X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Monkeys in the Trees Reviews

49 Becklow Road, Shepherds Bush, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
791 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great little hostel.Rooms clean,comfortable big beds. Free breakfast wifi and lockers Will come back definitely

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Staff very helpful. Far from center, but with good bus and underground connections. They could at least put towers so that the showers/bathrooms aren't super wet (floor) and room could be cleaner. Everything could be cleaner, I think, but only to sleep, it's Ok.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Good place with a nice bar downstairs, very good value for money.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Monkey in the trees is a nice and cosy hostel. It is well maintained and the location is quite central. There is a choice between different type of dorms, and a pub downstairs with comfy seats. Really not much to criticise apart maybe more cooking facilities within the kitchen space. But yes overall a very nice place to be at, to be recommended and friendly staff.

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff was great! When we had a delay in travel they stayed at the desk and let us check-in late. There are no lockers in the room, but there are some available for valuables in the hallway.


80%

Inexpensive. Friendly atmosphere. Clean facilities, though bathroom floors tended to be wet. Bit of a long walk to the subway, but close to the bus. Overall good value.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very friendly staff!!!!


57%

The description on hostelworld said the hostel had a kitchen. This is not really accurate. There is a small area with shelves, a fridge, a sink and a microwave. I didn't see a stove. I chose this hostel specifically because it had a kitchen and I was disappointed. The bathrooms were pretty dirty and the rooms were musty.


83%

the atmosphere, location are very pleasant and conformable. all the stuff is very friendly and helpful.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Thank you Monkeys for making my stay very pleasant!!And for the people i have crossed in the kitchen i apreciate all your good hearts!!


97%

This hostel is fantastic. Amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Decent showers lockers and kitchen space. Rooms kept clean and warm. Beds pretty comfy. Amazing pub downstairs (£2.50 pint!!) Can get noisy but that is normal for hostel. Easy bus links to centre. Great value for money. Decent breakfast in the morning! No complaints here whatsoever. I highly recommend it.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Super hostel z bardzo mila obsluga. Hostel miesci sie w drugiej strefie w zachodnim Londynie.


100%

Hostelul a fost renovat recent. Totul a fost curat, iar atmosfera a fost placuta. Barmanii au fost ajutatori si prietenosi. Pe scurt totul a fost pe gustul si placul meu. Servicii excelente. Cu siguranta o sa recomand hostelul si am sa ma intorc pe viitor.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Moldova
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly and accommodating staff. A convenient central location. Nice included breakfast with juice and boiled eggs as well as the usual toast, cereal and coffee. Very handy late check out time of midday. I come to London often and this place is my new second home!


66%

The staffs are very friendly and helpful and did their best at cleaning. Most of people in the histel are not "travellers" and most of time they were minding their own business. The atmosphere was died...very quite. Small kitchen no cooktops. Small bathrooms/toilets and the water drain very slow and was having a foot bath in the shower which wasn't a pleasure experience. LOVED the solid bunk beds!!! Didn't wake up once in the night.


94%

I've stayed here last year


80%

the dorms were well kept and clean but there were a few of the little things that could need fixing. Ie. The toilets - showers need upgrading and the toilets often had no toilet paper. The staff were very helpful and fixed our problem very quickly. If you are using this hostel as a base for exploring London make sure to factor in the cost of the London underground and buses as it is a long walk from central London. Overall we enjoyed our stay. :)


91%

Good place, nice people. I recommend it.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Reasonably priced, decent hostel. Nice and competent stuff, always willing to help and guide you through London! Location was good for me but google it as I've heard some people complaining that it takes 20min to the central london. Kitchen is very basic, no stove or cooker only microwaves and kettle so if you are planning big cooking thats not gonna happen in there. I didn't mind, plenty of take away around plus supermarkets!

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Service was great and stay was excellent. The distance to the city centre may be a problem if you don't know how to move in London, but the staff is helpful and can give you proper directions.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback