Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Local NYC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1848 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1848 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
6.3

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights this May (2017). The external areas are brilliant and the staff were helpful with our checkin. The private double room was nothing like the pictures advertised on the website. There was no access to both sides of the bed, there room windows backed onto the street meaning it was very very noisy, there was a waste pipe running through the room with running water all night. Management couldn't care less, for $180/night this was unacceptable.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
9.7

The staff was amazing and very helpful. This was my first solo trip and everyone I encountered at The Local was very supportive. I enjoyed the artsy atmosphere. The rooms were very clean and the kitchen was easily accessible! The upstairs loft was a great addition as well, beautiful views of Manhattan. Thank you for an amazing first hostel experience :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
7.7

While it is located outside of Manhattan, it is quite close to the E line, just one stop away from (Midtown) Manhattan. Beds are comfortable, and there are huge lockers for all your stuff. It would have been nice to have a bit more space to hang out (apart from the wooden chairs at the tables in the lobby and the bar). Also the kitchen could be a bit better equipped. Then again, I did not meet a lot of people preparing there meals there, so it did work out in the end.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
9.7

Great place and great value. Just a couple of blocks from the subway station and one stop you're in Manhattan. It was clean, the staff were great, nice places to lounge around to meet other travelers and the room set up was great with three separate areas for the shower, toilet and sink so three people could be getting ready at the same time. I would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
8.6

Just what we were looking for. We will return

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
9.7

This spot was great, definitely an on-point hostel experience. The Lobby is nice, the staff were super friendly and the place had a cool vibe. It's close to the subway and a quick hop on the train to Manhattan or Brooklyn. Having never stayed in Long Island City before, I was worried about its proximity to the places I wanted to go, but it was quick and easy on the train. If anyone remembers the NY Loft Hostel, this one is a very suitable replacement. Great place. 100% would book again. Thx!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
10.0

Couldn't recomend this place high enough, it's one of the best hostels i've stayed in the US, clean, comfortable beds, super friendly staff, extremely well connected to Manhattan (and with a fantastic view to it), a nice bar and beautiful spaces. It feels a little cramped sometimes, but Hey, that's the norm in NYC. I'll definititely be back on my next trip to the city!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
9.1

Awesome hostel, great vibe and at a great location, with super easy access to Manhattan. One of my favorite hostels around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • meagusxlr9260
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Apr 2017
8.6

Great hostel for NYC standard, probably the best price wise you will get. The staff are the best feature of this hostel. by far. They went above and beyond to find me info and make my stay enjoyable. The rooftop is great along with the view, take the guitar to the roof and smoke a cigarette as you enjoy the NYC skyline.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
9.1

Staff friendly, clean beds, lockers in room, night light and power socket in each bed. Good location close to Subway. Overall great place for the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.