Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Naughty Squirrel Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 3,808 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 3,808 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
The Naughty Squirrel Backpackers Hostel Located at 50 Kaleju Iela, Old Riga, Riga.
The Naughty Squirrel Backpackers Hostel
Latvia
Riga Latvia LV-1050 50 Kaleju Iela, Old Riga
95% 3808
56.9469403 24.1129732
The Naughty Squirrel Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Sep 2016
9.4

I was very pleasantly surprised by the Naughty Squirrel! It was not a case of you get what you pay for at all! I was greeted by a lovely receptionist pointed out various places to go and recommended a few great restaurants. I stayed in the female dorm. It was spacious and easily fit 4 girls. The bunks each had their own light and electrical sockets. And they had curtains to keep the light out in case you're the first one to sleep. Quiet room but social in the main room. Plenty of bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2016
10.0

Honestly one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. It can be a party hostel (I was there Sun Mon so a bit quieter) but the rooms are separated from the common areas (which there are like 4 of) so if you dont want to party you can chill. Free shot when you arrive and sometimes free drinks at other times. You get so much info about Riga when you arrive it's great. The rooms are big. Staff are incredible. I honestly didn't want to leave. Also the music playlist in the reception is excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2016
10.0

This hostel is amazing! The staff are so friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is great. There's always something to do in the evenings and it's a great place to meet and make new friends. Location is perfect, very easy to get to and close to good bars and transport. I would definitely recommend to anyone travelling in this area!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Sep 2016
10.0

One of my favourite hostels of all time! The best atmosphere but not disruptive if you want to go to sleep. Extremely easy to meet people and get around the city. The hostel is also right by the bus and train stations. The beds were super comfortable too with privacy curtains. If you're going to Riga you have to stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
8.6

Good hostel ,clean and quiet and very good wi-fi in rooms,and around the corner from supermarket.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
11th Sep 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels I've stayed at in a long time. Expect check in to be long- not because of all of the people but because of how helpful the staff is- they showed me where to eat, what to see and even provided a welcome shot of Latvian liquor. It was so easy to meet people in the common room especially during happy hour (usually 2-3 hours) when beers only cost €1.5. Awesome social areas, kitchen, lots of showers and the comfiest beds all with curtains across them!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
10.0

I can't recommend this place enough. The people who work here are great, and the guests who were there when I was there were excellent as well. It's a party hostel without being wildly out of control, which was perfect. It was social at all times of day in the common area, making it easy to meet people. Liva and Piers made my stay exciting and fun. Piers organized an excellent hipster bar crawl when everyone wasn't feeling the usual pub crawl scene.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • willieburdus
  • Chile, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Sep 2016
7.4

The hostel has a really nice location. I think they need to improve the common areas. The kitchen is too small. It has a really environment if you want to know people

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Sep 2016
10.0

Probably the best hostel I was staying at in my entire traveller's career. That's exactly what you need when you're on the road alone! Especially cool was the bar with the draft beer just next to the reception. So: There is no reason not to choose that hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.