Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Maze Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,401 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,401 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.6
The Maze Backpackers Located at 417 Pitt Street, , Sydney.
The Maze Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 417 Pitt Street
75% 1401
-33.8786596 151.2070924
The Maze Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
4.9

The hostel smells really bad, I've stayed there a couple of times before and it's always the same so it's a bit odd. Good they do 3 free meals a week. Didn't try it but when it's free it's a win. My main problem was how cold inside the hostel was. I literally couldn't deal with it, as I'm not good with the cold and had to sleep with 2 blankets, my coat, my very thick scarf and a hat and I was still shivering. Stop being cheapskates and install a heating system or thicker Wind

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

Great staff, very professional and kind. The place could use some renovations. It is great that they also have single rooms, almost as cheap as the dorms. Great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Jul 2016
4.9

Dirty, smelly room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
8.0

Great location and amenities. Helpful staff. It's an old building so the entrance to upstairs may smell funny. Suitable for non fussy backpackers. Well-recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 41 reviews
11th Jul 2016
6.9

The overall place is pretty rundown especially the bathrooms but its reasonable value considering the location. The free food days is a nice touch.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
6.6

No lift for luggage would be the most inconvenient part of this hostel. Nice and friendly staff btw. I experienced a 20min blackout in the stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2016
6.6

Wifi was terrible. Showed were pretty terrible. Rooms were cold. Female staff were great. People staying there were awesome and welcoming. The goon game nights were great fun :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jul 2016
5.4

only good thing about this hostel is the location and the beds are comforable. The toilets and showers are DISGUSTING both in the female and male.. you can get so much more for your money. its really noisy and no lockers in rooms. the whole place can do with a lick of paint.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
6.3

The staff and location are lovely. Most over aspects of this hostel are average. However, upon arrival, the bathrooms were horrendous!! They had not been cleaned, the toilets were clogged and the smell was horrible!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
8.6

Had a really good time there. It's the perfect spot as a first place to arrive in Sydney. The staff was very helpful, rooms and facilities are clean and they had great promotional schemes for other places and free meals. Unfortunately no free WiFi but it was all good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.