Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 852 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 852 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Sep 2017
8.3

The hostel was great but i wish they had at least a microwave.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
6.9

Stayed in a private room meaning we had a key so we could lock our door, but I understand if you are in a dorm there isn't one. We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night; Saturday night was very loud and people decided to hang out right outside our door. The bathrooms beside us seemed to be a communal area (no sleep). Location however is great so if you only want a bed for a few nights you will be fine. Bring flip flops for the showers-the water was up to my ankles with hair filled water.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
7.1

Not much to this place, but it's one of the few hostels in Zermatt. The showers were pretty disgusting, but the staff was friendly and helpful. There's no kitchen, but there's a kettle and some kinda dirty dishes if you want to cook ramen or something like that. Its in a great location but there's not much to the hostel itself. The breakfast is a pretty good deal considering the unreal prices in Switzerland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Sep 2017
8.9

Staff are great, one of the best views of the Matterhorn in Zermatt. Rooms are reasonable, some have excellent balcony's. No locks on room doors or lockers but no problems. Very clean. Showers are powerful but tepid at best. Sparkys bar/restaurant attached is superb, food and beer is excellent and very well priced. Sparky is very friendly, very attentive and helpful. Would stay again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2017
8.0

Great hostel. The wifi is poor during the evenings because everyone uses it but you're not going to Zermatt for the wifi. All the doors aren't locked but again you're in Zermatt so no one has any intention of stealing anything. Kitchen facilities are non existent so prepare yourself for kettle meals or eating out. The pub upstairs offers a great meal for 20 franks if you can spare the cash and the staff are great. 10/10 would visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • clarafauli6644
  • Spain, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2017
6.9

The room was a bit small for 7 people and the showers were pretty dirty. The staff was extremely nice and the location was beautiful

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2017
10.0

excellent place and i love the restaurant downstairs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
7.4

Staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, amazing service however hostel felt small and claustrophobic with very narrow high stairs and low ceilings. I was on top floor so to shower had to go 4 floors down. Showers were disgusting. No locks or keys for room doors and main door to outside is left open at night, no security at all anyone could come in to the hostel while you are sleeping.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
10.0

I thought it was great. Great location, awesome people, nice restaurant downstairs, clean beds, sizable rooms, and a pretty chill hangout room downstairs. Some guys were playing beer pong when I went down there. I was expecting to want to get out of the hostel the whole time but actually spent a good amount of time just hanging out there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jul 2017
5.4

Compared to other hostels, this was poor quality. It had no facilities and be prepared to sleep in a very cold room with just a tiny blanket. It couldn't be in a better location though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×