Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Monkeys in the Trees

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
The Monkeys in the Trees Located at 49 Becklow Road, Shepherds Bush, London.
The Monkeys in the Trees
England
London W12 9ER 49 Becklow Road, Shepherds Bush
77% 1112
51.5055638 -0.2415168
The Monkeys in the Trees
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jan 2017
4.0

Had trouble at check in and at check out. The breakfast is a joke. A lot of people are living in the hostel. No communal area. 22 min walk from subway. Beds three stories high. Mold all over the bathrooms which are extremely tiny. Probably worst hostel I've been so far in the uk. Good luck.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Dec 2016
6.9

The Hostel was good enough for the price. Ok for a few nights. Staff is nice. Its a bit far from the nearest tube station but you can walk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and for the review! Much appreciated - Monkeys staff

30th Dec 2016
5.4

ok it's a hostel above a pub, no worries there. My complaint is the matress and all matress in the hostel seemed to be the cheapest money could buy. The pain i felt all through each night was incredible, wire was sticking into the ribs and all over my back. The worst night slep ever

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Dec 2016
7.4

First impressions were great, staff are enthusiastic and welcoming. Other than that the place is little more than a bedroom attached to a pub, the pub acts as the common room? Closes at 11pm so you don't really have anywhere to be afterwards except the tiny bed. Beds are ok, but linen and pillow was good to have. Showers are pretty bad, basically water drop torture. Kitchen was very small. Beer prices at the pub are pretty good for London. Cool vibe in the pub. Decent for a couple nights!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review :)

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
7.1

Wifi range cannot cover until the second floor's room. Toilet not enough space, in overall not bad

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
6.9

What made this hostel were the staff members. Really nice and friendly! Ben is an awesome guy! The hostel facilities are OK. My bed was quite hard, could use more padding. Some of the showers were undesirable, little pressure and it would be quite cold and then hot again. The kitchen doesn't have a stove top, so you could only make microwavable food. The location made me a bit nervous during the night. The lounge closes at 11 and was eaten up by some type of bugs at night..But the staff are cool

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Dec 2016
9.4

This place is run by a fantastic bunch of Kiwis - Libby, Duncan and Ben! So welcoming and chilled out, I've stayed here a few times now and each time I've met new people and made new friends. It's located in a very quiet street, the beds are comfortable and great transport options right at the end of the road. For a real family atmosphere type of hostel, I'd recommend Monkeys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you very much for your positive review im so glad you've come back and enjoyed the experiance :)

  • helenadavid3606242
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
9th Dec 2016
10.0

Had an amazing time at the hostel the staff and guests are really welcoming. Special thank to Duncan very helpful, Ben hilarious, Hugh very attentive. Jacob the owner really makes an effort to guests feel at home in the cozy, syylish, comfortable, hostel. The dorms are lovely and spacious really comfortable beds, cleaned every day, hot showers,and filling breakfast full of variety, and tasty toasties served the rest of the day. Centrally located to the West End so quite commutable😄

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review, it was absolute pleasure ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
5.1

When we arrived at the hostelthere was in our room a drunk man of about 45 years old. We had to change the beds with him so he wouldn't have to sleep on the uper bed. The morning after another person of the room told us that the Guy had peed on someone else's Bag The next day when we returned from the City centre, one of the bags we had left on the bed was missing! They had it on the kitchen, told us that thought it was a Bag from someone Who had checked out and left it The bathrooms were dir

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, sorry you had such a negative experience here. Unfortunately we cannot always guarantee the character or behaviour of individual guests in the hostel. Please note this gentleman arrived on the same day as you. We had no knowledge he had changed beds and we received no other complaints until first thing next morning, upon which he was abruptly removed from the hostel. Management apologized sincerely to each guest in the room and provided reparations to the individual who was most affected. Thank you again for your review, please do not let this reflection on the hostel in general.

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
8.0

I stayed for 2 nights at a 12 bed dorm. Thinsk I really liked: The beds are really comfortable, it's easy to access the hostel and rooms once you checked in (as you get some kind of code). This makes it really safe. The hostel is connected with a pub, which is really nice. The breakfast is simple but offers everything you need. The cleanliness of the showers and toilets could be way better (the floors of the showers and toilets were all quite dirty and in one the ceiling was full of mold).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for your review

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.