Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Magic Wave

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
10.0

Magic wave is a good vibed, happy, fun and perfectly clean place with a big pool. There is always a positive atmosphere, extremely good music, a lot of enthusiasm and fun going on. The owners are just the best and so helpful with everything. Magic wave is my favourite hostel so far on my 6 month trip. The bed is perfect and the rooms clean. They just renovated the bathrooms which are actually the best I have seen in hostels in a long while. My sincere recommendations for this beautiful place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
10.0

Super hostel, staff au petit soins (merci à Sonny pour les cocktails de dingue ), merci à Flo pour les parties de fifa et à Alice pour les petits déjeuners gourmands ! J'ai logé en dortoir de 14 et rien à redire...literie au top, salle de bain nickel...Vivement conseillé !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.3

The staff were amazing! So friendly and happy to help! Would deffonatly go back just to see them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your comment, you are welcome to come back when you want ;)

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.0

Great staff at Magic Wave, very inviting and helpful. Not the most lively places due to location but everyone we met was friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2017
9.4

The owners Alice and Flo are amazing and will help you with anything. Being a solo traveller I look for a good atmosphere and helpful staff and they definitely have that here! The washroom in the 14 bed dorm is currently being renovated but they give you 2 drink tickets to compensate for the inconvenience. Alice is always doing extra cleaning on top of the daily maid's routine. Very helpful in organizing transport to all parties during the full moon! Thanks to Sunny as well!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heyyy, Thank you so much for your review !!! You was a nice group and i will never forget your special way to say "thank you " in thai haha ;) Thanks for the staff, thanks for your good energy !!!

  • JamieGordon89
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
10th Jan 2017
10.0

To Flow, Alice, Sunny and Alice's Mum (and anyone else we've forgotten) thanks for the best 5 days in Koh Pha Ngan. This is the best hostel in Thailand. Stay here - it's awesome! They make you feel so at home and will cater for your every need! Decent music playing all the time, lovely food and drinks behind the bar, a great pool for dipping in when your hungover and they know all the best places to party! We'll be back :) The Magic Waves ROCKS! Jamie, Joe, Pete, Stuart, Matt and Corden. London

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Guys, you was such a great team !!! ALL OF YOU ROCKS !!! 5 Great days (and nights ;) ) with you. Hope to see you again, here or in Europe ;) Big hug from Alice, Pilou, Sunny and me.

26th Dec 2016
7.1

Was alright for what it was, shame the bathroom hadn't been done when we were there as 14 people sharing a small bathroom with the shower that leaked wasn't the best! The owners were really friendly though and helpful. It's not located in the main tourist area near Haad Rin, had to get taxis in and out. Only annoying thing was the music choice all day and night , so we went elsewhere at night to get better music but think this was because the owners had friends over..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello C. First thank you for your review. We know the bathroom is really a problem in this dorm, that's why we renovate it in 2 weeks, a brand new bathroom with 2 showers, big mirror etc...we are just waiting for the tiles and mosaics coming from Bangkok. Sorry for the music, i know you was not really fan about electro, minimal and deep house ;)...that's 80% of our playlist, but we put also some reggae, rnb,rap and rock sometimes during the day...depends the mood of the moment...but yes it's right, for the warmup's it's only electro and sometimes with live dj's...and we are finishing the karaoke stage, so in the future there will be nights where you will choose and sing your favorite songs. Thank you C. and hope to see you back here to test the new bathroom ;)

  • dmalovic
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
7.1

The owners are extremely nice and will help book travel tickets, bike rental etc. The bar and pool are great. The bathroom definitely needs to be renovated and cleaned more frequently and the wifi isn't great. The food they offer is overpriced and you aren't allowed to bring outside food into the hostel. Was really happy with the service and staff but overall the hostel needs some renovations and more frequent cleaning!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, First thank you for your comments about the staff, me and Alice we really appreciate and always try to give our best for all the guests. You are completely right for the bathroom of the dorm where you stayed and, good news, we renovate it during january, you will find in it 2 brand new luxury showers. Concerning the cleaning i must give some precisions, our housekeeping staff comes 2 times a day to clean in the dorms, Alice is cleaning 1 time in the evening, means 3 times a day. We can understand that after 5 people taking a shower there will be water everywhere in the bathroom, that's why you got also at your disposal all the material to clean by yourself if necessary. During the day we are always at your disposal for an extra cleaning if you ask it. Wifi is ok now, we had some troubles during your stay (and we apologize for that )because we where putting a third network, we got now extra speed even more than before. Concerning the food, i 'm gonna give some samples of prices, so anyone can get his own idea of "overpriced" : Pad thai chicken 100 bhat, Full English breakfast including coffee and fruit juice ( best breakfast of the island) 200 bht, First price breakfast 120 bhat, Pizzas 200 bht, Sandwiches 150 bht, massaman curry 180 baht, Noodle soup 100 baht, beer 70 bht, wine 100 bht, softs 30 bht... Concerning your remark about " no food from outside ", we got always the same answer : do you take your own food when you go to the restaurant in Canada ? Or do you bring your beers from the supermarket when you go to a bar? The bar and restaurant are open to everybody (people from outside the hostel), so we must put this rule. Just a last precision , we are flexible on "finger food" (chocolates, crisps, peanuts, fruits etc, and on water or softdrinks we don't have at the bar). So, thank you and you are welcome to come back when you want.

2nd Nov 2016
8.3

Was here when it was very quiet but very nice stay. The owners were very nice and helpful. Good location with easy access to the beach. The drain in the toilet could smelt better but apart from the room was nice too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Nov 2016
8.6

Hostel was nice but very quiet as was the whole area so not much of an atmosphere going on outside of Full Moon week. Room was fine and clean but a little dated particularly in the bathroom where the sink and loo felt like they were coming off the wall. Only small lockers not for Bags. Owners were nice and helpful and the nearby beach was lovely. No own food or drink on site but was also told the bar was closed both nights so maybe they could relax this rule when the bar is closed/low season.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Guest, First of all, thank you for your your stay and for your constructive advice. You are completely right on the fact that during low season (so from aproximetely 1rst of november till half december) the atmosphere is quiet at our place but also on the island( not a lot of people during this period.Don't forget that there is the mourning for the king's death also untill the 15 of this month. It is also the beginning of raining season, so more difficult to make outdoor activities at our place...we know it and to solve this problem we begin this month the structure to make a "entertainment area" with a roof (so usable when raining), including a pool table, ping pong table and the giant screen for movie nights, videogame and Karaoke. Concerning your room, you are right, bathroom is ok but little bit passed so the renovation of the bathroom is also for this month...we always do our best to improve the place, step by step ;)..we already did a lot in 2 years but we know we got still some points to improve. Concerning the food and bar, sorry if you had a wrong information but it is always possible to eat and drink on place (western,thai and italian food), you are right to say that in low season bar is not always open (depend if we got people who want to stay at the bar or not), but we are always on place if you need something like food or drinks to order. Sorry for that misunderstanding. In the case bar is closed and during low season we relax the rule of outside food and drinks ;) of course. See you maybe next time with a brand new Jaws room and during full moon or halfmoon party period to make a great party together ;) Thank you, Flo and Alice

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.