Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Maze Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
The Maze Backpackers Located at 417 Pitt Street, , Sydney.
The Maze Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 417 Pitt Street
77% 1413
-33.8786596 151.2070924
The Maze Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Aug 2016
7.1

It's a big building, with no much personality as a backpackers should have. May be the city itself ? I can't tell since I spend just one night at this hostel. My single room was tiny & not charming at all! hahaha I shouldn't expect much I guess.. razonable value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sskwirrel
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.3

Very well located hostel with very basic facilities in the rooms and reasonable communal areas. Can't talk to the kitchen/dining facilities but the pool tables were popular. As the hostel is located over a busy road if you have an outside facing room it can be quite noisy late into the evening and in the early morning with partying then traffic, however the inside rooms would be quiet. Has security lockers available for storage but the private rooms are lockable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
4.9

The hostel smells really bad, I've stayed there a couple of times before and it's always the same so it's a bit odd. Good they do 3 free meals a week. Didn't try it but when it's free it's a win. My main problem was how cold inside the hostel was. I literally couldn't deal with it, as I'm not good with the cold and had to sleep with 2 blankets, my coat, my very thick scarf and a hat and I was still shivering. Stop being cheapskates and install a heating system or thicker Wind

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

Great staff, very professional and kind. The place could use some renovations. It is great that they also have single rooms, almost as cheap as the dorms. Great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Jul 2016
4.9

Dirty, smelly room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
8.0

Great location and amenities. Helpful staff. It's an old building so the entrance to upstairs may smell funny. Suitable for non fussy backpackers. Well-recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
6.0

Cold room. AC on blast. Got a blanket. No lockers. Old and confusing build with a funky smell in the stairway from the first to the second floor. Only one bathroom on each side or at least that was what I was able to find due to the lack of signs. No free wifi. Had to pay for it and was expensive. Pretty convenient location with restaurants and stores nearby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 41 reviews
11th Jul 2016
6.9

The overall place is pretty rundown especially the bathrooms but its reasonable value considering the location. The free food days is a nice touch.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
6.6

No lift for luggage would be the most inconvenient part of this hostel. Nice and friendly staff btw. I experienced a 20min blackout in the stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2016
6.6

Wifi was terrible. Showed were pretty terrible. Rooms were cold. Female staff were great. People staying there were awesome and welcoming. The goon game nights were great fun :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.