X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Loft Design Hostel Reviews

No.4 Xiao Tong Xiang, Tong Ren Road, Chengdu, Chengdu, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
522 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Love this hostel. Stay here every time I pass through Chengdu. Comfortable but quirky rooms, interesting hippy neighbourhood (tons of hipster cafes on the same street)


63%

Much too noisy and cold. You need ear protection to fall asleep and two or more blankets to sleep warm (we were there in December). The heating system was broken but nobody was in charge of taken care...

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Tobias, Thanks for your review, we have already fixed our heating system, you are welcome to come back and try them, thank you again, have a nice trip in China. Loft

74%

The cafe at the hostel was super expensive so we never ate there. The tours were more expensive for pandas than doing it by yourself (Easy-see lonely planet). There was no Friday night welcome party as advertised because the venue "wasn't busy enough to have a party". Beds were comfy but bathrooms not great. The place was cold and poor ambience


100%

best hostel I've ever stayed in China

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The pungent smell from the public toilet at the ground floor was horrifying. The smell were only gone on the third day our stay. As we are staying in a room with bathroom attached, it did not affect us directly. Wondering how others were dealing with the smell. The trash in the room was not cleaned on daily basis. On day 2, the trash was cleared from the room but not the toilet. I could not figured out the "half-bake" kind of services provided. Location is good. Walking distance to metro.


46%

We don't usually rate hostels but this hostel should be shut down due to high mould There were rats in the common areas and you can hear them in the night in the ceiling scratching around The room that we were put into was very mouldy and damp (to the point where the mattresses on all the beds felt wet). Three of the four people in the room developed a bad cough and we all discussed how dirty and damp this hostel was The bathrooms were the most disgusting we've seen in China Do not stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We were so sorry about what you have met in our hostel. Chengdu is a high humid city especially in the winter time. We will turn the heating on then the first floor would be less humid. Also we do clean bathroom every hour,if you are unsatisfied,please tell us, we will clean it right away. Anyway, thanks for your stay and thanks for your review, Have a nice trip in China. Elva

80%

Very helpfull staff, good place to stay. Room was a bit noisy though, bring your ear plugs!




View all Chengdu Hostels

Please give us your feedback