Hostelworld.com

The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 653 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 653 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 5.7
The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt Located at Schluhmattstrasse 32, , Zermatt.
The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt
Switzerland
Zermatt Wallis 3920 Schluhmattstrasse 32
68% 653
46.0169626 7.7449750
The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th May 2016
7.7

The guy that ran the hostel was an absolute legend. Always greeted me with a smile and was always happy to give me advice which was so useful especially considering I was travelling on my own. It's definitely not a 5 star hostel but considering the price it was pretty good just a short walk to town. The breakfast wasn't anything impressive though.. Definitely felt a little ripped off for the price but anywhere out to eat in Zermatt would of cost an arm and a leg so probably the better option.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th May 2016
8.0

We don't really understand why everyone else gave this place such bad reviews. It is warm, the beds are comfortable, it's in a good location close to the town centre and a lot cheaper than other hostels in the area. The guy on reception was nice, and let us store our bags there til check in. The blankets on the beds left a bit to be desired - they were kinda thin, scratchy and didn't smell freshly washed, so an extra sleeping bag is helpful. Be aware there are only tea making facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th May 2016
6.6

More like military barracks. Bottom bunks too low to sit up straight so mind your head. Wifi was ok. Check-in only 16:00 - 21:00. Breakfast = additional 8 Francs/person 7:30 - 9:30 No locks or keys at all so bring your own if you worry about your stuff. More about Zermatt on my blog: http://bit.ly/zermatthw

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2016
6.9

The hostel really only opens at 4pm so if you arrive earlier, it's better to head for the station lockers first to store your luggage and do your tour around Zermatt first. The walls were a bit dull because of its colour but other than that, it was okay. The showers are in the basement, which made it a little inconvenient to walk down three flights of stairs to shower. Breakfast isn't free and towels aren't provided but if you don't mind that so much then this place is value for money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marianagelhout
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Apr 2016
6.0

The hostel had no lock on the outside door and no lock on our personal doors, so there was no security whatsoever. We did have our own locker but you had to pay a refundable 20 francs for it-which was hard to find a use for the 20 when we checked out and were leaving Switzerland. The location was pretty good and the staff were friendly, but the desk was open at odd times of the day. The shower room was ok, but they kept getting my stuff wet outside the shower. No kitchen either (but a fridge).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
4.3

Its cheap and its location is in the beautiful valley of zermatt and strikes a good balance between being close to the town centre and close to the ski lifts.Also it has decent wifi that makes it to the rooms. Thats it. the rest is absolute lousy. the showers suck,because there is no hot water 90% of the time, the staff are pretty unpleasant and they leave reception closed from 10am to 4pm meaning you cant access the ski room at all. there is only one power point between 6-8 people in a room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Feb 2016
6.0

The room is cold but cheap

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2016
7.7

The best part about this hostel was its proximity to the lift. The beds were also comfortable. The showers leave much to be desired- no privacy for male or female changing. The t.v. Room also needs a better set up for preparing food. All in all, I would recommend this place and stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jan 2016
5.1

Security: there isn't any. It's an open door policy for the rooms. You can get a locker but they're tiny. Location: less than half a mile from the train station and right next to the lifts. Atmosphere: very lacking. There's a common room but it's always empty. Cleanliness: the showers don't drain, the floors aren't cleaned, and they don't clean the beds it seems. Facilities: the wifi signal is fine. But there's no way to cook your own meals. Only a fridge. The blankets are very scratchy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2016
6.6

Not enough outlets in room. They don't even have a micro wave. They pack all the beds in so tight to each other. But the location is amazing and is a very short distance to the first lift. Cheapest place in Zermatt so don't expect a lot.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.