Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Mad Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2,315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2,315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
The Mad Monkey Located at Building 26, Street 302, BKK1 Phnom Penh, Phnom Penh.
The Mad Monkey
Cambodia
Phnom Penh Building 26, Street 302, BKK1 Phnom Penh
85% 2315
11.5527314 104.9258708
The Mad Monkey
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jul 2016
8.9

The girl with Amy-Winehouse-ish eye makeup(Sorry I am bad at names) made my stay there really awesome! She's very sweet and I can see that she enjoyed her work there. I tried the sunset barbecue which was nice. Bed is HUGE and so soft that I sinked in. Only stayed for one night but I will def stay there again if I visit Phnom Penh next time. Cheers mad monkey, great job! Hope I will visit you guys soon!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
7.7

Great place to stay as someone who has recently started travelling in their own. Good atmosphere and the pool and events in the bar in the evening really help you to meet people. The food in the restaurant was good, a bit more expensive than I was expecting seeing as it is a hostel. Most of the staff were lovely and very helpful, unfortunately the man on the front desk who seemed to be in charge was very rude and unhelpful, but the girls behind the desk make up for it. Great beds!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • BKK2BKK
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Jul 2016
6.0

Few Points: - food and drink is outrageously overpriced. Prepare to take out another student loan. - atmosphere was touch and go. - beds were large and comfortable. Pleasant experience. - Rest was fine.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
7.4

This hostel had a great vibe and great energy! Definitely there to be a party hostel and not much more. The least possible facilities in your room to make it a reasonable place to sleep. Bathrooms not the most clean. Screaming neighbors until into the morning and impossible to get away from the noise of the bar. If you're one and only goal is to party, this is a GREAT hostel and a ton of fun, but otherwise really not worth the stay. Staff was helpful but usually too busy to help out quickly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.9

Pretty cool place to stay, we stayed in a private room with a shared bathroom. Plenty of bathrooms, sometimes felt like we had a personal one. Cleaned all the time. Aircon excellent in the room. Great sized room. Just up a lot of stairs, and can sometime hear the upstairs bar at night, but stops at about 11pm. Would recommend. Excellent place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jul 2016
7.7

Had a good stay here, the beds were clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Our room had been double booked which resulted in our sharing two beds, which was fine, and ended up saving us some money. The food in the restaurant is very hit and miss and quite expensive, but we had a couple of good meals there so don't be dissuaded.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
8.3

Nice comfortable hostel, highlight of which is the food on offer in the restaurant. Not sure it's quite worth $8 plus a night though, if you're on a budget I'd look elsewhere. Atmosphere isn't as good as I've seen elsewhere for a better price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jul 2016
7.4

Nice stay here the rooftop bar is a good place to meet people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
7.7

This is definitely a party hostel. Note that there are dorms/private rooms on the same floor as the bar, and things can get very, very loud. It's centrally located, and many places are a short tuk-tuk ride away. The staff were very helpful in setting up day tours (they have several tuk-tuk drivers in their employ) and buses from Phnom Penh to other cities in and outside of Cambodia. Somewhat clean, but we did see some cockroaches. Great facilities - cafe/restaurant, pool, laundry services.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
8.3

This is a really fun hostel, but being a very social hostel it has it's fair share of drunk and obnoxious jerks. It is semi expected, but my experience was tainted because a drunk guy banged on a door from 3 AM to 4 AM yelling at his girlfriend, making it impossible for anyone to sleep. I never heard anyone step in to help.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.