Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Monkeys in the Trees

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,090 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,090 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.7
The Monkeys in the Trees Located at 49 Becklow Road, Shepherds Bush, London.
The Monkeys in the Trees
England
London W12 9ER 49 Becklow Road, Shepherds Bush
75% 1090
51.5055638 -0.2415168
The Monkeys in the Trees
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
8.0

I stayed for 2 nights at a 12 bed dorm. Thinsk I really liked: The beds are really comfortable, it's easy to access the hostel and rooms once you checked in (as you get some kind of code). This makes it really safe. The hostel is connected with a pub, which is really nice. The breakfast is simple but offers everything you need. The cleanliness of the showers and toilets could be way better (the floors of the showers and toilets were all quite dirty and in one the ceiling was full of mold).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for your review

  • sallyannsiegel9080
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Nov 2016
4.3

Tried to sleep first night on coiled springs. Staff changed it. Stupid locks, 1 to get into hostel, 1 to go upstairs, 1 to get into room. Powdered coffee for breakfast. Wifi was weird. No bathroom on 3rd floor. Best was staff who were sweet. Would never go back. Backyard nice, probably great in the summer for drunk people.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. I wish you had brought these issues to our attention before you left so we could better accomodate your needs.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
8.9

Good value for money , friendly staff and people .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Oct 2016
5.4

Not a bad hostel for the price you pay. Wouldn't say in the ideal location but not too far from the action and train stations. The pub downstairs is pretty chilled and good for kicking back. Breakfast is basic with boiled eggs to give it some polish! The biggest issue is the facilities!! Bathrooms and toilets need a massive renovation. Very cramped and not the cleanest.. a lot of potential - just needs some money pumped into the hostel. WIFI isn't the greatest either, especially in the dorms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for your review we hope to see you again once we have done the winter renovations :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
27th Oct 2016
7.7

Only bad thing about this hostel is the location. About a 10 minute walk to the nearest tube station and then 20 minute tube into the city. Staff were awesome. A couple of young Kiwis. I was there over Halloween and the staff had put on a Halloween party in the Bar below. Gave out free Jello Shots!! Such a small, tight nit hostel and easy to meet new people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
5.7

Small hostel, not very clean. There was a microwave and fridge available for guests although some were able to use the full sized kitchen which could have easily catered for the remaining guests. Bathrooms very small, could barely fit into the toilet and I'm not very big! Friendly bunch of people around though, a lot of Aussies and kiwis on visas.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for your review

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Oct 2016
7.1

Our stay at the monkeys in the trees was comfortable. The only down fall was the lack of stove/oven/toaster in the kitchen and the wet floors in the showers. The 12 bedroom dorm was spacious and comfortable. The downstairs pub/chill area was great and the staff were lovely.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for your review

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Oct 2016
10.0

Great place to stay would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

THANK YOU !!!!!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Oct 2016
8.6

Comfortable, clean (showers not quite so) and easy to get to. Friendly Staff and a nice friendly pub too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for your review!!! we are working to imporove the shower/bathroom situation

  • digbydawson
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Oct 2016
10.0

10/10 coming back here again! Awesome place, fantastic atmosphere, super friendly staff and free breakfast! Can't really get much better for this kind of price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for you kind words im glad you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again on some new adventures

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.