Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Magic Wave

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 150 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 150 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
The Magic Wave Located at 111 Moo 1, Bantai koh phangan, Koh Phangan.
The Magic Wave
Thailand
Koh Phangan 111 Moo 1, Bantai koh phangan
86% 150
9.7039174 100.0088882
The Magic Wave
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • JamieGordon89
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
10th Jan 2017
10.0

To Flow, Alice, Sunny and Alice's Mum (and anyone else we've forgotten) thanks for the best 5 days in Koh Pha Ngan. This is the best hostel in Thailand. Stay here - it's awesome! They make you feel so at home and will cater for your every need! Decent music playing all the time, lovely food and drinks behind the bar, a great pool for dipping in when your hungover and they know all the best places to party! We'll be back :) The Magic Waves ROCKS! Jamie, Joe, Pete, Stuart, Matt and Corden. London

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Guys, you was such a great team !!! ALL OF YOU ROCKS !!! 5 Great days (and nights ;) ) with you. Hope to see you again, here or in Europe ;) Big hug from Alice, Pilou, Sunny and me.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
26th Dec 2016
7.1

Was alright for what it was, shame the bathroom hadn't been done when we were there as 14 people sharing a small bathroom with the shower that leaked wasn't the best! The owners were really friendly though and helpful. It's not located in the main tourist area near Haad Rin, had to get taxis in and out. Only annoying thing was the music choice all day and night , so we went elsewhere at night to get better music but think this was because the owners had friends over..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello C. First thank you for your review. We know the bathroom is really a problem in this dorm, that's why we renovate it in 2 weeks, a brand new bathroom with 2 showers, big mirror etc...we are just waiting for the tiles and mosaics coming from Bangkok. Sorry for the music, i know you was not really fan about electro, minimal and deep house ;)...that's 80% of our playlist, but we put also some reggae, rnb,rap and rock sometimes during the day...depends the mood of the moment...but yes it's right, for the warmup's it's only electro and sometimes with live dj's...and we are finishing the karaoke stage, so in the future there will be nights where you will choose and sing your favorite songs. Thank you C. and hope to see you back here to test the new bathroom ;)

  • dmalovic
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
7.1

The owners are extremely nice and will help book travel tickets, bike rental etc. The bar and pool are great. The bathroom definitely needs to be renovated and cleaned more frequently and the wifi isn't great. The food they offer is overpriced and you aren't allowed to bring outside food into the hostel. Was really happy with the service and staff but overall the hostel needs some renovations and more frequent cleaning!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, First thank you for your comments about the staff, me and Alice we really appreciate and always try to give our best for all the guests. You are completely right for the bathroom of the dorm where you stayed and, good news, we renovate it during january, you will find in it 2 brand new luxury showers. Concerning the cleaning i must give some precisions, our housekeeping staff comes 2 times a day to clean in the dorms, Alice is cleaning 1 time in the evening, means 3 times a day. We can understand that after 5 people taking a shower there will be water everywhere in the bathroom, that's why you got also at your disposal all the material to clean by yourself if necessary. During the day we are always at your disposal for an extra cleaning if you ask it. Wifi is ok now, we had some troubles during your stay (and we apologize for that )because we where putting a third network, we got now extra speed even more than before. Concerning the food, i 'm gonna give some samples of prices, so anyone can get his own idea of "overpriced" : Pad thai chicken 100 bhat, Full English breakfast including coffee and fruit juice ( best breakfast of the island) 200 bht, First price breakfast 120 bhat, Pizzas 200 bht, Sandwiches 150 bht, massaman curry 180 baht, Noodle soup 100 baht, beer 70 bht, wine 100 bht, softs 30 bht... Concerning your remark about " no food from outside ", we got always the same answer : do you take your own food when you go to the restaurant in Canada ? Or do you bring your beers from the supermarket when you go to a bar? The bar and restaurant are open to everybody (people from outside the hostel), so we must put this rule. Just a last precision , we are flexible on "finger food" (chocolates, crisps, peanuts, fruits etc, and on water or softdrinks we don't have at the bar). So, thank you and you are welcome to come back when you want.

2nd Nov 2016
8.3

Was here when it was very quiet but very nice stay. The owners were very nice and helpful. Good location with easy access to the beach. The drain in the toilet could smelt better but apart from the room was nice too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Nov 2016
8.6

Hostel was nice but very quiet as was the whole area so not much of an atmosphere going on outside of Full Moon week. Room was fine and clean but a little dated particularly in the bathroom where the sink and loo felt like they were coming off the wall. Only small lockers not for Bags. Owners were nice and helpful and the nearby beach was lovely. No own food or drink on site but was also told the bar was closed both nights so maybe they could relax this rule when the bar is closed/low season.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Guest, First of all, thank you for your your stay and for your constructive advice. You are completely right on the fact that during low season (so from aproximetely 1rst of november till half december) the atmosphere is quiet at our place but also on the island( not a lot of people during this period.Don't forget that there is the mourning for the king's death also untill the 15 of this month. It is also the beginning of raining season, so more difficult to make outdoor activities at our place...we know it and to solve this problem we begin this month the structure to make a "entertainment area" with a roof (so usable when raining), including a pool table, ping pong table and the giant screen for movie nights, videogame and Karaoke. Concerning your room, you are right, bathroom is ok but little bit passed so the renovation of the bathroom is also for this month...we always do our best to improve the place, step by step ;)..we already did a lot in 2 years but we know we got still some points to improve. Concerning the food and bar, sorry if you had a wrong information but it is always possible to eat and drink on place (western,thai and italian food), you are right to say that in low season bar is not always open (depend if we got people who want to stay at the bar or not), but we are always on place if you need something like food or drinks to order. Sorry for that misunderstanding. In the case bar is closed and during low season we relax the rule of outside food and drinks ;) of course. See you maybe next time with a brand new Jaws room and during full moon or halfmoon party period to make a great party together ;) Thank you, Flo and Alice

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Oct 2016
5.7

Pictures are deceiving but owners were very nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Oct 2016
6.9

Our booking was during the full moon party which was canceled due to the King's death, but the staff did their best to keep the atmosphere up and pumping, even arranging a shuttle to Haad Rin for everyone staying there. The issues were with the facilities: When we arrived the water was out, and went in and out for most of our stay, meaning that we couldn't use the pool, either. On our final night, the power went out and stayed out all night, so no air con + no water was not very pleasing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello M T, We apologize again for the water problem, as we explained to you, it was end of dry season and everybody here was really waiting for the rain. We got a very deep bow hole and never had this problem before. You forget to say that we immediately put a new system with a big water tank, so the truck came everydays to give us water for the day. We mean we had water 5 or 6 hours everyday, wich you don't had in some other hostel during the same period. The swimming pool was usable, we don't understand why you think no. But we understand it was not nice to get 100% of the facilities for any case, with the new system this will not happend anymore. Concerning the last night, there was a power cut from 11PM to 7AM, we spoke about it and we didn't make you pay the last night for the inconvenient. Thank you for the staff, we try alwayr our best to make you enjoy the hostel and the island.

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
10.0

Awesome place, the owners makes you feel at home,are helpfull andthey organize "petanque",movie nights with popcorn and other activities!The room is clean and practical with good matrass, very nice swimming pool, we liked the hammac zone.Alice and Flo want their place to be "cool" and it this! You can feel it with other guests, so easy to meet and talk with other people.Location is good, close from the beach, atm, family mart, restaurant and parties...and last thing: breakfast is just amazing !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Douu6
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Oct 2016
9.7

The most peaceful place I've been so far. Beautiful cosy place with a relax atmosphere and open-minded people. The owners are lovely, a Belgian couple who love their job and that's exactly what you feel in their hostel. Beach pool hamac and dogs asking for cuddles. I felt like home, surrounded by an amazing family. I could come back just to stay there again. It worth it ! More than a simple hostel, get a room and leave with such a great experience. Merci Alice&Florian pr votre chaleurosité

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kaithedon
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
7.7

decent. no complaints. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.