X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Monkeys in the Trees Reviews

49 Becklow Road, Shepherds Bush, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
864 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

great price! and a good place with a very good staff!

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Absolutely brilliant. Very friendly staff. Great place.


71%

No kitchen worthy of the name - just a jug and a microwave. This place is cheap as chips - just don't kid yourself into thinking you'll get all of the facilities you'd usually get at a more expensive hostel.

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The best things about this place are the staff (Vlad is helpful and fun) and the building (pub on the ground floor). It's easy to meet people and the breakfast is simple (toast, hard boiled eggs, cereal). Bus stops are nearby, too. I really hate to complain about the place because the people and pub were so cool, but the bathrooms need some work (water temperature fluctuates, toilet seat not screwed on, shower head must be held) and I noticed a few tiny bug bites after a night of sleep :/


60%

The staff were decently friendly and helpful. I really liked that there were boiled eggs for breakfast each morning and the late checkout was nice. The only thing that really bothered me was the state of the restrooms. I know it's not an expensive hostel but no handsoap? I was surprised that so many things were broken, not to mention how far from clean it was.


51%

The showers are a joke. The lobby needs to stay open. A good community is key in a hostel. Also the TV was used for just a music station.


91%

Good hostel for very good money, small but functional with great bar downstairs. Quiet at night and only 20 min from the centre.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Horrible security service. You should change all room codes every week at least.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

pro's: location is pretty good, it's not fae to the city center with tube. Free breakfast, eventhough it's basically just toast and jam. Door code, so no fear of losing/forgetting key card. Nice pub downstairs. con's: No lockers available when I asked at reception. Gave me wrong door code so I had to wait outside at 5am until another guest came. No stove in 'kitchen'. Dirty, broken and small bathrooms.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Could have been cleaner. Shower pressure and heat were unpredictable. Bar on site was nice.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Great staff! So helpfull and sweet!

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Everytime you step on the floor it makes annoying loud noises, so as when you press the password in the door (what an archaic method to get inside the room). There is no locker inside the bedrooms, i.e. no security there, they are located in a different floor in the hall. The narrow and tiny bathrooms with terrible showers that doesn't regulate temperature very well and the floor was disgusting. The kitchen, if you call that cubicle with no oven a kitchen, with only a microwave and a refrigerato


51%

the staff members were really helpful and were trying to help at any problem.I think they must hire few more so they can do more things for the hostel .the pub was ok not really like a true pub but...ok.


57%

Overall not bad value for money, but the hostel is a bit of the way - need to catch a bus from Shepherd's Bush station to get there. Also shower heads were broken so there was always water on the floor as people had to hold the showers to wash. The common room was nice though and the staff were helpful.


80%

There's a lot of people staying at the hostel, but you have your privacy. You should plan the time to go take your bath or you'll stay in line for awhile and maybe loose the breakfast (it happened once with me). The garden is good to take a beer and smoke a cigarette. The staff is just outstanding and in a hostel I think most of the times that's what matters. You have a pub downstairs where you can buy your beer for a good price. To London it has a good location if you have an Oyster card.


63%

what i liked: it didn't stink of smoke, the garden, comfortable bed what i didn't like: dust everywhere, no place to hang the shower head in the shower, one bathroom didn't have a lock, no soap by the sinks, slow wifi


77%

My boyfriend and myself stayed here for two nights as a hotel alternative whilst working in London. For this purpose, it was perfect. We were unable to get to there before the latest check-in time but staff were very understanding of our late arrival. The room was basic but that's all that was needed. Unfortunately I had a cold shower both days but that was the only hardship in staying here! A lovely pub downstairs provides a great social area and all other guests were friendly. Thumbs up!

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Its a good hostel, has a good atmosphere and good breakfast. But obviously it needs some small fixings in the bathrooms in 1st floor (loose water taps, bath paving, floor and loose toilet) and the 1st floor carpet and I´ll be doing it if I were the owner.


69%

Generally a nice place to stay! The pub is lovely, the staff was always nice and the breakfast was good AND free. The only problem I encountered was having to take a quick cold shower in the morning cause apparently there was no hot water..apart from that, everything went well!

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Fix the dam showers


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback