X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Mango Tree Reviews

Prudente de Moraes, 594, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
695 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Nice staff, confortable beds, quiet dorms and warms showers


97%

The staff was very friendly, since we arrive until we left. Thank you very much for your hospitality, specially to Renata and Matheus!


89%

Very good Place. Located in Ipanema, a high class location in Rio; near to beach and interesting points like good bars and restaurants. The hostel has a familiar atmosphere and breakfast is very good.

  • 12th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

This was our first hostel on our 3 month trip around in south america. Great place to stay - nicest-safest suburb of Rio to stay, just up the road from Leblon beach (1 block literally), also plenty of restaurants, etc. Not a party place at all, but had a pretty good time there. Staff were cool, and helped us out a few times. All round, a good stay. Stayed in a private room - couple

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

One of the better hostels. Staff very helpful. Location 2 minutes walk to beach and in the middle of nice restaurants. Cleaners every day. Nice breakfast included. There is a bar on the hostel, but not too hectic and quietness from 11pm onwards to allow get some sleep.


86%

amazing location close to everything that is important


80%

In general, is a very good choice, considering its location and security. Could have been better if it wasn't for the bad smell in the room, although it was clean (probably cat pee - yes, there is a cat in the hostel).

  • 9th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Place is great, however the staff are horrific- made a complaint to management after a skinny member of staff made physical threats to customers (he really was an a***hole) and was given a non caring shrug in response! Better places to stay near by...

  • 4th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

It is an amazing place to stay the location is moreeee than amazing and the people there are amazing .....i didnt communicate lot with the staff but the owner is a good person and he is really funny so if i am going to rio again definetly will be the mango tree

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location, great bar, easy to meet people. When I first arrived they said I couldn't have a locker, and I had to switch beds to get one. Otherwise no probs. Also breakfast is pretty good

  • 1st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The location is the best, a stones throw for the beach and within easy walking distance for everything. This hostel could be improved by cleaner bathrooms, the bathmat was never clean any of the shower rooms! The room was comfortable enough and bed sheets were changed which was really nice, it would have been great if the room fans and air con worked as we got bitten to death and had to shut the windows!


80%

Lovely hostel. We had lockers and safes which was useful. Really nice bar/kitchen area, though wasn't generally too noisy at night. Good location near lots of bars and shops.


94%

Great help from the staff, the room was spacious, the showers worked well and were nice a hot. The DVD library looked great but we didn't get a chance to use it unfortunately. One two occasions we did find the gate open after a guest had just entered or exited, but both were during the day so it wasn't that big an issue.


91%

The kitchen open for the guests only at 11 am, if you have a early wake up call make sure that you have anything you need for your breakfast outside the kitchen. The bar area is great to meet people, the price of the beer is fair. The staff is very nice. The rooms have air conditioner and a fan, the bathrooms are clean but the showers are or hot as hell or cold as hell.... Is one of the best places I stay in Rio. The localization is perfect. I do recommend this hostel.


100%

Excellent hostel for solo traveller.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

the mango tree hostel is a great place to stay! great located in ipanema (close to the beach, to the laguna, several shops, ...), friendly and english speaking stuff, the best breakfast in brasil! perfect oasis of peace after a busy sightseeing day!


94%

The location of the hostel is perfect. It is very close to the Ipanema-Beach and located in a very secure part of Rio. Shops and Restaurants are around the corner and a metro station is just two blocks away, The hostel staff was very helpful as well and tried to find solutions for any kind of problem or question that occurred. Within the preparation of the breakfast the staff could be a little more quiet/calm (7-8 am), because sometimes noises woke me up. Besides that very great! Recommended!

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location and nice hostel to stay in with DVDs and relaxing areas. Not a party hostel but there are plenty nearby. Lack of toilets/showers though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are quite surprised about your comment regarding the showers. We have 5 communal bathrooms with a total of 7 showers and 6 toilets, these are shared by only 30 people as most rooms have ensuite bathrooms. This means that there is one for every five people. They can get busy if everyone comes back from the beach at the same time, however, the wait is usually not long.

94%

The best hostel ever! Great staff and good opportunities to find great company!


74%

The place is nice, but its a little bit old and not clean.

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(504 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback