Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.0
The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt Located at Schluhmattstrasse 32, , Zermatt.
The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt
Switzerland
Zermatt Wallis 3920 Schluhmattstrasse 32
71% 684
46.0169626 7.7449750
The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
2.0

As we arrived late due to a delayed train, later than staff hours, the hostel gave mine and my girlfriend's beds away without informing us, in spite of saying that if one arrives late that there would be information on the door regarding how to check in yourself - which there wasn't. My girlfriend and I were thus forced to search for free beds in the cramped, lockless dorms of which there were none. Therefore we were homeless that night and did not sleep at all prior to our only day in Zermatt.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
8.6

Why are there no cooking facilities?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
7.4

They provide lockers if you want to lock your stuff up. Bathrooms were fine but showers wee clogged when I was there so kinda nasty. Great location in an expensive Swiss town. Well worth it though since hotels and Airbnb's are expensive here. Cool town. Def would go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jul 2016
7.7

Nice hostel with helpful staff. Zermatt is small so the hostel is near all the shops and restaurants. The hostel shares the building with the cheapest bar in Zermatt which also does decent food. Bring your own linen though as the blankets are like carpet!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
6.9

The location is far from train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
10.0

I stayed there with friends for one night, such that we could start our day hike a bit earlier in the morning. Very good service, we arrived close to midnight and left at 8am, which was no problem at all! bathrooms, showers in awesome condition, comfortable beds. Our room, a 7 bed dorm, was very small but for us, as we did not have big bags, large enough. We did not add the breakfast, we went to a grocery store close by and got something there, together with the picnic for lunch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
8.3

People were very friendly and helpful. The attached restaurant was great. Was a little crowded with seven beds in the room though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
4.9

The staff here is fantastic. Super helpful and friendly. For pricey Zermatt, this is an "inexpensive" option, but I would pay a little more to stay at the other hostel in town. The beds are crammed together and there is hardly any room to move in the rooms. The showers did not drain and nothing was clean. Very grungy place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
6.0

It have good location , And it's really clean , The lockers do not Function There is no kitchen or micro And they just work 7:00 to 10;00 am and 4:00 to 9:00 pm So if you arrived late you can't come in

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jun 2016
8.9

Very nice place. The hostel is very cute, kind of rustic in a way. There were no keys to the hostel or the room or anything, which kinda made me nervous at first, but I immediately saw why it wasn't necessary, since Zermatt is such a safe, small little town. Breakfast cost like 9 Euros or something, the staff was friendly, the rooms and bathrooms were clean, and it was about a 10 minute walk from the center of the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.