Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Mahjong

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Apr 2017
8.0

Great Place to stay in Hong Kong, could not find a better plave for the same price. Beds are very comfy and offers good privacy, aircon in the room was super as well. Security locker above bed very convinient fits everything you need in there + need the code to get into the hostel so no one can just walk in. Showers were great as well. Only negative things I can say is location and atmosphere a bit far from MTR station which is the best way to get around + not a lively atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
10.0

Very lovely and helpful staff, comfy bed. Location was a little far away but was very easy to get around using the buses.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
9.7

Great hostel. Clean, helpful and Friendly. Slightly out of town but buses right outside that take you where ever you need to go. Overall great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
5.1

I hate to leave a low review here, because the staff is so incredibly nice and helpful, but I have to be honest. This is a terrible location if you are visiting HK. Access to public transportation is a nightmare in this area. The hostel is also grossly misrepresented from the pictures. The place is absolutely flithly and unsanitary. It is also far more cramped than the pictures depict. Do yourself a favor, and stay somewhere on the island. It's just not worth it at the Mahjong.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your valuable comment after spending a night in our hostel. We are strategic located a bit away from the city centre, but in a very local neighbourhood with easy and convenient bus connection. We want to show the authentic HK to our travellers and let them to experience real local life. Taking buses is pretty simply, one bus directly from the Airport in 45mins and 20mins to Victoria Harbour. I admit that our 10-bed mixed dorm is not spacious enough in US standard, but we have a very comfy and large common lounge for our guests to hang out and meet other travellers. All our staff are very conscious about the cleanliness. We change linen and clean the bed after every check-out, vacuum and mop everyday, clean the bathroom 2 times a day. I feel really upset to hear that we are not clean. We will definitely improve and I agree cleanliness is very very important to the hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
9.7

I had an excellent time at The Mahjong in Hong Kong! I definitely recommend this location as the facilities are great, and The Mahjong is located close to major bus routes/stops.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Clem7Chan
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.7

Not ideally located in To Kwa Wan but was my favourite hostel. Staff are super helpful especially regarding transportation via the extensive bus/ mini bus network. The physical location is recognisable and just off the main road which makes it quite safe. The bed and spaces themselves are fantastic, with very comfy beds and quality bed linen, which are extensively cleaned. There is also a personal safe available but I would be sure to bring a extension cord/ board for your devices.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • padraigdever7638
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

Nice hostel, staff, private dorms and a good shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
8.3

Hong Kong is a very convenient city in general, with bus coming in every 10 minutes n trains every 5 minutes. The location of the hostel was 3-5 minutes walk from the bus and 20 minutes walk from the train station. The facilities were just the standard shower, bathroom and a common room. The experience of the mahjong hostel is greatly dependent on the people you stay with.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
8.3

Only negative might be location. Relatively far from metro, takes about 400 to get in town by bus. Although place is very nice on all aspects, so when you know what to do, location isn't as bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.1

Nice, small hostel. A little hard to find, but the location was great. I especially liked the large window with street view in the common area. Friendly staff, and nice to have shampoo, conditioner & etc available for use in the bathrooms. When the windows were open at night sometimes it got a bit noisy from the street, but overall a nice stay and a good price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.