X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

The New York Loft Hostel Reviews

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
4903 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Stayed a week at The Loft and felt so at home. Great crew floating about, and options for a chilled movie on the couch or patio for a few drinks. Amenities were plentiful and convenient. Quick wifi all over the hostel, and helpful staff. Simple to get to manhattan or elsewhere in brooklyn via the nearby subway. Would definitely stay again!

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely outstanding! It is the best hostel I've ever stayed in and for school groups, it's perfect. The facilities are clean and easy to access while the staff are fun, friendly and professional. It's located close to good shops and the L train. I felt really comfortable here and would always recommend this place - thanks.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!

86%

Great that you ran events during the week. Breakfast was laid out each morning - and what a good variety it was. Very much appreciated.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!

94%

The hostel to go too in New York, placed in Brooklyn near a lot of great restaurants and shops. Spacious rooms and great atmosphere! Free breakfast and bbq:s on some days, awesome! Clean and well organized. Recommend going here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!

91%

always like staying here. love privacy and amenities. missed bbq. but next time.. rooms are smaller now but ok sleep.. love largeness and easy relaxed. did not like other hostel who got on me when fell asleep on couch.. great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hostel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon!

100%

Awesome! This is by far the best place to stay in Brooklyn! Free breakfast, BBQs, awesome people staying there, very helpful staff and everything was so clean! Loved it, and would 100% stay there again!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!

34%

WIFI DOES NOT WORK MY WHOLE WEEK!! IS TOO FAR FROM MANHATTAN AND VERY EXPENSIVE, ROOMS ARE NORMAL

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for reviewing our hostel- we apologize for the wifi inconvenience. We have since updated our internet provider and have faster wifi than ever! Please come back and visit us so you can see this first hand.

91%

I have stayed in a lot of hostels, and this is probably the nicest one I've ever seen. The courtyard/kitchen area is great, the rooms are clean and the staff is available 24/7. It is very expensive for a hostel, but you're paying for the fact it's in New York and that it is a significant step above a typical hostel experience. Also, they include a simple breakfast.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hostel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon!

97%

Great hostel / great facilities / great staff / amazing location / xxx loved it and will be back baby xxx


80%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Pretty decent location- close to L train. Bathrooms are good. The only irritation was the beds were extremely squeaky. Overall, good spot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hostel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon!

97%

Best place to stay and know people. Great location to move to manhattan, and to the JfK airport. Close to the best pizza place in Brooklyn. And also includes breakfast and bbq 2 days a week.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind response! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon!

100%

Everything was excellent in that hostel, from the great location in the amazing Brooklyn to the very comfortable rooms and facilities!

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hostel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back soon!

86%

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at NYLH. The subway was a convenient three blocks away and the staff was very friendly and courteous. Our only complaint was that the wifi was spotty for one of our iPhones while our Android devices connected with no problem. However, wifi is excellent in the kitchen.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

you should stay in this hostel. and if it's summer, your stay will be perfect.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Private room was very small (expected in NY!) with low lighting and the bed was very uncomfortable (springs digging into you) but otherwise had everything we needed and was generally clean and well kept. Awesome kitchen/backyard communal area and well located in relation to the subway and a few cool little cafés/food trucks but not in Williamsburg or within walking distance to main Brooklyn activities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hostel. We appreciate your input and will take your critiques to better our services. We hope to see you back soon.

86%

The area right around it was just a little bit sketchy, but otherwise the stay was great and the atmosphere was nice. The free barbecue was awesome and the staff was helpful.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hostel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon.

94%

A lot of great spots in this place to hangout, the rooftop terrace, the tv loft, the kitchen design encourages ppl to interac. Lots of windows makes it easy to wake up in the morning. Decent neighborhood, very spacious quiet and relaxing for New York. Clean and in an amazing brick warehouse recently renovated into a hostel. No complaints. Solid BBQ twice a weak. Good breaky, huge tv with Netflix and more. Very secure. Great for travels and temporary workers. Good air con too


54%

Staff were unfriendly, generally everyone was unfriendly and no one really spoke to anyone else! - strange vibe for a hostel!

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hostel. We hold customer service as a number one priority. We will take your critiques to better our services. We hope to see you back soon so you can see these changes first hand.

80%

The location is great, close to metro (2 min walk), and you can even discover the area by foot (Brooklyn/Williamsburg) where there are many interesting restaurants, bars and other locations. Even late at night, it feels secure around the hostel, plus FREE parking is a great advantage when arriving by car. The hostel itself is very clean and seems new, the rooms spacious and the bathrooms are being cleaned all the time. In terms of friendliness, the staff was somewhat average, but nice enough.


60%

This Hotel motel offered breakfast. Just some cereal, toast, coffee maybe some juice. It was very difficult to get to. I managed to find it and when I got there the check in was long and tedious. If you did not bring a towel in which I did not they also will have charged a fee of $2 for one. If I had a choice for the money spent to stay. I would have stayed in a different hotel location.


(189 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback