Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Magic Wave

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.8
The Magic Wave Located at 111 Moo 1, Bantai koh phangan, Koh Phangan.
The Magic Wave
Thailand
Koh Phangan 111 Moo 1, Bantai koh phangan
88% 146
9.7046577 100.0092744
The Magic Wave
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Nov 2016
2.9

Awful hostel. The staff was never around. If you needed help booking something they were not there to help. The pool was dirty, couldn't swim in it. The rooms were dark and the air conditioning barely worked. It was like a ghost town in this hostel. Thank God I was there with a few friends or else I would feel really unsafe. I don't recommend it at all. The only perk was that it was close to a beautiful beach.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2016
8.3

Was here when it was very quiet but very nice stay. The owners were very nice and helpful. Good location with easy access to the beach. The drain in the toilet could smelt better but apart from the room was nice too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Nov 2016
8.6

Hostel was nice but very quiet as was the whole area so not much of an atmosphere going on outside of Full Moon week. Room was fine and clean but a little dated particularly in the bathroom where the sink and loo felt like they were coming off the wall. Only small lockers not for Bags. Owners were nice and helpful and the nearby beach was lovely. No own food or drink on site but was also told the bar was closed both nights so maybe they could relax this rule when the bar is closed/low season.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Guest, First of all, thank you for your your stay and for your constructive advice. You are completely right on the fact that during low season (so from aproximetely 1rst of november till half december) the atmosphere is quiet at our place but also on the island( not a lot of people during this period.Don't forget that there is the mourning for the king's death also untill the 15 of this month. It is also the beginning of raining season, so more difficult to make outdoor activities at our place...we know it and to solve this problem we begin this month the structure to make a "entertainment area" with a roof (so usable when raining), including a pool table, ping pong table and the giant screen for movie nights, videogame and Karaoke. Concerning your room, you are right, bathroom is ok but little bit passed so the renovation of the bathroom is also for this month...we always do our best to improve the place, step by step ;)..we already did a lot in 2 years but we know we got still some points to improve. Concerning the food and bar, sorry if you had a wrong information but it is always possible to eat and drink on place (western,thai and italian food), you are right to say that in low season bar is not always open (depend if we got people who want to stay at the bar or not), but we are always on place if you need something like food or drinks to order. Sorry for that misunderstanding. In the case bar is closed and during low season we relax the rule of outside food and drinks ;) of course. See you maybe next time with a brand new Jaws room and during full moon or halfmoon party period to make a great party together ;) Thank you, Flo and Alice

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Oct 2016
5.7

Pictures are deceiving but owners were very nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Oct 2016
6.9

Our booking was during the full moon party which was canceled due to the King's death, but the staff did their best to keep the atmosphere up and pumping, even arranging a shuttle to Haad Rin for everyone staying there. The issues were with the facilities: When we arrived the water was out, and went in and out for most of our stay, meaning that we couldn't use the pool, either. On our final night, the power went out and stayed out all night, so no air con + no water was not very pleasing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
10.0

Awesome place, the owners makes you feel at home,are helpfull andthey organize "petanque",movie nights with popcorn and other activities!The room is clean and practical with good matrass, very nice swimming pool, we liked the hammac zone.Alice and Flo want their place to be "cool" and it this! You can feel it with other guests, so easy to meet and talk with other people.Location is good, close from the beach, atm, family mart, restaurant and parties...and last thing: breakfast is just amazing !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Douu6
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Oct 2016
9.7

The most peaceful place I've been so far. Beautiful cosy place with a relax atmosphere and open-minded people. The owners are lovely, a Belgian couple who love their job and that's exactly what you feel in their hostel. Beach pool hamac and dogs asking for cuddles. I felt like home, surrounded by an amazing family. I could come back just to stay there again. It worth it ! More than a simple hostel, get a room and leave with such a great experience. Merci Alice&Florian pr votre chaleurosité

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kaithedon
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
7.7

decent. no complaints. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Sep 2016
9.1

Great stay at the Magic Wave during the half moon party. The two Belgian owners were great and nothing was too much trouble. Always good music playing in the bar and plenty of beer to drink. The pool was also a great place to socialise with other guests if beer pong is not your thing. A great stay made even better by Don Diego, Cherokee and Marlene.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
10.0

Never felt more at home at a hostel. Phenomenal experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.