Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Local NYC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,509 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,509 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
The Local NYC Located at 13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York.
The Local NYC
USA
New York New York 11101 13-02 44th Avenue, Queens
88% 1509
40.7495327 -73.9475691
The Local NYC
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
7.7

The hostel itself is great; the location is prime and the building is modern and beautiful. There is a great view with rooftop seating and lots to do inside the hostel itself. My stay however was not as great. I came back to my room to find the person who was supposed to be in the bottom bunk sleeping in MY bed. I ended up having to just sleep in the stranger's used bed. They also stole my charger that was on my bed. I told the front desk/staff but they did nothing about it. Disappointed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
6.3

Great clean hostel, great design throughout with friendly staff, right next to the subway. However you guys really need to address the rooftop issue (you can't drink up there). The hostel was at full capacity when we stayed and yet the place seemed dead with next to no atmosphere, most likely due to large groups I'm assuming.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Sep 2016
8.9

The hostel was fine. The employees and bartenders were great and definitely helped. The atmosphere was not as good as some of the other places I've stayed at because it was a bit too big and spread out, not facilitating conversation. The rooftop is beautiful and the views are stunning. However, alcohol is prohibited on the roof and thus it was mostly empty. This is baffling to me since other places I've stayed at with half as pretty views all allow drinking on the rooftop.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
9.7

Great location, friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Sep 2016
9.7

Great common room around reception with desks for computer use, sofas for lounging, bar for drinking. Rooms had nice floors in wood optic, pictures on the walls and own shower and toilet which were cleaned daily. Electricity outlets next to beds, so phones could be charged at night while using them as alarm clocks. Spacious lockers. Roof with terrific view over the city. Best hostel in the US I've stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
8.3

Nice amenities, the rooftop and bar area were great. Super friendly staff as well. But our room (a private) wasn't very clean, even though we got in there right after housekeeping. Floors were kind of dirty, and there were a couple of questionable stains on the sheets. I'm sure they were washed, but still a little unsettling. Other than that, a very nice hostel and great alternative to expensive hotels in the area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
7.7

If you are staying here in a group the hostel is a lot more fun if you are alone not many people were socialising. There are not that many nice places to eat near by but the location is good as it is only a short metro ride from many places. The rooms were nice, beds comfy and staff on the desk were welcoming. However as many know it is customary to tip in the US I found the constant reminders behind the bar and on the menus to tip 20% too much they almost make you not want to do it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
8.6

Great place to stay; we had a private room on the ground floor. The design and decor was very cool, staff friendly and great roof terrace to take pics of NY skyline. Security not so great though, there was a window you could open but it opened right out into the street, which was not reassuring. Also as the place seems to have been converted from a warehouse/industrial building, there was an odd smell of something in the room, maybe sealant? Overall though would stay again, lots of plus points

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
9.4

The Local NYC is a great place to stay! Perfect location for getting in and out of Manhatten, as well as Williamsburg and Brooklyn. The rooftop has a great view of the Manhatten skyline. Staff are very friendly - great service from both Jorge and Gina. Great events organised with locals, although more could be done to get people in the hostel together to socialise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
9.4

Great experience with staff and facilities, including free lock/locker and ample kitchen. The location is close to 2 subway stops and a few food options.....some will wish there were more hustle and bustle, but I liked the quiet aspect of the industrial area. Good hostel, even if not 'cheap'

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.