Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Monkeys in the Trees

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1152 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1152 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
5.1

Typical for price. Cheap, available at short notice, breakfast included. A pain to get to and needs a good clean. Plenty of bathrooms, all tiny with lukewarm water. Staff quick & courteous. Combination locks rather than keys (secure?). Painted bedroom door was now too big for the frame so it didn't close or lock properly. I found toenail cuttings and a used hankie IN my bed. When I was checking out, I noticed that the fuses had been removed from the fire alarms in the main box in the hallway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review.

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
10.0

Great staff and place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot ;)

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
10.0

Good place and good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Feb 2017
6.0

When I arrived late I got a very cold and rude reception from the host, he made me feel very unwelcome. I waited outside the main door for almost half an hour with no response. There really isn't any staff at the hostel, but it's a pretty good hostel for you money, not gleaming clean but not bad, super comfortable bed and a real nice pub downstairs and near shops

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

No one was rude to you, maybe cold but not rude. You came late after hours and we still checked you in, perhaps we shouldn't feel sorry for you and send you away then you'll appreciate more next time when someone is doing you a favour. Thank you for a fair comment regarding beds, value and the pub.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
6.9

Check-in was fine except the persistent of the staff to give an Identification Number on the form that I had to fill in as there is no such thing as Identity Cards for UK citizens. The staff was very helpful with my luggage. I had a middle bunk bed but was difficult to climb into as having to use the top bunk bed ladder. There was no toilet on the 2nd floor. Mattress was very comfortable. The only cleaning the staff did in the dorms was emptying the bins, so the floor was never clean but dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

UK has CitizenCard and you can easy get it if you are UK citizen so you don't have to carry your passport with you everywhere. Every hostel or hotel will need proof of ID. We clean rooms as well as bathrooms and hallway on a regular basis.

24th Feb 2017
8.0

You get what you pay for. Not the worst, not the best. Bathrooms need updating. Breakfast included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
8.0

Decent hostel for the price. Good location ,near lots of shops etc. A bit of a walk from Shepherds Bush, but exercise is good. Entrance is controlled by access codes, three of these before you get to your room, so pretty secure. Although I'm not sure how often they change the codes. There are also free lockers for bags and valuables. The space is a bit cramped. Could have been cleaner. Generally acceptable for hostels at this price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Feb 2017
4.0

The showers were disgusting. Pretty sure there was mold in some of them. The kitchen only has a microwave, no stove or oven. The room and bedding seemed damp. I was on the second floor and could not get wifi in the room, so I had to sit in the hall or on the stairs when I needed it. There is not a common room to sit in. There is a bar downstairs, but it is only open from 5pm-11pm. The staff member who was always there didn't speak much English so it was difficult to communicate what we needed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • SophiaStrong
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
5.7

Showers backed up so you were standing in a puddle of water, arriving is confusing because someone needs to let you in the building at first because there are codes and no unlocked door to entered through. I just used this place as a first stop to get adjusted to the time difference, I wish they had had lockers, would have felt more secure. Milk was warm at "continental" breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
5.1

Pub should be open during the weekdays. Having more than 1 chair in the entire hostel would be magnificent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You are funny Rodolfo.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.