X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Naughty Squirrel Backpackers Hostel Reviews

50 Kaleju Iela, Old Riga, Riga, Latvia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
2349 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Awesome hostel. Free shot upon arrival. Lots of arranged fun. Top hostel. Highly recommend!


100%

NSB is hands down one of the best hostel experiences in Europe! The awesome staff and guests makes it easy to meet other backpackers and have a fantastic time. Hostel arranges shooting tours, bobsledding (freaking ridiculous), and parties every night! Do yourself a favor and do it all! That being said, its no problem with noise if you want to sleep (but why would you?) and the facility is very comfortable and clean. Big thanks to NSB and the staff there for an unforgettable weekend in Riga!


100%

I think this is the BEST hostel if you want to have fun and enjoy Riga. Position is perfect, the hostel staff is very friendly (they will give you a free welcome shot when you check in) and available for anything, rooms are big and cozy, beds are big, bathrooms are clean and there is also a nice common room with free foosball. I really recommend it

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It was a fabulous hostel. We only stayed for a night, but the staff was friendly, rooms were homey and clean. And location was great as well!

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were welcoming, friendly and spoke excellent English. The rooms were spacious and comfy and the bathrooms clean. Most impressed with all the excursions, events and pub crawls the hostel arranges. Had an absolutely fantastic stay.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Probably the best hostel we've stayed in! The staff helped with everything and were super friendly. Everything was clean and worked well and we met tons of new people! We really cannot say anything bad about the place!

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

great hostel! perfect location, always clean and a lot of fun. the shower didn't always work, but it was totally worth it!

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the nice review :) We do apologize for the shower, but our main plumber was here on Tuesday and fixed everything, so all the showers are back in order now :)

86%

It is very bad that there are no individual lamps by each bed, since the result is that the main lamp has to be on in order for people to see anything = no sleep for the rest. Also, there were several groups of extremely drunk and loud guests around 2 am and 5 am. It must have been visible on the security cameras that they were running around screaming and banging doors over and over, yet no effort was made to ask them to be quiet.

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

What can I say about the naught squirrel. Was a bit disappointed didn't get to see any squirrels which I thought was a bit messed up. The pub crawl was pretty good and the staff were pretty cool. We played a tonne of fussball which was pretty fun.

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really great location and the staff were really helpful. The hostel organise bobsledding, husky sledding and shooting for you if you want. The owner Ben drove us out to the sledding himself and after we went for lunch and then a drink. I get the sense he would try to help you out with any problem you had.


97%

Probably the best hostel in which I've ever been: everything was just perfect. The staff is very lively and helpfull. Really very good.


83%

Well-located clean and good advices, I had a nice stay overall. Nevertheless it's a very alcohol-oriented/partiish/noisy hostel


97%

A great place to stay! The location couldn't have been any better. Beautiful architectural & historical surroundings and everything, including train and bus station, a stone's throw away. What's remarkable, this is a hostel BOTH party lovin' backpackers and travellers who appreciate some peace and quiet can enjoy for sure. The only minor, minor drawbacks we could think of were: our room was cold and the heater was missing & there was no hook/hanger/surfaces to put our clothes on. Drastic...


100%

Gave 100% rating for the following: - Location right in the heart of old town - Super friendly and extremely helpful staff. - Everything was clean and new

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I always stay here when transiting in Riga. Very pleasant and polite staff. Towels provided. Wi-Fi is fast in the rooms. Bed sheets are prestine. Will stay here again.


94%

Friendly staff. Good excursions. Party atmosphere at weekends.

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Probably the best hostel you can find in Riga. The staff is extremely lovely and always caring. All tips and answers to all questions are available. Huge diversity and so many things to do. The only thing I regret is that I wish to stay just a little bit longer.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice rooms, plenty of bathrooms/showers, helpful staff, great location, all round a good hostel!


83%

The place is very good, located in less than ten-minute walk from the railway station and main sights. Staff members are very friendly and do their best to help you - however, seems really strange that they do not speak Russian whereas around a third of visitors come from Russia.

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the positive feedback. Just a quick reply to your comment about Russian Language... all our staff speak several languages and most importantly for us they all speak fluent English. Our customers are mainly from Europe, Scandinavia, America, Australia and Asia!! You stayed during a major Russian holiday. That amount of Russian customers is NOT normal for our hostel. Thanks again for staying and we wish you Safe Travels for the future. Cheers!!

100%

This hostel was awesome! From the second you get there the staff go out of their way to help you and make you feel welcome - they fill in your forms for you, while you sit down


(68 results)


View all Riga Hostels

Please give us your feedback