X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Mango Tree Reviews

Prudente de Moraes, 594, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
651 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Really Nice Stay.! great location, relaxing atmosphere, very clean and comfortable. Really helpful and lovely staff.!

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Location is good. Staff are awesome, owners/managers are not. Unprofessional - scolding young child infront of guests for something small. Hesitant to provide a refund for the difference in a price drop, make excuses. The internet was horrible, not dependable, if you have to work, send emails, communicate, book flights/ buses, transfer cash/ receive online money transfer you cannot depend on the connection here. Bar is amateur, bad drinks, expensive prices. Used tissues in bed upon arrival

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn’t enjoy our hostel but thanks for commenting. Thanks for praising our staff, they do a great job; sorry about the tissues had we known we would’ve changed the sheets; the poor internet was due to a dodgy router now replaced; you were upgraded from a dorm to a luxury double ensuite as requested but only the next day as we were full. Our bar is simple and cheap, beers cost R$4, caips cost R$8. Parenting style rated in a hostel review? We´re frankly too gobsmacked to respond.

80%

Spanish girl at the front desk and bar was INCREDIBLE. Very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and spoke various languages. The bathrooms could use a little more attention after morning and evening showers. Pricing was good relative to other hostels, but expensive in general due to the world cup. The atmosphere would probably be better outside of the world cup actually, as mostly dudes were in Rio and the crowd just wasn't very diverse.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I had a fantastic time at the Mango. So close to the beach, and right in front of the restaurant where "the girl from Ipanema" was written. The staff at the bar was very nice, and the people at the front desk very cordial. It was too bad that they close the common area in the bar at 10:00 (even on weekends). I met fantastic people, the dorms were clean and the bathrooms were clean as well. I really enjoyed my stay and the location was fabulous! Definitely recommend it.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really excellent hostel. 9 weeks traveling so far and one of my favourite stays so far. Comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, good kitchen, solid breakfast, very helpful front desk and the location speaks for itself. Stayed up the road at lemon spirit before coming to mango tree. Mango tree is better value for money in every sense. The staff are genuinely helpful and friendly and the whole place lacks that fake "trying too hard to be your friend" vibe you get from some of the party hostels.


94%

Nice hostel with good security and close to the beach. Clean hostel with good breakfast.


86%

Amazing location, but sort of felt more like a hotel than a hostel in that people kept to themselves more and were more vacationers than travelers. Great place for groups who want to go to the beach and bars in the area and are not too limited by a budget (the area is very expensive).


66%

Our room didn´t ligth and the administration only put a advise, room very small and, one door for two rooms, men´s bath in first floor not inside room.


91%

Fantastic Location, just 1 block (hardly 5 min) from the Ipanema Beach. All basic amenities, clean and nice atmosphere, The staff is very friendly, they could guide most of the location to visit around. Will definately stay in Mango Tree whenever back to Rio.Value for money.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I liked everything about this hostel except for the Wi-Fi only seemed to work in the common area, not in the rooms or front part of hostel. A simple fix of adding another router would fix this issue.


83%

My 4 nights there were lovely. However, this hostel attracts families and older individuals. Expect people to go to sleep early and expect you to do the same. The staff consists of foreigners and some Brazilians. If you need recommendations, ask the Brazilians!

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent hostel we stayed in a luxury double very clean and luxurious we felt pampered. Set the standard for future hostels! Thank you Clare and Danny liverpool


71%

A good place near Ipanema Beach and many restaurants and pubs. We were in a 6 bed dorm with AC and with the wrong guests it would be extremely crowded. There seemed to be enough bathrooms for the guest. Breakfast was typical fare for Brazil. The best part was the front desk staff, extremely helpful and kind. We would stay at the Mango Tree again.


94%

Great hostel, amazing kitchen and really helpful staff. Brilliant communal areas, an outside courtyard and tv room with lots of DVDs, just a shame that the communal area closes at 10pm. Staff are really helpful and friendly and the breakfast is great, includes granola and fruit. Only downside is there are not enough bathrooms for the dorm rooms.




View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback