Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Monkeys in the Trees

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 1189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 1189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
4.9

BEDBUGS a week later I am still covered in awful itchy bites staff said yes they do have a problem ... think it might need fixing before this happens to someone else I was in room 203 bed 1

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
5.4

The place is not what is described in the article as in self catering facilities only a kettle a fridge and a microwave no stove or oven and the bathrooms were very small and the power kept going out on the floor I was on

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
5.4

The location is a bit far from the attractions. The staff is great. The place is fun down ver bad.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • helenadavid3606242
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
24th Apr 2017
10.0

Wonderful hostel I really enjoyed the continental breakfast, the bathrooms are really clean with constant hot water, and toiletries provided. Dormitories are kept immaculately clean with fresh clean bedding. A quiet boutique hostel so there is peace and calm in the hostel and a relaxing garden with WiFi to sit enjoy the sun, socialise with the other guests. Miguel does a great job, a big thanks to Ben, James, and Jacob who all contribute to the smooth running of special hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thaaaaank you ;)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
7.1

Staff extremely unhelpful, even aggressive when I tried to alter my booking, even though I did so in good time. Very uncooperative and for that reason I wouldn't recommend it. Otherwise a pretty nice hostel with really good character, and generally friendly staff if you're on their good side. although they didn't offer anywhere safe to lock my bag, even on request.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thx for your review.

20th Apr 2017
8.3

Really quite place, most people staying there live there, so not a lot of backpackers atmosphere, not enough plugs in the rooms, smalls bathrooms, but I would stay again, good breakfast, train and buses running close to it, comfortable beds

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot ;)

14th Apr 2017
5.4

Overall, this hostel was okay for the amount of money I paid. It was rather dirty and smelled bad, but the bed was comfortable. The biggest problem I had was getting into the hostel initially, since there is a code on the door, and no one answered when I knocked many times. The staff was not very welcoming either. The location is not bad though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you.

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
8.6

Very nice place with friendly staff in a busy neighbourhood in central London. We recommend and will be back again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
6th Apr 2017
2.6

Do not stay here unless you are broke. This hostel is very dirty and rooms smell. The guy doing the cleaning does a very poor job he basically just empty the bins each day. Room use a pin and long term guests enter rooms they are not currently staying in. The common room/pub is only open 6pm-1030pm and was closed for a kids party one of the days without notice. wifi is only good in the pub. Kitchen is a microwave and kettle no cooker and hardly and plate.Pros Free lockers, nice owner.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
2.6

This hostel is unbelievably dirty. The floors and bathrooms are disgusting. All the doors use codes, so I'm sure it would be very easy for someone to break in since I doubt the codes ever change. Their lockers claim to be "free", yet you can't use your own lock and have to use one of theirs and give a deposit for it...so I just left my stuff in my room and hoped no one would steal anything. There's also only one guy working it, so hope you arrive in time to check-in, since it's not 24/7.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.