Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Local NYC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1763 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1763 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
9.1

The location is perfect. The subway is only 5 minutes away and within one stop you're in Manhattan. The rooms were very clean and modern and I liked that we had relatively large lockers underneath our beds. The staff could've been a little more cheerful, but overall they provided good service. On another note, the coffee they serve is great. I'll definitely stay here again the next time I go to New York.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.1

Fantastic hostel with lovely staff and very modern facilities just one subway stop from manhattan. Not super sociable but the bar has great choice of drinks and the staff have good tips for exploring the neighbourhood. Enjoyed my stay so much I am returning at the end of my USA trip

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
9.4

The Local is by far one of my favourite places I've stayed in New York. The bedrooms are some of the cleanest I've been in in hostels, with private bathrooms. The common areas are really comfy and very nice with beautiful art work on the walls. As well there's always something going on there, whether it's trivia night, live music, or drink and draw.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
9.7

Great Staff and great vibe. Easy access to Manhattan. Loved staying at the Local.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
9.7

Great experience. Staff were some of the most welcoming I've experienced in any hostel. Shout out to Jorge :) Rooms were very clean with housekeeping staff cleaning them every day. Comfortable bed. Locker for your belongings & you can borrow a lock for free. Only a 5 min walk to the subway & 15 min ride to Manhattan. It would be cool if they planned activities for travelers to meet each other, but I think many guests just want a place to stay & do their own thing. The bar is a good alternative!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
9.4

Very very nice place. The staff is awesome. The view on the roof is incredible. The bar is cool and there's live music on certain days that is great. There's no breakfast and the parking is in the streets. It's easy though to find a place to stay a couple of days. Everything was fine and the rooms are very clean. Good job!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
9.1

I enjoyed my 1 week stay at the Local. Def recommend! -I interacted with about 9 staff members including the bartenders and cleaning people. I'd say 7/9 of those people were *absolutely* delightful. The other 2 (1 front desk, 1 bartender) should reevaluate how their attitude comes across people coming to New York for the first time. -The beddings were comfortable. -Cool lounges and a rooftop! -Very close to supermarket -They have washing machines. -They have free towels and locks! Thanks Local!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
6th Mar 2017
6.9

The staff were all very helpful with queries and assistance regardless of the time of day. Despite plenty of activities being arranged by the hostel it didn't have the most social atmosphere so not great for solo travellers. The location was fine during the day but I didn't feel confident returning alone late at night. Overall a good stay!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nmadlani9516
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Mar 2017
7.1

Nice dorms , clean, good bathrooms. But really not suitable for solo travellers - when I was there, the hostel basically had no activities to meet people / have a night out /see the city. The was a board telling you things going on in the city that day if you wanted to go do it yourself - fun. Stalk contract to HI, which is not as fancy in the dorm but there are always things to do and is a much better location .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
10.0

Fantastic location just a few blocks from the train and bus stop. Nice view of Manhattan from the roof and -if you're lucky- your room! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Clean, modern, cool vibes. I would certainly stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.