Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Mousetrap Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • caraanderton
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Feb 2017
9.4

Amazing! It really felt like a home away from home. I've only been travelling for a few days but it was a really comforting place to stay. Great location, 500MB free wifi per night, loads of bathrooms and kitchens and the balcony and lounges were really lovely. Everywhere was tidy and clean, at night the rooms were dark and quiet. Wish I could have stayed here longer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
9.7

Such a great hostel. I had an absolute blast. Only downside is metered wifi but you should be on the beach anyways! Also theres an odd extra charge for using a credit card and you need a $20 deposit (that is returned when you leave) to get your key.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.1

Loved this gem of a hostel. Really wish we had stayed here instead of Base across the street. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Jan 2017
9.1

Great hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

Great place! Clean and organized! The owner had great ideas of places to visit during my time visiting Paihia and the location was wonderful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • noraekstrom
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
9.4

We only stayed for one night but I wish we had stayed for more! The location is ideal and the house is very homey, quirky and cosy. A great atmosphere and we were greeted by Jake who took excellent care of us. If you come to Bay of Islands stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
8.6

Really loved the atmosphere of this place! All the hostels are in the same block and this is definitely the least party of all the hostels. Although you're close to the nightlife you can actually get decent night. Beautiful balcony upstairs and plenty of places to hang out. Met amazing people here, was safe and secure and didn't have to deal with super drunk people, score! The rooms were a little cramped but plently of lockers for all your stuff. Overall I quite enjoyed it here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jan 2017
8.3

Really lovely, quaint hostel in a good location, nice sized dorms and pretty clean. The only thing is the atmosphere, maybe it was circumstantial but it felt like most people were longer-term residents and visitors who didn't want to interact so felt quite uncomfortable. Staff were very friendly and welcoming though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
8.6

Nice and chilled out atmosphere, very quiet and peaceful. Clean and comfy beds. Very nice property. Excellent location for beach

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
9.7

I took my mum here when she was visiting over the Xmas holidays. It was her first time in a hostel and she thought it was great! The room was perfect, two comfortable beds with a table to keep stuff, which is really handy and something other places were lacking. Awesome location, great friendly and helpful staff, overall a wonderful experience. Would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.