Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Maze Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.8
The Maze Backpackers Located at 417 Pitt Street, , Sydney.
The Maze Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 417 Pitt Street
75% 1438
-33.8786596 151.2070924
The Maze Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Sep 2016
6.0

A very big hostel with lots of residents being full time workers. Staff weren't as forthcoming as others I have met in hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Sep 2016
5.4

Great location close to train station, buses and shopping centre. Just a few minutes walk to some great eateries, especially if you are into Thai food. The staff was nice enough to let me check in early and upgraded me from a single private to a double private room. Still pretty annoyed that they couldn't extend the checkout time from 10am to 11am. Especially due to the fact that I had a job interview. I had to change in a dirty and flooded toilet which saw parts of my suit get wet.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
6.0

I stayed at there for two nights. I think it should be cheap coz it's not so clean. However, the location is extremely nice if you don't mind about cleanness

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
9.4

Great Hostel - Plenty of events to get involved in if you are into that thing. The free food a few times a week is a great plus. Stayed in an 8 Bed dorm, wasn't a lot of room for everybody's stuff when the room was full, but there are lockers around the hostel to put stuff in, just not in the room. Would Recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
8.6

Maze is a great hostel for short-time accommodations! Staff is extremely helpful, especially with lugging luggage up the stairs (no elevator) and for directions of good restaurants in the area and fun walking distance trips. I was only there for a couple days but met so many fun and adventurous people within hours of arriving. I would definitely recommend Maze to anybody looking for a social stay, right in the heart of Sydney.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
8.3

Staff were hospitable and my room was freshly made but nobody made my bed or cleaned my room for tge next 3 nights. Toilets and shower are really unsanitary. Bed was comfy and there are a lot of activities going on to keep you busy. Am happy and i would comeback.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
5.4

It is impossible to sleep because in my room was VERY VERY noisy! Downstairs there is a disco and the music is like that if it is inside of the room! Two night and both I couldn't sleep until 3am!! when the disco had closed!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • robynschneidergale2900
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
7.1

Security lockers are charged if you stay here, and if you're staying past 3 nights are actually quite expensive. Cleaners were cleaning the toilets at 8:30 every morning, leaving just one bathroom (2 showers) on a massive floor of 100+ rooms. Also most of the showers were pretty rubbish, barely worked and I even got bleach on some clothes from excess bleach on the floor. For the money you pay, there are worse places to stay in central Sydney. Staff were kind and helpful when I became very ill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
4.9

Once pass the entrance to accomodation I felt extremely unsafe within the facilities. Although each room had security passes, walls & doors were extremely thin, and easily accessed. Terrible smell through building. Rooms were dirty & obviously not routinely cleaned. Used the bathroom AFTER the cleaner & was still filthy with a terrible odour. Issue with electrical points in room; unable to charge phones etc which was inexcusable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
7.1

It's a big building, with no much personality as a backpackers should have. May be the city itself ? I can't tell since I spend just one night at this hostel. My single room was tiny & not charming at all! hahaha I shouldn't expect much I guess.. razonable value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.