Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Lodge at Crystal Palace

  • Crystal Palace National Sports Centre, Upper Norwood, London, England

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 364 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 364 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
8.6

Basic no nonsense lodge. Great for Crystal Palace area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
8.0

Very friendly and helpful staff, great location and easy to find. Only thing couldn't get the shower working properly got too hot s and no shower gel r soap but otherwise was great and breakfast was very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
6.3

Cheap and relatively cheerful for an early morning start from the national sports centre. Probably not greatly convenient for exploring London and not a place to spend an evening, though. Oh, and don't forget to bring soap and shampoo!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Apr 2017
8.0

Plus: quiet and clean location, free breakfast and tea in the room, almost personal bathroom (one per 2 rooms), low price. Minus: weariness of bed, mattress, walls, lampshades; some rooms may be really hot on the sun and in front of the noisy walkway (bright at night), sometimes it is hard to get to London in a convenient way (no bike rent, overground service may be stopped), breakfast without hot meals. Conclusion: quiet and private countryside hotel with low price for non-demanding persons.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
8.3

Very clean, friendly staff, good for the price, mattress a bit lumpy all in all good value. Would stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
9.7

It would be a perfect 10..but my door lock malfunctioned and I had to get the night porter to let me back into my room. Otherwise, it's a great value facility, with bed, breakfast and Wi-Fi for £32/night, close to the Overground train to Victoria or London Bridge, and with parking if needed. I liked the view from my 8th floor window, and watching the many squirrels making mischief in the park surrounding The Lodge. I will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
6.0

Depends what you want. Basic and old facilities; no hot water in my basin and bedsprings were not comfortable. A ten minute walk to get to it from the station through the park in the dark could be risky on a Friday night. If you want to put up with this, £32 for a single room is not bad.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • thisisace4161
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Feb 2017
8.3

Although the building is a little rough around the edges, this is a good value place to stay, with a warm welcome, a lovely setting - and the best free continental breakfast I've had in any hostel! The room was basic, but had everything I needed, with a very powerful shower next door. Be aware: The wifi only really works on the ground floor and, given it was built before everyone had portable electronic gadgets, there are only 2 sockets in each room (including for the TV!) I'll be back soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Good value for money it's my 4th time staying at the lodge it's clean and staff there are very friendly and helpfull

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Nov 2016
9.4

Looks like a college dorm. Very clean and nice. Staff are really friendly and helpful, and it's really good price for a private room in London. The only con is that it's pretty out of the way at the end of the overground line (zone 3). It takes more than 2 hours to get to from Heathrow airport by underground. The railway is a little faster but you need to navigate through the departure timetable to find the destination and platform.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.