X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Museum Guest House 2 Reviews

Karoly Korut 10, 1st floor, 1052 Budapest, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
449 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Good, cheap hostel in a very good location - it is literally on the border to the going-out-area. Points of interest are within walking distance, otherwise the hostel is 1min from the metro station. Great place to meet young people, the atmosphere was great . Staff here were really friendly and helpful. The kitchen was well equipped the whole place was clean enough, 24h hot shower,clean bedlinen which smells good with good WIFI system. I really enjoyed my stay it's totally met my expectations

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The room was horrible, dark and small we were two but only one power socket ! but for someone who is in Budapest for the city, it doesn't really matter. the location is really really perfect, next to metro 2 "Astoria", near to a lot of monuments. The stuff were nice, but the atmosphere was quite poor, it doesn't feel really like a hostel.


37%

A BURGLAR BROKE INTO THE HOSTEL AT 4 AM and stole stuff from the rooms. They didn't even change the keys or codes for the doors after that, though they said "it must have been an old guest who still has the code to enter the building". Instead they only told us to hide our cellphones in the pillow cases at night so they wouldn't get stolen (!). Bathrooms gross and not enough, terrible administration for bookings, lockers unusable.


54%

General upkeep of this hostel is low, the bunk beds wobble (add some bracing) the kitchen is in poor shape and not kept clean. the sheets were clean and you can sleep well but don't expect to much more than this. You feel safe but the lockers provided are poor and on the day I stayed they didnt give keys because they were making new copies (fustrating just for us). Owner and staff could put more effort into caring.


77%

Upon arriving in Budapest we thought we knew where to go. Well guess again, For some reason still unkown to mankind they didnt have the beds we reserved. (which was pretty frustrating) However, there was room in a different hostel just 5 minuts away. After a 10 minute walk away from the city center we we arrived in a place almost but not quite like a hostel. It was a verry relaxing place, with decent facilities and in the end we had a good stay. Expect the unexpected, than you be allright


91%

The hostel has fantastic central location, great for exploring the city. Surrounded by many nice cafe's, and just next to a metro station. Staff is really great, specially the manager. Good atmosphere, had nice talks with other guests. This is really cheap budget hostel, and I feel it gives great value for the money.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

This is not a hostel.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Pros:Staff was very friendly &helpful & location was great. Cons: We booked a four-bed room, but staff put wrong people in our room and tried to put us in the 8-bed room. After insisting on room we paid for, we were moved there after long wait and several reminders. The shower drains were clogged every day, often no toilet paper in bathrooms. The other guests in the hostel were very loud into the late hours of the night, despite the displayed quiet hours after 10 PM.

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

i dont know why this hostel has such a good rating. at least the location was awesome. but everything is super dirty. shower doesn't drain and is full of hair and the toilet is the same. Beds look old. there are lockers but they dont have the keys for it. you get a key with a code to open the front door but it doesnt work so we were stuck outside for a while in the night. only if the location matters to you, this is a great spot. other than that i would really not recommend it..

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I've been traveling a lot in the past 6 months and this is one of my favorite hostels so far. The relation between price and quality is over the average. The beds were confortable, Big kitchen, a great place to hang out and get to know other guests. The owner and guys working at the counter were kind and helpful. They keep the place as clean as possible. I mean is not easy to keep clean a place were 20people are comming and going all the time, everyday, and they did!No security problems at all!

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Zero security since our twin private room doesn't have look, the apartment as very dirty, the hostel manager was very nice and helpful Mosa, the location was good but noisy a littlebit


94%

First thing to say is this hostel is cheap and I think you get far more for your money than you pay for things you need to know is there are no secure lockers working atm but staff were happy to keep stuff at reception if valuable.Also you won't get an awesome shower but hot water all the time and a fairly decent kitchen if you need to cook! Everything else is fine good social area, friendly staff and probably the best location in budapest for all around experience.wifi is better than most

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

This place is an absolute dive. Yes it's only ten euros but the bathrooms are disgusting the rooms are gross and I saw a roach in the kitchen. Not to mention they didn't give us security lockers because they were "fixings the locks." Staff is nice but not very knowledgeable so therefore not very helpful. I would never ever stay here again.


80%

The owner is a really friendly guy, very welcoming and trying to make your stay as nice as possible. You'll meet tons of great people there! It is really cheap, but still very central. Although there are still some issues, it is great for backpackers.


100%

high security and cosy place with clean bathrooms and WC. i talked to the manager Mousa about the place and he was right. few people come and pay just 9 or 10 EUR and they expect high services . if they need high services then they should go to 5 star hotels. he was right . Its not fair paying just 8EUR and write such a bad review . the place is really amusing and the manager Mousa is helping you to make your trip 100/ satisfactory. iits a dorm and if you have too much expectation please go 5 s

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

beds are comfortable and the security is great. they clean it every day . i really love the place .close to metro and exactly at the center which is bar and shops are 24 hours open.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Super nice staff, excellent service! For 10€/night an absolutely recommendable hostel!


86%

Interior of hostel is cozy and charming. The staff weren't particularly warm, but did what they were supposed to do. The kitchen and bathrooms aren't the best - also, I was staying on a top bunk, and as I climbed up the wooden cross-slats supporting my mattress fell out and onto the sleeping person below.. So facilities could be updated & improved. Otherwise, great place.


31%

Please ensure you over estimate your arrival time. my bus was delayed 3hrs and I had no wifi to contact the hostel so arrived late and they had given my room away. it was 1am. granted they did take us to another hostel but were quite rude and not very helpful. It seemed like we were more a hassle than him actually genuinely wanting to help us. a few others had the same issue at the same time as us as well. Location apparently is quite good however it was extremely hot and messy when we arrived


57%

The hostel owner was really really friendly! Great guy, but he couldn't run a hostel.. It was very dirty and poorly run. The hostel was overbooked every night and lots of people were moved to other apartments far from the hostel.. Also one of the bunks collapsed when someone was on it.


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback