Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Local NYC

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,383 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,383 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
The Local NYC Located at 13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York.
The Local NYC
USA
New York New York 11101 13-02 44th Avenue, Queens
89% 1383
40.7495327 -73.9475691
The Local NYC
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.9

Best hostel I've stayed in so far. Easy to get into Manhattan with a subway stop about a 3 minute walk. The room itself was extremely comfortable, spacious and clean. The free beer is a great incentive to go down to the bar and meet people. Has pretty much everything you would want from a hostel maybe apart from some more events to help people on their own to meet others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
10.0

Everything was great. Very impressed. Excellent price with easy subway access and pleasant staff. Very clean too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
10.0

I stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. LOVED the free drink upon arrival, and especially the super cool bartender. The vibe of the hostel is great and makes it easy to meet other travelers. Make sure to check out the rooftop for a beautiful view of the bridge and city! The location of the hostel makes it easy to get right into the city via subway. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and safe, and I would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
8.3

Found a silverfish in my bed one morning

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
8.6

Great hostel in great location with easy access to Subway. The only drawback is that the rooms are on the 2nd floor and there is no lift. Difficult if you have heavy luggage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
9.7

Great value for money considering I only booked my stay several days in advance. I accidently booked the wrong day and the staff were very quick to think on their toes so that I got a bed for the night even though they were booked out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jul 2016
6.3

The hostel is in factory/workshop area. The nearest shop is 10 minutes walk away. Streets around are pretty quiet. I walked alone at night but felt too quiet. But the interior design of the hostel is really trendy and nice. I took a 4 bed dorm, which has a bathroom and toilet in the room. That's great! But there be floor mat. There should be eating area - instead of eating at the working/computer table.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • MediumRare
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.3

Well located just outside of the line going to mid town Manhattan. Comfortable living. No real complaints

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
9.4

Excellent stay at The Local, very friendly staff and rooms were modern and clean. The beds and warm and comfortable and the facilities are great too. Will definitely return next time I am in the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
8.6

I really enjoyed my stay at the Local NYC. I was there for a week. The hostel was clean, had quite big lockers, the staff was very helpful and the location was perfect! There are multiple train stations around the hostel, which makes it easy to get basically everywhere. There was also a supermarket nearby and the kitchen had all the basic stuff. I will definitely come back here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.