Hostelworld.com

The Maze Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 1552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 1552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Feb 2017
5.7

very old , and dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
3.1

You couldn't breath in the cooridors, the place stank and was so unfresh.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.3

A lovely place for a weekend away to explore a new city, a new part of Sydney. Lots of lovely backpackers exploring Sydney, great exchange of stories and ideas. Lots of fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • csevenants
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
8.0

Maze was a good place to stay. The kitchen had everything you needed and was kept clean. The rooms were tiny places with no room other than the bunks, hardly any room for everyones bags. It was hard to meet people because there was no real place to meet people besides the kitchen and eating area. There were a few activities each day which was nice and the drink coupons were good! Overall a good place to stay for a reasonable price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2017
2.9

This hostel is hands down the worst I've stayed at in Australia. Pros: - The location is good Cons: - Everything else!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
15th Jan 2017
6.9

Had a private twin room which was tiny and ridiculously hot. Bathrooms were smelly and quite dirty, also cockroaches in the corridors. The kitchen had a good system to avoid overcrowding and the location was pretty good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.0

A good place but it smells, there was no air con and it s hard to be sociable there. Bar that... the showers are good, the staff aren't rude and the kitchen is alright. I did get a free upgrade and the wifi is good... well in my room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aastastephenson
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Jan 2017
2.3

Worst place I've ever stayed. It's filthy, don't be surprised if you catch something. Rooms are about 100 degrees, had to change rooms 3 times and not one fan worked. Got interrogated trying to get to my room by security and staff. Kitchen is far too busy you can't do anything. Everyone was leaving doors open and people were coming in (including people not staying in my room) whenever they wanted. Wifi doesn't even work properly and it's not free!! Don't even bother wasting your money here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
2.9

I can understand why there are so many homeless people in Sydney because if they were offered to stay in this hole for $50 dollars a night I am sure they would prefer to stay on the streets ! They are definitely cleaner! The rooms were never cleaned someone hoovered the entrance to the doorway if you were lucky! The rooms are smelly and hot the whole place is run down and the bathrooms are filthy! To their credit they don't let guests in so you can't even have fun and chill out with friends!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
3.7

Worst place I've ever stayed at. Loud (both because of the street noise and because of other guests), unfriendly staff/backpackers. It was a party hostel that I felt far too old for (I'm 23 and I like partying, just couldn't handle the kiddie party going on in the lounge). It was dirty. Awful, absolutely awful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.