X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Lodge at Crystal Palace Reviews

Crystal Palace National Sports Centre, Upper Norwood, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
264 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The best hostel in london i love it !! Better than the others!!


74%

Unfortunately the shared toilet/shower had a door that had swollen and therefore would not close to never mind lock. This obviously was uncomfortable especially as we were a mixed sex couple and did not know if other residents would be using it. Despite this I found the staff very helpfull and accomodating , so it was a shame it tarnished an otherwise ideal stopover .


83%

Great value for money. Only issue I had was that there was no soap in the room.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The lodge is a disgrace to our national sports facility. The paint was peeling and hanging from the shower ceiling, the toilet seat was broken. The room was a disgrace, it had never seen a hoover, dirty mirrors, most alarmingly was the horrible mouldy roof which was probably caused by the upper room shower leaking. The bedding and towels were perfectly clean as good as premier inns. After running the cold water tap for an hour you still got warm water which was not even drinking water. Awful!!!!

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This Gentleman actually enquired about extending his stay

77%

Very nice lady at reception and good value for money. Also include continental breakfast which is great value for the cost of room.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

My deposit did not secure a room (this has now happened twice at this lodge) and the management did nothing to accommodate that I had consequential losses with nowhere to stay late evening in London or indeed to refund the booking deposit payment. Sort it out Hostelworld and return my deposit!!

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Good value for money. It would be helpful if bedroom door could be locked from the inside. Staff friendly and welcoming.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel is a small funky out dated high rise that provides housing for the National Sporting Center. The place is ok but worn. The rooms are fine for what you pay. The room is private but toilet and shower are shared with one other room. It's very close to the Crystal Palace station which gets you to the center of London in about 30 minutes. The area is pretty nice and feels safe to me. My one complaint is the doors slam loudly and the building can be kind of noisy if busy. Breakfast is ok.


89%

Great location, very helpful staff. It ain't the ritz, but it's great for the price. Thanks for having us!

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

The door to the shared bathroom wouldn't close. We arrived at ten p.m. and couldn't pay with a credit card until the morning so I had to leave my passport with them. Wish they had informed us of that beforehand. All in all the atmosphere at the hotel wasn't very welcoming or friendly.


54%

I believe to have contracted scabies from my bed sheets. Perhaps it was foolish of me to expect to use sheets in a hostel.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Basic but great value for private room. Good views. Decent continental breakfast which you can upgrade to cooked for £1.


83%

Excellent!

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Great value for money and convenient location. No complaints...

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Rooms immaculately clean and the staff, especially Joan, very friendly. Definitely stay there again.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

I like the surrounding of this hostel, so much greenary, although there is little light at night. So if it is your first time, I recommend that you arrive when the sun is still up, if not the place is dark and hard to find this hostel. In addition, it is hard to reach the airport from this hostel in the early morning. So if you have a flight in the morning like 7am, then you either have to take cab to the airport (which is probably going to be expensive), or stay at the airport overnight.


86%

Excellent value for money for London! Not very central, though.


89%

Very friendly and helpful staff. The premises could do with some decorating. Over all very good for money.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


23%

This hostel is flat out scary. The doors don't really lock, the building is dimly lit, the surrounding area is a dark park, which lacks night time security. The guy at the front desk was extremely unprofessional, with an unbuttoned shirt. He said he didn't know how to use the credit card machine, so wanted to keep my passport overnight. He never actually registered me with the hostel and handed me an old bent up key card, telling me to scan the card twice to lock the door. Dirty and unsafe.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place for the price. I Had a single room as working in the area. Extremely clean, towel, sink, TV and kettle. Friendly staff, manager very helpful in the morning. Good breakfast too. Bathroom could do with a but of updating! But overall good.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(149 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback