Hostelworld.com

The Local NYC

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,327 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,327 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
The Local NYC Located at 13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York.
The Local NYC
USA
New York New York 11101 13-02 44th Avenue, Queens
88% 1327
40.7495327 -73.9475691
The Local NYC
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.1

Really good. Safe and clean. Location is good enough. Wifi is great and accessible everywhere and staff gave good tips on good food in the area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
9.1

Roomy bathroom and ice cold air conditioning. Good times!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.7

Awesome place to meet travelers. The entrance through the bar was enticing for a drink and friendly conversation with other travelers and bartenders. Definitely would recommend to friends traveling to NYC

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gpfbcbc
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
9.4

Beautiful hostel, just like the photos. Close to three subway stations and to Gantry Place Park, which offers stunning views to Manhattan. My belongings were safely stored in my room safe. Wi-Fi was perfect and there were plenty of activities. They even invite you to a private Facebook group so that guests can plan outings and they can recommend places to visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
8.6

Really nice hostel close to Manhattan. The metro station is really close and central park can be reached in 10 minuti by subway. Cool and nice staff, really well furnished kitchen, nice bar open every day and night. Free welcome beer/wine for all guests on the arrival day! Definitely recommended

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
7.4

I liked staying at The Local, but there were a few things I would fix. The lockers under the bed are not very secure. If someone really wanted to steal something from the locker, they could just unscrew the latch or stick their hand into the gap between the lock and the box. The beds were comfortable and I liked the large windows in the room, which let in plenty of light during the day but could be closed with blackout curtains. Beds have own outlets and a lamp. Good atmosphere and pretty clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
8.3

Staff was great. Room and locker size were larger than average compared to euro hostels I've stayed in. Bed was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2016
8.9

Second time at the local and I love it. Super friendly helping staff, free drink with your registration, les than 5 min walk to subway station. Last time I didn't go up to the rooftop, this time i went up there and absolutely enjoyed, it is well furnished and has a great view. I also had time to explore the neighbourhood and was gladly surprised, there are nice cafes, restaurants, antique stores and the streets are really lovely. No need to run to Manhattan all the time! I felt like a local.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
9.1

The staff is great, the roommates are highly variable as anywhere. My one suggestion is locking the a/c unit to a reasonable temperature, or the fan setting. I am a environmentalist and having 3 different men/roommates come in and turn the A/C to 60 degrees in the middle of the night a few nights in a row is not only freezing perhaps the most wasteful practice imaginable and most likely costly for the hotel as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
8.6

Fantastic facility, friendly staff, and a skyline view of NYC. Would highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.