X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Londonears Hostel Reviews

1 Barkson Gardens, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

60%

Rating
76 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 59%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 57%Staff
  • 52%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 52%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Good location and relativelly reasonably priced (depending on booking times). Interior is rough, needs a good clean and a brush of paint.


89%

I booked a dorm room of 6 for a birthday weekend in London, the price was excellent, the rooms were simple but bright and clean. Staff were very friendly and flexible about people checking in at different times etc. Ive stayed in a lot of hostels in various countries and pretty sure these were also the best hostel showers ive ever used! Would definitely stay afain.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

very average hostel, no frills at this one . no kitchen either for that matter . great jump off point if your catching the easy bus to/from the airport's


63%

Very difficult to find, and when we called to ask for directions, the staff was incredibly unhelpful-- upon arrival (finally), they gave us no real welcome or information. The kitchen was completely useless, with only a small fridge and microwave and no utensils/plates/cups, which is OK but don't advertise that there is a The whole place was just not very welcoming, pretty dingy and didn't seem very clean-- but the rooms were cleaner and the bed was all right, so at least that.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

cheap hostel in the heart of london - staff was friendly, the place was clean.


23%

I've been to 29 countries and this is the WORST hostel I've ever stayed at. There is absolutely no atmosphere or culture and attracts people who can't seem to figure how to flush the toilet. You'll also find loose hair and foam in the sink. Rate may seem cheap but all fascilities are also an additional cost. ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30


34%

One of the worst hostel I've been to,and I saw quite a few. Dirty,not enough facilities,etc...

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

I thought this hostel showers were too cold. The rooms were good though and £3 for a continental breakfast seems expensive when u can get a cooked one down the road for same price. Receptionist attitude when checking in wasn't helpful and a little rude. I have to say for the price the bed was comfortable but facilities could be improved.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

Probably the worst hostel in which I've ever been, never thought I would have found it in London. The whole atmosphere is just SAD, the common area is just some essential tables in an empty room, the least inviting place to socialize. The personal is beyond the not giving a f+++k. And the worst part is that also with such a low quality YOU PAY FOR Everything, 3 pounds a day for WI-FI ( in an hostel, are you joking?), 3p a day, deposit your baggage? 3p a day, adapter? 4p, Look somewhere else...


37%

One of the worst hostel experience of my life


49%

the heating sistem made me crazy,one night it was freezing and the next I felt sick because it was very hot, no way of having it right. For a few nights you will survive but I think the price is way too high for the service, one shared shower separated of one toilet per floor! very difficult stairs if you are with a big luggage, I will recomend this hostel just for young backpackers...

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Stayed in the 4bed room with friends. Room was in the different building than the reception and in the 3rd floor so was really quiet. Earl Court's tube station is right next to the hostel and ride to centre London takes just 10mins. Breakfast costs 3pounds per morning (basically just coffee and toast) but there are a lots of small cafés and pubs close where you can have a breakfast. My first stay at hostel ever and didn't give me any traumas

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Hostel was extremely expensive considering the facilities .. Wi if barely reaches the rooms and it cost £3 for 24 hours when ya can barely use it.. The kitchen doesn't have any cooking facilities but a microwave and to top things off the hostel doesn't even supply plates bowls or even the basic cutlery ! Would definitely look for other options In London .. It's okay if ya don't want wi fi and ya don't mind eating microwave meals👌


89%

very good staff, girls in reception....super

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Jesus christ, get your act together londonears. Simple stuff such as those automatic door closers that are all calibrated wrong really shouldn't be a problem. And provide a waste bucket in the rooms. That really should be obvious

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

This place was filthy with rat traps everywhere. The basement (where they put us) smelled of rotting food and mold so bad you had to hold your breath in the hallways. The showers were clean but small and communal. Apparently people can live there so you have really strange characters.




View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback