Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Mad Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2,362 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2,362 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
The Mad Monkey Located at Building 26, Street 302, BKK1 Phnom Penh, Phnom Penh.
The Mad Monkey
Cambodia
Phnom Penh Building 26, Street 302, BKK1 Phnom Penh
85% 2362
11.5527314 104.9258708
The Mad Monkey
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.7

Awesome stay- the restaurant has such tasty food and the drinks are reasonably priced. The staff was so sweet and helpful, would stay there again 100%

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Aug 2016
9.7

Really fun sociable hostel & nice staff!! Food at the restaurant was unreal and different events every night, we had a bar crawl and a bbq while we were there! If you're not there to party, the bar closes at 11.45 and everyone heads out so perfect mixture!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
8.3

Although it has a very corporate sort of feel due to its rapid expansion in the last few years, I highly recommend it to people who like to party. If you want to sleep, I suggest a different place, though. Our room was right next to the bar and the hostel bar is hopping every night. Super friendly staff and overall great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
8.6

Nice place but very loud at night,also location not so good if u wanna see real Phnom Penh,good party hostel though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.9

Stayed here with a friends after arriving from Vietnam. Very easy hostel to find as its the most popular. The hostel was clean and had ensuite bathrooms (2 in each room). The staff were very helpful at organising buses and tours and the buses they arranged were fantastic. The bar and Resturant is across the road and although expensive for Asia the food is pretty damn good. The drinks are expensive considering it's a hostel but they do take you to a club in the evening. Pool was clean but small.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.7

Lovely sociable hostel. There is always something going on in the evening so not the quietest. Very friendly staff that are always willing to help.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Great Hostel! Loved my stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.3

As much as this should have been a great place to stay the staff made my stay negative. From rude staff on the desk to then being put in the wrong bed and having to discuss over the phone why I wouldn't pay for 2 beds as I was sleeping in the one I was told to on arrival and had only occupied that one. Also charged me phone call to book a minibus and was told that coffee was included with breakfast when I ordered but then got charged it on the bill because it was never meant to be included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Aug 2016
7.1

Not for the budget backpacker. I went to book a bus to battembang which quoted at $8, later went up to $9. Booked at the bus office for $5.50, same service. $3.50 commission takes the XXX. That's a meal. Doors were basic, bit dirty, 1 bathroom for 20. The communal areas are nice, good standard. Staff lost a passport, accusing us of not giving it to them, after looking, found it and laughed in our face. Failed to tell us the pick up time for our bus, told us we missed it and laughed. So rude.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
9.7

Very clean hostel with a young staff. Has a party vibe if you want to but bar closes at 11.45 so you can get a good nights sleep too. Food in the restaurant is good and pool is nice but small.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.