Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 815 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 815 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jul 2017
9.1

Great place right in the middle of town. It was clean and staff was friendly. Stairs are a little treacherous going between levels (our room was on the top floor and showers were on bottom). Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2017
8.0

The hostel is in a perfect location with amazing views of the Matterhorn as soon as you step out the door. Was just a bit concerned about how anyone could just walk all the way into the rooms without needing a key. The only thing that had a key was the lockers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jul 2017
5.1

Is just not a good hostel. Only one common area very small. No places to socialice with others fellows travellers. Very poor facilities. Aniways, is cheap according with Zermat standars

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
3.4

No sheets on the bed! This place provides just a bed to sleep on in a decent location, however, they do not provide a top sheet and there's no cover for the wool blanket, making it very unhygienic. My skin is still itchy, I hope I didn't catch anything. I would have left had I not prepaid and arrived late. I also had a bad experience with the male employee, and a very scary and threatening male guest in my room. The female staff were nice. Just totally unacceptable not to provide clean sheets!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
4.0

No keys ,doors stay open, the room stinks,couldn't even get breakfast because I haven't told her the night before and she doesn't have enough bread,when I said can i just get a coffee she said she is really low on everything, didn't know I had to let them know the night before to have breakfast, besides I checked in really late and didn't see anyone till the morning ,for the prices they charge it's just ridicules ,won't be coming back again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
4.0

Stayed one night in a hot tiny room containing 7 beds with very little/no space between them. Also next to no plug sockets. There was a ski room to store additional items but the key was easily accessed and there were no locks on bedroom doors. Furthermore one of the male staff was incredibly rude on the phone. Unfortunately I wouldn't recommend this place but there is very little competition in Zermatt so you're likely to have little choice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Itssazz
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
8.9

The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful, could not fault them at all. We stayed for two nights, had breakfast once which was basic but since Zermatt is so expensive I would suggest getting it anyway to get you through the morning- especially since you can have as much coffee or tea as you like. Bathrooms were clean, showers weren't as clean but not shocking. Rooms are quite cramped but not something that bothered us especially since we spent most of our time outside. Perfect location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
4.9

The hostel is very conjusted, with very narrow space to live, the male sraff member was not cooperative at all. Zermett is a wonderful place to visit, but staying at this hostel is not recommended.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
29th Jun 2017
8.9

Staff was super friendly and helpful, beds were clean and comfortable. Only thing power point was near door but had 3 spots available. Wifi was good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2017
8.6

Great location and very friendly staff. Also, the restaurant which is in the same building offers a hostel special which was a lot cheaper than going out to eat at many other restaurants in zermatt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.