X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Museum Guest House 2 Reviews

Karoly Korut 10, 1st floor, 1052 Budapest, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

56%

Rating
401 Total Reviews
  • 56%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 51%Staff
  • 47%Atmosphere
  • 37%Cleanliness
  • 51%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

We stayed in a private room in Muzeum Guest House 2. The room was nice and clean but the communal spaces were not. The bin had not been taken out and the bathroom was a bit too shabby. The street was very noisy, which may bother some. However, with a few easy fixes this place would be pretty cool!


40%

It wasn't as bad as reviews made out BUT the management here have no idea what they're doing or who's coming or going and it is a mess


54%

Smells funny, there is dust everywhere, organisation is poor, bathrooms are like in jail. I will never go there again...

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Overall very disappointing. When we arrived the beds still had the sheets and pillows fron the previous room users messed up and dirty and were so too lying everywhere in the room. Was hardly any room, odd smell, and none of the powerpoints worked. Was quite dirty. Location was best thing about it. Ideal location.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Det här var ett väldigt konstigt hostel. När vi kom blev vi placerade i ett twinroom (hade bokat ett 8 pers). När vi kom tillbaka till hostelet fick vi veta att vi skulle va tvugna att flytta till en annan lokal, vi fick tjuvåka spårvagn en station för att komma dit. Väl på plats fanns ingen som kunde ge oss nycklar. Dessutom så var inte säkerheten bra, ytterdörren var alltid olåst och inga värdeskåp fanns. När vi skulle checka ut fanns sen ingen personal där att ge nyckeln till


91%

I arrived in Budapest with my girlfriend and had a tough time finding an inexpensive room for the both of us. We found this hostel and went to go find it. We met the owner and he went out of his way to make sure we were happy. It wasn't a five star hotel but they treated is like we were five star guests. :-)

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

Unfortunately it was a big disappoitment. The place was a mess and nothing to do with the pictures provided at the site.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

This was one of the poorest hostels we stayed in. The staff was friendly enough but did not seem to know what they were doing at all. We had to take of bedsheets from the former tenants ourselves and then make our own beds, which were taken by others after we arrived 2 hours later again. Then we were instructed to just 'put away the stuff' from yet other people's beds and take those. The facilities (kitchen/bathrooms) were not clean and not complete: all in all it was chaos and unpleasant.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
66%

Location and WI-FI are excellent. But otherwise I wouldn't recommend this hostel to others. The toilets and kitchen are filthy, and the staff don't seem to mind letting their guests wait at reception. Everything else is pretty standard, but it's really awful in terms of cleanliness.


63%

The shower doesn't work properly, beds are unconfortable but good location


34%

Would never stay here again. Went in 4 person apartment. Kitchen was flooded, walls and ceilings were peeling, the bed stank of old sweat. The air conditioning was broken so we left the balcony door open all night, still very hot and the traffic noise was too loud to sleep. Worst hostel we have stayed in over our 3 week travelling holiday, and we stayed in some messy places.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was unfortunate that you could not stay at our hostel and enjoy our hospitality. In fact, we got a leaking problem from the neighbor upstairs us that affected a part of the ceiling in the bathroom and a wall. It happened 2 weeks ago, we need to wait 2-3 weeks more till the walls get dried up, before we can paint it. We informed you the choice to get back your 10% deposit or stay at the apartment with this condition. You were well aware of it and accepted to stay there, so why to complain now?

57%

The hostels location was great, but our room was extremely small. The shared bathroom was by the kitchen and was very open. Met some great people but the facilities weren't great.


60%

Average place, would be ok if you are only staying 1 or 2 nights. Probably wouldn't stay there again.


69%

Hi, We have stayed at 8 mixed dorm (we are group of 4 guys) with 4 girls and sorry for say that but they were rubbish. One of them was smoking weed in the room in front of us, they woke us up at 5 am screaming etc, but this is not the hostels fault. Well, there was a mess in the shower and i found kinda big cocrouch in our room. Anyway we had free wifi, clean sheets and staff tried to be helpfull. In the summary, I would not come back here, even if is it cheap

Owner Comment (Hide)
You should have informed the reception about there incident in the room

94%

We stayed in the second part of the hostel, which was great, well-kept and clean with good facilities. Security was good, rooms were comfortable and spacious. The owner was friendly and helpful. Very close to a metro station, and a 15- 20 minute walk from all the main sights. Highly recommended.


94%

I had a great stay in Budapest at the Museum Guest House. It has a nice atmosphere for meeting other travellers and decent size rooms. The young receptionist who was working at the time whilst I was there, Balázs, provided us with great information about Budapest and helped us out with everything we needed. He was professional but still managed to get to know the guests, even cooking me Hungarian food... twice! Great location. Great atmosphere. Highly recommended to solo and group travellers!

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Decent hostel in a decent location. Best part was the atmosphere and a good communal area with a balcony. The staff were also very helpful.

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good location, really close to all the main site on the Pest side of the river. The owner seemed nice, but we weren't there for long so didn't really get to talk much. The communal areas were really nice and made you feel at home, and the dorms were pretty big. It's not the best hostel I've been in, but for what I was paying I was pretty happy.


80%

It isn't a bad hostel. Just first impression was a somewhat scary. Looked like an abandoned building, but once inside the hostel's floor, you will feel better. Location was great, close to the river and walking distance to many monuments and Astoria metro. However, our room faced the main street, so a little noisy.

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

the host was super helpful. the reception is only open during summer, but the hostel is NOT closed. we stayed in one of the en suite rooms away from the hostel. so not that social, but it was on Vatci Utca, the main shopping street, and near the river. at the end of the street just before the big market was a great breakfast restaurant, Cafe Anna. for partying- go a little north, cheap shopping - the big mall at Vatci UT.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(336 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback