Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Maze Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 1603 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 1603 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • heather_a_weir7620
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2017
6.9

Amazing location. Staff were great. Cheap and cheerful. But all the other reviews are right. It is dated. It is dirty. The hall carpets really should be replaced. The paint on the walls is scuffed off, In showers, hallways, our room. Where locks are door closers have been replaced it hasn't been painted all exposed wood. The shelves in the shower cubicles are swollen and rotting. Place just needs a good reno.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • nzlonman
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
10.0

Amazing for a first time experience. Friendly crew adds to the experience. Will recommend this place and will return for another stay. Thanks to the guys at Maze.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th May 2017
9.1

Absolutely amazing hostel, definitely recommending it to anyone coming to Sydney. Super fun, nice people and got upgraded to a private room which always helps!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
6.6

I stayed 2nd floor. There is very dirty shower room so I can't use without shouse. And then its structure is maze like the name! It is difficult to find place!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • NicolajHansen95
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
8.9

Great Hostel to be at. A lot of long termers so you feel like everyone knows each other. i would stay here more if i could.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
7.7

They upgraded our room to only 2 beds room suite which made our day! Though we missed the chance to meet new roommates but after all was a great stay with them. good security and friendly staff always willing to answer your concerns also the facilities are functioning very well. loved the Tuesday burger day great idea for budget backpackers. location was good too very easy to find and in very central walkable to everywhere. if i was ever in sydney again would defo choose to stay with them again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
4.3

Felt like I was in Chernobyl

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
10.0

Does what it says on the tin. (everything was as-advertised - exactly what I was promised).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
7.4

More of a place for long term travellers rather than short termers, great cooking facilities and social areas. Bit cheeky though wanting money for lockers and in general place was quite dingy and dirty. For the money though would happily go back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
6th Mar 2017
6.6

Large clean kitchen. free food night's and events during day such as the coogee to Bondi walk. Very close to the train station. Hostel is a little bit dated, not many showers / toilets per section

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.