Hostelworld.com

The Monkeys in the Trees

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 971 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 971 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6
The Monkeys in the Trees Located at 49 Becklow Road, Shepherds Bush, London.
The Monkeys in the Trees
England
London W12 9ER 49 Becklow Road, Shepherds Bush
74% 971
51.5055638 -0.2415168
The Monkeys in the Trees
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
7.7

What you pay for is what you get. It's one of the cheapest hostels that close to the city so you can't complain too much. It was a slightly longer walk from Shepherds Bush station, it took 20 mins and that was at a brisk pace. The hostel was fairly clean and quiet, so if that's what you're looking for then it could be perfect. Was a very friendly atmosphere among other backpackers and staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
6.0

The wifi kicked me off every half hour, and sometimes wouldn't let me connect back. Very few bathroom to guest ratio, bathrooms were dirty. Staff was great, but a little hard to talk to at first. Also, there was no clear sign with the hostel's name outside the building, instead it just had the sign greyhounds pub;felt like an idiot when I asked a passerby right in front of the place and she told me this was it. PS ladies: The bartender is nice

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
4.3

No kitchen, just 2 showers for all the hostel, and one of them was broken, the room wasn't clean at all and there is no community room, is just the bar downstairs that is not always open. The staff was fantastic.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
9.1

Very nice, comfortable place, a place where you can have a friendly atmosphere and warm from the staff and the other customers. The place , at final, is very well served with bus and tube to and from the central london...so...let's go 'n come here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th May 2016
10.0

I had a great time there! Good value for money! The staff was nice and helpful. The room mates were quiet and polite. The breakfast was good as well! The hostel is quite close to the downtown by underground. I always has empty bathroom. I really recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2016
5.1

This should be a hostel with a great atmosphere, however they fail to make the most of the bar on the premises. The place wasnt very clean and the kitchen was small and cramped, as were the rooms. There were very few showers, with warm water hard to come by, making showering here an unpleasant experience. The hostel had a good breakfast and colourful stairs - possibly the best thing about the place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
3.7

There was mold growing on the walls in the dorm rooms, as well as in the bathrooms. There was an all female shower room, which was nice, except there was only a curtain on one of the showers, leavijg the other totally open. The beds were a nightmare trying to get in and out of. The room was cramped and smelled terrible, and there was some kind of white paper substance all over my sheets that of course got all over my clothes. Definitely the worst hostel I have ever stayed in.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
7.7

The place was comfortable and clean and the staff were accommodating and friendly. It's was great to see the bathrooms being cleaned every day. The only issue I had was with the showers....the water kept changing from scalding to freezing and most of the shower heads didn't have anywhere to actually hang up as the holders (or whatever they're called) were broken or missing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
8.3

This place is really made by the other people there. The staff can be very helpful and caring, they make sure you are all good and happy with how things work. But the manager was kicking out a few people as they were there for 2 weeks and apparently had to go? Even though they were great and very well behaved. All the doors have locks, everyone talks to everyone and therefore makes the level of security pretty high as everyone becomes one. Would I go back there? Hell f''''ing yes!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Apr 2016
8.6

Nice hostel located in Shepherds Bush. It is a 10-15min walk from the closest underground station. Beds are comfy and you can get extra bedding if needed. People and staff are friendly. There is a small kitchen but no proper cooking facilities (only fridge, kettle and microwave).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.