Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 749 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 749 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Feb 2017
4.9

The hostel in general felt dirty, the beds looked like prison beds, the showers didn't feel clean and were very old. There was no kitchen (ie, no microwave to cook a meal in, very few plates and cutlery) and the worst part was you were expected to wash your dishes in the bathroom sink. I wouldn't say the staff weren't nice but certainly not overly helpful or friendly when we first arrived. As per our rating, we don't believe its value for money and we would never recommend nor stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Feb 2017
7.7

The hostel was in a great location, and walking distance to everything in Zermatt. Good atmosphere and spaces make it easy to meet others staying in the hostel. Facilities were fine, but not the cleanest. No lock on door and had to pay a 20 CHF deposit to use the lockers in the room, but there was no reason to worry about safety or theft.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Great hostel. Friendly staff. Terrific location. Woke up looked out the window and had multi-million dollar view. Would have like to have a security locker for peace of mind. Didn't really need one however.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
9.1

They gave us our own room even though we had booked a 6 or 8 person mixed room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Dec 2016
6.0

Just like everything in Switzerland, this hostel was expensive for what you get. My bed was a foam mattress which gave me a sore back in the morning. There is two power plugs for the room, and I had to share my locker with another roommate. There are a large basin on the second level which about 6 rooms share. The shower in the morning was half cold and you cannot change the heat in the shower. Pretty average hostel. Staff are literally the best though!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Nov 2016
7.1

The hostel is conveniently located nearby the first gondola which makes it a perfekt place for those interested in going skiing. Also not too far of a walk from the downtown area (about 10 minutes). Otherwise the room and other facilities were fine. Towels were also not included in the price which is not the norm for hostels I have stayed in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
8.0

While i was there the room was uncomfortably hot two nights in a row, and the door screeched like a banshee. Amazing location though, and Sparky's is great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Nov 2016
7.4

Rosvita took care of us very well. Always with a smile and constantly checking if we are doing good and if anything is needed whenever we bumped into her. Location of the hostel is nice, but anywhere in Zermatt is fine, everything is within walking distance. The room was alright and other guests were fantastic, which made us ignore the key-less rooms and the lack of security. Only one little thing, the TV room where we hung out at night is a little dirty and requires more attention.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.1

The reception girl is superb friendly n nice. Share the joy with you in sighting the Matterhorn. It is the cheapest accommodation here in Zermatt, I would said it is value for money but don't expect more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
9th Nov 2016
9.1

This place really grew on me. It's got a really sweet cabin feel to it whilst providing everything you need. The hostel is basic but compared to most accommodation in Zermatt, it is really good value. We waited a few days for the snow to clear to see the mountain but when it finally did - just magic.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.