Hostelworld.com

The Maze Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.6
The Maze Backpackers Located at 417 Pitt Street, , Sydney.
The Maze Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 417 Pitt Street
75% 1380
-33.8786596 151.2070924
The Maze Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jun 2016
4.6

Just to sleep and leave the next day -No lockers/safety,doors have to be extra secure as it doesn't close properly on its own. -Great location. -Staff are not as friendly and not flexible at all. Eg. No lift and no leaving your bag overnight, must tap in again even if they see you just come out. -Rowdy crowd, lots of party people drinking alcohol and sometimes there are couples bathing together. -Curtains and carpets are dusty and have an unpleasant smell. Toilets are minimally maintained.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
4.9

The bathrooms and showers are very out of the way and the place is a bit gross. The sinks need updating and something must be done to prevent the whole bathroom floor being a lake and muddy. More bathrooms closer to rooms would help. Whilst the bathrooms aren't dirty, the blankets, rooms and carpets were. The place was very cold and there's no lift so you have to carry all your bags up the floors and through the world's most maze-like place. I will not book here again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • paigerk
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jun 2016
7.4

Got a free upgrade to a private room, which was great. Bedsheets had a stain but they gave me a new one. Staff were friendly. There was a leak in the hall from a rain storm, and the bathrooms weren't the cleanest. Beds were comfy. Not great for meeting people - this isn't usually an issue for two outgoing girls, but Maze wasn't the place for us to make new friends. Great location. Good place to crash!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
6.6

we enjoyed our stay here, but it rained loads when we were staying here; we could hear dips from the window and the ceilings. When we woke up we the curtains were very wet/mouldy, also the plug was under the window which meant that the plug was getting wet at times, which is very unsafe. Staff were very nice, and friendly. Fresh towels. and very good location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
8.9

Great Hostel! Meals are free twice a week, perfect location, the staff is nice, and for such a big hostel it is clean. However, you have to pay for internet (but it is working well) and our room was really small, so you are not comfortable if you stay more than a few days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2016
9.7

This hostel is A MAZE ING!! I left but came back again it's that good. It's location is right by all the buses to get around Sydney. The nightlife is great and it's is like 1 big family. Tv room upstairs is so nice if you want to chill out. Everyone I've met so far is really nice and friendly. There's a greyhound shop right next door for your onwards travels as well. Definately recommend it here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
7.7

Maze was a great stay and excellent value. The front desk folks were awesome and the location nicely central, near the trains and right in downtown Sydney. Perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
9.4

Great location! Can walk to everything! Great bar at the corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
8.9

Nice Hostel with a superb location (few blocks from Central Station). Very helpful staff, I had a problem with my cel phone and Alberto (the colombian guy) lent me his cel phone to make a call . You have some nights a free dinner. The room was clean. The bathrooms and showers (with hot water) were also clean and available. I had to pay the wifi but It was very fast sometimes I prefer to pay it than a free wifi that you can't use. The price was ok. I can recommend the place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th May 2016
8.9

Really great kitchen, lots to do and would be great if you are a solo traveller. The walls are very thin and the shower I used was mostly a strong drip, but other showers seemed to be working better. Friendly and helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.