Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Magic Wave

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 129 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 129 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 9.0
The Magic Wave Located at 111 Moo 1, Bantai koh phangan, Koh Phangan.
The Magic Wave
Thailand
Koh Phangan 111 Moo 1, Bantai koh phangan
91% 129
9.7046577 100.0092744
The Magic Wave
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.4

Amazing, family run hostel! The hosts are super friendly, and always willing to help. The food is amazing, and the pool was an excellent addition. The only complaint we have would be that they play music very loud from early in the morning to well into the night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Jul 2016
9.1

Stayed there during the Full Moon Party and had an amazing time! The owners, Alice and Florian are amazing, helped us with everything and it felt like staying with close friends. Beach is like 50 meters away. Pool is amazing to chill and meet up. Facilities were decent, cleaned every day! Place is quiet at night which is a huge plus concidering you are on Koh Phangan!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
10.0

Man what an experience! Flo and Alice are the best hosts I have ever had. This hostel was by far the best hostel I ever stayed at. The rooms are a bit cramped but everything else about the magic wave is phenomenal. If you go there, ask Alice to sing a Celine Dion so for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Jul 2016
9.1

Stayed for the full moon party period and enjoyed it a lot. The staff there make an effort to run daily events such as beer pong and other social activities. If you don't mind being a little away from Haad Rin then definitely stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
8.0

Super, super friendly owners and staff! They put a lot of efforts into making the hostel really socialable (organising events like fifa tournament, movie night, etc.).Amazing people Outdoor Area is really good to chill out. During Full Moon period, bathroom was quite dirty due to high usage, but dorm itself was fine. Food is a little bit pricy (especially the thai food). Wifi is not really great. In total i had an amazing time there and met a lof of nice people! Thank you!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2016
10.0

I stayed few nights at the Magic Wave, probably the best hostel in Thailand where i've been so far! Alice & Flo were very nice with us and the atmosphere was really chill. I definitely recommend that place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
10.0

The place is awesome, and The staff very friendly. I recommand this place for everyone. The hostel is really Nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • serynka
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2016
8.3

Really like the place. I spend some days before full moon party and it was really calm and nice place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
7.7

The staff was friendly. Location was pretty central and easy to maneuver the island via motorbike. However, I highly recommend not to rent a bike through their partnered motorbike service. I'm not sure if the hostel makes any commission by linking their guests with the motorbike service, but I advise you to choose an independent motorbike rental stop. The one they link you with will charge you out the a** for any scratch or dent caused to the bike. I got charged 9,000 thb for a minor scratches

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello N.S., i'am sorry i was not there for your check out motorbike… Anyway, let me explain some details… Indeed we work with a local guy for the motorbike rental, it's better because he only do that so we are sure to get clean and perfect secured motorbikes. They replace broken parts and make the check of the safety points every time they rent a bike. I work with them now more than one year and half and i can say 100% he is one of the most honest of the island. My staff told me that you scratched your motorbike on one side… and i know it can count fast, one side is 5 or 6 pieces to replace… It is never nice to have to give money for an accident but they must replace the pieces and work on it…and that is a work. If i was there maybe he made you pay 8000 instead of 9000 thb… Anyway, it was very nice to get you here and listening you singing opera in the swimming pool ;), thank you for your smile !!!

3rd Mar 2016
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay at The Magic Wave, everything was perfect. The location's good & the staff is awesome, Flo & Alice are really nice people. The room was clean, the pool's perfect to chill and the new bar is perfect to party! I definitely recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.