Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 756 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 756 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Mar 2017
6.3

Staff was very friendly and helpful, and good location, but the hostel facilities were cramped and somewhat uncomfortable. Showers were questionable. Can be rather noisy. Cheapest place in Zermatt, but expensive for what you get (typical for Switzerland)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
7.1

For the location it's quite cheap, but still the value for money isn't great at all. The hostel is very cramped, the rooms have seen better times and it can be very noisy. Also, they have some problems with heating and showers: Either it's too hot or too cold. Still, ithe hostel is cleaned every day and the staff is very helpful and kind. I had a pleasant stay overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
8.6

Great Place not far from the slopes or the town, Sparky's bar was great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

An affordable & comfortable place to stay in Zermatt! The staff was friendly & the rooms were comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Feb 2017
8.6

Wicked staff so nice and full of information. Only a short walk to the centre. Bar down stairs has great food and Sparky in the restaurant is a super nice dude. If I'm ever back in Zermatt I will definitely be comming back here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Feb 2017
4.9

The hostel in general felt dirty, the beds looked like prison beds, the showers didn't feel clean and were very old. There was no kitchen (ie, no microwave to cook a meal in, very few plates and cutlery) and the worst part was you were expected to wash your dishes in the bathroom sink. I wouldn't say the staff weren't nice but certainly not overly helpful or friendly when we first arrived. As per our rating, we don't believe its value for money and we would never recommend nor stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Feb 2017
7.7

The hostel was in a great location, and walking distance to everything in Zermatt. Good atmosphere and spaces make it easy to meet others staying in the hostel. Facilities were fine, but not the cleanest. No lock on door and had to pay a 20 CHF deposit to use the lockers in the room, but there was no reason to worry about safety or theft.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Great hostel. Friendly staff. Terrific location. Woke up looked out the window and had multi-million dollar view. Would have like to have a security locker for peace of mind. Didn't really need one however.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
9.1

They gave us our own room even though we had booked a 6 or 8 person mixed room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Dec 2016
6.0

Just like everything in Switzerland, this hostel was expensive for what you get. My bed was a foam mattress which gave me a sore back in the morning. There is two power plugs for the room, and I had to share my locker with another roommate. There are a large basin on the second level which about 6 rooms share. The shower in the morning was half cold and you cannot change the heat in the shower. Pretty average hostel. Staff are literally the best though!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.