Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The New York Loft Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 5,872 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 5,872 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
The New York Loft Hostel Located at 249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York.
The New York Loft Hostel
USA
New York New York 11206 249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY
84% 5872
40.7042778 -73.9336967
The New York Loft Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Haylxy
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
9.1

Best value for a hostel in NYC, especially with free breakfast and parking. Breakfast is pretty impressive for a hostel as they have a lot of variety (toast, cream cheese, PB, jam, cereal, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, etc). Pros: Relaxed neighborhood, plenty of cool shops/bars/food places within walking distance, VERY close to metro, nice social area. Cons: Beds/pillows are uncomfortably firm, rooms can get hot, the automatic fan in the bathroom is annoying. Overall, still my top choice for NY

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
7.1

The wifi service was horrible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • MediumRare
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
14th Jul 2016
6.9

Well located near all the cool parts of Bushwick. However, super difficult to get back to if you are not near the L line. Not the most social even though there's an outdoor terrace and big kitchen area. Beds weren't that comfortable either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
9.1

I loved my stay at the hostel, for sure If I come back to NY I will stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
9.7

This is my second stay at the NYLH and I had a good time as usual. Staff are courteous and responsive. People I met were great. Facilities are clean and tidy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.0

Rooms were good, atmosphere was cool and it was in a quite cool neighborhood (although most importantly it was close to subway stations). Only downsides were that bathrooms could use some more attention (in our room's bathroom there wasn't even one hanger for hanging the towel), and we ran out of paper towels and it took two days for them to get new ones. Also, the kitchen did get hot during breakfast and there was no fan/AC.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.7

I only stay for one night due to my trip schedule, but it was a really great experience. I would definitively comeback!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jul 2016
9.1

Good hostel short sub ride to Manhattan not the cheapest but it's not too expensive considering its new York, would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
9.7

Amazing stay. Well organized. Quiet place. Nice barbeque. Best place and value for money for stay in New York. Convenient for subway. Will recommend and will like to stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
9.4

Excellent location ,close by to the subway station!Air con in rooms and very clean also!! breakfast in the morning was an added bonus 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.