Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Monkeys in the Trees

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 1212 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 1212 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
6.9

I had a great experience at monkeys in the trees! Pros: the location! Fascinating neighbourhood, very multicultural, great market at Shepherds bush, very cheap (unlike central London). Easy access to buses and underground. Met amazing people. There's a huge variety that come through this hostel, not just rich young backpackers on a euro tour. Cons: showers are freezing or boiling. Internet is not great. No computer available for guests. Main room is closed from 10am-6pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • vrodgers19821183
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
9.7

Very friendly Brilliant location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
5.1

The 'kitchen facilities' were below par, including nothing more than a microwave and a kettle. The kitchen was also filthy. There was no cutlery, plates or bowl we could use. It was difficult to get into the city and with the added cost of the public transport getting to and from London, it would have been cheaper to book a hostel closer in to the centre. It was OK to meet people but not exactly a friendly vibe. The beds had not enough headspace. The staff were friendly enough.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jun 2017
5.1

The rooms were so dirty, with mould growing behind the beds. The bathrooms were absolutely disgusting, water everywhere, with the wall linings falling off. No soap. Most of the showers I had were using cold water, as there was no hot water. The internet is terrible, as you have to log in every 30 minutes. The best thing about the place is the free breakfast, otherwise do not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2017
5.7

Bathrooms and shower rooms were not clean, and wifi didn't work in upstairs.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iraq, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2017
3.1

I didn't feel secure staying at that hotel at all. The area was dodgy and other guests were intimidating. One of the guests was telling me that his charger was stolen The receptionist was rude and very disrespectful. He charged me an extra pound and when I tried to explain to him thar this wasn't the amount that the website showed, he shouted at me and refused to see the email. The place was filthy. The toilets were blocked. Hot water was not always available. I advice against staying.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
9.4

good place and cheap

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
4.0

Cleanliness: Very bad. Toilets and bathrooms always wet, dirt in the rooms that was there when we arrived and until we left. Dirty kitchen. Strange smell. Facilities: We came in and found nobody, didn't know where to go, there is no indoor place to sit if the pub is closed (open only 5-11pm). Breakfast was mediocre at best. There are no keys, all doors are unlocked by codes. Staff was nice enough, but absent most of the time. How this hostel has such a nice rating is beyond me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th May 2017
4.6

There were no soap on the toilets, the overall cleanliness was lower than expected

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
6.9

No cooking facilities in a small kitchen with only a microwave; with broken walls! I estimate an extra cost £7 per day to eat. Once I factor this the overall daily cost is not that good But some people eat raw food, so for them it could work the pub is nice, furniture a bit wasted, but open only after 6pm. TV available but no film. The garden is nice too People wander on the stairs or stay in their room as there is no other place to rest after a day out (before 6pm). The room and beds are fine

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.