Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Lodge at Crystal Palace

  • Crystal Palace National Sports Centre, Upper Norwood, London, England

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
8.3

Clean, comfortable and basic- no complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
4.3

we got to the lodge at approx 7pm to be informed that the card machine closed at 6.30pm so we had to pay cash! I asked for a receipt and was told that this couldn't be done but it would be emailed to me - I am still waiting! the bathroom had mould in the shower and the ceiling above the wardrobe was also mouldy, the bed was also very uncomfortable with spring pushing through the thin mattress.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
8.3

Amazing service! The Crystal Palace team are super polite and attentive. Joan is by ft my favourite -- as well as the housekeeper. You can hear the birds outside your window!! Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
8.6

Basic no nonsense lodge. Great for Crystal Palace area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
8.0

Very friendly and helpful staff, great location and easy to find. Only thing couldn't get the shower working properly got too hot s and no shower gel r soap but otherwise was great and breakfast was very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
6.3

Cheap and relatively cheerful for an early morning start from the national sports centre. Probably not greatly convenient for exploring London and not a place to spend an evening, though. Oh, and don't forget to bring soap and shampoo!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Apr 2017
8.0

Plus: quiet and clean location, free breakfast and tea in the room, almost personal bathroom (one per 2 rooms), low price. Minus: weariness of bed, mattress, walls, lampshades; some rooms may be really hot on the sun and in front of the noisy walkway (bright at night), sometimes it is hard to get to London in a convenient way (no bike rent, overground service may be stopped), breakfast without hot meals. Conclusion: quiet and private countryside hotel with low price for non-demanding persons.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
8.3

Very clean, friendly staff, good for the price, mattress a bit lumpy all in all good value. Would stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
9.7

It would be a perfect 10..but my door lock malfunctioned and I had to get the night porter to let me back into my room. Otherwise, it's a great value facility, with bed, breakfast and Wi-Fi for £32/night, close to the Overground train to Victoria or London Bridge, and with parking if needed. I liked the view from my 8th floor window, and watching the many squirrels making mischief in the park surrounding The Lodge. I will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
6.0

Depends what you want. Basic and old facilities; no hot water in my basin and bedsprings were not comfortable. A ten minute walk to get to it from the station through the park in the dark could be risky on a Friday night. If you want to put up with this, £32 for a single room is not bad.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.