X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Mango Tree Reviews

Prudente de Moraes, 594, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
630 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great location, great bar, easy to meet people. When I first arrived they said I couldn't have a locker, and I had to switch beds to get one. Otherwise no probs. Also breakfast is pretty good

  • 1st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The location is the best, a stones throw for the beach and within easy walking distance for everything. This hostel could be improved by cleaner bathrooms, the bathmat was never clean any of the shower rooms! The room was comfortable enough and bed sheets were changed which was really nice, it would have been great if the room fans and air con worked as we got bitten to death and had to shut the windows!


80%

Lovely hostel. We had lockers and safes which was useful. Really nice bar/kitchen area, though wasn't generally too noisy at night. Good location near lots of bars and shops.


94%

Great help from the staff, the room was spacious, the showers worked well and were nice a hot. The DVD library looked great but we didn't get a chance to use it unfortunately. One two occasions we did find the gate open after a guest had just entered or exited, but both were during the day so it wasn't that big an issue.


91%

The kitchen open for the guests only at 11 am, if you have a early wake up call make sure that you have anything you need for your breakfast outside the kitchen. The bar area is great to meet people, the price of the beer is fair. The staff is very nice. The rooms have air conditioner and a fan, the bathrooms are clean but the showers are or hot as hell or cold as hell.... Is one of the best places I stay in Rio. The localization is perfect. I do recommend this hostel.


100%

Excellent hostel for solo traveller.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

the mango tree hostel is a great place to stay! great located in ipanema (close to the beach, to the laguna, several shops, ...), friendly and english speaking stuff, the best breakfast in brasil! perfect oasis of peace after a busy sightseeing day!


94%

The location of the hostel is perfect. It is very close to the Ipanema-Beach and located in a very secure part of Rio. Shops and Restaurants are around the corner and a metro station is just two blocks away, The hostel staff was very helpful as well and tried to find solutions for any kind of problem or question that occurred. Within the preparation of the breakfast the staff could be a little more quiet/calm (7-8 am), because sometimes noises woke me up. Besides that very great! Recommended!

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location and nice hostel to stay in with DVDs and relaxing areas. Not a party hostel but there are plenty nearby. Lack of toilets/showers though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are quite surprised about your comment regarding the showers. We have 5 communal bathrooms with a total of 7 showers and 6 toilets, these are shared by only 30 people as most rooms have ensuite bathrooms. This means that there is one for every five people. They can get busy if everyone comes back from the beach at the same time, however, the wait is usually not long.

94%

The best hostel ever! Great staff and good opportunities to find great company!


74%

The place is nice, but its a little bit old and not clean.

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I had a fabulous time, as a solo traveler I found the social atmosphere perfect, everyone gathers in the evening at the bar and many go out go together to fun planned events. It was a very inclusive group with a wide age range. I particularly loved the fresh passion fruit cocktails. After 10 it was always quiet at the hostel as the party would move elsewhere , sleeping was never a problem on the nights I chose to stay in.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great time at the Mango Tree. We only stayed 2 nights as the hostel was fully booked, but would have loved to stay longer. Spent a long time comparing hostels before arriving in Rio - this place should be your first choice. Amazing breakfast as well.

  • 10th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very friendly. Great location. I'll be back. Thanks. AB.

  • 1st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Perfect location! We had a double with private bathroom and it could have been amazing, great shower, good bed, nice people etc. but there was an awful smell when we first entered the room and this didn't go away during our stay. We told reception and they basically gave us the idea that we were crazy, although more so the girl than the guys. They sprayed something which didn't help and that was it. The smell even got into our luggage so that we had to wash all our clothes twice once we got home

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Excellent location, 1 block from the beach. Staff was friendly and helpful. Common area was nice but a little dull, hostel did not seem like a "party hostel" if that's what you're looking for. Dorm rooms were small but bathrooms were clean and spacious, and there were lots of outdoor areas where you could hang out.


94%

Great very clean, comfortable hostel with friendly staff. Great location only 2 blocks from the beach! Nice breakfast.

  • 8th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff at Mango Tree is unbelieveably amazing. I kept going back and was gutted when they were booked up and I had to move. The atmosphere is very relaxed and there is always a good vibe around Mango Tree. Location is amazing, just one block from Post 9 Ipanema beach. I stayed in rooms 4, 8, and 10. Each had its ups and downs just as any room would. Everything is clean, which is the most important I think. You must stay at Mango Tree if you plan on staying in Ipanema!!!!

  • 8th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel in Ipanema. Great location, nice hostel, helpful staff, very sociable place.

  • 1st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Brilliant hostel in a great location. Staff were very helpful but was pretty pricey!


(475 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback