Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Mousetrap Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
The Mousetrap Backpackers Located at 11 Kings Road, , Paihia.
The Mousetrap Backpackers
New Zealand
Paihia Bay of Islands, Northland 0200 11 Kings Road
91% 289
-35.2854480 174.0946010
The Mousetrap Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jan 2017
8.6

Really loved the atmosphere of this place! All the hostels are in the same block and this is definitely the least party of all the hostels. Although you're close to the nightlife you can actually get decent night. Beautiful balcony upstairs and plenty of places to hang out. Met amazing people here, was safe and secure and didn't have to deal with super drunk people, score! The rooms were a little cramped but plently of lockers for all your stuff. Overall I quite enjoyed it here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
8.6

Nice and chilled out atmosphere, very quiet and peaceful. Clean and comfy beds. Very nice property. Excellent location for beach

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
9.7

I took my mum here when she was visiting over the Xmas holidays. It was her first time in a hostel and she thought it was great! The room was perfect, two comfortable beds with a table to keep stuff, which is really handy and something other places were lacking. Awesome location, great friendly and helpful staff, overall a wonderful experience. Would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
9.7

Lovely staff. Let us leave our car overnight with them whilst we went on the rock adventure cruise. Very accommodating, even when we over slept! Lovely hostel-great location-you can walk to everything. Very clean and quietly friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
7.7

Reception wasn't there when we arrived so we had to wait 30 min for our room! Clean room but no outlets. Not a friendly atmosphere for solo travelers. Helped me book a fun tour

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
8.0

The Mousetrap Backpackers in Piahia, Bay of Islands is a good hostel to stay at if you are travelling north. The people are friendly and helpful. The nightly rates are quite reasonable in comparison to other Hostels and Backpackers in the same area and the Northland region.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Oct 2016
10.0

The mousetrap hostel is a very nice and cozy place to stay in Paihia. Everything is clean and the people are always helpful and friendly! I would choose this hostel again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2016
10.0

Jake and Nikki are wonderful hosts, and the Mousetrap is the best place to chill peacefully in Paihia. Highly recommended ! ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Travelling as 2 girls we were greeted by Nikki, who as it was off peak season boosted us from our booked 8 bed dorm to a 2 bed twin room. The hostel was always lovely and warm and we were given the most internet access than anywhere else so far on our trip! We hope to be back soon, thanks Nikki and Jake

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
7.7

Great location, close to everything. Stay only 2 nigths. It was the low season, because the hostels was almost empty. I had free wifi with vouchers.They had free tea and coffee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.