Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Mad Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th Feb 2017
8.9

Loved this hostel. Rooftop bar has fun events going every night so super easy to meet people. Rooms were nice and clean, pretty basic but still good value for what you pay. Even has a nice pool to escape the heat of Phnom Penh. On site restaurant is a little bit more expensive than other local options but good if you're feeling lazy, they'll even bring food over to you at the pool if you like. Would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
9.1

We stayed here for 1 night after hearing good things and we weren't disappointed! Staff were really friendly and helpful, atmosphere had a real buzz and the bar crawl was excellent. Our room was unfortunately next to a room having work on so we had power tools going off at 7am which isn't ideal after getting in at 4am. We told the staff about it and they were so accommodating and apologetic and gave us a free breakfast which more than made up for lack of sleep. Would strongly recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
8.3

Staff are friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is fun and colourful, but for sleeping it wasn't the best. There was constant construction going on, not to mention the noise from the bar upstairs. The top bunks are nose-bleed high, and it's hot up there. The bed linens were cheap and uncomfortable. The food was absolutely delicious, though, highly recommend it. If you want somewhere to party and meet people, this is it. Just don't expect to get great sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
10.0

Nice place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Feb 2017
7.4

Good hostel. Great size beds and great showers. Very comfy. Bit pricey for what it is. The bar and restaurant are in a seperate building up the road and is expensive for what it is. Not a lot to do, but I sorted my visa through them for Vietnam with no hassle and booked the killing fields through them and that was good too. Overall its okay. The bar music is too loud it doesn't match the atmosphere you have to shout to talk to people even when it's early and not many people there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
7.1

Solid party hostel. Major points off because the bed was the least comfortable one in 4 months of traveling. It was just springs, nothing else. Wifi also not great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
9.1

Staff was super helpful and location was fine. We booked an all-day tour with one of their tuk tuk drivers and had a wonderful time! Chen was very nice and looked out for us to come outside after every visit. Hostel wasn't too loud, though some drunk idiot did try to get into our private room one night. Overall, we felt safe and well taken care of.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Fantastically friendly staff who ensure everyone is having a good time. (Thank you Paula and Henri!) Each night there is a different social activity - mostly centered around drinking games or a pub crawl but inevitably it's a great way to meet people whether you're there to get a little silly or not. Good pool with good sunlight and a convenient bar. The upstairs bar of the unit across the street is great too with foosball and other games. Staff is helpful for arranging tours and suggestions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
8.6

The mad monkey hostel is very well situated in the centre of phnom penh, close to attractions and bars. The hostel bar is very lively and easy to meet other travellers. Beds are very comfy. Overall very nice hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
10.0

Stayed here for 5 nights and had a great time. The hostel is in an up market area and easily accessible. It's walking distance from most sights and the streets around are great to explore. A big plus was the swimming pool and bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.