Hostelworld.com

The New York Loft Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 5,832 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 5,832 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
The New York Loft Hostel Located at 249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York.
The New York Loft Hostel
USA
New York New York 11206 249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY
83% 5832
40.7042778 -73.9336967
The New York Loft Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jun 2016
9.1

Staff was very eager to help aanybody all the time. Irene working at the reception during the day time shift was a lovely and nice person. The food was good and there were a lot of choices. There was a open air saloon for everyone, next to kitchen and it was wonderful to have it during the night to talk with some friends The rooms were designed for 4 people and the bathroom was inside the room even there were several in the corridor Overall i liked the place and dont hesitate to recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
9.1

Awesome place! It looks pretty sketchy on photos but it's not. Subway is two blocks away then 20 minutes to Manhattan which makes it a great location. People are great, specially the cleaning ladies who put up with all the mess people leave throughout the day. Great place. Couldn't have chosen a better place to stay for my NY trip. Extra: visit the pizza place (Roberta's) around the corner. Best place in NYC by far! Andres - Andy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
8.9

Overall very good stay, front office ran out of locks and towels were an extra 2 dollar charge but bed was clean and room served its purpose.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel in a great location in Brooklyn...very close to the L train station. I will definitely return on my next visit to NY.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
7.7

Good location. Parking was easy. We had good luck with parking during our stay, which was important. The bathrooms in the dorm section we were in (3rd floor) were not that clean. We later moved into a semi-private room, which had a super clean bathroom. The hostel is well appointed. I liked the sparse look of the rooms. Mattresses were hit or miss. The workmanship - plastering, caulking etc was sub-par. Staff were helpful and friendly. Should require people to wash their own dishes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • yorgovs
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jun 2016
6.9

Nice looking hostel in a *hipster* neighbourhood. The rooms & bathrooms are OK but they look a bit worn (although they are quite clean).. The surroundings are also very noisy, I didn't get much sleep in the end.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
8.3

Stayed a few nights at the NY loft hostel. The location is awesome with lots of cool hip stores/restaurants near by and easy assess to the L train to Manhattan. The breakfast in the morning was mostly just cereals, PB and Jelly and yogurt overall very simply but still good. The hostel has an excellent outdoor area to hangout and meet fellow travelers from around the world and there's also a basement bar and a trerrace area on the third floor with seats and a pin pong table.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jcreid_1235864
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
4th Jun 2016
9.4

I really enjoyed my time here. It's in a good location in Brooklyn, the nearest Metro is round the corner. There were two of us staying in a shared four bed dorm. It was clean, we got along well with the other guests and both said we'd stay here again in NYC. The free breakfast is handy to start the day, price is decent and there's a good atmosphere in the hostel. There's a really good pizza place on the next street. Only slight nuisance was the lights go out when you're in the shower!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Jun 2016
8.9

Great hostel. Although unable to tale drinks from outside, and basement bar very expensive - especially for a hostel. Otherwise fantastic!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback! Unfortunately due to law regulations we need to stick to NO OUTSIDE alcohol- i know its not good but we have no choice! Our bar offers a happy hour from 6-9 and there is good prices there!! Hopefully you can come again in the future

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2016
10.0

Fantastic experience, extremely close to the L train that will take you either further out in Brooklyn or to downtown Manhattan. Awesome little neighbourhood as well. Staff are fantastic and extremely friendly, I'll definitely stay here again. Thank you :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.