Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Magic Wave

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • je10xq
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Jul 2017
6.3

Did not look anything like the pictures and the inside of the dorm room itself was pretty run down. Still had a good time since we came as a large group but definitely would recommend staying somewhere else for the full moon party overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2017
6.3

Unfortunately doesn't really look like in the pics - pool was so filthy we didn't use it. Our dorm door had broken and the owner said someone was coming to fix it however they didn't show in the 3 days we were there. Would've been easy for anyone at all to walk in. Was there over half moon and think there was only about 10 people in the hostel (including our group of 4). Still the owners tried to make an effort with a warmup party which was nice of them

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear L. The pics are exatly the reflect of reality, sure it's different when it's raining. Pool is cleaned everyday and perfect clear, 1 or two leaves doesn't mean filthy ! Feel free to use the net to put the leaves away. Thanks to a guest who brake the key inside the doorlock, yes the door was not fixed when you arrived, that's why i gave you padlocks to close it. The repair service had to come the same day, but here in Koh Phangan you can never be sure they gonna do what they say. there was a special thai hollyday or something and the guy came 5 days later. We apologize for that. Coming in june is always a risk to take if you want to meet people...lowest season (month) of the year=cheap price=not a lot of people (meaning "low season). So ten people on 40 beds maximum during halfmoon in june is not so bad. Thank you to putting you the rate of 4/10 for the atmosphere...you are making it, i think you are right, not more than 4 ( YOU, THE GUESTS, are making the atmosphere, if you prefere to stay inside your room and drink alone your beer from 7/11, instead coming at te bar speaking each other, if you don't play the tournaments and activities we organize...sure there gonna be no atmosphere, but don't come to complain to us for that). I remember some halfmoon with 10 people who was epic and rocks...quality is better than amount sometimes. Thank you.

  • emmahill7546811
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
8.0

Stayedhere for June's full moon party, the only downside really was the pool having quite a lot of leaves in it. It's close to cheap restaurants and bars, although we stayed in a 12 bed dorm it away very sociable. Can hide scooters from them and explore the island. Perfect for anyone who wants a fun cheap hostel for a full moon party!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you E ! INFORMATION : you (the guests) got at your disposal a net (anytime) to take the leaves away from the swimming pool. We are making it 3 times a day, because of the garden, when it's windy or raining, feel free to make an extra celaning by yourself. Thank you again, see you ;)

7th Jun 2017
7.1

The owners are very kind and helpful, and there are many things to do in the Full Moon Party time. The only thing bad is the dirty in the room; but as we were in a 12 people room, it's understandable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you L, We try to make our best to keep the dorms always clean, but that's true, not so easy in the big dorms especially during full moon ;)... See you soon !

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2017
10.0

This hostel was brilliant! I extended my stay here for 3 nights. The staff are really friendly and very helpful. It has a really nice pool for chilling out during the day. The rooms are really clean and spacious. It's really secure and safe also. It's a couple of minutes to the beach and has some good and really cheap restaurants and bars nearby. Magic Wave is really good value for money and I would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you !!! ;)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
28th Apr 2017
7.4

Great hostel but we were the only ones there - not even the bartender was around when we wanted drinks. The hostel is really well kept and has a cool pool - just felt a bit like ghost town during our stay though. Suggestion to owners: make the glass window in the dorm bathroom frosted or have a curtain over it. I had someone outside watching me do my business which was slightly disturbing

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, We improve the place everyday, thank you for your advice for the bathroom (in fact when you came we were finishing the new bathroom, we got in plan to put a wooden blind at the window). Unfortunately for you, you came just between the halfmoon festival and the huge full moon party...so at the quiest period on the island...indeed you was 9 people in the hostel. We are always there for you (we are living in our place) if you need something to drink or eat between 9 am till midnight everydays, just need to ask... i must agree that if nobody comes and stays at the bar during quiet periods, the barman finish at 9 pm...he's not gonna stay if nobody's there and as i always say, you (i mean our guests) are part of making the atmosphere of the place ;) Thank you for your stay !

4th Apr 2017
9.4

It's about a 10 mins from Haad Rin but the location is still pretty great. It is about 30 sec walk to the beach where paddle boards and kayaks can be rented. The toilet just got renovated but the shower wasn't hot. The staff was amazing and can help you get anywhere you need to go. Laundry and motorbike rental is onsite. The pool with walk up bar is so amazing only wish the weather was nicer during my stay. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello E., thank you so much for your comment ;) We forgot to tell you about our system for the hot water, sorry about that. As you said the weather was extremely cloudy and rainy during your stay :(... we are working with solar system to warm the water, it means no sun = no hot water..we just need 2 hours of sun each days to get very hot water...unfortunately we had 4 days without sun during your stay. Sorry again for the inconvenience. We hope the sun will be here next time you come, thank you again ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
10.0

Magic wave is a good vibed, happy, fun and perfectly clean place with a big pool. There is always a positive atmosphere, extremely good music, a lot of enthusiasm and fun going on. The owners are just the best and so helpful with everything. Magic wave is my favourite hostel so far on my 6 month trip. The bed is perfect and the rooms clean. They just renovated the bathrooms which are actually the best I have seen in hostels in a long while. My sincere recommendations for this beautiful place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much F. It was great to got you here ! Amazing times !

  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
10.0

Super hostel, staff au petit soins (merci à Sonny pour les cocktails de dingue ), merci à Flo pour les parties de fifa et à Alice pour les petits déjeuners gourmands ! J'ai logé en dortoir de 14 et rien à redire...literie au top, salle de bain nickel...Vivement conseillé !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Super grand Merci L, On espère te revoir bientôt ici ;) !

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.3

The staff were amazing! So friendly and happy to help! Would deffonatly go back just to see them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your comment, you are welcome to come back when you want ;)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.