X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The New York Loft Hostel Reviews

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
4845 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great people, great place! :)

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great overall hostel. Pros: Wednesday & Friday communal BBQs are a great way to get to know other people. Great value for money, given it includes breakfast. Air-conditioning :) Free wifi Very helpful staff 2 blocks from a subway station Blankets provided (but not towels) Cons: Only some of the showers have hot water (only found one of the four showers on 2nd floor with it) One of the lockable cupboards in our room had a broken lock, so someone in our dorm couldn't secure their items

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

It's a very large hostel and the staff were efficient but do not actively offer advice on the local area or the facilities in the hostel. Avoid a room near the garden; it remained noisy all night...until 7.00am!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hostel. Our main priority is customer care and we will take your input to help better our services. We hope to see you back soon.

74%

Security of bags in the storage room was nonexistent. If they aren't going to secure they bags, the service should be free. Otherwise, it's a ripoff. The room was very spacious. The breakfast was limited options.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel offers great things for the price. Big rooms, inluded breakfast (not common in other hostels in NYC), nice common area and clean. The location is not that good, though, since the neighborhood seams bit dangerous and it rather takes a while to the Manhattan, Queens or Bronx.


86%

Very nice hostel. Staff are very friendly; some rooms are very spacious, some not as much, but still alright. Everything is quite clean. Best feature is the patio, including a kitchen, which is very nice. Also, twice a weak there's a free BBQ. Breakfast is alright, but nothing special.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back soon!

83%

The NY Loft Hostel is a perfect place to stay while being in New York. Clean and well run place you'll have a great time in the common areas. They show movies during the week. Besides being a bit far from Manhattan, the subway is close from the hostel and it runs pretty good, so you won't have problems getting to the city center. Don't hesitate going this hostel, it's really good for its value!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back soon!

94%

So, if it your first time in ny and you expect to see all the skyscrappers its not the best place altough the region of the hostel it is amazing, delicous restaurants and awesome bars, wonderfull people. A lot of open minded people in the region and it ks by the metro(2min walk). The room was great and the open area was great, awesome kitchen and backyard. Love it. Highly recommend if you like drinking and different stuff, me and my girlfriend had a wonderful 5 nights stayed there. Cheers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back soon!

91%

I came in quite early in the morning and the staff (Wayne) really went out of his way to help me figure things out - he made my day. The hostel has a great location and it is close to the metro, so it couldn't be easier to get into the city. The rooms are very spacious with smaller lockers for valuables. I did not stay long enough to feel the atmosphere, but it was a big common area to hang out at! Good wifi as well - and breakfast. I would definitely stay here when I go back to NY!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay- we hope to see you back soon!

66%

This is a fantastic hostel and I will be staying here again. The one bad point is the security - people stay here who aren't officially staying here - randoms will ask if there's a spare bed in peoples rooms so they can crash for free or, failing that, sleep on the garden furniture or sofas in the communal area. Locals also wander in and out (usually around the time there is free food, such as breakfast and the BBQ). Everyone has key cards - perhaps secure the entrances electronically? Thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your input- we will take into account your feedback to help better our services. Our security team will most definitely be informed of this. Also, our entrances after a certain time do electronically lock and you can only enter if you have a room key. Thanks again for staying with us.

71%

Loved it besides the staff, put a smile on your face and at least act halfway interested in my questions.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review- we appreciate your input and will take your suggestions to better our services. Hope to see you soon!

51%

Overpriced. No hot water. No parking. Go for a place in Hell's Kitchen or time square instead. You'll pay the same or less and the quality of accommodation can't get to a much lower standard as what these guys offer.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hostel. We will take your suggestions to help better our services. We hope to see you back so you can see these changes in affect.

100%

I have stayed in and worked in many hostels! This hostel is awesome full stop!!! You must stay here! If you are in newyork!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!

100%

Absolutely outstanding! It is the best hostel I've ever stayed in and for school groups, it's perfect. The facilities are clean and easy to access while the staff are fun, friendly and professional. It's located close to good shops and the L train. I felt really comfortable here and would always recommend this place - thanks.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!

86%

Great that you ran events during the week. Breakfast was laid out each morning - and what a good variety it was. Very much appreciated.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!

94%

The hostel to go too in New York, placed in Brooklyn near a lot of great restaurants and shops. Spacious rooms and great atmosphere! Free breakfast and bbq:s on some days, awesome! Clean and well organized. Recommend going here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!

91%

always like staying here. love privacy and amenities. missed bbq. but next time.. rooms are smaller now but ok sleep.. love largeness and easy relaxed. did not like other hostel who got on me when fell asleep on couch.. great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hostel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon!

100%

Awesome! This is by far the best place to stay in Brooklyn! Free breakfast, BBQs, awesome people staying there, very helpful staff and everything was so clean! Loved it, and would 100% stay there again!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!

34%

WIFI DOES NOT WORK MY WHOLE WEEK!! IS TOO FAR FROM MANHATTAN AND VERY EXPENSIVE, ROOMS ARE NORMAL

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for reviewing our hostel- we apologize for the wifi inconvenience. We have since updated our internet provider and have faster wifi than ever! Please come back and visit us so you can see this first hand.

91%

I have stayed in a lot of hostels, and this is probably the nicest one I've ever seen. The courtyard/kitchen area is great, the rooms are clean and the staff is available 24/7. It is very expensive for a hostel, but you're paying for the fact it's in New York and that it is a significant step above a typical hostel experience. Also, they include a simple breakfast.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hostel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(173 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback