X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Mousetrap Backpackers Reviews

11 Kings Road, Paihia, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
104 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very clean and well kept with very friendly staff. It was a bit annoying that the double rooms were right next to the kitchens, most people get double rooms for privacy, also the bathrooms were a bit of a mission from the double room we had. I would definitely recommend people go here though, A better seat for the balcony view would be perfect, something with a back rest so you can sit and look at it without leaning on a plant pot of having your neck permanently turned.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very friendly check-in staff, good location,cute hostel.Bad points: Not very clean! Kitchen and bathrooms would really need a proper cleaning!Maybe better to pay a real housekeeper instead of young backpackers who just left home without knowing how to clean!Also not very quiet!Decided us for this hostel coz they wrote it's not a partyhostel unfortunately we woke up 2AM in the morning because a group of girls(nordic language)yelled around,slammed doors and just didn't care about other guests!


100%

Awesome hostel made some good mates

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

I had to cancel my night at this hostel


94%

Great hostel that has plenty of communal areas but puts alot of emphasis in being respectful and quiet in the evenings due to the layout of the rooms (situated off the lounge etc). Kitchens were clean and very well signed allowed for an organised common place. Jake was very hospitable and friendly.

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a great stay at The Mousetrap, the owners were very friendly, helpful and gave me some great advice about things to see, how long it would take to get from place to place and were very nice people. The hostel is well designed and has a number of kitchens so you can ways make a drink or a meal at any time. I would definitely stay there again and recommend them to friends and family as the place to book into and base themselves from when exploring the Norhtlands.


80%

Good hostel, clean, lots of space. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very Clean Very Good facilities Very friendly staff home-like feel!

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best Hostelstay I ever had!!!!!


94%

A lovely, intimate hostel in a great location and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend this hostel. Would definitely return!


100%

Excellent friendly place. Clean and comfortable in a good location Would highly recommend!

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Wifi is free only 50mb per day


97%

It is a real nice accommodation. I had a double room, which was very tidy and cosy. Absolutely the best compared to the other hostels I´d stayed. Cause there is enough space (2 kitchen and balcony on diffrent levels, garden etc.) you could always hide away and find a place, if you want to be seperate.

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

We stayed in room 6 which is right beside the main common area, so not great if you are looking quiet time or are jetlagged. Staff were great, very helpful, nice vibe to the place.

  • 20th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hosts decorated the lounges in a maritime style with seaview. It is wonderfull to sit on the veranda and just think about the beauty of the world. The rooms are equipped with lockers, beds and a table. The downsides are only the missing soap in the showers and the limited wifi connection. In total a welltreated stay at an affordable price.


97%

Very nice place with good location. Rooms are nice, I especially like the big lockers where you can put away the bags so you have more place in the room. The guy who hosts the place is very helpful and nice, and the atmosphere is very friendly.


89%

Great hostel, really friendly and helpful staff, would definitely return.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

We loved our stay at the mousetrap! The little hostel has a cosy atmosphere and a great view on the sea! we felt like at home! even the 8 mixed room was spacious and the beds where really comfortable. a nice place to slow down and get some rest. you can sleep at 11pm because the staff asks everyone to be quiet, or go out on the street and be right at the main bars! love it there!


100%

What a great find!! This hostel is just fantastic! Although it may look a little old, it has a lot of character and such nice surroundings! The staff are great and the owner/ receptionist is fluent in English and German so was helpful to a variety of different travellers. She really promoted the area and told about the arsenal of activities there are to do in Paihia. One big bonus was that there are free bikes for you to explore the area. I definitely think more hostels should be like this one!


100%

The staff were all very friendly and approachable and very good if you had any questions about the surrounding areas


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Paihia Hostels

Please give us your feedback