Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Mad Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,558 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,558 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
The Mad Monkey Located at Building 26, Street 302, BKK1 Phnom Penh, Phnom Penh.
The Mad Monkey
Cambodia
Phnom Penh Building 26, Street 302, BKK1 Phnom Penh
86% 2558
11.5527314 104.9258708
The Mad Monkey
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Dec 2016
10.0

I can't give them a high enough score. The Mad Monkey finds the perfect balance of being a fun party hostel while also providing nice accommodations with clean facilities. The pool area provides a great daytime hangout spot to meet fellow travelers and have some fun and at night the rooftop bar is great. The staff is also very friendly and accommodating. I fell quite ill while in Phnom Penh and they gave me a discount on a private room and went out of their way to help me out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
6.9

Great if you want to party every night but if you want to sleep before 1am, look elsewhere and we are not light sleepers. Pool is on road side and very busy. Roof top bar is a small balcony. Room had no window apart from one onto the corridor and onto the staircase. The latter had no curtain so room never dark. Paint/waste smell from bathroom. Extremely hard bed. Overpriced. Excellent staff, management and on site restaurant let down by poor accommodation.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Nov 2016
6.9

Really nice hostel. 2 out of the 3 beds in our room were so uncomfortable we couldn't sleep. We booked a triple private room and it was so tiny! The pool is nice though. The majority of the staff are not nice at all and it takes forever to be served on the restaurant. The food is really good though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2016
6.9

A real mixed bag of some things good and some bad. Having a number of the rooms close or next to the bar area means if you want a quiet evening without drinking that isn't happening until midnight. Room facilities were OK but nothing special. Whilst the restaurant staff weren't the most attentive, the people working on the reception were very pleasant and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Nov 2016
5.1

No enough staff at the desks. Always a queue and bad english at least to advise you. Good location and security. No common areas to sit and have your food. (Expensive food ) Pubcrawl staff trying to sell you drinks and games all the time, and only interested in picking up girls. Free punch offered from 8 to 9 was over literally at 8 40 so we couldn t had any.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
8.3

The hostel itself I had no complaints about. Pretty clean, rooms were fine, with a/c. There's a nice pool and a restaurant with cheap/great food. There's also multiple bars and lots of common room area. However, it's definitely a party hostel and it's super loud until 12pm every night (when the bar closes). Also like 90% of the people staying there are English/Australian, so not much diversity...if you're looking to party every night then this is your hostel. Location was also pretty good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th Nov 2016
9.4

Amazing staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
8.3

Very lively and active hostel. Party every night and lots of people hanging out in the bar, small pool and restaurant where you can get good food. The stuff at the reception are the nicest I've met with good advice and big smiles! Only bad thing is the communal bathrooms are really not cleaned often enough (should be *at least* once a day!).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jessyb44
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th Nov 2016
8.3

Good location... clean enough and good facilities. Pool only small but nice if you can get a space to sunbathe. The mad monkey restaurant across the road is good for socialising... the BBQ food was great and other food served there was very nice!! Only issue was we booked a bus to shinoukville and waited half an hour in the morning until going outside to find out the staff had told us the wrong place to wait so we had to get a tuk tuk to meet the bus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
8.3

I'm not quite the party animal so the late night bar may be too noisy for guests trying to get some good rest. Otherwise, if you're a young backpacker looking for a fun time, this would be perfect. Facilities are pretty decent with a small splash pool for a relaxing dip. Staff are very friendly and helpful esp when I got anxious that my pickup did not arrive on stated time, they were accommodating to assist to call the transport company again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.