Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Midland Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 745 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 745 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
The Midland Hostel Located at Str Biserica Amzei, nr 22, Apt 3, Sector 1, Bucharest.
The Midland Hostel
Romania
Bucharest 010395 Str Biserica Amzei, nr 22, Apt 3, Sector 1
91% 745
44.4449485 26.0950559
The Midland Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Sep 2016
8.6

Great location, right in the heart of Bucharest! A warm, cosy and friendly atmosphere. My only critique goes to the toilet and showers! It is a rather small room with 2 toilets and 3(4) shower cabins. They are all next to each other and basically there's no sense of privacy. Nevertheless, I will consider the place in the future.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
7th Sep 2016
7.1

I chose this hostel as I didn't want to be in a noisy central area with lots of partying. Unfortunately the staff and a group of guests were playing loud music at reception (right outside the rooms) until 11pm, preventing me from getting an early night sleep as desired (I had to catch an early flight in the morning). Otherwise everything was good. There's only one toilet, but multiple showers. Staff was helpful with information about the area. It's also ideal if you're going to airport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Normally I can empathize with a negative experience, but this one's on you. We make no claims that we're gonna be quiet and if you're expecting a hostel to be a library at 11pm, then you're probably going to be disappointed (which seems to be the case from your other reviews as well). Short and sweet - don't book a hostel because it's a cheap bed, book a hostel because it has the atmosphere you want. Directly from our description - "The hostel and it's guests interact, drink, & eat together, so if you expect a very quiet place, please contact us so we can redirect you to another place." Cheers and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
8.9

Excellent staff and really chilled vibe in the hostel, lovely balcony too. However it is terrible for sleeping/if you want to sleep before 3am - not ideal layout, the common room is in the middle and the dorm rooms go off it so it is very noisy. Also lots of mosquitoes in the building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Aug 2016
10.0

Brilliantly situated, absolutley brilliant staff and a lovely atmosphere. Will deffinatley return

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
18th Aug 2016
9.4

Super nice place. We had many changes in our travel, by changing our dates to come to the hostel and the staff was super comprehensive. The place is cool, well located. I will definitivly go back of visiting again Bucharest!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
9.7

The staff was great, and the accommodations better than I was expecting for the low price. It is; a manageable walk to all the main attractions while located in a quiet area. Smoking is allowed on the balcony, and it gets inside sometimes, but everything else was fantastic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review and glad you had a great experience with us. We apologize about the smoking issue - we do ask guests to close the balcony door when going outside to smoke, but it sounds like somebody didn't do that. Again, sorry for the inconvenience and we hope you visit us again in the future.

9th Aug 2016
8.6

Great location, but cramped bathrooms. Showers had issues when multiple people. Biggest issue was mosquitos at night. Also, someone kept turning off the AC and it got very hot in the middle of the night. Staff though we're super helpful and the place was nice with lots to do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Aug 2016
7.4

Not very sociable if I'm honest.. Plenty of old people and guys on their laptops in the corner Very nice staff who were happy to help especially the 2 girls Was cheap so can't complain

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
4.9

The hostel is dirty and the smell was horrible in the rooms, I was obliged to go out after one night in this place , beside that the staff are very nice . I advice you to choose other options in the area for cheap prices and good quality cheers

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

4.9?? Ouch, definitely the worst score we've gotten since taking the hostel in 2013. We apologize profusely for both your bad experience as well as the smelly guest shoes that were subsequently removed from the room. It's a shame you didn't stay more than the 1 night on your reservation to see how good a place our hostel can be once a small problem is dealt with. Try us again next time to see the difference. Cheers and safe travels!

  • werners4972
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Jul 2016
9.7

This is the third time I've stayed at this hostel but I hadn't been there for three years, and it is still as laid back and comfy as I remembered it. I tend to like hostels which have nice atmospheres but aren't full of partying 18 year olds, so this place is ideal. The staff is really super friendly, there is a nice kitchen, the bathroom is functional, and the rooms are clean and comfortable (and have AC!). Location is great too, away from over-touristic old town but still at walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.