X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The New York Loft Hostel Reviews

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
4966 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Nice size of rooms.good breakfast.avoid to choose sharing bathrooms,

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Feature subway directions more prominently on your webpage.

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - Thanks so much for your suggestion. We will work on updating subway directions for our guests on our website! Hope to see you back soon :)

94%

I was happily surprised to see the bathtub and after a long day of traveling it was a blessing to take a bath!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - Thanks so much for the kind review- we are thrilled you enjoyed our amenities. We hope to see you back so soon so you can relax some more :)

69%

This is the second time I stayed here. The first time there was no bar so everyone brought their own alcohol and drank outside in the evenings leading to a great atmosphere and everyone hanging out together. The next time I checked in they had opened a basement bar and bringing your own shop-bought alcohol into the hostel was forbidden. The basement bar is dark and dinghy and the alcohol there is not exactly cheap, the whole atmosphere of the hostel was a love less communal and friendly :(

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey - thanks for the honest review. We have added on many drink specials in the bar as well as a daily happy hour that go on in our backyard garden area. We hope to see you back soon so you can enjoy the fun loving atmosphere!

66%

Ok hostel in good location. But is trying harder than it achieves. Internet is slow and unreliable, bar is a seedy rock hole, hot water in all bathrooms was unreliable/non-existent. Seemed to have a lot of issues with overbooking and being disorganised. Not very impressed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel. We appreciate your input and will take all of your suggestions to help better our services. We have now changed internet providers so our internet speed is much faster. Our maintenance staff have also fixed all of our restrooms so they now run hot water immediately. We take pride in providing the best customer service so we hope to see you back soon and enjoy all of our improvements.

80%

The hostel was nice, but not as nice as it seemed in the photos. The room we booked was very small, and as my partner is 6ft5 this was a bit tricky. The rest of facilities were good, though we didn't use the bar, the gym and the bag drop were helpful and the location was very good being so near the subway. Overall, it was good for what we wanted, which was a place to sleep and not much more, though I've heard good things about the bar from others.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We appreciate your honest and helpful review- We hope to see you back soon so you can utilize the rest of our amenities. We also have many live performances scheduled in our downstairs bar now!

89%

Very good hostel, great location

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks so much for the kind review- we hope to see you back soon :)

77%

The stay was pleasant and laid back. I definetly plan to go back . I am glad that they have this for people who want to stay in New York. For a reasonably price.Great Idea HostelWorld!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for reviewing us- We are happy you enjoyed your stay and got to experience New York City for a great price! We hope we see soon :)

71%

There were rats in the yard.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

An excellent hostel. The rooms were great, the facilities well maintained, and the common space was fantastic. There was a really good social atmosphere in the hostel that made it easy to meet people. It is perhaps a little out of the way if you are only interested in seeing the main tourist spots in Manhattan, but the subway is close by. Well worth a look. Thanks NY Loft!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks so much for the kind review- we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed yourself! We hope you visit us soon :) Safe travels!

80%

There was a terrible mildew odor coming from my bathroom.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey- Thank you for taking the time out and reviewing us- we have had all of our restrooms inspected and sanitized for mold and mildew. Our number one priority is customer satisfaction and we hope to see you back soon!

97%

Atmosphere is great, reception works 24h and facilities include almost everything necessary for a long stay. Altough the rooms are small and ventilation system noisy, I would recommend to anyone.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

the security guard is supposed to make you feel safe not creep you out


71%

Hey, really cool hostel.. I just didn't like the fact that if you were in the lower rooms by the outside chillout area (as I was for 5 nights) you had loud music blasting from 5pm to 10pm every day and often drunken people continuing on into the night chatting till the early hours. Apart from that it was super cool ! Cheers

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The air condition was too loud, but the breakfast was really delicious! ;)

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you back soon!

94%

The hostel is really near the subway and of a nice supermarket. The rooms are nice and the bathroom also. The is a great kitchen and a place for people to meet. Algo there is a roof in the third floor that you can play tennis table and chat with the people. I really recommend it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you back soon :) Safe travels

91%

The hostel really facilitated meeting people and a lovely atmosphere. The staff was always. Very friendly and the area was very safe, the only down side was that it took about Half hour to get to manhattan from the hostel, but not the end of the world. Will definedly stay here again!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Julieta! Thanks so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself at our hostel! From the Morgan Ave stop on the L train it actually takes 15 minutes to get into Manhattan! You may have just experienced some train delays :) We hope to see you back soon.

80%

Nice hotel, a little expensive but this is NYC so I understand it. Overall an okay hostel for a night out in NYC!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We would love to have you back to stay with us again- we hope to see you very soon!

86%

Bathrooms were not clean enough

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your input and will take your suggestion to help better our hostel. We hope to see you back soon!

100%

a bit far from the center but this hostel is the best I have seen so far ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey- thanks for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We are only a 15 minute train ride into Union Square- you may have hit some train traffic :) Come back soon!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(212 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback