X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Monkeys in the Trees Reviews

49 Becklow Road, Shepherds Bush, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
734 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 65%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Overall I thought it was nice. The staff were great and the breakfast was fine. The toilets could do with a bloody good clean.


74%

Overall it was good value for money. Good location and so on. Everything close and people stayed in most of times were friendly. I stayed close to 2 weeks. It was a nice experience and the staff is really good and helpful, especially Bart. ( I owe you man ) But on the third be I changed I had bug problem. And I got an allergic reaction and it was terrible. You should mention that the kitchen does not include an oven or stove.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Do avoid.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The location was ok, near public transport to get to and from the heart of London. The pub was nice, but the prices for drinks was high, considering it was posted about a discount on drinks. A beer was still £4.50, and we paid £14 for 2 vodka red bulls. The downstairs pub area is the only place to receive wifi, which is important as I am a student. It hardly ever worked. There were minimal plugs for charging phones, etc. showers and bathrooms could be renovated, they are old dingy and dirty.


51%

Toilets and bathrooms are dirty. The showers of every bathroom can't even stick to the holders. There is no holder for toilet papers! Toilet papers are left either on the wet dirty floor, on the sink, next to the window, or any where it can be placed. This very poor hygiene is really scary for me. Beds in the bedroom I stayed are two 3-bunk beds and it's really hard to get to the top bed that I had to ask for another bed. There're only 2 plugs available in the room. Breakfast is ok.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

Very dirty

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

No reply to 2 emails, 1 call in three answered. No smile or warm welcome on arrival. I stayed in room 101. Window glass broken. Two plug sockets to 6 beds. Bunks are 3 beds high, ladders are unsafe. You can't sit up in your bunk. The duvet is too narrow, no reading light. The showers are filthy, showers curtains orange from mould, drains are blocked. No hooks, shower heads don't attach to wall, 1 handed shower. Carpets are filthy. Coded locks, codes don't change. The pub downstairs is relaxing.


100%

Such a lovely chilled out atmosphere, staff were gorgeous and smiley and extremely helpful. The Hostel itself was tidy, well structured, smelled lovely and was possibly one of the cleanest I've seen in a long time.. As for breakfast, it felt like fine dinning, nice effort made in making a relatively simple continental breakfast into something quite appealing. As for the icing on the cake, it was on top of a really quiet pub. Lush !

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Comfortable enough but on a personal note I would prefer to be able to watch the football weekends instead of just the musuc channels on the rv., nice blend of people and transport links are adequate. The showers could do with tinkering up a little as the thermostat can't be working properly as hot and cold are about a milli second apart.


49%

The hostel was over run with bed bugs. You had to relog onto to the WiFi every half an hour and you could only use it from within the pub. Location was good, lots of buses and central line station not to far away. |Kitchen was advertised but there was only a microwave and no other appliances.. Would not stay here again. Price was decent. The main door to the hostel rooms was broken but all the other doors were secure.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff was really helpful and welcoming. thanks!


54%

The cleanliness above all in the bathroom was very poor.


57%

Because the beds were made of wood, me and another girl, we found a few bugs on the bed


26%

Worst hostel we've ever stayed in!!!!

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

the monkeys in the tree is a small but cool hostel! i like the britsh style of the living room with a small cool bar. the room is not so big ,but cleanliness is ok. the staffs there are very friendly and nice . you can just chat with them like making new friends too .

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • ashleyleebo
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel is in a nice neighbourhood, you feel safe at night, closest underground station is shepards bush market and it's about 10 min walk away, but the buses are driving all the time so that is not a problem, there is a lot of markets nearby and cheap fastfood places. breakfast is ok. the lockers are in the first floor To the staff: please buy one more toaster and change the matresses in the room 101 (the room by the greyhound sign) thats a must, otherwise great hostel and nice staff


100%

The palce wasn't hard to find. Me and my friends felt like home there, the staff was amazing, the place is very cosy. I have nothing bad to say about this place, only positive things :)

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Everything was fine but I got attacked by bed bugs! They got a pest controller in but I still got bitten, Not good.


100%

Very nice and clean hostel in a good location.Very easy you can get to the points of interest even in the night time. Very kind,helpful and informative staff Nice big rooms with solid wooden bunks,fast wifi working I the rooms as well Great free and fresh continental breakfast Very nice and quiet pub downstairs with discounts for guests. Overall I would highly recommend this hostel if you want cheap and cheerful stay in London

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

As long as you're fine with a little under a mile walk to and from the ubderground station, the hostel is cheap and has the nicest lobby/lounge/staff of any hostel I stayed in in England.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback