Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Midland Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 943 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 943 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
14th Sep 2017
9.4

Staff are amazing.Literally got dragged out of bed to come socialise.Was nice to see they want to make sure every guest is having a good time and they go out of their way to socialise and do things for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thank you for your nice words! Yes, indeed, it was funny when we dragged you out of the bed on our BBQ night and we're glad to hear that you had a great time staying with us! :-) You'll be always welcomed back, until then, cheers and safe travels, Midland Crew

12th Sep 2017
9.4

The stay at the hostel was super good. Cool atmosphere, nice staff e perfect position (very close to the center of the city). Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thanks for your nice words! Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope your way back home went well. All of you are welcomed back anytime! :-) Cheers and safe travels, Midland Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2017
5.1

Was it the mosquitos? I will never know.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Sorry to hear this also in your review, but you know better than anyone else that there were mosquitos and you even claim that after we gave you insect plug in repellent and sprayed the private room you were staying. We apologise for the incident, but don't get it why you should write us a bad review about it while the problem was solved as soon as we could and the next day nothing else happened and even you came at the reception and said that. Was your stay so bad that you had to give us a 5.1? I can assure you that there's nothing else, we do fumigate the rooms every second month against anykind of insect, that's the law applied in Romania in hostels, but pretty sure you know that because we discussed about it face to face and you seemed to understand, but I was wrong. Maybe next time when you plan to stay with us, you'll understand better what we are explaining to you. Cheers, Midland Crew

4th Sep 2017
9.7

Cool hostel with really friendly staff and good atmosphere. My final night we were all sitting around chatting and one of the staff grabbed a bunch of beers and a jenga set to get a game going. It's a little far from the old town (about 20 minutes walk) but I'd definitely go back there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thank you so much for the nice words! We're playing board games or drinking games almost every night when people gather around the common area. :-) we're playing even with 2 people and after other will join! Really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and besides playing games and having fun, it was a pleasure having you in the hostel. :-) Hope to meet again someday soon, but until then, cheers and safe travels, Midland Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2017
10.0

Great social atmosphere,incredible staff ( i love you all), perfect location. Seems to attract a nice collection of travelers, always someone to have a couple of beers and interesting conversations with. The rooms have AC, but you don't really spend so much time in there because of that amazing common area! I hope to see you guys soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thank you deeply for your kind words! Makes me happy to see that guests really do love us, haha. It was a pleasure to host you and maybe we meet again someday soon. :-) Until then, cheers and safe travel, Midland Family

26th Aug 2017
10.0

Place was fantastic, really good common area, cheap beers, and awesome staff. Stayed 3 days longer than expected and loved it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thank you for the nice words! Glad you enjoyed your stay and that we convinced you to stay longer than expected! :-) Hope your trip around the world will be filled up with nice moments and enjoy them the way you want! Hope to meet again soon, and until then, cheers and safe travels, Midland Family

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Aug 2017
9.7

Amazing hostel, everyone who works here is great, the location is great. One of the best.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thank you for your feedback and we are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! :-) It was fun having you, guys, at the hostel, we had fun the night we went out with you and other guests! :-D Hope the rest of your trip went well and had fun both in Budapest and Tatra Mountains and someday soon, maybe we meet again. Until then, cheers and safe travels, Midland Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Aug 2017
10.0

Great hostel with very friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thank you for your feedback! Glad you enjoyed your stay even though it was just for 1 night. Hopefully next time you'll stay longer and maybe go out for a beer or two. :-) Until then, cheers and safe travels, Midland Family

18th Aug 2017
10.0

Stay here! Feels like home. Everyone is super friendly and make you feel truly welcome. Location is perfect - airport bus stop is 2 blocks away, and the metro is there too. Owner (Marius) is really nice and helpful - the first night, he took us to a local restaurant and music festival, and he helped me find my ancestor's home in a nearby village! The staff are more friends than employees. Serban took us to a cool underground bar, Robert will tattoo you (seriously), and Ana is so sweet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Really thank you for your words and thank you for staying with us! ^_^ Having you in the hostel was overwhelming in a positive way, you were creating a nice vibe around you and it's true, we felt you as an old friend, and that's the idea we want to share with each individual guest, to treat people as friends, so this way the vibe in the hostel grows in front of our eyes. :-) Also, really happy that we helped you with finding your grandfather's hometown and house and hope you found all your answers to your questions about him. It was nice meeting you and maybe we cross roads someday! :-) Cheers and safe travels, Midland Family

  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Aug 2017
9.1

+ centre located, helpful, friendly staff, clean, large livingroom, many toilets& showers, I was upgraded by putting at 4bed room instead of 6 for free. - it's rather a party hostel with a couple of youngsters, hardly could sleep at night; entrance door was open sometimes

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thank you for your feedback! Yes, it's true, you've been upgraded to the 4 bedroom from the 8 bedroom, not 6 bedroom, we don't have a 6 dorm bed. :-) I don't know what to say about party hostel, we are not seeing ourselves like that. It's true the hostel gets crowded, people stay until late in the common spaces and share stories and playing boardgames, and yeah, it gets noisy, but we do mention about this on our Hostelworld page. But at the end, this is a hostel and that's the purpose of it, people to socialise, share their stories, playing boardgames, having fun and enjoying their time. :-) I don't blame you, probably you were expecting something else from this point of view. :-) As for the entrance door, it's true sometimes is opened by mistake, because some people don't know how to close it properly, but no worries about it, we'll take more care so this incident won't happen anymore. :-) At the end, thank you for the high rates and glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry that we didn't fulfill all your wishes. :-) Until next time, cheers and safe travels, Midland Family

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×