Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 740 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 740 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.1
The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt Located at Schluhmattstrasse 32, , Zermatt.
The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt
Switzerland
Zermatt Wallis 3920 Schluhmattstrasse 32
73% 740
46.0169626 7.7449750
The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Jan 2017
9.1

They gave us our own room even though we had booked a 6 or 8 person mixed room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Dec 2016
6.0

Just like everything in Switzerland, this hostel was expensive for what you get. My bed was a foam mattress which gave me a sore back in the morning. There is two power plugs for the room, and I had to share my locker with another roommate. There are a large basin on the second level which about 6 rooms share. The shower in the morning was half cold and you cannot change the heat in the shower. Pretty average hostel. Staff are literally the best though!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Nov 2016
7.1

The hostel is conveniently located nearby the first gondola which makes it a perfekt place for those interested in going skiing. Also not too far of a walk from the downtown area (about 10 minutes). Otherwise the room and other facilities were fine. Towels were also not included in the price which is not the norm for hostels I have stayed in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
8.0

While i was there the room was uncomfortably hot two nights in a row, and the door screeched like a banshee. Amazing location though, and Sparky's is great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Nov 2016
7.4

Rosvita took care of us very well. Always with a smile and constantly checking if we are doing good and if anything is needed whenever we bumped into her. Location of the hostel is nice, but anywhere in Zermatt is fine, everything is within walking distance. The room was alright and other guests were fantastic, which made us ignore the key-less rooms and the lack of security. Only one little thing, the TV room where we hung out at night is a little dirty and requires more attention.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.1

The reception girl is superb friendly n nice. Share the joy with you in sighting the Matterhorn. It is the cheapest accommodation here in Zermatt, I would said it is value for money but don't expect more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
9th Nov 2016
9.1

This place really grew on me. It's got a really sweet cabin feel to it whilst providing everything you need. The hostel is basic but compared to most accommodation in Zermatt, it is really good value. We waited a few days for the snow to clear to see the mountain but when it finally did - just magic.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2016
7.4

Cheapest place to stay in Zermatt and great value considering the absolutely amazing location! Only about a 5-10 minute walk to the central part of town and the ski lift, so very accessible! The room we stayed in was very cold, even with the radiators on we had to wear our coats to bed because the blankets provided were very thin. We also, had some troubles with the lockers in our room being taken by other guests and had to keep our stuff in the hall. Very, very small rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • krishnakrishnak754066
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Oct 2016
7.4

The hostel is nearer to the Cable car stop but decently farther from the Railway station. The rooms are small but neat and nice. The staff are very friendly. But its very less for the value that we are paying for it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
7.7

Around a 15 minute walk from the Zermatt train station. This is Switzerland, doors are unlocked but they provide lockers if you feel unsafe about your valuables. Rooms are decent sized but facility is small. Check in only available after 4 so don't arrive too early. Showers also have no lock but again, I feel safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.