Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Maze Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 1571 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 1571 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
4.3

Felt like I was in Chernobyl

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Mar 2017
7.4

More of a place for long term travellers rather than short termers, great cooking facilities and social areas. Bit cheeky though wanting money for lockers and in general place was quite dingy and dirty. For the money though would happily go back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
6th Mar 2017
6.6

Large clean kitchen. free food night's and events during day such as the coogee to Bondi walk. Very close to the train station. Hostel is a little bit dated, not many showers / toilets per section

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2017
4.3

Start from the bathroom are not clean and the water at the sink is running the whole time,it should been fix for water save environment!bathroom is not very clean n shower no liquid soap free service!cos the price is pretty high..the hall way is very smelly!!laudry aren't enuf people crashing to used! I recommend drop the price down to be fair and there are more good thing will good to ur place!!! Thx u :)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Feb 2017
5.4

The space in the private rooms was basically a joke for the price we paid. The communal space was not very nice either. On the whole, the stay was very uncomfortable, we just wanted to be out of the hostel all day and didn't want to socialise there, which defeats the Point of a hostel. I've stayed in lots of hostels, this was top end in Terms of pricing but bottom of the pile in Terms of Quality. I would seriously consider reducing the price in order to manage visitors expectations correctly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Feb 2017
5.7

very old , and dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
2.0

This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. I like eggs

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
3.1

You couldn't breath in the cooridors, the place stank and was so unfresh.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.3

A lovely place for a weekend away to explore a new city, a new part of Sydney. Lots of lovely backpackers exploring Sydney, great exchange of stories and ideas. Lots of fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • csevenants
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
8.0

Maze was a good place to stay. The kitchen had everything you needed and was kept clean. The rooms were tiny places with no room other than the bunks, hardly any room for everyones bags. It was hard to meet people because there was no real place to meet people besides the kitchen and eating area. There were a few activities each day which was nice and the drink coupons were good! Overall a good place to stay for a reasonable price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.