X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Lodge at Crystal Palace Reviews

Crystal Palace National Sports Centre, Upper Norwood, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
230 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

TheThe hotel might have been nice some thirty years ago, now it is completely run down, derelict with broken furniture. Everything you touch is covered in grease, ther is an unpleasant odour around and it is far from properly cleaned. However, the staff are very kind. Modern prison cells offer mor luxury than a standard room in that hotel. It should either be closed and renovated or deconstructed.

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed for 4 days in what has to be the mmost amazing surroundings - vintage architecture in the middle of Crystal Palace Park with the national sports centre next door. despite some obvious renovation needs the place was clean, the staff were lovely and the wifi was spot on. I was sorry to leave. I would recommend the hostel to anyone on a budget.☺

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

Booked ensuite room no double bed as stated but three single beds, plaster peeling off the walls in real need of refurbishing, smelly stale air in the room, no furnishings, tea and coffee facilities available but clearly advised not to drink the tap water in room. Room and carpet was dirty and unkept. No soap or toilet freshner. One of the lifts were out of order and the another one didn't go to our floor. For the more expensive suite it really wasn't value for money and we will never go back

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff were very friendly. It would be helpful, however, if they were just able to make it clear to people that even though you can just turn the handle to go out of the room it is actually locked from the outside. Tired building, but funcional and if you're not in it much it's fine. Got a small TV, small sink, small kettle, bed fairly comfy, warm room ,clean bedding and towel. Powerful shower, just don't look behind the shower door, as don't think this bit gets cleaned. Wouls use again.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

I stayed here on and off while working in the city, and no luck renting accommodation. The Lodge had everything I needed. Secure room, towels, fresh bed linen, tea and coffee in the room, continental breakfast included. The day and night staff were always friendly and helpful. Great value for money. I will be back again in the future!


83%

Functional and convenient for access to our family locally. Strange arrangement of stairs and lifts meant we carried our bag down.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendly and helpful staff, breakfast each morning included, always hot water in the shower, tea and coffee in your room each day. Excellent value for money.


77%

for the location this place is great value for money and I would be happy to stay there again, everyone there is helpful and friendly. I would recommend that anyone who stays asks about how to lock there door when they check in as this is not the most straight forward lock system (which I did) also I think it would be a good idea if there was a lock on the outer door for each pair of rooms, as the toilet shower room is quite small so you normally have to return to your own room to get dried 7/10

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Love this place, has everything you need and delicious breakfast. In middle of a park full of parrots and squirrels. Really close to overground station and very quiet. Have never met such friendly staff. If I would be living in a house at the sea I would still go there for holidays.


77%

It's a bit far from central London. The only option to get to the centre is by Overground, wich is much more slower than the Underground. I had some other problems with wifi. The signal was very poor. This is not a hostel at all, it's a lodge, used mostly for young athletes who comes to the Crystal Palace National Sports Center.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I've seen a few negative reviews of this place based upon cleanliness. They apparently confuse 'clean' with 'new'. It is a little run down, but on the scale of European hostels it's perfectly fine. The one complaint I had was that there is virtually no sound isolation. This was mildly annoying when troops of children were pounding up and down the stairs at 07:30, or when the person in the adjacent room came back late in the evening. Overall, they provide serviceable accomodation.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

My booking was lost / not received by the hostel on what was a very busy weekend due to events etc. Joan on reception was a star and managed to get me a room for the night and an even better room ready for first thing the next morning - thank you!

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

I boked 3 nights, but when I got there only 2 nights were available. Finding accomodation for the 3rd night at short notice proved expensive and time consuming.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff are fantastic thanks !!

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Plus: - friendly employees - clean room - good value for money - located in beautiful park and close to train station

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Very friendly helpful staff. Good location with plenty of parking. Unfortunately the building is a little dated and the bedrooms would benefit from updating. However at only £30 for a single room including a cooked breakfast in London you can't expect the Ritz!!

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

I found the staff to be friendly and easy going. The breakfast in the morning is always good. The only difficulty is getting drinkable water to make a tea in your roomroom so I would suggest taking your own bottled water or using the water machine.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

It is a great hotel. You have a single-bed room with a nice view on the surrounding parks. Inside the room, you have a desk, a flat screen TV, a water boiling jug, some refreshments, a hand washbasin and a comfortable bed. Every two rooms share a bath-room. However, it is only one step from your room, so it isn't far away. There is Wi-Fi in the room. Public transport is perfect: only 5 min walk from Crystal Palace train station. The hostel's environment is safe. No security problems at all.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Room was clean but tired. No information on how to lock my room - ended up propping a chair against the door!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Lovely and quiet, but not the place to stay if you're looking to go out and party. A bit of a hairy experience coming back late at night after various public transport delays. All in all, very good value and friendly staff.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(126 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback