Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Lodge at Crystal Palace

  • Crystal Palace National Sports Centre, Upper Norwood, London, England

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 383 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 383 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
9.1

The hotel is located in Crystal Palace Park and it is a very quiet and green place. It only takes 5 minutes from Crystal Palace Station by foot. Staff were really friendly and the breakfast was nice. The price was good too :) The facilities are old so some people might mind but it was OK to me. I enjoyed staying there :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2017
8.0

The staff are very nice. The Lodge is in the middle of Crystal Palace park, it's quiet. The building has seen better days and the whole infrastructure needs an overhaul. However, it's clean and good value for money (for London).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
5.7

The Hostel is cheap and it shows, the bed frame was wobbly, linen was clean but the room in general was very rundown, wardrobe broken, skirting boards crumbling, shower scruffy and very small, water from taps labelled as "not drinking water". On arrival the staff were indifferent and hardly welcoming. The breakfast was a continental style and there was a good supply

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
8.3

I thought I would revisit the Lodge for an over night stay on my way back from the Tennis at Wimbledon. I knew it was budget so did not have huge expectations and was not disappointed. I simply wanted a room to myself with a shower having spent 3 days camping in the Wimbledon queue. The bed was soft clean and two towels where at my disposal. Having a kettle with a couple sachets of coffee and tea was a a nice touch. The TV worked but battery's in remote flat not an issue when I had my own

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
8.3

Clean, comfortable and basic- no complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
4.3

we got to the lodge at approx 7pm to be informed that the card machine closed at 6.30pm so we had to pay cash! I asked for a receipt and was told that this couldn't be done but it would be emailed to me - I am still waiting! the bathroom had mould in the shower and the ceiling above the wardrobe was also mouldy, the bed was also very uncomfortable with spring pushing through the thin mattress.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
8.3

Amazing service! The Crystal Palace team are super polite and attentive. Joan is by ft my favourite -- as well as the housekeeper. You can hear the birds outside your window!! Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
8.6

Basic no nonsense lodge. Great for Crystal Palace area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
8.0

Very friendly and helpful staff, great location and easy to find. Only thing couldn't get the shower working properly got too hot s and no shower gel r soap but otherwise was great and breakfast was very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
6.3

Cheap and relatively cheerful for an early morning start from the national sports centre. Probably not greatly convenient for exploring London and not a place to spend an evening, though. Oh, and don't forget to bring soap and shampoo!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.