Hostelworld.com

The Maze Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,363 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,363 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.7
The Maze Backpackers Located at 417 Pitt Street, , Sydney.
The Maze Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 417 Pitt Street
75% 1363
-33.8786596 151.2070924
The Maze Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
9.7

This hostel is A MAZE ING!! I left but came back again it's that good. It's location is right by all the buses to get around Sydney. The nightlife is great and it's is like 1 big family. Tv room upstairs is so nice if you want to chill out. Everyone I've met so far is really nice and friendly. There's a greyhound shop right next door for your onwards travels as well. Definately recommend it here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
9.4

Great location! Can walk to everything! Great bar at the corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th May 2016
8.9

Really great kitchen, lots to do and would be great if you are a solo traveller. The walls are very thin and the shower I used was mostly a strong drip, but other showers seemed to be working better. Friendly and helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
8.3

Maze is really nicely located, close to central station and a short walk from a lot of sweet places. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The place is huge though, almost a bit overwhelming if you're not used to it. Tons of people there too, with only about 8 toilets and 8 showers to share among 50 or so people. They do a great job of organizing outings for you to meet other people

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
8.6

Clean and safe place to stay. Lots of activities through the week and hostel is close to supermarket and the restuarant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th May 2016
8.6

Nice hostel, we were upgraded to a twin which was a bonus. Atmosphere in the hostel wasn't too great.. It seemed like there was a clique of people who lived there and seemed to keep mostly to themselves. It was clean and very central though made staying in Sydney great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2016
7.7

all was good... some volunteer staff are annoying they kinda bunch up together and feel they own the hostel. nevertheless all is good...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2016
9.7

Friendly staff, friendly people staying at the hostel. Only problem I had was people stealing food from the kitchen but you can't put that down to the hostel this is just people being idiots. Great location, dead between tone hall and central train station with loads of bus stops in the area also. They have drinking games most evenings and always try and involve everyone, they also do food nights where the staff will cook food for the people staying in the hostel which is a nice touch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
9.7

We had a private room for 2, it was small and basic but did the job. Bathrooms were cleaned regularly. Staff were lovely and informative. We didn't use the kitchen or join in the activities but there always seemed to be something happening. A good location. I would stay here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
4.6

The stench was incredible. The smell of sweat, cleaning products and mothballs mixed together. I had to go and buy anti-histamine so I could breathe on the second day of a 4 day stay. There is no way that the sodden disgusting old carpet, stained sticky chair and ancient mattress could be hygenic. The bathrooms had broken fixtures, some without anywhere to rest a bathroom bag and were often extremely dirty because they weren't cleaned often enough during peak times.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.