Hostelworld.com

The Mousetrap Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
The Mousetrap Backpackers Located at 11 Kings Road, , Paihia.
The Mousetrap Backpackers
New Zealand
Paihia Bay of Islands, Northland 0200 11 Kings Road
90% 253
-35.2854480 174.0946010
The Mousetrap Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.9

Jake was really helpful and booked some tours for me. The room was comfy and had large lockers. It was always clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2016
10.0

The Mousetrap is a very comfortable and enjoyable hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2016
10.0

Brilliant backpackers, lovely little place with a short walk to wharf. Can't say anymore really

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
9.1

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mousetrap and would happily stay again. Nicky and Jake were both welcoming and get the check-in desk open later than normal for, as our bus didn't arrive until late.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • LEMcGrath908245
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Mar 2016
7.1

Got a complimentary upgrade to a private room which was nice. The hostel is very friendly and feels homely. We found it to smell a bit musky but we think that must be because there is a lot of wood and it looks quite dated. The rooms back onto the lounge so one night we had a group of Germans drinking and talking really loud which stopped us from sleeping but the lounge does have a no noise policy after 22:00 but that was ignored. Took a while for us to get checked in but it is a small business.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Icecube0000
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
3rd Mar 2016
8.9

Great hostel the only thing is the free wifi isn't free after 200mb a day so that's a pain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
10.0

Really nice place to relax and meet people. The balcony is a great place to sit on the morning when the sun comes up. :). Tidy and clean also really comfortable beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2016
10.0

I was really excited about this hostel! It's a great place to stay. I'm sad that I couldn't stay longer. In total everything was perfect. Good price, friendly stuff, nice & quiet atmosphere (not for party), clean place, lots of facilities! Thanks Jake & Nikki for hosting me!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2016
9.7

Loved my stay at the Mousetrap! It has a homey feel and a wonderful view of the bay from the balcony. The hostel itself is very quiet at night, but noise carries from the party hostel across the street (it wasn't loud enough to bother me).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • leeamaeda
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 53 reviews
11th Feb 2016
9.7

Lovely place. Not a party hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.