a bar and lots of common areas on the ground store. I stayed in a 4 person dorm room. The rooms are very spare and spartan, but are clean and get the job done. Each bunk gets a sizable locker, so you can lock up all of your belongings safely. Long Island City is a great place to stay if you want to be very close to Manhattan, but not pay Manhattan rates. Definitely good bang for your buck, if you want to stay in New York.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ericachapman173886
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2017
8.9

Fantastic all around. Christian gave me a bang off recommendation. Met fantastic people on the patio. I only spent one night but I enjoyed it. Bathrooms a bit weird and small but overall pretty good! Save your ticket and get a latte in the morning, worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2017
8.6

I absolutely loved the location of this hostel - after a busy day exploring, it was so nice to come back to a quieter part of New York. The Subway is SO close and you are literally three stops away from Manhattan. Williamsburg & Brooklyn also extremely close - LOVED these areas, full of amazing coffee shops, bars, places to eat and flee markets. Met loads of people at the bar & I really liked the fact that people working near the hostel drink at the bar too - got loads of tips from them!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2017
9.4

The location was awesome, 3min walk from the subway which brought you everywhere. Lots of options for food around the neighbourhood, the downstairs bar was fab and it was just a really nice place to be. Safe and chill. I had a bit of an accident while I was there which resulted in a trip to the ER (totally my fault, nothing to do with the hostel) and the staff were so kind and helpful, they made the whole thing bearable. Can't thank them or recommend The Local NYC enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • TravelerLloyd
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2017
8.6

This was my first time in a Hostel. My problem now is that they my have set a high bar and I may not be happy with any others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2017
9.4

Its a great, clean place, with a nice atmosphere. Each 4 person room has its own private en-suite bathroom. The location is just a couple minutes walk from the metro, so you can get to manhattan in about 20 min, but there isnt much around the place itself in walkable distance (but I did get some tasty Indian food!) The staff were friendly and helpful, they printed my bus ticket for me, and the free beer/wine encourages people to go and chat in the bar. Its not particularly cheap, but its NYC.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
9.1

The Local is a short 20 minute subway ride from Manhattan. Their rooftop and bar are stellar! Will totally be going back :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
10.0

Brilliant. Best place in NYC. Queens is underrated, but if you know where you're going, there's no where better for price, convenience and atmosphere. The rooftop is chilled. The bar down by the lobby helps too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
9.1

This hostel was the perfect place to stay whilst in New York. Really close to the subway, rooms were great and clean. I arrived early and the staff were amazing and let me into my room before checkin time. Fantastic staff.The only bad thing was the people in my room would not be quite til 2am, even though there is a curfew.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
8.6

This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Location is nice as its slightly distant from the main city but close enough that its easy to get back into Manhattan etc which a subway station just outside. Facilities were excellent and the place had a great, chilled vibe. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×