Hostelworld.com

The Mad Monkey

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2,178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2,178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
The Mad Monkey Located at Building 26, Street 302, BKK1 Phnom Penh, Phnom Penh.
The Mad Monkey
Cambodia
Phnom Penh Building 26, Street 302, BKK1 Phnom Penh
85% 2178
11.5527314 104.9258708
The Mad Monkey
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th May 2016
7.7

Was a bit disappointed in that we expected a bit more of a lively atmosphere. Good location and worth staying at for a few nights just to see the killing fields and s21.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • penasam
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2016
8.6

Arrived at night while there was a party on going at the rooftop bar and lobby restaurant. It was loud and wasnt able to get some sleep until they ended the party at mdnight. The hostel is perfect if youre up to party; not recomended if youre going to sleep in. Staff was helpful in booking bus/shuttle/tours; service is good; restaurant has nice food; pool was a plus!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th May 2016
9.4

Great atmosphere and places to chill and mingle by yourself or with others around the pool etc. We had a room by the roof top bar and it is noisy unfortunately. Both me and the bf had to wear ear plugs to sleep. Staff were so friendly and happy. Wifi was patchy. Good food and drinks at the restaurant but more Western prices. Over all cool place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
16th May 2016
8.0

Nice and big hostel, the buildings are very well decorated and the rooftop bar is nice. The swimming pool are is small, but it's ok to meet new people. The love at all the Mad Monkey is amazing but a bit pricey!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th May 2016
8.0

I found the hostel nice and clean, the staff were very friendly. Good food and drink selection and a nice pool to relax in. Nothing to do with the hostel but some of the girls in my room were completely unaware of hostel etiquette. They were a group of four friends who were speaking really loudly even though it was about 1 am and there were others asleep. :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2016
10.0

Brilliant place and absolute value for money. Staff are really nice, they sorted out Vietnam visas here no hassle at all

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th May 2016
9.1

Good stay at mad monkey, would definitely stay again. Staff were very friendly and always happy to help

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2016
9.4

we were only supposed to stay here for 2 nights, but extended to 4 because I was poorly, and I'm so happy we did!! The beds were so comfortable, lockers under the bed which was a very good idea, bar upstairs was always busy in the evenings and really good to meet new people, staff were so helpful, restaurant downstairs was a little prices but the food was amazing so I didn't mind paying that price. Overall I felt very comfortable and safe at this hostel, and I will definitely be going back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th May 2016
5.7

Apart from the main man on the front desk the others were super unhelpful. The all female dorm is below the bar too so if you're not going out there's no chance of sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • elliemcg
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th May 2016
7.7

Loved this hostel especially the swimming pool and bar area! Can be quite noisy though if you are in the room next to the bar (which I was on my first night). Restaurant is good but can be overpriced! Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.