Hostelworld.com

The Local NYC

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,234 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,234 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
The Local NYC Located at 13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York.
The Local NYC
USA
New York New York 11101 13-02 44th Avenue, Queens
89% 1234
40.7495327 -73.9475691
The Local NYC
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2016
8.6

+ Rooftop Spacious Really clean Well organised Not too busy Close to the subway station Linen and towel provided - Kitchen quite small with no oven or stove Music a bit too loud in the main area No completary tea and coffee (have to buy at the bar) Located in an industrial area (so not much to do around the hostel)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
9.1

I really liked the hostel. It was super clean, the staff is very nice and it was a great place to stay for three nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.1

This place is great! I'd definitely stay again! Location: v. good, two streets away from the subway and only 1 stop to Manhattan or a few more to Brooklyn. I felt safe in the area at night on my own, lots of traffic and people walking on their own. The Hostel: looks awesome, clean, good facilities. I didn't make full use of the cafe/ bar but what I saw was a great atmosphere and a cool space to hang out. Also other cool spaces to chill. Staff: lovely! Security: lockers in rooms! Overall great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2016
7.7

The Hostel was great! Great atmosphere. The only problem is the location, it is not easy to get to or from.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
9.4

Awesome atmosphere, nice bar, great staff, and everything was very clean and well kept.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rvarvelo7316
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
6th Apr 2016
10.0

Great hostel and just two blocks from the station. The only comment is the cost to keep your luggage after you check out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Apr 2016
9.7

I would highly recommend this place- it is very very cool to stay here- especially when your looking for hostel facilities. The bar and staff give the place a great vibe- great selection of drinks. Amazing music! The rooms are really well designed with big boxes for your things. The place is really clean. The wifi is great everywhere. It's a shame that there isn't a breakfast because with the setting, it would create a really cool community feel. Also the walk from the metro there is safe

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
8.9

As far as hostels go, this one is very nice. I'm not a big fan of hostels but stay in them to save money. I was in a 4 bed mixed dorm, and all the other roommates were men, but they were fine. The location is great, I spent most of my time in NY in Manhattan and it's very easily accessible on the E train. I also appreciated the lounge area and computers. There is a bar which can get pretty loud, so earplugs were a necessity.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
7.4

Rather expensive hostel, but with a cool sense of style. Location in Queens is great. The staff were a bit grumpy checking me in. If I came back to NY I'd staff here again if it was in my budget (?)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
31st Mar 2016
8.9

Although not on Manhattan, this hostel is easily accessible and has great facilities and is super clean. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.