Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Local NYC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,687 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,687 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
The Local NYC Located at 13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York.
The Local NYC
USA
New York New York 11101 13-02 44th Avenue, Queens
87% 1687
40.7495327 -73.9475691
The Local NYC
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jan 2017
10.0

This was my second time staying at The Local and it definitely won't be my last. The lobby, the rooms, the bathrooms are all so clean and nice, the staff kind and helpful, and the location close to the subway. I've never felt more comfortable at a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
10.0

Great place to stay! Close to the subway....and everyone was very friendly! If I was going to be nitpicky the only thing I could possibly complain about was that the elevator was extremely slow! Luckily you could just take the stairs if you didn't want to wait! I will definitely stay again on my next NYC trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
9.4

As far as hostels go, The Local NYC was pretty nice. All the staff were friendly, the free drink was nice, and the accommodations, although nothing fancy, were better than I was expecting. The location is also pretty great - just walk 2 blocks to the subway and hop and the E line, and within 5 minutes you're in Manhattan. I also enjoyed checking out LIC - it's nothing special, but it seems like a nice neighborhood. I'd definitely consider coming back if I stayed in New York again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
8.9

My experience with The Local is the first here in Hostelworld. Honestly, it was so awesome. I have stayed 4 nights. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The lobby is stylish like a big New York style apartment. The location is amazing close to the subway station (M, E, and 7 trains). There is a great view in the 3rd floor to Manhattan. They gave us free drink, don't miss it. Overall, I will be their guest whenever I come to this lovely city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
9.1

The place is great, I'd recommend for anyone coming to NY. The only one problem is the location, it's not walking distance for any of the main attractions (unless you have no problem about walking an hour). However there is a subway just two blocks away, so it's easy to get around any time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
10.0

good beds, warm rooms, decently-priced drinks and a few hundred metres from the subway – not much else to ask for when the temperatures drop below zero. would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • StephLovaLova
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Jan 2017
7.4

Long Island City doesn't have much around but the trains are nearby. The hostel has all you need for a comfy stay: kitchen, lounge, study area, bar, comfy beds, clean rooms, and nice sheets, great wifi. The rooms are small but that's on par with NYC. There should be more security by enforcing keycard entry-but since there is 24 hr reception maybe they make sure only hostel guests enter the building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
10.0

What a lovely place! The hardest thing was the 2 flights to get to rooms, but it was worth it when you arrived. The lobby was a great place for tea and drinks, with numerous comfortable places to sit. Seth and Joe behind the bar were the best, as was Dave at check-in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
9.4

Couldn't have chosen a better place to experience NYC for New Years. The staff and guests alike are just great people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
8.3

This hostel has a unique environment. It is very chill and laid back. They do not have a lot of activities planned, but they do have a bar to get to know people. The location is far from a lot of the action of NYC, but the subway is a few blocks away and it offers a different perspective of NY. I would probably not stay there again and choose something closer and cheaper. It is a little overpriced for a hostel, despite how nice the facilities are.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.