Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Mad Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Joerobertwright
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
7.7

Good party hostel, pretty lively atmosphere and clean. The staff were ok but weren't particularly friendly and I felt like they just wanted to do the minimum possible. Very much a case of go here to get drunk and don't expect much else (which suited me just fine!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
7.4

Good atmosphere in the hostel and not too noisy late at night however there can be some issues with it. Food in the restaurant is fairly good and not too expensive. However they're isn't much by the way of good food located nearby. The toilet in my room wasn't very clean and the drains smelt which was really the only issue with staying here. Facilities were very good though and I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.9

Only stayed one night as then went.on to kampot but will stay again when we go back to phnom phen, the rooms and beds are really good and we'll airconed, the upstairs bar was very nice and had a good atmosphere and had a really good bbq on the night we went. The restaurant downstairs did really good Mexican food, didn't really use the pool area this time but most likely will when we go back, great hostel would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
8.3

Good hostel - good vibe. Be careful of tuk tuk drivers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Apr 2017
5.4

Is an ok place to stay for 1 night or maybe 2 if you just need to rest whilst travelling across Cambodia. Bed's weren't very comfy and showers were awful. Didn't really like the staff as came across as rude. Would only stay here if you're spending 1 night since it's cheap.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Apr 2017
6.3

The food, pool and staff were great! Bathroom was disgusting, the worst I've seen!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
9.4

Overall an amazing place. The security was a little lax during the day, but that also just made it easier for us to get in and out of the rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
8.6

Beautiful area. The hammocks and swings above the water are great to relax in. The bar closes at midnight and music consists of top 40. The beach is secluded to the hostel and they have a monopoly on food and alcohol so bring your own booze and snacks to avoid a high tab at check out. Bring plenty of cash to avoid their 10% surcharge.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
5.4

When showed my room, saw over 10 bed buds within the first 5 minutes. Asked to move and was moved to a dorm with more beds for same price. Then had issue with visa process and staff miscommunicated situation which forced me to have to change all subsequent plans and locations. Very frustrating experience here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
8.9

I loved my time spent at Mad Monkey. The pool, rooftop bar, restaurant and common areas are the perfect place to meet people. I had an amazing crew to hang with every night I was there and are still friends with them! The staff are great and very helpful with booking tours, exchanging money, printing documents. I had to get my non b Visa and the staff was great helping me with last minute documents I needed. The atmosphere here is at the top of the list for hostels I have stayed at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.