Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Maze Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 1,489 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 1,489 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.2
The Maze Backpackers Located at 417 Pitt Street, , Sydney.
The Maze Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 417 Pitt Street
70% 1489
-33.8786596 151.2070924
The Maze Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Dec 2016
8.9

Stayed in a twin private room, quite small but did the job. Great kitchen facilities even when busy there is plenty of space and equipment. Free chicken and rice one night which was a nice surprise and good drinks/food vouchers. Towels on arrival was a good bonus. Ideal location, would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
6.0

The hostel Smelled strongly like animal crud and rooms were tiny. I guess it's what you get for the price

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • abirawle
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Nov 2016
2.0

The absolute worst hostel I have ever stayed in. From the moment we stepped in the door, we knew we'd made a mistake; The hostel smells like a cats litter tray. The social areas, bedrooms and bathrooms are run down. The staff are unfriendly and unhelpful, treating paying customers like children. We will be in Sydney for the another 11 months and thank the Lord that we don't have to spend another one of those days in this stinking shack. Steer clear

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
8.9

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms on the street side were a little bit noisy, through no fault of the hostel. I would recommend trying to get an inside room instead. Otherwise was very good, nice hot water in the showers which were kept clean by the staff. I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Nov 2016
6.9

Great for a short stay in Sydney as long as you're not fussy. Location is great - walking distance to all the attractions, bars and opposite a shopping centre, including a Coles. Decent sized kitchen including 3 fridge rooms, so there's always somewhere to put your stuff. Can get noisy at night but this is only a problem if you're not interested in going out. Biggest downside was that the showers kept breaking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
8.6

Clean, quiet room. Great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2016
6.3

Good location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
8.9

Friendly staff. Older style boarding house type accommodation. Close to Central Station and "Thai Tow n".

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
8.6

The staff is very friendly and sometimes they have free dinner, the toilet is clean and also the rooms but the building is old and inside is not so beautiful, but in general is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hamishman
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Oct 2016
5.4

Great location but with the amount of money they would be making off this place you'd think they could do a revamp clean the place up a bit. Get rid of the stinky carpet!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.