Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Mousetrap Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th May 2017
9.1

Excellent hostel, very clean and plenty of room for cooking and chilling etc. Really cosy and great view from the upstairs kitchens. Nice and quiet but friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2017
10.0

Best hostel so far, winter fires in the lounges and felt like home. Oh yeah free wifi works.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
8.9

I thought everything was brilliant with the exception of the cooking utensils and cutlery. Quite a few things missing in the kitchen. Room as lovely, staff too and it was clean and quiet! Can very well recommend. I would go back if i was going to Paihia again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
8.9

Great location - round the corner from the beach; across the road from bars (even though they are across the road the hostel is still quiet and peaceful). Staff friendly. Rooms spacious. Kitchens small and basic - (bad point though:- the fridge absolutely stunk so maybe things have been in there for a while and not thrown out!) Overall a really nice hostel and feels like a home rather than a backpackers. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
9.1

Fantastic location, right off the beach and across from some decent eateries. They provide luggage lockers in every room and two lounge/kitchen areas upstairs for relaxing. Overall very nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2017
9.4

Great location. The hostel was clean and quiet. Everyone there was friendly and helpful. There are good cooking facilities, including an outdoor grilling area. I would recommend staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Catijelly
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Mar 2017
9.7

We stayed 3 nights i the mousetrap (after we stayed 1 night in the yha in paihia) and endured our stay by two more nights. We had a double room and it was nice. The owner were friendly. The hostel was very clean. Only the kitche could be better equipped. We would recommand it to anyone who wants a cheap but nice stay in Paihia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
9.7

I can't get enough of this place! Wonderful, helpful staff who provide maps and trail advice, great balcony and lounge areas to read with tea or a glass of wine, and perfectly located in regards to the beach and bars. One of my favorite hostels in New Zealand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
8.9

Really great hostel recommended by another traveller! I love this hostel, good location, plenty of wifi, plenty of space to social and to cook (3 kitchens and 3 lounge areas) plus a bbq and a balcony. Bathrooms are clean and a plenty. I met some great people here and will definitely come back! The owner is very helpful and pointed out all the different treks and options. It is short walk to the ferry point and information. Perhaps one of the best hostels I have stayed in so far in New Zealand!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Mar 2017
10.0

Phenomenal little GEM of a hostel. Would recommend to family, friends and strangers! Big love to Nikki especially you can tell she cares. Xx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.