Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Maze Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 1,523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 1,523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.1
The Maze Backpackers Located at 417 Pitt Street, , Sydney.
The Maze Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 417 Pitt Street
69% 1523
-33.8786596 151.2070924
The Maze Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.0

A good place but it smells, there was no air con and it s hard to be sociable there. Bar that... the showers are good, the staff aren't rude and the kitchen is alright. I did get a free upgrade and the wifi is good... well in my room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aastastephenson
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Jan 2017
2.3

Worst place I've ever stayed. It's filthy, don't be surprised if you catch something. Rooms are about 100 degrees, had to change rooms 3 times and not one fan worked. Got interrogated trying to get to my room by security and staff. Kitchen is far too busy you can't do anything. Everyone was leaving doors open and people were coming in (including people not staying in my room) whenever they wanted. Wifi doesn't even work properly and it's not free!! Don't even bother wasting your money here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
2.9

I can understand why there are so many homeless people in Sydney because if they were offered to stay in this hole for $50 dollars a night I am sure they would prefer to stay on the streets ! They are definitely cleaner! The rooms were never cleaned someone hoovered the entrance to the doorway if you were lucky! The rooms are smelly and hot the whole place is run down and the bathrooms are filthy! To their credit they don't let guests in so you can't even have fun and chill out with friends!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
3.7

Worst place I've ever stayed at. Loud (both because of the street noise and because of other guests), unfriendly staff/backpackers. It was a party hostel that I felt far too old for (I'm 23 and I like partying, just couldn't handle the kiddie party going on in the lounge). It was dirty. Awful, absolutely awful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
7.4

Good location. Noisy .... especially if room at front of building as bars located in road.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2016
5.7

The staff were friendly. The place was rather dirty. The shower had used q-tips and a bandaid in it and hair all over. I had gotten a private room and it had a very jail cell type of feel. All of the other places I stayed in Australia were much nicer and less costly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
9.1

Great party hostel, evening bar crawls are good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Dec 2016
5.1

Wifi was decent. Lockers where way too expensive to rent and not much room in them either. Kitchen and seating area closes too early. Really bad smell of urine everywhere. Staff at desk where really friendly, security staff and cleaning staff werent so much. Wouldnt stay again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2016
2.9

Absolutely awful, do not stay here. Hostels are only really supposed to be a cheap place to sleep, but they should still be clean. Maze is absolutely filthy. The toilets and showers are disgusting. The entire hostel stinks from the moment you walk into reception. The entire hostel looks like a cross between a prison and a mental hospital that hasn't been decorated or cleaned for 100 years. Security and staff on reception are extremely rude. Disgusting and horrible place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Dec 2016
7.1

Big and clean kitchen, just confusing you have to clean up in another room, that also means all utensils are spread out. Have been there twice, first time I had a normal room, next time it smelled weird - think you just need to be lucky. Really good location, cheapest private room in the cbd. Was alright for one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.