X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

The Mango Tree Reviews

Prudente de Moraes, 594, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
663 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Ambiente aconchegante, funcionários agradáveis, quartos limpos e modernos. A localização é excelente!!!!


91%

Ótima localização, café da manhã muito satisfatório e funcionários atenciosos na medida certa. Com certeza voltaria, parabéns ao hostel.


100%

Impecable hostel. Los chicos del personal muy amables y eficientes. Todos se esforzaban por comunicarse con nosotros en español o inglés. La ubicación es inmejorable! Los baños y habitaciones siempre limpias, el desayuno muy rico y variado,y la cocina impecable! Un gusto cocinar allí. Definitivamente volveré al Mango Tree la proxima vez que vaya a Rio.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Wonderful location and friendly staff.


86%

My second time staying in this hostel on the same trip. Great location one block from ipanema beach posto 9. Nice buffet breakfast. Beds are comfortable and rooms cleans. Would recommend.


80%

Very nice hostel, excellent location: close to the beach and to restaurants and bars, very good value for money, nice breakfast. Safes are provided. Staff is friendly, but could give a little more information.


100%

Really Nice Stay.! great location, relaxing atmosphere, very clean and comfortable. Really helpful and lovely staff.!

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel!


91%

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful about recommendations. I only wish I could have stayed more time.


43%

Location is good. Staff are awesome, owners/managers are not. Unprofessional - scolding young child infront of guests for something small. Hesitant to provide a refund for the difference in a price drop, make excuses. The internet was horrible, not dependable, if you have to work, send emails, communicate, book flights/ buses, transfer cash/ receive online money transfer you cannot depend on the connection here. Bar is amateur, bad drinks, expensive prices. Used tissues in bed upon arrival

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn’t enjoy our hostel but thanks for commenting. Thanks for praising our staff, they do a great job; sorry about the tissues had we known we would’ve changed the sheets; the poor internet was due to a dodgy router now replaced; you were upgraded from a dorm to a luxury double ensuite as requested but only the next day as we were full. Our bar is simple and cheap, beers cost R$4, caips cost R$8. Parenting style rated in a hostel review? We´re frankly too gobsmacked to respond.

89%

Loved our stay here. Couple in private room shared bathroom. Great location stones throw from beach, bank, restaurants, and shops. Great breaky and fully equipped kitchen. Great staff who were really helpful and great guys, booked tours for us no dramas and even joined us in there own time. Really social hostel but not a party hostel by any means, just perfectly chilled and nice open bar area/courtyard. Our dbl private was adequate and well kept. No complaints only recommendations.


80%

Spanish girl at the front desk and bar was INCREDIBLE. Very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and spoke various languages. The bathrooms could use a little more attention after morning and evening showers. Pricing was good relative to other hostels, but expensive in general due to the world cup. The atmosphere would probably be better outside of the world cup actually, as mostly dudes were in Rio and the crowd just wasn't very diverse.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I had a fantastic time at the Mango. So close to the beach, and right in front of the restaurant where "the girl from Ipanema" was written. The staff at the bar was very nice, and the people at the front desk very cordial. It was too bad that they close the common area in the bar at 10:00 (even on weekends). I met fantastic people, the dorms were clean and the bathrooms were clean as well. I really enjoyed my stay and the location was fabulous! Definitely recommend it.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Excelente ubicación, muy cerca de la playa, de los bares y de Copacabana. Lo malo es que por el mismo precio podria haberme ido a un depto privado frente al mar, en Copacabana. Me enteré después.


100%

Really excellent hostel. 9 weeks traveling so far and one of my favourite stays so far. Comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, good kitchen, solid breakfast, very helpful front desk and the location speaks for itself. Stayed up the road at lemon spirit before coming to mango tree. Mango tree is better value for money in every sense. The staff are genuinely helpful and friendly and the whole place lacks that fake "trying too hard to be your friend" vibe you get from some of the party hostels.


94%

Nice hostel with good security and close to the beach. Clean hostel with good breakfast.


57%

os banheiros são muito sujos, além dos quarto serem extremamente apertados e sujos também. pelo preço cobrado o atendimento deveria ser mais cordial, principalmente com os brasileiros.


86%

Amazing location, but sort of felt more like a hotel than a hostel in that people kept to themselves more and were more vacationers than travelers. Great place for groups who want to go to the beach and bars in the area and are not too limited by a budget (the area is very expensive).


66%

Our room didn´t ligth and the administration only put a advise, room very small and, one door for two rooms, men´s bath in first floor not inside room.


77%

En general estuvo bien, tiene una buena ubicación el hostel. Estuve en 2 ocasiones en hab de 6 y en la segunda estadía fue casi una de 12 pers dado que eran 2 hab de 6 con 1 sola puerta de ingreso. El personal no tiene buena información de medios de transporte para ir al aeropuerto o la terminal de omnibus que es algo básico para cualquier turista. La 1era estadía tuvo una buena relación precio calidad, la segunda dado que era sábado fue algo caro.


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback