Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 777 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 777 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th May 2017
9.1

Awesome hostel with a super rad staff and a cool environment. Couldn't ask for a better location! 1 minute walk to gondola to Zermatt. Awesome staff who just wanted to make sure we had a good time while traveling.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
3.4

This was the dirtiest place I have ever stayed. And I say that having stayed in a ton of hostels even in many third world countries. I am NOT high maintenance so when I say that it means something.The conditions of the bathrooms and showers was appalling. There was floor to ceiling mold in every shower stall and not a single one drained. I know because I tried all of them looking for a clean one. The floors were filthy. It was truly unhealthy. I was there 3 days and it wasn't cleaned even once.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • kaitlynfreire225
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Apr 2017
5.4

This hostel is what it is. It's claustrophobic, they use every nook and cranny of the space. The showers never get hot, tepid at best. The floors and walls of the showers are dirty and do not appear to be cleaned every day. The blankets are woolen, leading me to believe they may not be that clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
2.6

The room is old, dark, and dirty without lock for both the entrance door and room door. The hostel turned off heater at night and only gave us a thin blanket, which is really cold at -8 degree in Zermatt. Reception is only available from 4pm and breakfast is not included. The only plus point is its location near cable cars station to Matterhorn. Overall, it's not a good deal.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2017
7.7

The place is nice but the doors don't all have locks and the lockers don't all have the ability to lock. There is a kettle but little other cooking facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
10.0

Helpful staff. HUGE lockers which was great. Really good location. Clean bathrooms and showers. I highly recommend and will stay again in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostel! Highly recommended. Sofia (gal at the front) is amazing too. She's a real sweetheart.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Mar 2017
8.9

Great location. It is probably a 10 minute walk, possibly a litte further, from the train station but the views of the matterhorn are incredible. There are lots of restaurants, bars and supermarkets nearby. The staff at the hostel are amazing. The rooms are quite dark but comfortable and the people staying there are really friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
6.3

Staff was very friendly and helpful, and good location, but the hostel facilities were cramped and somewhat uncomfortable. Showers were questionable. Can be rather noisy. Cheapest place in Zermatt, but expensive for what you get (typical for Switzerland)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
7.1

For the location it's quite cheap, but still the value for money isn't great at all. The hostel is very cramped, the rooms have seen better times and it can be very noisy. Also, they have some problems with heating and showers: Either it's too hot or too cold. Still, ithe hostel is cleaned every day and the staff is very helpful and kind. I had a pleasant stay overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.