Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Maze Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 1616 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 1616 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • nikh322
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2017
4.6

This was by far the worst place I've ever stayed at. I have never had a noisier room. The bed was terrible, the bathroom far away and the place in dire need of renovations. I slept about an hour, very, very, very unimpressed with my night here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
4.6

Except on one occasion, the staff was rude and not helpful. The facilities could use a good cleaning. Extra fees and charges around every corner that had not been explained in the hostel world posting. Light did not work in the room. Only positive was the location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Georgecolson1997
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
5.1

Nice friendly staff not a bad location but it was cold, smelled, cracks in the walls, bathrooms were not pleasant and the beds were very uncomfortable and it didn't seem well kept at all, wouldn't recommend

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
7.7

Great place for long stay. Good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • heather_a_weir7620
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2017
6.9

Amazing location. Staff were great. Cheap and cheerful. But all the other reviews are right. It is dated. It is dirty. The hall carpets really should be replaced. The paint on the walls is scuffed off, In showers, hallways, our room. Where locks are door closers have been replaced it hasn't been painted all exposed wood. The shelves in the shower cubicles are swollen and rotting. Place just needs a good reno.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • nzlonman
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
10.0

Amazing for a first time experience. Friendly crew adds to the experience. Will recommend this place and will return for another stay. Thanks to the guys at Maze.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th May 2017
9.1

Absolutely amazing hostel, definitely recommending it to anyone coming to Sydney. Super fun, nice people and got upgraded to a private room which always helps!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
6.6

I stayed 2nd floor. There is very dirty shower room so I can't use without shouse. And then its structure is maze like the name! It is difficult to find place!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • NicolajHansen95
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
8.9

Great Hostel to be at. A lot of long termers so you feel like everyone knows each other. i would stay here more if i could.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
7.7

They upgraded our room to only 2 beds room suite which made our day! Though we missed the chance to meet new roommates but after all was a great stay with them. good security and friendly staff always willing to answer your concerns also the facilities are functioning very well. loved the Tuesday burger day great idea for budget backpackers. location was good too very easy to find and in very central walkable to everywhere. if i was ever in sydney again would defo choose to stay with them again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.