X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Lodge at Crystal Palace Reviews

Crystal Palace National Sports Centre, Upper Norwood, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
200 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I've seen a few negative reviews of this place based upon cleanliness. They apparently confuse 'clean' with 'new'. It is a little run down, but on the scale of European hostels it's perfectly fine. The one complaint I had was that there is virtually no sound isolation. This was mildly annoying when troops of children were pounding up and down the stairs at 07:30, or when the person in the adjacent room came back late in the evening. Overall, they provide serviceable accomodation.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

My booking was lost / not received by the hostel on what was a very busy weekend due to events etc. Joan on reception was a star and managed to get me a room for the night and an even better room ready for first thing the next morning - thank you!

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Plus: - friendly employees - clean room - good value for money - located in beautiful park and close to train station

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Very friendly helpful staff. Good location with plenty of parking. Unfortunately the building is a little dated and the bedrooms would benefit from updating. However at only £30 for a single room including a cooked breakfast in London you can't expect the Ritz!!

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

I found the staff to be friendly and easy going. The breakfast in the morning is always good. The only difficulty is getting drinkable water to make a tea in your roomroom so I would suggest taking your own bottled water or using the water machine.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

It is a great hotel. You have a single-bed room with a nice view on the surrounding parks. Inside the room, you have a desk, a flat screen TV, a water boiling jug, some refreshments, a hand washbasin and a comfortable bed. Every two rooms share a bath-room. However, it is only one step from your room, so it isn't far away. There is Wi-Fi in the room. Public transport is perfect: only 5 min walk from Crystal Palace train station. The hostel's environment is safe. No security problems at all.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Room was clean but tired. No information on how to lock my room - ended up propping a chair against the door!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Lovely and quiet, but not the place to stay if you're looking to go out and party. A bit of a hairy experience coming back late at night after various public transport delays. All in all, very good value and friendly staff.


83%

Just what I was looking for - somewhere to stay when up in London at Uni days over the next year. Cheap and cheerful. The whole place is a bit tatty and in need of a bit more than just a lick of paint. However, it was functional and the staff were all very happy, friendly and helpful. With internet and breakfast included, the price is unbeatable. I have cancelled other bookings and will be staying here on uni days during the remainder of my course.


69%

The hotel staff were friendly but not particularly helpful- the lady on reception didn't explain to me how to lock my room when I was in it and so I felt unsafe the whole stay, I didn't like to say anything until the end incase it was not possible to lock them and someone overheard! That aside the rooms are excellent value, with a TV and kettle in each- access to a communal microwave would be good though! Breakfast selection great and option to take away breakfast really good too! Room clean.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great place to stay - staff brilliantly helpful. Breakfast good, particularly being available at that time.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff and room were fine. I didn't get to sleep because in the room next to mine were people who were talking loudly at night, kept throughout the night going to the bathroom loudly , whistling, and making hacking noises. All night they kept coming and going, letting doors slam instead of gently closing them due to it being night time. This was happening for 4 nights, until about dawn, each night. I think they were working or living there.


80%

The staff was friendly, the rooms clean, showers and toilets are ok. The breakfast was very good. The hostel was each pound worth I paid for it and I can recommend it to others without doubt. The only negative is - I know it can't be changed by the hostel or the staff, but future guests shall consider it: It's quite far away from the City: Over 30 mins to Bank by Overground/Tube/DLR, 26 mins with rail to Victoria and at night over 40 mins with Bus.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Very low price, hotel was allright.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A fantastic location, a unbelievable good price for London, a small room with everything to have a rest and very friendly staff. I would and will recommend this place for everyone who requires a simple and safe place to stay in London.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel is looking very tired and needs redecorating/bringing up to date. My room although very tidy had a falling in ceiling and damp. The staff however were amazing and would put a lot of Hotels to shame.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

the area is lovely, breakfast is great, the building is spacious and the value for money in general is excellent. Good service, we appreciated the tea/coffee possibilities in the room. We felt very much at ease in the Lodge and will definitely go there again .


69%

All attempts at cleanliness provided by the staff are thwarted by the age of building. Do not be discouraged. The staff are cheerful and helpful in answering questions; your rest at the lodge will be a quiet one. Security in the building is something to be noted: the front desk is 'manned, however the door locks didn't work. Often, I was able to walk into my dorm room without my key card. The real treat of this place are the grounds. You can picnic or spend a morning getting lost in a hedge maze


74%

The building was an architectural gem in the sixties but sadly has not been maintained in recent years. The site is great, set in a large park with adjacent sports grounds and beautiful trees. The room was basic and tidy but it was disturbing to see rotting window sills. We were disappointed the hostel did not supply any soap in the bathroom and the toilet cistern functioned so poorly. On the positive side, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Really enjoyed my stay here. All the staff went out of their way to be helpful and make sure everything was ok. Great breakfast included, wifi is good and the park is a beautiful location to base yourself with the train and some shops just a short stroll away. Will be back!


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback