Hostelworld.com

The New York Loft Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5,783 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5,783 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
The New York Loft Hostel Located at 249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York.
The New York Loft Hostel
USA
New York New York 11206 249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY
82% 5783
40.7042778 -73.9336967
The New York Loft Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
9.1

Lovely hostel with great staff. Very basic throughout but clean and quiet in the evenings. Free breakfast and bbq is always a bonus. Only downside is the location. Can take a little while to get to midtown. If you're staying mostly Brooklyn though, ubers are cheap so its not a problem :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2016
9.1

It was a great place to stay in. The only thing missing was a working blow dryer ;) but then again that really wasn't a big deal. All in all I loved it 👍

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2016
8.6

Brilliant stay, lively atmosphere and really clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
10.0

I miss the Eggo waffles from years ago! Best hostel I have ever stayed at, I return regularly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
8.6

I stayed in a four-bed room. I had one of the top bunks, and I was disappointed to find out there wasn't an outlet within reach to charge my phone overnight. I was also a bit irritated with my check-in. I came in during a shift change and was asked to wait while they switched. I had no problem with that, but the employees then had a casual chat with a friend at the counter about a check being dropped off for 10-15 minutes. It was midnight, and I just wanted to get to sleep, so I wasn't pleased.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
8.6

The hostel is clean and the employees are all very friendly. Free breakfast is always a plus. However, I'm not a fan of the location. If you plan on spending late nights in Manhattan, waiting for the L to get all the way to Bushwick can be a pain (or spending a lot of money on a cab). But for hanging out in Brooklyn, the location is great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2016
9.4

I loved the atmosphere at this hostel. A nice large kitchen space to make food or enjoy the free breakfast. The large patio was also nice on the sunny day I was there. Even though there was someone who was not supposed to be in my room during my night here, the staff was very friendly and willing to move me to another room. The staff also had good restaurant recommendations!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Im sorry you had to experience someone else in your room! I hope you addressed this matter, we would have taken care of this issue RIGHT AWAY- Hope you can come back to enjoy of our FREE BBQS in our backyard this summer :) cheerS!

  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
9.7

I stayed there for 8 nights and would totally stay there again. Hostel is a great value for money; with a great atmosphere and friendly people; Uber cool neighbourhood, with some really good cafes, restaurants and vintage shops around. Subway is very easy to get to and it takes few minutes to get to Manhattan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2016
6.6

First night we had staff come into our room 5 times at 1.30am in the morning trying to sort out the spare bed in the room. Wifi was really bad constantly cutting out. Heating in the place was up so high we had to sleep in nothing and couldn't even sleep it was that hot. Wasn't the worst place I've stayed but def wasn't the greatest place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Im so sorry you had this experience, but thank you so much for the helpful feedback. We were transitioning from winter to spring- but now our room temperature is perfect! you should come check it out! Wifi is now working better- we fixed the issue! hopefully you can come stay with us again so you have a real and better experience of the best hostel in Brooklyn

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.6

This was my second stay at the New York Loft Hostel and I enjoyed it. The only thing I would have to point out is that the kitchen sink was always full of dirty dishes, but I guess that's the guest's fault. The neighborhood has more options for eating and the subway close by is great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.