Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Mad Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
The Mad Monkey Located at Building 26, Street 302, BKK1 Phnom Penh, Phnom Penh.
The Mad Monkey
Cambodia
Phnom Penh Building 26, Street 302, BKK1 Phnom Penh
86% 2421
11.5527314 104.9258708
The Mad Monkey
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sarstewbigtrip
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
9.7

Amazing place! A sanctuary in the middle of Phnom Penh where you otherwise feel very unsafe. It's spread across the road in two buildings and we were in a private double the first night (huge room, super clean, great AC) then the second in a dorm in the building where the pool/reception is as they didn't have availability elsewhere. If you can, try and stay in the building with the restaurant as it's more modern and the wifi is much stronger. Would recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
8.6

No doubt about it Mad Monkey is a party hostel. So if that's what you want great but if not I would definitely avoid it. Loads of people, really easy to meet people and have fun too, I was on my own and met lots of people, There are definitely cheaper hostels and in my opinion the area by the riverside like happy hostel is cheaper and cheaper food and drink places around too. Great fun though overall i definitely recommend. clean, safe and all that for sure

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
9.1

Massive hostel with big pool, 3 bars, good restaurant, pretty clean facilities. Party hostel with an event every night (beer pong, free keg, etc). Will stay again on way thru Phnom Pehn.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Sep 2016
6.3

Pros: occasional free alcohol. There is a bar. Private room clean and spacious. Cons: you feel like a walking wallet. Everything is really expensive, the laundry(which was five times the high street price) came back damp. The bar doesn't have the friendliest vibe, and you may get blagged into the four dollar shot by someone saying we are all doing shots come join us, to find out two minutes later they work there and aren't doing the shot themselves.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
9.4

Overall great hostel, definitely a more social oriented one. Came as a single traveler but felt welcome by the staff and other guests to join in and get involved. Also to note, the food was of great quality.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
11th Sep 2016
8.3

Really liked it here, extended our stay an extra night! The beds are big and the food is great in the hostel restaurant!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
6.6

The hostel itself is good (clean, good location etc)but we got the feeling that no one was really trying to help. When we asked to use the phone-additional charges.we booked a bus to siem reap and didnt notice that the pickup was one hour before stated on the ticket. When the bus company came to pick us up and we were not there, no one called us or even notified us that we had missed the pickup. They let us wait for twenty minutes, call the company and only then they told us.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad that you enjoyed the Hostel itself, I am afraid that because you booked the bus ticket yourself online we were unaware of your pick up. We can unfortunately only check the tickets booked at our Travels desk, I think this complaint should be aimed more towards the Company you used to book your ticket. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.7

Great stay at the Mad Monkey, rooms are clean and beds are comfy ! The location is nice and it's just perfect to have a pool when you come back from Angkor. The only little issue was the staff that wasn't so welcoming.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
9.1

Fun social hostel. Only knock is that there isn't many street food options nearby, but that isn't the fault of the hostel. Would definitely recommend, especially for solo travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
9.4

Stayed directly under the bar but the noise didn't bother me at all and I'm usually a light sleeper. Nothing earplugs can't fix and you'd be out yourself on most nights anyway. It's pretty quiet after 12am. Location is perfect, staff is lovely and the bed is soooo comfy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.