X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The New York Loft Hostel Reviews

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
5062 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I was in the hostel for two weeks and got to meet a lot of great people. Only drawback were a few "older" travellers in there twilight years who appeared to pop up every now and then and were a bit out of place, there was one particular guy who kind of creeped me out a bit over my last three day,so only suggestion on that is maybe have an age limit at 40-45!? Staff were good but could have organised a few things like pub crawls or sight seeing groups rather than focusing on there own bar.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel have really good location, stays in a new area in Brooklin, full of young people, streat art and nices places like coffee shops, and restaurantes. The access to subway station is easy, you'll use Morgan Av., an L line station. The place have good facilities, wifi throughout the whole building, great outside area, big kitchen. I've stayed in a 3 bed female bedroom at 4th floor: big room, bathroom inside,good light during the day.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

IT WAS MY FIRST STAY IN NEW YORK. I WAS TRAVELLING ALONE AND I WAS LOOKING A GOOD PLACE WHERE MEET PEOLE, WHICH WAS ALSO SAFE AND CLEAN. CAN'T COMPLAIN ABOUT THESE 3 THINGS! GOOD EXPERIENCE. I WOULD RECOMMEND. METRO STATION IS 3 MINUTES WALKING, YOU CAN REACH MANHATTAN IN 20 MINUTES. EAST WILLANSUBRG IS NOT THE BEST, NOTHING TO DO AROUND..YOU NEED TO GO TO MANHATTAN.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for taking the time out to review us! We wish you safe travels and hope to see you back in New York very soon :)

80%

very welcoming, could mention that a 5 minute walk gets you to the station with the M line, straight to times square, and no need for working out changing trains.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - Thank you for the kind review! We will take your suggestion to help better our services :) We hope to see you back very soon!

97%

One of the best hostel I've been! Incredible location, close from bars and restaurants around, very clean and good atmosphere. The patio was my favorite place! Also the bar downstairs is very good too (cheers to Roxannem the bartender) ;)

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey David, Thanks for the great review! We are beyond thrilled you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you back very soon! Cheers!

100%

Really nice hostel in a cool location, didn't check out all the facilities as it was a rushed stay but the communal breakfast / lounging area was great!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

This hostel has an amazing location and is so clean and the rooms are so nice, BUT the staff were pretty unhelpful, the rooms were SOOOOOOO overpriced and there wasn't that much of an atmosphere there even though there are the facilities there that accomodate for it! I think it's pretty overrated - not worth the $89 a night for a 4 bed dorm I was staying in! Plus when I asked around, everyone seemed to be paying different amounts so that was strange!


66%

Even though the price of our stay at the hostel was $1179 on the Internet, we needed to pay extra 14.5% and 3.5$ per night once we arrived. It is only a footnote at the booking confirmation page... what an unpleasant surprise! We paid for a private ensuite and they placed us to a room which had no wall window. It had only a small window in the ceiling. The room was very dim, almost like a prison cell... and with bad air. After two days, they moved us to a better one after we complained.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel. We apologize for the small notice about the New York State taxes everyone must pay. We are glad that you let our staff know about your room and that they moved you to better one. We hope to see you back very soon- Happy travels!

89%

Stayed in 3 hostels in the NYC area and although it was a great hostel, it was definitely not the best of the 3. There is only one computer at the front desk so if the staff member is busy, you just have to wait. Staff weren't as friendly as other hostels, and due to a mix up we had to stay in two separate rooms for our two nights, which was frustrating - they weren't particularly apologetic. That being said, awesome bar, kitchen, lounge,rooms, in a really 'Brooklyn' area so overall a good stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Jared- Thanks for taking the time out to review our hostel. We appreciate your suggestions and will take the time to implement necessary changes to better your future stay with us! On behalf of the hostel we apologize for the inconvenience of changing rooms and we immensely appreciate your patience. We are thrilled you enjoyed our amenities and we hope to see you back soon!

74%

Nice size of rooms.good breakfast.avoid to choose sharing bathrooms,

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Burcu, Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back in the near future.

97%

Feature subway directions more prominently on your webpage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - Thanks so much for your suggestion. We will work on updating subway directions for our guests on our website! Hope to see you back soon :)

71%

Very spacious dorm rooms with single beds and not bunk beds. Good breakfasts. Did not spend too much time at the hostel as was out sight seeing, subway not far away. Enjoy my stay here

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for reviewing us- we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back very soon :)

94%

I was happily surprised to see the bathtub and after a long day of traveling it was a blessing to take a bath!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - Thanks so much for the kind review- we are thrilled you enjoyed our amenities. We hope to see you back so soon so you can relax some more :)

69%

This is the second time I stayed here. The first time there was no bar so everyone brought their own alcohol and drank outside in the evenings leading to a great atmosphere and everyone hanging out together. The next time I checked in they had opened a basement bar and bringing your own shop-bought alcohol into the hostel was forbidden. The basement bar is dark and dinghy and the alcohol there is not exactly cheap, the whole atmosphere of the hostel was a love less communal and friendly :(

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey - thanks for the honest review. We have added on many drink specials in the bar as well as a daily happy hour that go on in our backyard garden area. We hope to see you back soon so you can enjoy the fun loving atmosphere!

66%

Ok hostel in good location. But is trying harder than it achieves. Internet is slow and unreliable, bar is a seedy rock hole, hot water in all bathrooms was unreliable/non-existent. Seemed to have a lot of issues with overbooking and being disorganised. Not very impressed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel. We appreciate your input and will take all of your suggestions to help better our services. We have now changed internet providers so our internet speed is much faster. Our maintenance staff have also fixed all of our restrooms so they now run hot water immediately. We take pride in providing the best customer service so we hope to see you back soon and enjoy all of our improvements.

80%

The hostel was nice, but not as nice as it seemed in the photos. The room we booked was very small, and as my partner is 6ft5 this was a bit tricky. The rest of facilities were good, though we didn't use the bar, the gym and the bag drop were helpful and the location was very good being so near the subway. Overall, it was good for what we wanted, which was a place to sleep and not much more, though I've heard good things about the bar from others.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We appreciate your honest and helpful review- We hope to see you back soon so you can utilize the rest of our amenities. We also have many live performances scheduled in our downstairs bar now!

89%

Very good hostel, great location

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks so much for the kind review- we hope to see you back soon :)

77%

The stay was pleasant and laid back. I definetly plan to go back . I am glad that they have this for people who want to stay in New York. For a reasonably price.Great Idea HostelWorld!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for reviewing us- We are happy you enjoyed your stay and got to experience New York City for a great price! We hope we see soon :)

71%

There were rats in the yard.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We assure you that any rat you may have seen did not come from inside our Hostel. Our premises are thoroughly searched and cleared of any insects and/or rodents. We hope to see you back very soon.

97%

An excellent hostel. The rooms were great, the facilities well maintained, and the common space was fantastic. There was a really good social atmosphere in the hostel that made it easy to meet people. It is perhaps a little out of the way if you are only interested in seeing the main tourist spots in Manhattan, but the subway is close by. Well worth a look. Thanks NY Loft!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks so much for the kind review- we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed yourself! We hope you visit us soon :) Safe travels!

(225 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback