Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Naughty Squirrel Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.7
Superb 4361 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.7
Superb 4361 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Aug 2017
9.7

Everything was great, really. It's what you would hope and expect in a centrally-located hostel. I especially appreciate the staff and how welcoming, helpful, and badass they are. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th Aug 2017
9.4

Pub crawl was nice, and the hostel is in the old town, everything is in the walking distance, just a bit annoying to drag suitcase on the stone road when you arrive and leave. Staff helped me with printing and scanning document, thanks a lot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
9.7

It was a very good choice to stay there during my time in Riga

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.4

I liked my stay. The hostel is a little expensive for Riga, but the facilites are great, comparable with the most of hostels in Northern & Western Europe. Even the upper bunks in my dorm had a curtain, so you did not need an eye mask. It's a big hostel where you can easily meet other backpackers but also enjoy silent stay, which I did. The only downside was that is in the very center and it can get pretty loud at night due to the people on the street.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aussielaura
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
7th Aug 2017
9.4

This is a great hostel! Very social if you want, but you can't hear the noise from the bar/common room from the rooms so great for a night's sleep as well. The beds have curtains and lights/power outlets, towels provided, basic kitchen, free tea and coffee, lovely staff, good location. I really can't fault this hostel- I booked very last minute so my room was a more expensive one than I would usually choose, but overall I was very happy here and would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2017
10.0

Only stayed for a night but nice place, good location, and the nicest hostel bed I've ever stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • asetters73564
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2017
10.0

Being a squirrel is a way of life

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2017
10.0

The location is supperb, bang in the centre of Rīga. (Within 5min walking distance of bus and train station, the sights in the old town, loads of bars and restaurants, etc.) The atmosphere was really good. It seemed the staff members enjoy being there so much that they willingly come to the hostel to hang out in their free time. Definitely will check availability in this hostel first when I next find myself in Rīga.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

Hands down the best hostel in Riga. The staff are the best around, super friendly and ready to help you with anything and know how to party at the same time. Definitely check out all the tours that they have on offer. This was my second visit to Riga and The Naughty Squirrel. If I'm ever in Riga again this is where I'll be for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

I loved everything about Naughty Squirrel! The night that I went out with everyone was a blast and staying in was fun, too. The rooms were very clean, the bathrooms and showers as well. The hostel was set up very well and close to everything in old town. This is the the place to be in Riga and I was very happy with my experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.