Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Local NYC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
The Local NYC Located at 13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York.
The Local NYC
USA
New York New York 11101 13-02 44th Avenue, Queens
88% 1445
40.7495327 -73.9475691
The Local NYC
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Aug 2016
9.7

Location is technically Queens but it's right on the edge and the area didn't feel dangerous at all. I marked it down slightly just because there wasn't really anywhere good to eat nearby, but it's ten minutes from PABT and downtown Manhattan by subway so nothing else to complain about. Staff were friendly and helpful, the whole place is clean, open, and has a great atmosphere. I was only in NYC for one night but I'd happily go back for longer and would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
7.7

Was a very nice hostel had an overall very good time there apart from the staff who were a little rude at times

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
9.4

Only flaw was that I was encouraged to book a shuttle to the airport (saving $15 over a cab) and it was due to arrive at 3.50pm the next day, I wanted to be at JFK airport for 5pm so this should of given me ample time. At 3.40pm, the day of, staff tells me it is often a bit late, I wait until 4.10pm then ask a member of staff to tell me where my shuttle is exactly, she then tells me it's still 20 mins away! I order a cab as the shuttle could have more stops. Staff could've been more apologetic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Aug 2016
7.7

not too bad, it was clean, the beds were nice, location is a bit out of the way and bath mats in the showers would be nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2016
9.4

Great facilities, quiet location but not far from the subway and several shops, and worth it for the views of Manhattan you get from walking down to the waterfront. Will definitely be recommending The Local to anyone coming to New York because being in Queens forces you to see more of the city than just the usual sights. Thanks for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
9.7

So,This was my first time ever staying in a hostel and of course I was a little nervous not knowing what to expect! IT WAS AMAZING! The staff was so helpful and kind! If I had a question about anything,they knew the answer to it or would help me figure it out!! The atmosphere had a very young,hipster vibe going on,but had a mixture of ages staying at the hostel and visiting the bar, very nice balance and the roof top view WAS TO DIE FOR! No Paper toilet seat covers my only complaint.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
8.9

Good location, metro station 5 min away. Nice, well equipped kitchen, big lockes, nice bar. My four bed room was en suite:) There was a nice live music concert at the bar, but too few people to enjoy:(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
8.0

Very cool looking place. Closer to Manhattan than you might think. Kind of a shady area. Great staff, nice bar, artsy atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • victorfleite1621
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.7

Only stayed 1 night. Very nice facilities. Close to the subway. Only complaint is that I got to the hostel at 2am and could not get inside, despite constantly ringing the buzz and hitting on the door. Fortunately some guests showed up after 10min and opened the door for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
9.4

The Local NY was an amazing place! Clean, location, and the bests beds hahaha thank u to all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.